paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
a031363 Friday, September 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Edge Kit, J&J Ceramic, Progressive, Stock
Marker Setup: Custom Shelled Ion w/ Detonator Reg, QEV, TBO #2 Trigger, Q-Lock, Unimount, Scepter Barrel Kit, Z- Boarded Eggy, and Crossfire 70ci Peanut LP Tank w/ Dye 05 Cover.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, that's the beauty of the Kits!
Strengths: Inserts lock into place, perfect amount of porting
Weaknesses: Not the best/flashiest looking barrel
Review: This is one of if not the best Kits for the money. The 3-insert Kit is only $100 and now includes the hard case (a previously mentioned issue), a black aluminum back, a black aluminum front (your choice of 12", 14", or 16" total length), and three inserts of your choice. These are similar to the SP Freak Kit since it uses inserts to size the barrel, but the inserts are stronger (less likely to bend), lock into the back so it can't move around, and seem to be more highly polished inside (smoother bored).

Although these are not the flashiest barrels out there, they are extremely functional and when you size the insert to the ball properly, you wil increase your accuracy, efficiency, and velocity consistency. From about 70', I can hit a 10" wide post with about 8 out of 10 shots. Also, these have just about a perfect amount of porting to reduce the sound signature, but not too much to cause a reduction in velocity. With the high quality honing inside the pieces, you can shoot even crappy paint and not worry about it breaking inside the barrel.
Conclusion: Buy this Kit is you play with different sized paintballs. You will be very satisfied. If you always use the same sized balls, just get a single barrel like a CP, or J&J.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 16th, 2005 at 8:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cutomcocker1 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak-no way to lock the inserts down, tends to get dirty
pipe- fragile but nice, solid backs which sucks if you switch guns, loud
empire- as pipe just not as fragile
CP system- just like the empire

Marker Setup: 04 generation 2 red-black freestyle
reloader-B
93 style maxxy 68/45 tank
7 bore scepter
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING
Strengths: This thing is awesome, see review
Weaknesses: Price
Review: iInever though i cold get ahold of one of these...but they are based here in raleigh, and topchoicepaintball has a shop in town that carries them...so i picked up a 3 bore kit...i came back the next week and picked up the other 4 inserts...

I love the way the inserts lock in. its so tight and straight its like having a single peice back. the sizes of the inserts graduate at a reasonable rate to get the most out of your paint. as with all kits you can shoot through chops with ease.

Topchoice used to sell the 5 bore kits for $165 or so...a much better deal than powerlytes prices...

I just can't find words to express the greatness of this kit...its (nearly) perfect...
Conclusion: This barrel system is awesome...get one if you can...i beleive the only place to get them now is from powerlyte directly since topchoice's website is down...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danielwlt Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products 2 piece, Freak ...
Marker Setup: Minimag, ULE, Classic Valve, Evo II, Intelliframe, Dead On Drop Forward, 300psi PMI HPA ...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any ...
Strengths: Accuracy, Weight ...
Weaknesses: Front can chip easily .
Review: Having got a somewhat deal on Ebay, the barrel sat for a while at home ... finally got out onto the field, chronoed it in . and this thing SHOOTS DARTS .

Not as loud as some reviews mentioned, but does not rank among the quietest barrels either .

Size it to your paint, and the barrel rocks . I was shooting Evil Medevil with the 0.684 inserts . and the balls were finding their mark everytime .

SS back can get a bit heavy, and is really cosmetic if you want the look, otherwise, the aluminum back works fantastic as well .

Inserts stay put, unlike the FREAK system, where they can slip & slide, pending the condition of those o-rings . Inserts can also be changed out, by just removing the front and not the whole barrel .

Overall very pleased with purchase ... 9/10
Conclusion: The product is a good solid buy, find a deal on Ebay ... You will not be dissapointed . This will be the last barrel you purchase .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

enjoy_yo_self Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: 04 Nightkast, 14" Scepter 5 bore, 68/45 MaxFlo, Evo2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but white or brown box. And Especially Brass Eagle or any of their affilliates.
Strengths: Accuracy, easily installed inserts, quiet, lightweight
Weaknesses: None!
Review: The best thing I can say about this kit is that it stomps out everyone else's. The Freak is no where near comparing with it. The inserts fall into the back and the front screws in to lock it in. With the freak, you have to basically white knuckle the back and place the insert on your thigh and FORCE it into the back. The accuracy is unsurpassable, there is no weight to the barrel, inserts, or back. This kit is above and beyond any of it's kind.
Conclusion: Even though they are pricey, they are certainly worth every penny. I would love to give it a 20, but I can only choose 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbgod2189 Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J+J Ceramic and Smart Parts Progressive
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP Cocker
14" Scepter Barrel Kit
14" J+J Ceramic
Air America Regulator
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
WGP Tickler LPR
12v Revolution
48/3k + 68/3k Crossfire tanks
Smart Parts 700psi gauge
Black Macro-line hose kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, it's a barrel kit :-P
Strengths: accuracy
quiet
VERY light
inserts lock in place
very smooth
easy to clean
nice finish
Weaknesses: nothing
Review: great barrel kit, just got it today and shot about 500 paintballs through it and loved every second of it. the barrel shoots great, its very quiet... the inserts lock in place, no o-rings used for the inserts like a freak. some may not think it looks as good as a freak but i think it looks pretty nice and i still love it. this thing is greattt! GREAT barrel kit, highly reccomended.
Conclusion: great barrel kit, highly reccomended. simple and sweet :).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magsrule Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak. good but not as good. but still good.
dye multi back ultralight. good but ungodly expensive ($45 per back!)
Marker Setup: pimped out black 2k3 cocker.
Recommended
Paintballs:
um, its a system, anything.
Strengths: see review body.
Weaknesses: none.
Review: WOW. this baby is awsome. where do i begin. well, lets go to the meat and potatos of any insert based barrel kit. the inserts:

they are long. I mean 6" it looks like. and color coated, which is always preferable. They are true to their stamp, no .687 with .689 stamps. they are slick. the inside feels smooth, like the inside of a J&J ceramic smooth. they feel fragile but man, mine have taken a beating and only one has a scratch on them (.692 on the outside, doesn't effect performance at all) I guess they tested these thing by stepping on them, htting them with hammers, etc. they dont go out of round for anything. awsome.

the threads seem sturdy enough too. and the inserts don move. the self aligning sstem works well as far as i can tell. I've had one break (a chop so no fault of the barrel) and it cleaned itself out in under 10 shots.

The customer service is like woah too. I ordered mine and they sent me an aluminum instead of an SS back (it happens) and i called up Powerlightand they said send the aluminum back and we'll send you an SS back, no questions asked. i just had to pay shipping for the aluminum back.
Conclusion: This is without a doubt the best barrel kit I have ever used in my entire life.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 8:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s<are<row Thursday, January 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts Freak System
Marker Setup: Tribal Mephisto w/ Hoseless LPR, Custom Bolt, Buffer Kit, Ergo Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter with this product, you can match it to any paintball.
Strengths: Versatility. Use it with any paint. Inserts are longer and more substanstial than Freak.
Weaknesses: No Hard Case. I would normally dock a point for this, pretty serious oversite.
Review: Great Barrel system. Once you have sized your paint this baby absolutely shoots darts. Quiet as well. This is the first barrel I have shot that I would say you MUST have some sort of sight on your marker to get the maximum benefit from. It puts the shot in the same spot every time. The only limitation is how steady you can hold your marker and your own ability to shoot well.
Conclusion: Great barrel. I got the aluminum back and 12 inch tip. Don't waste your money on stainless unless you really want the look. No benefit beyond that. 12 inch tip is also all you need, again, the insert does the work not the tip. Why add uneeded length.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cherokee180c Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, All American
Marker Setup: Blue Vision Impulse
Magnetic Blade Trigger
LPR
New Design Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Users Choice
Strengths: High Quality Finish on Inserts
Excellent Mirror Finish inside Barrel
Well Built
Great Value
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is only my second barrel for the Impulse, but I have a boomstick on my cocker. I was very disappointed with the accuracy of my stock impulse after switching from a cocker. I added an LPR last week, which helped greatly, but the addition of the Powerlyte Scepter really improved the accuracy of this gun. It is now very close to my Dye Reflex Cocker with the Boomstick. Also I got a very good price on the 3 piece kit. The ability to match your barrel to the paint with the insert system is key to increasing overall accuracy. I got the system with the .690, .688, and .686 inserts. I needed to run .690 for Premium Paintballs, but had to switch to .686 for Blaze. I went to Pev's training camp all weekend and shot through almost 2 cases of paint without breaking one ball in the gun or barrel. I did get shot in the barrel and noticed that only a few balls curved and then the barrel cleared itself. I did not even notice I had been hit until the ref pointed it out to me. I highly recommend this barrel system, and chose it over the Freak system strictly on price, uniqueness and reviews on PBreview and other sites from people who had owned both. This is probably the last barrel I will use on any gun I get in the future. I am sold. Other more experienced players who shot my gun were impressed as well and I told them where they could buy it. Support from Powerlyte was great, as the SS backs were originally on backorder.
Conclusion: Buy, Buy and Buy. You can not go wrong with this barrel system and I saw a very big improvement over the All American two piece barrel I was using. I can not comment how easily it self cleans itself if you break a ball in it, as I did not break as single ball in 2+ days of playing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbosncali Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
otp barrel kit, jj ceramic, aci combo barrel kit,
Marker Setup: 2k3 ironman intimidator cp roller trigger phsyco ballistics drop 71/4500 3a tank red halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: the sleave system is the best design on the market
Weaknesses: price but found mine for 150.00 for the 5 sleave and a steal back
Review: WOW if you want the best barrel system out there this is it. i put my gun with my scepter kit on against 3 different guys with freak systems and they couldn't touch me in accuracy. if you have 2 guns it won't cost a fourtune to buy another back. i really upset that i had to go with another barrel system because they don't sell one for my 03 shocker. GET WITH IT POWERLYTE NEW HOT GUNS NEED LOVEN TOO! great barrel i can't say enough about it
Conclusion: buy it buy it buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
! it's worth every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ejh28 Wednesday, September 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Progresive
Marker Setup: Impulse, OTB, Vision, Evo 2, 68ci 5000psi nitro, tapeworm and SP medum drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any and all baby !! ! I shot Evil and Infreno with no trouble !
Strengths: Long inserts, good finish
Weaknesses: Powerlyte could do a little more porting on the end, but works very well.
Review: I shot Evil and Infreno all day with no trouble ! Some old blaze, that wouldn't work with the Progressive, Bingo ! just get a different insert ! ! I love this barrel ! They have good customer service. just called them up with a problem, and they fixed it for free !
Powerlyte could do a little more porting on the end, but what they got works very well.
Conclusion: Great barrel ! Buy this if you have the money ! !
Powerlyte could do a little more porting on the end, but what they got works very well.
I shot Evil and Infreno with no trouble !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media