paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc / CORE Sharc

CORE Sharc Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CORE

Buy CORE Sharc

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CORE Sharc
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 88
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The CORE Sharc is the most feature loaded entry level marker on the market today. From its tournament level barrel to a complete Co2 improvement system you'll notice the attention to detail put into this marker and appreciate its consistent delivery on the field for years to come.
Product Availability 
The CORE Sharc is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Countsluff Saturday, July 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Kingman line
Marker Setup: Core - Sharc right out of the box!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
possible barrel but not needed (in my opinon)
Strengths: The whole product right out of the box is great. Shoots straight, great trigger action, not very loud, didn't break paint. A sold marker great for starter.
Weaknesses: Well these aren't bad things but, make sure you tighten all screws on the gun. I stripped mine and oiled it completely but only 'cause I take care of all my stuff.
Conclusion: For the money a great marker right out of the box. If you buy one you won't have to worry about spending extra money on fixes and upgrades. After a year it is still a sold marker no break downs. We were so happy with this marker I bought another for my son, we are very happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tigersharc Friday, July 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 - Good gun but not as good
Spyder Compact - Sharc can whoop it
Spyder TL Plus - about the same as Model 98
Angel Millineum 2000 - AWESOME GUN but it sucks up paint like mad
Marker Setup: CORE Sharc (black to green fade)
14oz C02 w/smartparts on/off valve
SmartParts 2002 All american 16" Barrel
VL 9v 200 round hopper
Cool green elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
If your picky, get a new grip (it gets cold and you don't have alot of thumb room) You might also want a new trigger frame (because of space) 9v hopper is a good upgrade and you will brake alot less paint. I would also get an upgraded barrel but the stock is accurate.
Strengths: The CORE sharc is a VERY ACCURATE gun. It looks cool, feels cool, shoots cool... It is quiet and does not chop alot of paint at all. It shoots VERY FAR on high velocity. YOU CAN SMOKE SPYDERS AND TIPPMANS!!!
Weaknesses: O-RINGS!!! There are so many o rings on this gun and they break all the time on high velocity... if ANYONE KNOWS where to find the little tiny ones that go up in the expansion chamber, PLEASE E-mail me at tigersharc@hotmail.com!!! The gun can only take about 100 shots at top velocity. The aiming is rally screwed up but most guns are like that except for Tippmans. The barrel WILL NOT SHOOT if you break a ball so carry a squeegee!!! or upgrade your barrel. (i reccomend a CORE pro series or a Smart parts)
Conclusion: This is a great gun but it does need some tuning up... make sure you tighten EVERY BOLT VERY TIGHT or it will come apart easily... it honestly has more good feats than bad so i would reccomend it!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Karikaru Tuesday, July 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stuff
Marker Setup: sharc w/ 12oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grips and may be a trigger job+polishing the internals
Strengths: shoots great! i have only broken paint once and that was with crap paint (ancient crap paint at that!) it handled the diablo midnight's extremmelly well though.
Weaknesses: the grips are kinda thin and they dont look that hot... i might get some dye or 32degrees ruber grips for it just to make it look a little better and give me something to squeeze. The trigger pull is a bit long compaired to some othr guns. This does not bother me, because im more of a mid-fielder, but for front people you might look into shortening the pull and polishing the internals and getting a 9v hopper. The sight rail is useless... it doesnt even really make it look better either... i never have my site rail on.

also the gun lacks upgrades. It would be nice if someone made a elctric frame for the sharc, but i doubt it will happen for a while if evern, because the sharc doesnt seem to be as popular as other guns in its price range
Conclusion: best gun in its price range IMHO. If you are the kind of guy who blows half a case every game, then this is probably not the gun for you. This is a great entree level gun and is worth the cash. i got mine for $107 on ebay when nobody knew about them and no one was looking for them. Great for casual players, but if you want a gun you can really trick out then go with a stock mag and go up. This is the only gun i will need for a while i think, but if i do get a new gun someday, it will probably be a mag :) ...or a low end cocker...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moonbunny64 Wednesday, July 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2, Piranhas, Tippmann 98, Genesis, Commando 2, PT Extreme, Highly-customized Sypder... none of which compare to the Sharc except the Spyder, which now has an electronic trigger and an awesome 18-inch barrel... Even that is inferior to the Sharc, just not as much.
Marker Setup: I had a sight for it... but it kept falling off, so I gave up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It doesn't need any upgrades so far, I'm thinking about getting a better barrel, but the stock barrel works very well.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, light, and quick to fire. Good value for the price, which can be $159 or lower.
Weaknesses: It's broken on me twice so far, first the o-ring on in between the expansion chamber and the gun broke, which was a bit inconvenient, but now that we're stocked with the smaller o-rings, I'll be prepared if it happens again. The second time it broke was just today, when the cocking mechanism's bolt flew out the back, hit me in the eye, then fell out the window out of which I was shooting to test my scope, which, come as I said before, enjoys falling off and does it pretty often.
Conclusion: A really good gun if you don't mind putting the scope back on once in a while. Very good for the price, and it looks really cool too. It'll keep me going until I can get up enough to get a an autococker or something.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Electronica Saturday, June 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder shutter (sharc kicks its ass) and the Spyder em1 (Still think sharc is better)
Marker Setup: Core Sharc, 12v revy xboard, 20 oz c02, and custom grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grips if you have the older sharc, the new ones come with the nicer custom grips
Strengths: Out of the box it shoots amazingly straight and accurate. I was suprised how light the gun was too with a 20 oz c02 tank on it. The expansion chamber is very comfortable to hold on too and doesn't get that cold if you use c02 like me. The new grips are really nice as well. They don't give you blisters and crap like the olds one did. It also doesn't have that really messed up drop backward like the old ones did too. Instead it comes with a drop forward which helps the gun have a better center balance and keep some of the liquid in the bottom of the tank. It also allows you to keep the tank under your arm pit. It is also very affordable too. I got the marker, hopper, tank, and elbow all for $150 on ebay. I guess I was also lucky too when buying this because it happened to be from paintball-online which usually gets bad reviews for shipping late and having poor customer service. My gun actually came within 4 days which was pretty lucky I guess. Last, I also like the colors of the marker. It comes in blue, green, red, and black and comes in fades to like red to black and green to black. I got the solid black cause it looked the most stealthy. If you wanna show yours off then get the green one. Its a little bright though so youll get spotted easily. If you wanna be really stealthy then get the black one like I did. Oh yeah, I'm cheap and hate buying expensive paint. Out of a full case of 2000 Brass Eagle crap paintballs not a single one broke in the barrel.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about the gun was that right out of the box it wouldn't shoot less than 325 fps. I had it set on the lowest on the velocity adjuster but would only stay at 325. So I got some clipper type things out and cut 8 or 9 links off the spring. After that it would stay between 235 and about 300. Also the sight rail can come loose easily. I just took mine off though, doesn't look too bad.
Conclusion: I'd say this is the best gun I've had so far out of the three. It was also the cheapest. I was going to use it as just a backup at first but tried it out and was amazed by its accuracy. So, its now my main weapon and will be for a while. It was very affordable and very durable too. It looks sweet and isn't an air hog. If you're a begginer or a pro this gun will work for you. The barrel will not chop any balls even if they are brass eagle or crappy ones. GET THIS GUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mason_msw Wednesday, May 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I also have a Spyder Compact 2 in 1 Java Edition 2001. This marker ( THE SHARC) kills it. The Spyder is a little easier to run with but the Sharc is definitely better.
Marker Setup: I use my CORE Sharc, I use just like i got it- straight out of the box except I put some nicer grips on it-the original ones suck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
GRIPS, you might even get a motorized loader I am getting one because they claim you can shoot 13 b.p.s. and at that speed it becomes a wise investment. I would also recommend a T-stock with remote.
Strengths: EVERYTHING!
Fast,
Accurate,
Quiet,
Light.
You ALWAYS need to replace your O-rings after every day of play or you might end up wasting a full tank of C02 next time you get your tank filled.
I love the Venturi bolt it rules!
Weaknesses: GRIPS, they wear down your hand after a full day of Paintball. They are plastic and they chip- at least mine did.
Conclusion: This is definitely the best marker for a beginner or intermediate under $200
I would agree that this gun is about equal to a Tippman Custom 98. Only thing is that my parents got me this gun for my 13th B-day so the spent the extra money just to get overnight shipping so it would arrive on time, Guess what! They claimed that they sent the package to the shipping company, yet the shipping company had no trace of the package whatsoever so they said they would send one Monday (next business day my b-day was Friday) and then Monday came-No package Tuesday-Nothing FINALLY IT CAME WEDNESDAY!!!!!
Well I have been playing for 6 months now near 7 and I have to say its Well Worth the Wait!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Electronica Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman model 98 - sucks compared to this
Marker Setup: Core Sharc, 12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
none (mine came with custom grips)
Strengths: This gun is amazing. I got it in a package for $150 which included the gun a hopper 12 oz co2 and a ceramic barrel from ebay. The seller happened to be paintball-online. At first I was like DAMN IT but I took a chance and it only took a week for it to get to me. I must have been very lucky or something. Anyway, this gun out performs my model 98 so bad that I just had to sell my tippman and get another sharc. It is extremely accurate and quiet. The grips that came with it aren't that bad either but could be better. I got the black color and was amazed by how sweet it looks with the rail sight. By the way I think they have remodeled the sight tail cause it's not doing what the other reviewers said it does. I have a Tasco 4x20 sight that works awesome on the gun and a ceramic barrel that is so quiet. Oh yeah, it also came with a drop forward too instead of that crazy drop backward which looked retarded. Another thing, which is the best of all, is the price. I got this gun and the other stuff brand new for only $150. I suggest going and buying on ebay from now on.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing that isn't really that bad is that when I first shot it out of the box it wasn't shooting less than 325 fps. It's weird though after like 5 shots it dropped drammatically to like 250. So, now it's shooting at perfect speeds.
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun I've seen in quality and price. At $150 it's a steal. Go out and buy one before everyone else does and have the best gun ever made. Get black like I did if you wanna be stealth I think the red is pretty sweet too. Look on ebay for the best deals like I also did.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer, VM68, 99' Cocker, PT Extreme
Marker Setup: Cocker, Palmer Pneumatics, 3000 psi 68 cu Nitro, 12' JT Two Piece Barrel, 200 rnd Revvy, ANS Jackhammer 2 rock reg, ANS mini ram, Taso volumizer, Check It 3 way, Shocktech Venturi Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like mostly what everyone has stated, better grips...they aren't extremely bad, but could be better and the drop back.
Strengths: Accuracy. Very lightweight. The barrel is amazing. This gun wasn't everything I expected it to be. It's a lot better.
Weaknesses: At first I got it right out of the box, shot about 100 paintballs and broke 4 of them in the barrel. To much of my disappointment, one of the earlier reviewers stated he had to shoot it about 20 times and everything started to work better. Uhhh, it's true. After shooting it about 100 times and cleaning the barrel 4 times, I didn't give up hope and shot about 300 afterwards with no breaks. whew. Other than that, the sightrail looks great but doesn't really fit a standard sight (but then again, why snipe with this semi, this is meant for up close and personal firefights)
Conclusion: This is a good gun. Comprable to the Spyder Shutter (maybe even better). I've got my Cocker, but as we all know, when your cocker works, it's your best friend, but when something small happens, it's your worst enemy. I'm glad I can rely on this to be my back up (if not primary).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann m98, stingray.
Marker Setup: stock, auto hopper, double trigger, sight, 14 inch barrel (although the stock barrel works fine).
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger is awsome!!! sight works on this gun but no other guns i have ever used.
Strengths: its a really acurate gun, (the barrel is awsome it shoots very streight), durrable.the sight rail is really sweet, i mounted a sight on it and if your at close range it shoots great! i have never chopped any balls, i chop balls constantly in my m98 but in this gun i have not chopped one!!!! also you dont have to pull the trigger very far allowing you to shoot fast!(ive shot about 8 balls per second with it, i could only shoot 6 with my tippmann m98). sights work on this gun!!!!
Weaknesses: it takes forever to get it to you, paintball online is not a very reliable sight to go to but it is the only sight you can get this gun off of and it is definatly worth the wait!
Conclusion: this is a good gun. it is the best gun i have ever had for 160$$$$$$$. ,my tippmann m98 doesnt work as good as this gun and it is recomended by many paintball dealers and players. it is a steal to buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deamon2 Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, pro/carbine
Marker Setup: stock pro/carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, this gun comes with them all!
Strengths: I went out for a day at my local field with my friend's sharc b/c my carbine was messed (I don't know what I did but it works now). Anyways, I was greatly surprised at the accuracy of this gun. Stock it could hit things that my carbine couldn't do. wow. It didn't break a ball all day, even when I was shooting "brand x", the field paint at my local field (its crap). I remain surpised with this gun.
Weaknesses: ummm... lets see... not much... oh yeah the drop forward isn't one. its a drop backward!?!?!?!... little wierd, just use a remote like me. Also the bolt gets loose after sustained fire, especially during speedball, so be prepared to find cover to tighten it up. other than that this gun is superior
Conclusion: I love this gun and feel really bad about spending my money elsewhere. I may buy one with my next paycheck. its really a dream to shoot, at least par with a 98, if not better. also, the xchamber is huge, and makes it shoot really consistantly
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media