paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
666Master666 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion stock barrel (doesn't even compare)
A-5 stock barrel (there is no comparison)
Progressive (like i said, nothing even comes close)
Tear Drop (still not there)
Boomstick (still better)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Scepter Barrel
Halo Frontman LCD Hopper
Air America 68/4500 carbon fibre tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything!!!!!....almost....I would NEVER digrace this barrel with bluestreak, infact, I feel disgraced when Bluestreak is anywhere even close to me.
Strengths: AMAZING accuracy
Fairly Quiet
Light
Looks are pretty descent
Weaknesses: A-5 Barrel adapter that it comes with is loose. (Could just be mine)
Review: I had been researching this barrel for quite sometime before I decided to buy it. When it came, I couldn't wait to use it. I then had my A-5 and the first thing I noticed was that the barrel adaptor for the A-5 that it comes with was loose. I instantly though of a way to stop this problem. I opened up my marker and put a little piece of kleenex on where the barrel adapter connects. This solved this problem instantly. (This could just have been a bad batch of adaptors). I then went out to test it, unfortunately with Zap Sport Series because that was all I had at the time. Even with this paint I was getting groupings no bigger than my hand at about 50 yards. When I later picked up a case of XBalls Gold Series, I shot a few and was in shock. At the same distance I was getting groupings smaller than my fist. Everyone that I play with always admires the barrel. People have actually offered to buy it off me for prices higher than I paid for it. Never will I sell this. When I sold my A-5 and got an Ion, I bought a new backing for it and it fits perfectly.
Conclusion: If you want a new barrel, GO FOR THIS!!!!! Even if you aren't looking for a new barrel, BUY THIS!!!! If you just bought another barrel other than this, SELL IT AND BUY THIS!!!! You will NOT be disapointed. I advise buying it off of the Powerlyte web site because I haven't found it any cheaper then there. Shipping was cheap to. Even though the adapter was loose, I still give a 10 out of 10 cause it didn't bother me and it was easily fixed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HavokHank Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much all of the major barrels (Freak, Boomstick, All-American, Pipe Kit).
Marker Setup: 04 WGP ProStock (Black)
PMI 68/3000
Evo II w/ Y-Board
14'' Powerlyte Scepter
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything, the inserts will work with just about all paintballs.
Strengths: -Insanely accurate
-Lightweight
-Good value
Weaknesses: None at this time.
Review: I decided on this barrel after a month of hit-and-miss (no pun intended) barrel shopping. I had taken good looks at pretty much all of the major barrels, including the Freak, Boomstick, Ultralite, All-American and Evil Pipe. I had test fired all of the barrels at some point, so I had a pretty good idea of what the performace was like for each of them. I was all set and ready to order a Freak, when my friend called me up and told me that he had a once-used Scepter that he would sell to me for cheap. At first, I didn't even know what a Scepter was, as I had never heard of it, or the company Powerlyte before. I took a look on the internet at the Powerlyte website and found out that they made gun parts along with Ion bodies and the Scepter barrel. I decided that I should at least give the thing a try before I went and dropped the $90 on a Freak.

HOLY CRAP. I was blown away by this barrel. It was very light (made from aircraft-grade aluminum I believe) and felt only a little heavier than a Stiffi. The barrel design was simple, yet it excelled in just about every area. The feature that I was most impressed with (besides the accuracy, which I will adress in a bit) was the insert system. On most barrels, if you notice, inserts will rotate and spin as paintballs go through them. Not on the Scepter. The inserts go into the front of the back piece, and the front screws in on top of the insert, locking it in place and preventing it from spinng. Such a simple thing, I know, but I appreciated that little feature. Now, on to the accuracy. The Scepter is quite possibly the most accurate barrel that I have ever seen. The Scepter will put just about any other mainstream barrel to shame.

The Scepter is an extremely good barrel. The overall design and quality of this barrel is astounding. Not to mention that it is probably the most accurate barrel you can buy. My only complaint, if you can call it one, is that the Scepter is a little difficult to get a hold of. I bought mine directly from someone, but if you try and look on the internet for the barrel, you will see it listed for sale on few sites. This is a bit of a dissappointment because the barrel is great, and not many people know about it. It's really a shame.
Conclusion: This barrel is amazing. If you want the most accurate barrel out there, then the Scepter is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oneshotkiller Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, J*J Cermaic, Freak kit
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion:
-NDZ Feedneck
-Halo w/Rip
-Power Scepter Kit
-Planet Eclipse QEV
-Evolve Pi Regulator w/Timmy gauge
-Check it unimount
-FBM trigger
-AA 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever sleeves you have!
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Durable
-Quality Finish
-Insert System
-Easy to Clean
-Case
-Price/Quality Ratio
Weaknesses: -Availibity in short supply (getting better)
Review: -Accuracy
Not much to really say but the fact is it shoots darts. You fit the paint, you shoot, it goes where you tell it to. I was sceptical about the reviews but it really is lights out as far as accuracy. I shot it at a 5in square about 15 feet away 19/20 times. H

-Durable
Already dropped it while it was on the gun cause I slammed my foot into the door and the gun landed barrel first. I freaked cause i thought it was crushed picked it up had a minor scratch that touch up paint fixed easily, pretty impressed.

-Quality Finish
First thing I look at in a barrel is the finish on the inside and it appeared flawless. Cause see my reflection in it. You can definetly see the qualilty here.

-Insert System (interlocking)
One of my favorite things about the kit. For one the inserts are very easy to put in and get out unlike the freak in which you have to almost force it out and can cause damage. Also the seal allows for a more smoother seem then different backs and other guns with o-rings. I also like how the inserts are a good 5/6 inches long.

-Easy to Clean
After i unloaded a hopper, looked on the inside seemed pretty much untouched, ran some water through it, done.

-Nice Light Hard Case
Case is small and durable, enough said.

-Price/Quality Ration
For the price of this kit and quality, you cant beat it when compared to any other kit. You can find the 3 bore size kit for less then $100 dollars now adays.
------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------

-Availibity in short supply
Only downfall is that its a less known product then the freak and thus less suppliers carry it. Also you cant really order the tips or inserts by themselves atm, at least I have not been able to. You can find the kit at www.powerlyte.com, www.seawolfcustom.com, www.complusivepaintball.com, www.molespaintball.com, and another or so.
Conclusion: For any beginner or experienced tourny player its a must buy, enough said.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tommygunpb Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the freak and boomstick and the only one that comes close in accuracy is the boomstick.
Marker Setup: Dark Blue Shocker
Crossfire nitro
Halo B
Scepter Barrel

Misfit Same as above + bandit bolt and new designz feed neck

Recommended
Paintballs:
nelson, rps and jt, but all will work
Strengths: Accuracy
sleeve lock
hard case
price
Weaknesses: when paint gets in the barrel It's hard to shoot through.
Review: When i was looking for a barrel kit i first looked for the more popular brands(sp, dye, lapco). I was really wanting to buy a freak kit, but in the reviews i saw things like "not as accurate as it should be" and "the inserts move around insid the barrel". So when i saw the scepter and heard of the great accuracy and the locking inserts. I bought it for 150 with 5 inserts and a week later i tested it out for the first time. That day i had about five eliminations more that i usually did i gave the credit to my new barrel. The next few times i went out i was still pleased with the accuracy. Thats when the first ball break came. I was shooting at a good speed and then the ball busted, my accuracy deacreased. After about 10-15 round i was nearly to the same accuracy again. Overall the only complaint i have in the barrel break issue.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to any level paintball it is a step above the freak in accuracy and the price is right for me. I would rate it a 10 becasue the kit gets me more and more eliminations as we go, and accuracy is un matched.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 at 9:37 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Friday, July 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomsticks, freak, all-america, progressive, and many, many more
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
high quality ones, pmi make great paint
Strengths: best barrel for cockers
Weaknesses: not fruity enough for me
Review: this is the best barrel/barrel kit for autocockers (excluding a complete custom boomstick kit). if you have a two-piece barrel on you cocker and you have ever screwed the back in to tigh and you tried to unscrew the whole barrel in/out of a game the front will only come off. then you need to get plyers and scratch the finish to get the barrel off. that blows. this lock the front and back halve more securly so that can't happen (at least not with me). also the sizes are lock (can't rotate) and inserted from the front side of the barrel back (instead of doing it like a freak and inserting them from the back). the bore insertion is my favorite thing about this barrel. it is also, in my opinion, better made than a freak.
Conclusion: best barrel kit for cockers hands down, 10/10, that score only relates to cocker, since that's the only marker i've use'd it on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guillotine Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak Kit
Marker Setup: WGP 2k2 VF Autococker
MacDev Red Valve
Nelson Springs
Maddmann Springs
Air America Vigilante
Shocktech Trigger Pants
Clear Dye Stickies
KAPP 15* Vert ASA
KAPP Chrome Delrin Ball Detent
KAPP Stubby Drop Zone
32* On/Off ASA
PMI Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi
Viewloader eVLution II

Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
Almost any RPS really for that matter
Strengths: Very High Quality Design. Inserts are the smoothest I have seen
Weaknesses: Powerlyte revised the product, and if you have version 1 you are kinda SOL
Review: Overall, this is in my opinion the best barrel out on the market. I have the 5 insert set and I absolutely love it. The carrying case it comes with is nice and small and if very gear bad friendly. The barrel is pretty quiet too. The thing I like the most apart from the inserts being so incredibly smooth is that it clears paint nicely after a break. After having played a tournament w/ Severe Paint(second worst paint I have ever shot), I decided to shoot some of this old crappy paint out of my new barrel system...well, of course I broke quite a few balls, but, the scepter cleared right out after having chopped a ball, and after 1-3 shots the barrel was clean, and I could put ball over ball again, no irregular flight...then i'd chop again with the same crappy paint and it'd clear out the same...after that I loaded up some marbalizers for the next game, and expecting to have to turn my cocker upside down and put may hand over the end of the barrel and dry fire to clear paint out of the porting like you have to w/ a freak, I noticed my porting was clean...I almost had a heart attack I was so pleased...so I threw in my marbs, without even having squeegied, and the barrel still shot like I had never broken a single ball in there...
Conclusion: conclusion...if you are looking for a good barrel system, and you aren't looking for something that is "sleek" like the evil pipe, then this is the barrel system to get. The barrel is quiet, inserts self align and stay in place, and it doesn't look too bad. Overall, this barrel is the best out there that i've shot...clears better than my boomstick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wulf1010 Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
freak kits.......other *high end barrels*
Marker Setup: my friends tecquila sunrise trix, evo 2 kapps drop zone...etc...(my own trixs is down in need of a solenoid)
Recommended
Paintballs:
just about anything will shoot fine to good depending on the quality of the paint....hehe what else is multi bore for?
Strengths: well this barrel does it all with the multi bore inserts you can get a close to perfect paint matche every time and with every paint(the inserts are locked in to the barrel by the way unlike freaks), its only ported at the front of the barrel so its quite efficiant, there is enough ports how ever to keep the noise down very nicely it looks quite nice........bah did i forget to mention its shoots HELLA GOOD?
Weaknesses: the price???.......well not realy i find this barrel to be equal of not surpacing a freak in performance for slightly less in cost so hey
Conclusion: awsome barrel multi bore truly is the way to go if you are heavily in to the sport or even if you have the extra cash to spend, and i find this to be one of the best multi bore barrels on the market it actualy out performs the freak (i still love SP stuff mind you im never gonna get rid of my AA)

this gets a true and honest 10 cause i find it to be at the top of the multi bore barrel list
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Takon Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freaks, CP barrels, OPT kit (old style) ect
Marker Setup: System X Pro-Vengeance 2.0
14" Scepter Kit with SS back.
Reloader.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint shoots well through these, but I'v eshot Evil Marbs and hellfire mainly, all with similar results.
Strengths: Longer inserts than Freak, less porting for efficiency, Inserts held in tight
Weaknesses: On the expensive side, but worth it.
Review: I bought this because of reviews ai read on it here, and I do not regret my purchase.
I took it out and used it the first time in a team practice, used marbs on a cold day with the .686 insert which shot nicely,the only drawback was the price and the size of inserts, but they range from .680 to .692, shich is a good range, I think the .680 would fit hellfire better that the .684 I was using, which only bummed me at first, it STILL shot it straight on. It can be a little hard to remove the whole barrel, but what two-piece doesn't come apart when you try to take it off. It was betetr than my friends freak kits, their paint was goin rather innacurately, and they were shooting premium, inferno and blaze, which are good paints and usualy shoot VERY straight. It was easy to clean, just used a pull through ONCE and it was spotless. there was only a little paint around th outside of the insert, and only a LITTLE bit. I'd say go for it if you are like me, and don't like to jump on the Smart Parts bandwagon.
Conclusion: Buy this and you will not regret it, I guarantee it, their customer service is EXCELLENT!
You should definitly look at it, if you order it from www.powerlyte.com you can choose which combination of inserts you want, what length, what type of back, and if you mail them ahead of time they can annodize the tip a different color if you want it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

COCKER_JUNKIE Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i havent tried other barrel kits but i like it more then my lapco or javelin.
Marker Setup: Sapphire Blue viking with equalizer board, eyes, jmj eye covers, razor blade trigger, ss scepter kit, halo b, and it all shoots 18 bps on a whim. Its also better than any autococker but i was too lazy to my name to viking junky.
Recommended
Paintballs:
bigball is cheap and works great with the .688 insert. I havent had the chance to test other paint.
Strengths: Very quiet, Very accurate, extremely versatile with all types of paint.
Weaknesses: im not sure how well it shoots through breaks because i have ace.
Review: I got this barrel off ebay and it is the older style kit with the window on the back which is hard to line up the number but i remember the inserts by color so it is still useful. I tested it today with bigball in the .688 insert and from 50 feet at 18bps it made a nice small splatter mark because it was so accurate. The barrel is also quiet but maybe not as quiet as some barrels but its not really that big of deal because i cant hide myself when i shoot so fast. barrel weight isn't to light but i feel that the extra weight balances out my gun so its actually kinda nice plus you get the added durability of stainless steel. I also love the ingenious design of the the barrel because it always lines up perfect and you don't have to remove your barrel to change the insert. It also cost less than most barrel kits and offers more for your money than other barrel kits.
Conclusion: I really recommend this barrel kit to anyone lookin for a versatile, accurate and quiet barrel system that wont let you down even if you got it used it will still shoot like a dream. the person who gave this barrel a 1 was probably a bogus review and should not effect your decision whether or not to get this barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meetuatthe50 Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
powerlyte speedline series barrels
dye boomstick
smart parts freak system
Marker Setup: ans gen x 3 orange to black fade
system x chrome drop forwarded
powerlyte barrel kit with 14 inch front
aci 68/4500 tank
revolution 12v hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
all paintballs. all that i tried workes well.
Strengths: the best thing about the powerlyte kit was the way the sleeves are held in. unlike the freak the powerlytes sleeves are pinched together between the front and back of barrel . this allows no use of orings or a whole new back. the kit comes with 5 different sleeves and its priced cheaper that a freak kit. the sleeves rang all over giving u a better change of a paint to barrel match.
Weaknesses: have not found no bads . the barrel is great.
Conclusion: the powerlyte barrel kit is a great barrel and comes with many great features. its cheap. built really good. i would recommend this barrel to anyone that is looking for a barrel system that does not has any problems with orings or backs . its just a great barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media