paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Turkish_Turtle Monday, December 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammerhead, Dye UL
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power F8, Halo Magna, Tippmann A-5 w/rythm innovation/APE e-gripp and double trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Everything seems to shoot fine
Strengths: Very accurate at realistic ranges, cleans itself pretty well
Weaknesses: Could be me, but it backs itself out of the marker
Review: I love this barrel. I was using a hammerhead that was pretty good, but I wanted to try something else. Picked this one up with all 7 inserts and never looked back. The insert is held tight in the back by the front, a compresson fit; no spin or forward/aft motion. I had some real brittle paint break in the hopper and gum up the barrel. It cleaned in 3 shoots. Never broke one in the barrel. The way the insert goes into and seats in the back, there isn't a lip for paint to get caught on and break. As far the backing itself out, I'm used to not tweaking it to hard or it will get stuck from the hammerhead. When I remind myself, it doesn't seem to happen
Conclusion: I love this barrel and would recommend it to anyone. Shop around and you can find a good deal on it. It is worth every penny
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 24th, 2007 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kamikaze9mm Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak, evil pipe
Marker Setup: ebladed autococker, mp4 ram, black magic reg's, halo-B V35 loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: -Great locking system
-7 sleeve options
-Great price
-Good customer support
-Awesome ball trajectory
Weaknesses: - No protection in barrel bag.
-Only 5 sleeves availablee when I bought
Review: I love my scepter barrel kit, i would advise that you purchase the 7 sleeve kit first off, now that is is available. I also noticed that the sleeves seem kind of thin, i dropped one from a short distance and it bent the sleeve, however i called powerlyte and they sent me a new one for free, GREAT SERVICE, even though this was my fault. This barrel has never let me down yet and i have been using it for about 2 years. It cleans out after breaks well, it seems VERY quiet on my gun, it shoots straight, and the company has great customer service. This barrel is very dependable and I feel worthy of a 10 rating.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel I would reccomend it to anyone that needs to match their paint because of several places that they play and many different paint types that they use, the scepter can do it all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Localmotion3668 Thursday, March 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Apex
Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: Proto Rail blue
Powerlyte Scepter barrel kit
NDZ On/Off blue
Halo B w/ Rip
Pure Energy 68/4500 HP tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
It will shoot anything very well...........just stay away from the poopy Wal Mart paint.
Strengths: Astonishing accuracy
8" Inserts
Looks
Nice carrying case
Pretty light with Aluminum back
Weaknesses: Stainless Steel back is kinda heavy.......but hey, it's stainless steel
Review: Wow, I couldn't be happier with this barrel kit. I bought mine used on Ebay. It came with the case, 5 inserts, 12" and 14" black fronts, aluminum back, and stainless steel back. I paid just over $80 for all that. I use the SS back with the 12" front on my PMR, and this baby shoots bull's eyes every time. The 8" inserts (over the Freak's 6" inserts) provide for great accuracy and consistency. With the barrel front on, the insert is locked into place, and can't move around like the Freak does.
Conclusion: I am so happy with this barrel kit. It is the best barrel I've ever used, and it is well worth the money (which wasn't even too much).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lgn1281 Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
Marker Setup: 2006 SP ION BLACK
Dust black powerlyte 2006 body
Powerlyte Scepter barrel
SP 360QEV
Q-LOCK
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used field paint (Rampage) which really sucks!!
Strengths: Light weight
Accurate
Quiet
Excellent self cleaning
Inserts
Hard carrying case.
Excellent Craftsmanship
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I just want to say that Powerlyte has excellent customer service. Paul was very patient with all my questions, and very detailed in his answers. I received my barrel last Friday and couldn't wait to see what the barrel could do. The next day my friends and I went to a local field and played. WOW! The barrel was impressive in it's accuracy considering the paint i was shooting.(You could see bubbles and imperfections in the field paint.) I remembering shooting like 10 rounds and they all hit within a couple inches of each other. Can't wait to see what it can do with quality paint!!!
Conclusion: I got this barrel because of all the positive reviews. Although i have never used any other barrel system I can say it can't get much better than this barrel. My friend has a 05 timmy with an ultralite barrel system and my accuracy was on par if not better than his. Definitely worth the investment.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 2:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gobool86 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak kit
Redz pepper stick
many other barrles
Marker Setup: Red and Black ICD FS 7 Naughty Dog
Sling Blade Trigger
Red Empire ASA
Black Diablo Flame drop
14in. Scepter Barrel kit
Halo B with rip
Crossfire 68/3k
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Only two O-rings in all, and self aliening sleeves
Weaknesses: If any, availability, otherwise none.
Review: In my opinion this is the best barrel on the market as of now. I'm a speed baller and most of the guys on me team use this barrel. The scepter is the best we can find, the sleeve self aline so they wont sit crooked. You can get different color tips to match your marker also. The inserts are nice and long to. The barrel as a whole is extremely accurate!!
Conclusion: If u can get one, get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therealmr Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Emipre kit
Freak kit
J&J kit
Marker Setup: Alias.
+Upgrades you don't really care about.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Light
Easy adjustement
No orings
Porting = quiet
Weaknesses: Hard to find
Review: This is absoultely the best barrel kit I have ever shot. It isn't because of accuracy (they're really all the same). It isn't because of the price (they're really all the same). It isn't because of the style (preference). It's beacuse it's simple, light, and has the player in mind. The barrel kit has all the bores with steps that makes sense. The bores ALWAYS lign up in the kit. It's easy to clean. It's lighter than the freak. It's everything a barrel kit should be. It has enough porting to make it quiet - but not too much to lose efficiency.
Conclusion: If you can find this kit - I know it's hard to - make sure to pick it up - yuo will NOT be dissappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armorlite Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None...
Marker Setup: 06 MacDev Cyborg Stormtrooper
MacDev short rail w/ MacDev On/Off
PBK Gen. 2 Ram
Powerlyte Scepter kit
MacDev Legion Air LP 68/4500
Powerlyte Cranium Shell w/Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a kit.... -.-
Strengths: Lock-in Inserts
Accurate
Cheap
Quiet
Reliable
Ups Efficiency
out performs Freak!
Weaknesses: None that I can see
Review: Got this Barrel kit for reading all these good reviews on here about it. Very happy with my buy. Bought it from www.seawolfcustom.com at a very good price. The locking sleeve idea is a very smart idea. Keeps it in place and it doesn't move at all. A very nice finish in the barrel, Military polished quality.
Well this thing is a very accurate barrel. Goes ball on ball.
It's fairly quiet, not the quietest but close. It's a bit louder than my stock Matchstik barrel.
Some people dont know this but this barrel actually ups Efficiency b/c of the way it's ported. The porting might not be so good looking but it's performance is wat I look for. Where the porting are located makes all the difference in performance. Love it!
I love having the Inserts since I only have to buy a back if I have a different gun with different threading instead of having to buy a freak load of backs if I want a kit for both. Kind of buying 2 barrel kits for 1 price.
Conclusion: I think you will definately be pleased with this barrel kit. Does its job very well and gives you wat you payed for and it's so cheap!
If you ever think about the Empire Revolver and this, get the Scepter. Performs a bit better b/c of the porting.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 8:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gopack Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak-Doesnt even compare.
Marker Setup: 03 Autococker WGP
Kapp Bolt
Halo B Hopper
Expansion Chamber

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Looks Good
Cool Colors
Not too expensive
Weaknesses: Cant shoot a bird out the air???
Review: This barrel is the best by far. It beats freak, empire, and all others. It is also quite cheaper than the others. Has great colors you can choose from and as just as accurate as all the other ones. I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a barrel kit. This kit also comes with a nice carrying case. Great Barrel for the price.
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cww516 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP All American- ok, provided you have a good paint to barrel match, doesn't clean as well
SP Progressive- cleans better than the AA, but otherwise the same
Stock 98 custom and '03 WGP barrels- no comparison
Marker Setup: '03.5 / summer edition / something like that cocker
'04 pneumatics, ST Bomb 3-way
CP Shorty HPR
maddman spring kit
Slik Edge III bolt
CP direct mount on/off
CCM delrin back block
CP detent
a/s co2 (meh, I may get hpa someday, I may not, who knows?)
empire reloader w/ new revvy shells, vl200 lid
Powerlyte Scepter kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that fits the inserts (round paint is recommended, but that's a given...)
Strengths: Accurate
Cleans breaks well
Insert locking system
Now has a hard case!
Weaknesses: Inside of inserts looks uneven, but is very smooth (not really a weakness)
Review: Well, the AA just wasn't cutting it for me, so after looking around here and on pbn for what people recommended for barrel kits, I figured I'd try a Scepter kit. Definately a good choice. (Unlike trying to fix leaky macro fittings with duct tape- it just doesn't work...) I think I paid $168 shipped from Powerlyte for the 7 insert kit. My first impression was that if looks were everything, I had a winner. I then checked out the locking inserts, and they actually lock in place. Part of the insert is pinched between the front and back when they are screwed together, so everything gets aligned nicely. Like I said earlier, the finish on the inside of the inserts looks ribbed, but it feels smooth to the touch. It doesn't seem to affect how it shoots, so I won't complain.

1st time playing with it, I was ball on ball at about 30-35 feet. Keep in mind this is with white box paint, walking on a horrifically slick floor, and trying to walk the trigger no a mech gun. Seemed pretty accurate at longer distances as well, but I didn't have a chance to actually look at the spread. It cleans breaks in 3-4 shots, maybe less with a nice tight fit (paint to insert match).

The hard case is also a plus. As I understand, the earlier models had a soft case, and if you weren't careful, you could drop stuff on it or step on it and bend the inserts. The new case doesn't take any chances. 2- 1" thick pieces of foam with cuts for all 7 inserts on one and for a back and 3 different length fronts (12", 14", and 16") or 2 backs and 2 fronts on the other. There is another piece of foam dividing the two. there's also room for barrel plugs/condoms, orings, or other small stuff.
Conclusion: If you're in the market for a new barrel or kit and aren't completely anti-insert, look into the Scepter. Options are kinda limited on where to get them- either powerlyte's site (or call them) or www.seawolfcustom.com (seawolf is usually like $5-10 cheaper, btw). Definately a good buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jakeinthebox620 Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, dye ultralite
Marker Setup: Nexus'd Cocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
all kinds, since there are inserts
Strengths: Inserts.
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None that i could tell. Although the inserts seem kind of fragile.
Review: When i initially got this barrel i was kind of dissapointed because i wasn't seeing the consistency iun grouping improvement i expected. However when i upgraded from the stock cocker reg to a plamer stab this barrel started to really shine, even though my gun is still mech i can shoot pretty fast and the groups are always very tight. i can shoot shot-on-shot with this barrel at over 30 feet. the inserts work just as they should, the two halves screw into each other smoothly unlike my AA two-piece that takes some pressure to get the threads to grab.
Conclusion: This barrel kit does everything a kit should, mine came with .86 .88. and .90 inserts so i can use virtually any paint out there, and it's as accurate as any barrel i've seen if you have good air consistency.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media