paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Eminem001 Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye utlralite, cp , freak kit
Marker Setup: Impulse w/ powerlyte scepter, Blade Trigger, Palmer Rock lpr, delrin Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
anarchy ,inferno ,midnight ,evil, marb ,whitebox, braze , challenger, big ball , jt maxim,pmi premium , all star , etc..........
Strengths: lock the sleeves into place. you can size your paint better with the sleeve size.
Weaknesses: In my mind there is nuttin' . it 's the best..
Review: this barrel kit was the best thing I every purchase. I'm so glad that powerlyte made this barrel kit . Not only that I was not every interest in the freak kit after playing with the powerlyte .So to finish up all I would say is that I will never sell my kit to go to any other kit ,because powerlyte treats their customer the best as they can and would turn over backward for you ......
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY RECOMMENDED this product to anyone that wants a great kit that locks the sleeves into place . Unlike the other ones ...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sigep2x Thursday, February 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Dye Boomstick
Smart Parts Freak Kit w/ All American Tip
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: 2002 Custom Autococker with the Works
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything. Bad paint shoots well. Good paint shoots Better. Great Paint shoots incredible.
Strengths: 1. This is the lightest stainless steel back barrel I have ever used.
2. Even bad paint shoots well through it.
3. With tourney grade paint, you paint up the same spot over and over again.
4. It looks amazing
5. The inserts are super smooth, durable, and lock in place (no o-rings needed).
6. WOW!
Weaknesses: The anno job on the tip isn't amazing, but that's no biggy.
Conclusion: I have been playing airball at my local field for quite some time now, and am required to use their paint (TC VENOM). I ended up buying a Freak, thinking this paint would shoot better, but to my dismay it didn't. I hated my Freak with this paint and tried just about every insert to try to get it to shoot better. My Friends stock STO barrel shot the field paint 100 times better. Don't get me wrong, the Freak shot well with good paint, but what barrel shouldn't. Eventually I got rid of my freak and bought this wonderful barrel. THE SCEPTER! It even sounds cool. I can proudly say that this is the best paintball investment I've made yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinkytoe Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, dye stainless, freak, tons of stock barrels, aci
Marker Setup: a fish with high pressure, palmer reg, venturi bolt, aka turbo valve, mako frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint you want
Strengths: unbeliveabale accuracy- i shot and shot and shot- dead on- even in the wind- its insane- i was shooting crap paint as well i couldent belive my eyes- ive never in my life seen a barrel that was this accurate
Weaknesses: its expensive but worth every penny- and you could hit the penny from 20 yards with this barrel :D
Conclusion: absoulutely the best mod ive ever done to my gun- i had to write a review about it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Wednesday, July 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, SP All-American, SP Freak
Marker Setup: -Upgraded 2004 Ariakon SIM-4 w/ accessories
-Upgraded 2001 WGP Sniper II
-Stock 2004 WGP Autococker Prostock (converted to Sniper II)
-Stock Ariakon ACP Pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything should shoot well, but as always you'll be better results with higher quality paint.
Strengths: -Flexibility
-Consistancy
-Quiet
Weaknesses: -Fragile Inserts
-Price
Review: This is hands down the best barrel I've ever used. In fact I'm buying a second for my sniper II so when I'm loaning out my 'cocker out I don't have to shaft my friends with the stock WGP barrel.

Oh geez, where to start on this barrel. Well I guess how it shoots, and that is darts... It shoots darts. That's not just me saying that either. Everyone at my field who has tried out my sniper II with this barrel on it has had that EXACT reaction after popping off a few shots. With a decent high quality paint. I like XBall Golds & Zap Chronic myself and the proper insert you would be hard pressed to find a more accurate barrel. I've fired off Freaks & Boomsticks before and own a SP All-American and I was not as impressed with any of them as I was with this barrel.

In addition to being so extremely consistant, the barrel is fairly quiet as well. True I've heard quieter barrels before, but this ranks somewhere up there. I had never really noticed how quiet is was (having always been right on top of it when it fired) until I loaned it to a friend at the field. I was yelling for him to lay down some suppressive fire (it's on a pump gun, yeah right... but I can dream right?) and it wasn't until I looked over and SAW him firing that I realized that he was trying to. I didn't even hear the gun firing from 25 feet away.

Now onto the two bad parts about this barrel. The first I didn't list as a weakness because I'm not 100% sure if it's the fault of the barrel or the previous owner (I bought the kit used on PBN). On my first day out with it, I managed to scratch off the anodizing on the front tip of the barrel without even being too rough on it. Is it a huge deal? No. However, it still irks me that my barrel scratched up so easily.

The other issue is the durability of the inserts. I know they're not built to take a beating since they're not supposed to be exposed ever but still. I think powerlyte could have made them a bit more durable. They're a very thin aluminum. I always feel like I'm going to break them. Thankfully I've yet to bend or dent any of them, but I've already heard a few horror stories about people who have online.
Conclusion: With the exception of the small things I mentioned in the main body & it's price, I think this barrel is about as close to perfection as you can get. If you can find one used on PBN I would definatly suggest picking on up. You can usually find 5 or 7 insert kits going for about as much as a 1 or 3 insert kit would run you new.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

diverdown Wednesday, January 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Freak System,Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: 03 Half Milled Viking
WAS'ed
System X drop on/off
Crossfire LP 68/4500
Egg II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever paint you like, very versitile barrel system
Strengths: Sleeves are non-moveable when tip is screwed into place
Weaknesses: none found yet
Review: I went from the freak barrel system to this the SCEPTER. not bashing on the freak, but the inserts are held in place by two o-rings in you barrel back. If dirt gets into the o-rings, or the o-rings get worn from inserting the sleeves all the time, then it has an effect on you total barrel and your accuracy. My friend suggested the SCEPTER and he is the only one that has that type of barrel system at our field. I shot with his barrel and saw the ease and secure fitting of the sleeves and constint accuracy. I quickly sold my freak system and purchased the complete barrel system from powerlyte. i bought the 12 inch barrel and then later bought the 14 inch. i would suggest the 14 inch IMHO. I have shot all types of paint and have had no problems. When you need to change inserts just remove the tip and change sleeves and screw tip back on........ready to rock, no need for removing the entire system.
Conclusion: If your looking for a barrel system, want an upgrade to your marker..........do not wait........get a SCEPTER from Powerlyte. You will be very impressed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ghostkamikaze Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing my first aftermarket barrel
Marker Setup: 2003 vf cocker
48/3000 tank
12v revvy X-board
scepter 5 bore
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything... get high quality because the point of being able 2 match your balls 2 barrel is for more accuracy and consistancy, if the balls arent round they wolnt shoot as well.
Strengths: light , locks in barrel, long inserts, shoots darts
Weaknesses: price, case, not as many inserts as freak, weak inserts
Review: this is a great barrel system if you are looking into using different sizes of paint and dont want to buy like 5 differend sized single barrels this is the way to go. the bores lock into place, if u buy a diff gun latter u can buy a new back for it, inserts are longer, and pretty quiet compaired 2 stock.
Conclusion: get it this barrek system works great you will shoot darts w/ it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tooflappy Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
ION stock barrel...u definitely need to upgrade the stock barrel

Smart Parts Progressive 14in - a really gooooood barrel for it's price. it's only about 30 bucks now. the inside of it looks REALLYYY smooth, the smoothest i've ever seen actually
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION black
Empire Reloader smoke
Powerlyte Scepter 14in black
Eclipse QEV black
Smart Parts Micro Max Flo 47cu 3000psi black
Smart Parts Q-Lock feednect black
New Designz Roller trigger Blade style black
Kila magnetic Detents
Recommended
Paintballs:
DO NOT USE CHEAP PAINTBALLS THAT ARE NOT THE SAME SIZE WITH EACH OTHER
Strengths: Can change bore size.
Long bores, about 6 inches.
Looks cool, feels kinda light.
Weaknesses: Did not perform as i expected, bores not SMOOTH as i expected.
Review: First of all, the insides of this bored and barrel isn't as SMOOTH as i read it would be. Its not really a mirror-like polish. The progressive barrel is much more mirror-like. You can actually SEE "rings" inside the inserts where they carved it (it looks like perfectly even SCRATCHES going all the way down spirally). This really bothered me, i mean like you can LITERALLY see that the bores aren't smooth. Some inserts were smoother than others also.

Well, i've only tested this barrel once with about 300 rounds of low quality paintballs in my back yard and to be honest, my progressive barrel worked much better (these balls were actually too small for my progressive barrel, it would roll straight through). i'm pretty sure that the problem was becuz the paintballs weren't all the same size as each other. there were some larger than others and some smaller. when i was trying to find the right bore size for the paintball, i picked out 10 random balls and put them all through the barrel one at a time. some rolled straight through and some got stuck hard. the common sized balls were the ones to used to pick out a bore size. so anyways, i shot one ball at a time very slow, about one ball every second aimin each time to hit the exact same spot, most of the time i missed. i got more ball on ball accuracy when i fired on rebound mode. every now and then i would get a ball that would CURVE TOTALLY off target. i guess that was the big ball trying to go through the barrel that caused that. but honestly, i think with cheap paintballs, the progressive barrel performs juss as well as this barrel does.

i'm going to buy better paintballs and test this barrel out all day this weekend. until then, i'm going to give this barrel a lower rating
Conclusion: Since the main reason why this barrel is so accurate is that the bore size can be adjusted to your paintball size, it is important that all of your paintballs are the exact same size. Some paintballs will curve badly if the bore is too small for it. Choosing an extra larger bore size will reduce the accuracy of the other "perfect" sized paintballs.

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 6th, 2006 at 3:19 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mh4phantom Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak, j&j two piece (full set of backs)
Marker Setup: totally custom cocker, smart parts max flow tank, scepter barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY THATS THE BEAUTY OF IT!
Strengths: -Five inserts to choose from
-Silent
-Riduculously accurate
-In aluminum it is VERY light
Weaknesses: NOTHING (at least no problems yet)
Review: This barrel is sick. I feel that the self centering design really helps the accuracy. I've herd many people not like the barrel because it has 3 less inserts than the freak. To be honest I never, ever used more than 4 or so inserts while using the freak. Anyone who tells you they did is using some suspect paint. I origionally bought only the .686 .688 and .690 inserts. I found shooting 32 degrees team color paint i needed the .684 insert.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel I have ever used. I would reccomend it to EVERYONE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr Peakin Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts AA, Dye Ultralites, CP 2 Piece
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego, Tadau board, Dart Bolt, Halo b w/ victory, Crossfire 45/68
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not really any they all seem to break in the barrel
Strengths: Great customer service only
Weaknesses: Loud, not as accurate as stock barrels, breaks paint
Review: Long story short I shopped around and decided on this barrel but was very disappointed. Like I said it is loud, inaccurate, and breaks paint. The inserts are not all as polished on the inside as they should be. For example, one day I shot my Dye ultralite with a .688 bore all day without a break. At the end of the day i tested the Scepter .688, .690, and .692 inserts with the exact same paint, and every one of them broke paint. I don't know if it is just the way that the inserts sit in the back or what all I know is that it breaks paint.
Conclusion: I wish I wouldn't have bought the Scepter because now I just have a Dye .688, .692, and CP two piece .696 in my kit. By the way they work great and cover all ball sizes that the Scepter covers except the really really small ones. Powerlyte does have excellent customer service so I will give it a 4.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

NathanTerepocki Friday, December 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Freak
Boomstick
Whisper Barrel
MANY other barrels... to many to name...
Marker Setup: Electra 05, Powerlyte 7 bore piece Scepter barrel kit with 14" or 12" long barrel tips, Viewlaoder Evlution 3 hopper, Crossfire 70/4500 carbon-fiber compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY. they ALL shoot perfectly straight
Strengths: Best barrel ever invented
Weaknesses: No longer buyable
Review: Ok so this barrel is this most revolutionary barrel system ever invented. Powerlyte were the founders of this idea of using the bore system for precise ball size which makes exact accuracy. if you have heard of the Empire Reloader barrel, they actually mimicked the Powerlyte kit but they did not put as much time or quality into it and it is just a cheap fake in comparison that is not even half as accurate.

Accuracy: Im using it on a blow-back style Spyder Electra and it puts ball-on-ball accuracy out there... if that doesnt say in itself that this barrel is amazing than you dont know much about paintball. If you had this on a DM or something of the like, you would have even more amazing results.

Sound: very quiet and hard to notice in comparison to the other guns going off in the area

Looks: very sleek and good looking design that will make your gun look sexy

Price: I am not sure what these go for now, and I think they are now almost unobtainable because of the company going out of business, but I got mine for around $150 when i bought mine.
Conclusion: Look around on Ebay, Craigslist, or any paintball store that still might have few left they are selling cause these are now the rarest barrels to find because of the company no longer being around. but if you can, BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media