paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Ripper Intimidator / Bob Long Ripper Intimidator / Bob Long Ripper Intimidator / Bob Long Ripper Intimidator

Bob Long Ripper Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Ripper Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Ripper Intimidator
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1796

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
25+ BPS
Game Timer
Shot Counter
Torpedo Regulator
Anti-chop eye
Custom Milling
300 PSI Gauge
and an Adjustable ram cap.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Ripper Intimidator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
DavidVanZan Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year33 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker 2003, DM4, DM5, Toxic Performance Matrix, and E - Bladed Auto Cockers.
Marker Setup: 2005 Bob Long Intimidator, Halo B w Rip Drive, Freak Kit, Hybrid Ratio Volumizer, Mac Dev Gladiator Regulator, Dragon Claw Trigger, System X On/Off Drop Forward, and a 98/4500 Cross Fire nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, I only have changed the things on my gun for person preference. The gun is perfect out of the box.
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Light Weight, Easy to adjust settings, and Excellent Milling.
Weaknesses: Price, and the manual is a peice of crap.
Review: - Accuracy
- Speed
- Light Weight

I used the following settings to test this marker. Dwell 8.0, Eye Mode Delay, Bip 0.5ms, Bolt 0.8ms, Deb 02.0, and Mbounce 00. I used Xbal gold paint and fired 2000 rounds no breaks hiting 18 Bps with out much effort. The gun lives up to its name in a good way it rips paint, not in the gun but at the target. I was using a freak system and my shots looked more like darts then paintballs.
Conclusion: If you have the cash flow get it, If not get an alias after shooting this gun I will never use my other markers again. Intimidators are insane markers I just regret wasting money on my other markers. I would have known how intimidators shot I would have never purchased anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 7th, 2005 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
39 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K2 and Texas Storm Timmy's, Classic Intimidator, Matrix, Vikings, Angels, BKO's, and so many other markers there are too many to list.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K2, Texas Storm and Ripper 2 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire with a PMI Pure Energy Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend tossing a CP rail and a CP or Empire on/off ASA. I also recommend a CP two piece barrel on there.
Strengths: Light, fast, efficient, easy to maintain, highly adaptable, quality!
Weaknesses: Cost...but it's a sexy milled marker!
Review: This is flat out the best marker I've shot in 10 years. The milling is equisite and enables the marker to shed weight from it's predecessors. Like intimidators it's efficient on gas, has beam break eyes and shoots ropes of paint. It comes stock with an Adj Ram Cap and clamping feedneck that securely holds my Reloader B without sanding. The milling is just amazing. I've never been so happy with a marker. The board is easily accessed through the LCD in the grip and adjustments are made through the membrane pad. The trigger guard has ample room for finger movements and the regs are top notch.

The annodizing can be a bit weak. The price is over $1600 but it's the best marker I've ever bought. If you can't afford it, spend $600 less on an Alias.
Conclusion: Best marker on the market, hands down. It's the marker all other markers will be compared to. Bob outdid himself. If there was a way to rate this higher than 10, I'd do so.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JSBALLE Friday, February 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark Angel
Shocker
Impulse
Marker Setup: Bob Long Ripper Timmy
WAS Board
WAS Switch
WAS eyes
Palmer Stabalizer
Halo B
Chrome Adjustable Ram Cap
88/4500 PMI
Recommended
Upgrades:
I definately recommend an upgrade on the board. The Equalizer board just rips and makes the gun perform outstanding.
Strengths: Everything, this gun shoots darts !!!! extremely fast with long range and great accuracy. Very nice milling.
Weaknesses: The stock trigger is a bit sloppy. The eyes seem to crack very easily.
Conclusion: This gun is very nice, but needs a couple of upgrades to make it perform to your liking. I definately recommend the WAS board it makes quite a bit of difference from your regular stock board.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KEN_05RIPPER Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias, impys
Marker Setup: 05 RIPPER, Macdev ConQuest 68/4500, Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bigger barrel if u play back
Strengths: Fast, Light Acurit, Ffast, Milling
Weaknesses: The amount it costs $$$$$$$
Review: Ok i boght this thing from canadian paintball and out of the packedge it riped i never shot some thing that u didnt need to adjust the settings for it to be that fast i was maintaining 17bps out of the box, it may cost a bit but totaly worth every penny.......
Conclusion: If u want some thing extreemly fast and light and money is no option heres the gun for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

wooster229 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker nxt
Angel 04 speed
PMR
Ion and SP-8
original Bob Long's Intimidator
Dm5

Marker Setup: Cp direct mount on/off
Vlocity Jr. Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
faster hopper
upgraded barrel
Strengths: Easy to change settings
Light
Open bolt
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Doesn't come with an ASA or air line stock

Review: I bought my ripper 2 in replacement for my Sp-8. I was looking for a faster more speedball gun for my change in interest. So, I stumbled upon the Ripper 2. For me it was exactly the gun i was looking for and I got it for a good price (500) new in box.
When I received my gun by I was impressed by the size, milling, and weight of the marker, already being used to the size of the Sp-8. A day later I got a Custom Products direct mount on/off. Excited to fire my gun I aired it up the first chance I got. I loaded my hopper with fireball brand paint balls and fired it on semi. I easily fired 12 bps ( reading the shot counter on the LCD) with no chops and great accuracy. Then I stepped it up, I switched the modes on the gun from semi to 25 bps full auto. worked like a charm no chops or anything.
I continued playing with the modes and the ripper ceased to amaze me firing flawlessly.

A week or so later I took my ripper out to my local field and finally got to use it in a game. I had about 3 chops in using 1 1/2 cases of paint balls. Also, the open bolt made it easy to remove the bolt and clean the gun out, a lot faster than it took to clean my SP-8 entirely.
The reliability, performance and look of this marker are very impressive. I know I will not be getting rid of my Ripper 2 anytime soon.
Conclusion: This marker is an amazing one, and is a great gun for serious players. I recommend it to anyone with the money. I hopes this helps anyone out there thinking of buying this amazing gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 10:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaggyj852 Friday, December 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
Marker Setup: boblong ripper intimidator, 68-4500 pure energy nitro, flame drop forward, 12 volt with X board
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
Strengths: This gun is extremely fast with long range and very nice accuracy. Very nice milling and trigger. Comes with many mods and looks excellent. Within my whole time using this gun i have only broke on ball and that was beacuse my revy was not on!
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isnt that great but its nice for walk on games and stuff. The trigger from is a little odd shaped so you couldnt get a sticky grip. The grip that comes with it isnt bad.
Conclusion: Very nice gun, I dont know why i dont see more of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Ravenloft Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingmans Spyder Flash LCD, Angel IR3 Fly, Intimidator 2002
Marker Setup: Air America Apocalypse 2k tank, with a dye ultralite barrel, 32e degrees drop foward and a Halo B loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the Barrel for a 14inches, the techna-trigger is a good upgrade too
Strengths: Accurate, FAST, milling, reliability, anti-chop eye, and lightnest of the gun.
Weaknesses: None, except owner manuel. Come on Bob update the manuel.
Review: When I took out the marker out of the box I was stunned of the lightest of that gun (1.4 lbs). The gun is great, you can see it and feel it, it is made by a guy who is playing paintball. The first time that I shoot it I was amazed, I shoot 17 bps out of the box with no upgrade on it. With my old gun I was shooting an average of 17 bps, after all the upgrade that I made. I believe that is the best gun that I ever used. The only thing with this product and all High-end electronic marker, if you like to do no maintenance on a gun, don't buy this gun.

Just like a said before BOB LONG should make a new owners manuel, PLEASE. If I buy a 1600$ gun I would like to have a owners manuel that fit with it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, it wort the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikevincent Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragon timmy, Gz timmy, alias timmy...etc.
Marker Setup: All Black body with black cp rail, empire on/off, 14 in dye untralite.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, nothing else
Strengths: Speed, weight, appearance, easy to use
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I used to shoot a Dragon and then i got the ripper. this is a big improvement. I have had it for almost a year now and have had one pressur problem when i first got it which was fixed in less than ten minutes at the field. If you buy this you will be happy with a fast reliable gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone who is serious about paintball and who hates when their gun breaks down. This is great for speedball because of its weight and speed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nastyimp86 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias, ABomb, Nasty Impulse
Marker Setup: 2k5 Ripper, Hybrid Uni Mount, Techna Trigger, Hybrid Grips, CP 2k5 ASA on/off, Dye Ultalite, MacDev Legion Air 68/4500psi, HaloB V35
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite or Stiffi Barrel
Techna or CP roller Trigger
CP Reg
SUPER FAST HOPPER HALO B V35
Strengths: Ectreamly Fast, Light, Unique Milling, Rare
Weaknesses: Everyone wants to see/shoot your gun.. gets annoying
Review: The second I opened the box and picked up my 05 Ripper I couldnt believe how light this gun was, like holding a feather. Aired it up ASAP and took it out to shoot, out of the box it was Ripping like no other gun I have shot before. Then I through on my Techna Trigger off my Alias and it was set the speed was unbelieveable, you really have to shoot it for yourself. The attention is unbelieveable on and off the field... everyone wants to see/touch/shoot it every two minutes I dont mind showing it off but common just come and say nice gun and move on already. This gun truley holds its name as an intimidator the minute I walk into the staging area in my local indoor field you hear the whispers in the backround "wow look at that Timmy, I am on his team". I also love the fact that there is a limited number of these produced, I like having something that no one else has it just make you more unique on the field.
Conclusion: Great gun, Holds resale value for a long time to come
I give it a 15 if that was an option
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Xadin Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Ripper Intimidator, 45/4500psi maxflo tank, 12 volt revolution, 12" SS freak barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, SOB or WAS board.
Strengths: This marker is insanly fast. and after shooting around 2 cases of paint through it in the time iv played with it.( i dont play too often) i havent broken a single ball. It shoots insanly fast and look AWSOME. The trigger on it is fully adjustable and can be set so short you can barely feel it move. the ripper milling is a real head turner at local fields.
Weaknesses: -stock barrel a little big in bore size .690
-trigger comes stock a little long and with side to side play but is easly fixable with a few adjustments.
-doesnt come with a inline reg or gas through grip though its not really needed a nice gas through grip to hold on to is what id recommend.
Conclusion: if you want a fast shooting marker with an awsome flashy look grab one of these but make it fast cause now they are out of production along with the classics.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media