paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
ShockerGEEk Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Ultralight- single bore vs a kit. Both shoot great, but a UL kit will be very expensive
REDZ Peppersticks- nearly same length backs, both shoot great

Marker Setup: 03 1/2 milled Excalibur
Modified DM5 frame with an Acid Customs Trigger
CP on/off
PL Scepter barrel kit
Halo with v35 board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any size will work....
Strengths: Quality
Looks
Weaknesses: Availabiltiy
Review: I bought a 10 piece kit. It had all the bores, a back and a 12" and a 14" tip. The anno was nice with no noticable blemishes. As were the bore inserts. I assembled the barrle and looked inside. Smooth transition between the back and tip. Everything was perfectly aligned. Mirror finish on the polishing.
This barrel back had cocker threads, so there is tons of different markers it can be used on. If you have a marker that doesnt use cocker thread...no problem simply buy a the correct threaded back. The same inserts and tips will fit the new back.
All the inserts have the bore size lazer engraved on them for easy identification.
Conclusion: I highly recomend this barrel. It is one of the best kits on the market in my opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

electricoorb Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
Marker Setup: ion black, CP trigger, sp feedneck,empire reloader B black , 45/68 nitro tank, powerlyte scepter
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Ball on ball accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this barrel system. The first day I used it it was like night and day from the stock ion barrel. I do not know the distances at which I was shooting but they were far enough that my stock could not reach and it was ball on ball at even long ranges. How you put the inserts in is very easy. All you do unscrew front, slide in insert, screw front on. Same to take out. Very easy system.
Conclusion: BUY if you have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 4:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

workman43113 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
evil pipe kit
j&j edge
Marker Setup: pimp kit nuff said.

j/k!!!!
Recommended
Paintballs:
match them accordingly just don't get them from walmart
Strengths: seamless, superwell polished. It is overall a great value
Weaknesses: None so far. Just be carefull not to bend the inserts.
Review: Great lightweight kit that beats the freak in accuracy slightly and beats the j&j edge by ease of use. Basically you won't notice a difference enough to effect you in a game between the freak except for the sceptor is a little slicker and more accurate. The edge however is a hair more accurate then the sceptor but a pain in the ass. It all really boils down to personal preference in my opinion. If you are considering a kit go with the j&j or the sceptor.
Conclusion: Out of a freak, sceptor, and j&j edge kit choose the sceptor or edge kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renrag75 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Dye Ultralite, Smart Parts Freak Kit, Planet Eclipse Solo, Stiffi, Smart Parts Progressive, Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: Midnight Black Planet Eclipse EGO with Nexus Bolt, Angry Halo, 45/4500 HP Crossfire Tank, Scepter 14" Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers or All Stars
Strengths: Accurate and efficient
Weaknesses: Cost and Loud
Review: As you can tell from the similar products used section, I have tried every barrel I could think of to try and find the best one for my setup. Some were great and some were horrible. However, the Scepter Barrel kit from Powerlyte is by far the best barrel I have ever seen or used. EXTREMELY accurate barrel system with multiple inserts. This kit is far and away better than the freak kit from smart parts. The barrel inserts lock into place and do not move unless you take the barrel apart. They also come in more sizes than the Freak. The porting on the barrel is very small and only takes up the last two inches of the barrel. Although this makes for a loud barrel, it makes the marker for efficient on air consumption. Since there is less porting to allow air to escape then it takes less air to push the ball at 300 fps. I know others will debate this point, but I know I am getting more shots out of my tank than before. The only downside is the cost. The kit with 5 inserts will run you about $140 plus shipping. However, I really feel it is worth the money. The stats don't lie, the scepter is a great barrel kit.
Conclusion: If you have the $$$$ then you must have this kit. Very accurate and efficient with minimal drawbacks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fullmetaljester Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, All American, Dye UL
Marker Setup: DM3
Shocker SFT
Recommended
Paintballs:
not cheap crap
Strengths: Accuracy, shoots clean quickly
Weaknesses: Price (has dropped recently)
Review: You definitely get what you pay for with Powerlyte. There is obvious attention to detail and it shows in the quality of their product. These barrels perform as advertised, ask any of the many satisfied users. Most would never switch to another kit if given a choice. And don't believe that BS FaceFul review, its all about the money with that mag. (I only buy it for the high-quality glossy pictures) Powerlyte's customer service was great when i had a problem with the shocker back i ordered direct.
Conclusion: Save up the cash and buy one as soon as you can!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kilmern Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J, Bigshot, PMI Razzor, Stock
Marker Setup: A-5 with LPK, Palmer Stabilizer, remote to a 20oz, Saw Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have tried 3 levels of PMI, super swirl, premium, and Marbs all seem to fly well. I even tried stuff from last season and it shot well.
Strengths: Ability to shoot just about any paint
Weaknesses: None that I have found so far
Review: I have tried this barrel at a few games and have shot about a 1000 paintballs in my backyard with it also. When I first recieved it I had some old super swirl paint that I bought a Wal-mat because I was in a pinch left over from last season. I was amazed at how well it shot this paint when compared to my other Barrels. I found that the quality and fit of this barell was excellent.
Conclusion: Great product and I wish I had bought it sooner
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

glacierspyder Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, stock barrels
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red Ion, Hybrid Hedlok, CP Reg, New Designz on/off w/ bleed, All American barrel.
Blood red Nightkast, Eclipse Nexus kit, Worrblade, Worrblade bolt, Bob Long gauge on front block, Scepter barrel kit.
Evo2, 12v Revy X-board, Halo B w/ rip drive, and a Crossfire 92ci x 4500psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, just mach the size and make sure it's quality paint.
I have shot JT Premium, GAP, and Marbz with an e-cocker with no barrel breaks.
Strengths: Easy to change inserts.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The Scepter is the best barrel kit hands down. Powerlyte has dropped their prices on it now and you can get the 5 piece kit w/ aluminum back for $149.95. I have the 5 piece Scepter for my Autococker. I used to use an All American w/ my cocker and had trouble when the paint was too small and it would roll out the barrel. So, I broke down and started looking for a barrel kit. I had narrowed it down to the Freak and the Scepter and I chose the Scepter because of how easy it was to change the inserts of the barrel. You just drop the insert into the back and you attach the front tip, and youíre done. No forcing the inserts in or out. You can keep the back attached to your gun at all times. I havenít had a barrel break in mine so Iím not sure how fast it will shoot through a break. My AA barrel if you broke a ball in the tip area it wasnít the easiest to shoot through afterwards. It is a quiet barrel, not like an AA and its defiantly quieter then the Evil Pipe. I know when youíre shooting at someone on an airball field it doesnít really matter what your gun sounds like. The new ones come with a hard shell case not like the soft ones some of the older Scepters had so you wonít have to worry about the inserts getting bent anymore. This kit on my cocker shoots darts. Hopefully Powerlyte will make some in-between bore sizes in the future like a .689 and so on. I'm going to get the Impulse back for my Ion next.
Conclusion: If you want a great kit this is the one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EVertCocker Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralyte, J&J Ceramic, Freak, Boomstick, AA, CP 2 piece, Empire Kit
Most of these barrels are pretty nice, but in terms of versatility and accuracy the powerlyte beats them all
Marker Setup: Brand NEW!
Orracle Body
Eclipse front pneu's
AKA Tornado valve
Orange Paintball Bolt
AKA 2-Liter reg
E2
Halo Loader
Powerlyte scepter barrel kit
Dye throttle 71/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any ... and I kid you not i mean ANY
Strengths: Accuracy (most important part of a barrel, right?)
Efficiency
Customer Service
Weaknesses: A little loud
Not reverse threaded
anno
Review: We'll start with the bad since that's what people usually want to hear about. When I recieved my barrel i noticed there was some anno missing from the porting on the tip, so i called them and VERY quickly I was able to swap it out. A+ customer service. It is not heavily ported and so is a little on the loud side, but then again I have a 12" (plan to get a 14" tip soon, should help alot) however there isn't much porting which on the upside increases efficiency. I have a cocker and so it is difficult to get out of the pneu's since it isn't reverse threaded like another barrel like the Planet Eclipse Shaft, but if you don't have a cocker it shouldn't be a problem. And even if you do it's not a huge problem, especially since most barrels aren't reverse threaded. So i go down the list of why other barrels are worse than this

Ultralite/boomstick- Both the same barrel. Good, quiet, looses efficiency due to heavy
porting, not a kit and gets expensive if you purchase more than one back and front
J&J- only used on a 98, for which it's a GREAT accurate and inexpensive barrel, a little
tight on the bore and it's not a kit.
Freak- Not nearly as accurate as a powerlyte, it is a pretty good priced kit but the
powerlyte is worth the extra $$
AA- The back and tip don't even screw together straight. Need i say more?
CP 2 piece- Severely lacks in the accuracy dept. Don't know what the deal is.
Empire- Some are good and some are duds. I have used my bro's and it has worked very well for him and me, seems to be a good alternative to an ultralite. Some bore consistency problems (bore doesn't match label on side of back) but still very accurate.

On a similar note, i have heard good things about the Redz Pepper stick barrels, similar to an empire but with better quality control. However, i have never shot one.

Any when I said Any paint works, i meant it. I bought a case of paint and put it in my trunk, and when i forgot about it, it melted. I put it in the freezer, and it re solidified, but in a block of paintballs all mashed together. seriously, these things were flat, had concave dents in them the size of a pea, were completely oblong the worst kind of deformed paintballs you have ever seen. I was about to toss em but was curious so i broke them apart and shot a few... I was shooting a 2' by 2' cluster at about 40'. A far cry from the barrel's normal accuracy, but for that paint I was shooting I can't imagine any other barrel coming close. It was truly a testament to the smoothness of the barrel.
Conclusion: An excellent, accurate barrel, especially for a tournament player, great deal for the money. The one i bought came in a flimsy canvas carrying case, but the new ones come in a hard plastic case (powerlyte must've read the reviews on here! :) which makes me impressed that they have actually adressed a major customer concern.
I would give it a 10, but i rarely believe anything is perfect, so i give it a 9.5.. aaaah heck that rounds up to 10 right?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CheetohFingers Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch- Shoots through paint better than anything.
Freak- Not a bad product. (I wont support this company)
Other 2 and 1 piece
Marker Setup: 04 JMJ Featherlite Excaliber- Halo B/ Macdev Conquest/ Sceptor anoed to match.
02 Excaliber- Evo with Z-board/Stiffi Switch
X-milled B2K- Halo B/ Vapor Valve/ Sidewinder/ Macdev LPR/ Shockteck Bolt/ Chaos Chip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything fresh and consistant.
Strengths: Sleeve locks in place for better shot to shot consistancy.
Weaknesses: Shoots through breaks well. However not as well as some 2 piece barrels.
Review: I've been very pleased with the Sceptor. I had it anoed to match my marker and it looks great. It is as accurate as any of the barrels I've shot. The sleeves have a .002 step so you can really minimize rollout on closed bolt markers. As with any insert barrel, it doesnt shoot through barrel breaks as well as upper end 2 piece barrels. It does shoot after 10 shots or so though.
Conclusion: Great Barrel Kit! More sleeves than the Switch, though it doesn't shoot through as well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Illidan Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Dye Ultralight, CP
Marker Setup: Autococker with stuff and a 5 bore sceptor.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive only shot all star through it, but im sure any paint will work wonders
Strengths: Accuracy, locking inserts
Weaknesses: Threads seems to wear quickly, inserts can always be damaged (I prefer backs)
Review: This barrel is amazing, you match the paint to the barrel and away you go. It has the best accuracy I have ever seen. The price is better than the freak, and the way it holds inserts is much better, you drop them in the back from the front, then screw in the tip and the insert is locked in place.

About the threads, I have screwed and unscrewed the tip and back about 4 times, now the tips threads have a bit of damage(doesnt affect performance at all), I have always been gentle with it, but it might have been my fault, I will just continue to be extra careful when screwing the barrel together.

The inserts are delicate just like any inserts, be careful with them and you will be fine.

Get the 5 bore system, it worth the little extra money.
Conclusion: If you are looking for the barrel that is the best, get this, I have shot a freak, Ultralight, and countless other barrels looking for the best barrel, I have found it with the sceptor.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 2:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media