paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen

Evil Omen Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 205
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Omen Has Arrived. True closed bolt function. Adjustable, electronic double trigger interface. Cam operated force feed*, hence offset feed. Adjustable recock*. Independent Recock/Reload* assembly. Vertical Regulator for velocity control and Low Pressure operation. 9 nine volt rechargeable battery with AC charger included. One piece barrel with two piece function. Stiff arbor honed step bore barrel 0.690 ID first 6 inches then 0.697 remaining front. Tournament legal tail, Delrin bolt, 'Evil' style delrin valve stem and stainless steel body and on/off bottom line all standard. Barrel threads same as Autococker and feed tube threads same as 2k3 Piranhas, Impulse, Shockers and bushmasters.
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
joerocket1 Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP E-Ranger i guess, now a Nasty impulse
Marker Setup: WGP drop with on/off, Pipe, Revvy 12V
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward, Pipe or other multibore barrel, Electro hopper
Strengths: Great accessories, looks, great customer service
Weaknesses: Micro-drop, tough to tune
Review: i was very excited to get this gun. i had a horrible experience with an E-Ranger so i already had a bad taste in my mouth. i decided to spend what i consider a substantial amount of money on a gun so i didn't chop paint. i am sad to say i was disappointed. when i got the gun it was not even functioning. the sear plate was dragging on the body so it didn't even recock. pmi customer service was great. they sent me a new one and that fixed that problem. so i took it out last night to shoot it and it chopped (yes, CHOPPED) like crazy. i would say at least one out of ten balls. i am not sure what happened. either the ball didn't get in the chamber all the way or it hit the bumper and bounced back out. it goes too fast to tell. anyway, the bolt catches the ball halfway in the chamber on the re-cock and chops it in half. half of the ball is in the chamber while the other half is in the cam feed system. i am talking about a true life chop. not breaking in the barrel. it even does it with the barrel off. so i called pmi again and the tech was cool. he seems to think it just needs adjusted (which i thought i did). so i am going to try again tonight. if it works better i will edit my reveiw so check back. it is also leaking out of the barrel. the tech said it was a cup seal. so no biggy. the other thing i don't like is the micro drop. i have a tank with a smart parts on/off and i can't even screw it on because the valve knob hits. so i put on a real drop forward. i have never even played with it yet so i can't give much of a review but i will edit this later.

*EDIT* OK I tried again and not much better luck. i am sending it to PMI today. I will edit again when i get it back. the tech assured me this is not normal behavior. so maybe i just got a bad gun. he did say that the serial number was one of the first ones.

*EDIT* Here goes again. I got it back from PMI and played with it today and it is like a whole different gun. I played for 6 hours and NEVER BROKE ONE BALL. It never half-loaded paint either. If I would have gotten this gun this way I would have given it a 10. But since it sucked when I got it I am moving it up to a 7 for now. Once I have played with it more I may move it up again if it continues to perform this way. But for now I am moving it from a 4 to a 7. I don't want to count my chickens before they have hatched. All I can say is if your omen isn't working send it back. You should not break paint in this gun.

*EDIT* Update. I finally sold this piece of crap on Ebay. It never worked well. it broke way too much paint. I currently own an Impulse and have NEVER broken a ball. (this is the first gun I have owned that actually works). I have been very happy with it but it is big compared to the new guns so I am looking at a Proto Matrix now. I hate to bag on this so bad, but it was a crappy gun compared to what is available.
Conclusion: If your gun doesn't perform the way it is supposed to then send it in to PMI. Evidently some have been pretty crappy. Mine came back to me exactly the same as I sent it from PMI but now it works. They didn't replace anything. Evidently they just adjusted something. This particular gun is not worth the money.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 29th, 2005 at 5:55 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

imthedeem0n Monday, February 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 91 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
M3 Dragunfly, Cockers
Marker Setup: Eclipse Angel
-Shocktech bolt
-Matching anno'd cobra accessories
-Crossfire 68/45
Strengths: It's closed bolt, and its good to see big names like PMI getting into the closed bolt market and banging heads with WGP and Smart Parts, closed bolt is where its at...
Weaknesses: The feed system:
-it broke paint while i was testing it
-it offset the loader and vertical feed about an inch and a half to the left...which threw of my technique and took some getting used to, i ended up with more loader hits because it left the loader exposed that much more than it had to be.
Conclusion: its a fantastic gun, but the new, innovative feed system is like a fly in a great bowl of soup...PMI would have been much better off leaving cam feed off of this gun, because the fact that it breaks paint alone, ruined this otherwise awesome marker...for my $400 i'd rather have an Impulse or upgraded Bushmaster at this particular point in time, but if PMI decides to rethink the feed system, i might rethink my stance on the gun
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
44 Comments - Add Comment

fallachi Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 shocker close ,very close but twice as much
autococker just not as fast
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
14" Evil pipe
4500-68 nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gel grips would be nice
Pipe Barrel System unless you are speedball only and your paint fits .690 bore than stock is all you need
Strengths: everything in one package firepower and accuracy
Weaknesses: If you shoot at a field that had a rule about overshooting someone
Review: OK Allot to say here, As you read on you will see allot of bad reviews and mostly good.. Just to check if bad reviews were due to people who do not read or follow directions , I decided to run 20 shots through gun prior to setting it as you are instructed to do ..Guess what it chopped paint like mad, just what I expected. Now I followed the directions , set low recock and low velocity , turned the reg up until velocity maxed out and began to drop put it back to where it was maxed out , adjusted mainspring tension , kinda had a problem there, my field crono's at 280 so I was looking for 292-295 but could get no lower that 337 with the adjuster all the way out so I had to adjust the regulator allot more than evil recommends they say 10 to 20 fps I had to go 57fps , set the recock as instructed and dialed in at 279 280 279 , Loaded the hopper and let it rip , chopped 1 ball , emptied the hopper in about 14 secs. On to the field.. This gun flat out performs , rate of fire is awesome, it is a little more accurate than my cocker and I was using junk paint , $40.00 per case stuff and it was about 3 months old. It seemed to chop a ball every now and then, but I kinda figured it was just the cheap paint I just wanted to shoot up. As far as hitting people, I was hitting barrels sticking out from behind bunkers at 125+ feet .. when I got a good clean shot at someone they were hit multiple times ,see weaknesses for more on this. Over all this is the best gun I have ever shot , Around noon, I went to re-chrono and was hoping after 2000 rounds through it I would be able to get it dialed in as Evil recommends .. velocity still to high so I took a chance and trimmed a few coils off the main spring and was able to adjust max velocity to 293 with the reg in it's sweet spot. adjusted re-cock and it was a full turn lower.. was kinda surprised but did not know that much about the gun...Set final velocity , 278-279-279. Well in the afternoon 2500 rounds went through the gun NO CHOPS even with some old BLUE STREAK .. about the cheapest and worst paint you can buy this thing ate it up an NEVER chopped one..Again the firepower is AWESOME and it is DEADLY ACCURATE at 150 feet, Cant wait to run some good paint through this marker, I can't imagine it being better but who knows. This is one of the best markers possibly THE BEST but in it's price range there is no doubt this is the best . By the way temp had dropped to 39 by the end of the day and after the last game it still chroned at 277-277-276
Conclusion: This marker comes down to only one thing , who should own one and who should not
WHO SHOULD NOT
Anyone who does not have access to a chrono.. Gun must be adjusted to perform properly , Anyone who thinks getting more air and paint is all you have to do to a marker , Anyone who can not read and follow directions , Anyone who is afraid to take a bolt and hammer out to service them, Anyone who wants a set it and forget it marker.
WHO SHOULD OWN ONE
Any paint baller who will take the time to adjust the gun , knows that O-rings need lube prior to them leaking , can read and follow directions ,with the ability to work with 3 allen wrenches and can remember which way is lowering velocity and which way increases velocity. If you are a serious or even a Pro player this marker is for you with out a doubt.
GREAT JOB EVIL PAINTBALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

luisodude Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Auto Cocker Slow compared to the omen and heavier
TIppmann doesn't really compare
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
45 ci 4500 psi Pure Energy tank
Evlution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evlution
Compressed air
Evil Pipe
Macro line
Strengths: Fast, "Accurate", Very Little Kick, Good Regulator, Cam Feed, Adjustable Recock, Price.
Weaknesses: Trigger, No Upgrades YET.
Review: Okay let me start off by saying the omen rocks. This thing is FAST!!! I can sweetspot this thing without even trying. This thing absolutely blows cockers away the only cocker that would even remotely compare would be an eblade cocker with a maxflow regulator and a delron venturi bolt. Lets see Lets start with the stock cocker $350 Plus bottomline lets say $360 probably more anyways add an eblade then you are at $760 dang you still dont have a delron bolt that would be another $60 now we are at $820. See what I mean I still havent added a maxflow so now for the same performance would you rather pay some $920 for that or just $450 for this not to mention that the Omen looks much better. The performance is awesome I have shot an angel and this is just as loud as an angel and with a new morlock board would shoot just as fast and with the awesome regulator you will be very consistent over the chrono.
Conclusion: Buy an Omen! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! !
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:35 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spartan 2 Thursday, May 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Impulse, LCD, BKO, IR3, Rainmaker, Spyders, automags, shocker.....lots more
Marker Setup: -Evil Omen
-Green fade Pipe Barrel
-Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
-EVILution 2 with Y board
-CP Lighning drop fowward
-Pimped Rainmaker, to many upgrades to list
-2 Awsome Talons ( LOL )
-Spyder Flash with bookstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-PIPE Barrel system, other wise keep the stock.
-Drop forward
-fast loader, No halo b's.
Strengths: No chops, fast, small, well balenced, quality, accuate, Good gas milage, Low pressure, closed bolt,!
Weaknesses: Nothing realy. But it's not perfect, no marker is...If it were free...
Review: This is one awesome gun! Evil is one of the best companies out today in paintball! They are pretty new, but they seem to be doing it right! Only coming out with the finest in paintball. The Omen is no exception to this. Every good rumor you have heard about the Omen is true, it's awesome, and it will live up to its hype. Every thing on this gun is quality, I took a chance and got one of the first Omens, and I was not disappointed in the least, and neither will you be!
Conclusion: If you are looking for a $400 ish gun and the Omen is in your grasped, get it! No more chops, no more slow firing, no more gas hogs. You get performance from the box! The Omen can perform just as good as The highest class markers today, with out modification!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 10:14 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

TryingToBeEvil Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electric Spyders, Angels, E - cockers
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
48 cu. 3000psi pure energy
Java Ed. Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pipe kit pipe kit pipe kit
An Evo 2 or a Halo would also be a smarter choice
Strengths: Light, upgradeable, Cam feed, trigger , on/off , easy to take apart, easy to sweet spot
Weaknesses: The hammer cushion wears quick. So make sure you stock up on extras!
Review: The gun not only looks great but fires like a demon. The omen is pretty much what you would get if an electric pirana and an autococker got together and had a kid. Except the kid had a cam feed and was lighter then and smaller then both of its parents. The gun is well balanced and allows you to stay tight against any type of bunker. For those who play speedball and x-ball the off-set feed does take some getting used to but by the 2nd or 3rd practice with it you should be doing fine. The stock barrel is incredibly accurate although i would reccomend getting a pipe kit for it. Rip hard on this gun cuz it wont chop and it sure fires straight. Make sure you read the manual a couple times before using the gun. Most problems people have with chopping occur because they arnt accustomed to the cocking controls. To all looking in this price range i advise you to get this gun. It definately competes with the more expensive markers.
Conclusion: Buy buy buy buy buy....... it has everything you want and at a price you can find easier to pay.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MadPaintballer5 Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels
Marker Setup: I used this barrel on an autococker.(E-orracle) i have many barrels a 88cu 5000psi fiber raped nitro tank, steal braided hose new delrin bolt and a blade double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
steal braided hose nitro and maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Everything. It looks neat is accurate does not chopp. Closed Bolt!!!!!!!!!. electros work good with both nitro and co2. is pretty quiet. compares to my angels even in the rate of fire. very good range and the balls do not hook when they begin to lose speed.
Weaknesses: Npthing really exept i chopped a paintball in the side feeding. that does the same thing in those crappy tippmanns as well.
Conclusion: It is very good. i think it is supperior over angels and a hole lot cheaper
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

hugeness Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-blade cocker, Shocker, M3 Black Dragun, Kingman Spyder... in reverse order of purchase :p.
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, Evil Pipes, 68/3k, Egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pipe/Freak/Any Kit you like.
Strengths: Consistent. Fast. Nice styling.
Weaknesses: Suprisingly loud with some kick.
Review: Alright this thing is a good marker overall. Its easy to setup and easy to maintain. I did however have a problem with the trigger adjustment screws. They put them in backwards, so I had to disassemble the entire trigger frame to fix that stupid error of theirs. That's a few hours of my life i'll never get back. Besides that it runs pretty smooth. It's accurate as hell, and has good speed. It's light and compact, and it doesn't break paint at all. Some people like the cam feed, others dislike it. Me, i looove the cam feed. You don't break paint in the breech due to the cam feed, it works just as good as a nice eye and perhaps better. the only time paint has broken was when i had a bad paint to barrel match and that's not the gun's fault. More about the cam feed: it runs very very nicely and i love how it is offset slightly to the right. This is one of the ONLY markers i've seen where you can sight down the barrel of the gun instead of the side of the gun. Yes, we're all used to sighting down the side, but man its refreshing to be able to sight the gun more like a real gun. you'd actually be suprised how much more accurate you can be when you sight down the barrel instead of down the side...

Conclusion: Summing it up: Good gun, its got some noise and some kick, but that's cause in actuality its a fancy blowback... However, the camfeed in combo with it being closed-bolt makes for a very very nicely done marker. The instructions suck, and they don't include all the allen wrenches... and sometimes they freaking put screws in backwards so you have to dissamble your whole damn gun.

Anyways, I'm still tempted to give it a 10, but because of the quality control issue it's not getting a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 25th, 2003 at 11:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

poisonbullet51 Saturday, January 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, Pirahnas, spiders, tippmans, and a blade.
Marker Setup: Omen with co2(works great on co2 unlike most electros) drop forward richochet and a steel braid hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
Strengths: Accuracy is better than an angel so is the range, Its rate of fire is incredible. By far this is the best gun i have ever used i will keep purchasing evil products as long as i still play paintball.
Weaknesses: none
Conclusion: People are not buying this gun because they dont know anything about evil paintballl. But let me tell you this is a high quality gun. So dont speculate nor hesitate, just buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Hobbes Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker- less kick but slower
shocker- less kick but slower
piranha- a blowback but much more kick
Marker Setup: evil omen
egg 2
pe 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
a hopper preferable egg2: halo's jam up the camfeed. Any hopper will do b/c of camfeed.
A barrel kit would be nice for all that small bore paint.
Nitro: i'd recommend a fiberwrapped 68/30 or a 68/45 i ran out once during a game a got shot b/c my tank is so small.
Strengths: Fast, no chops at all, good regulator, barrel
Weaknesses: Kick, unreliable, slow
Review: I ordered this gun in july and was very excited when it came. It didn't work out of the box and i had to send the gun to pmi twice before it was fixed. They ended up giving me a newer model and now the gun works perfectly. I used it in tourney today and it was inconsitent b/c the paint was small-bore and since the omen doesn't have ball detents the paint rolled out or down the barrel. A barrel kit would be nice but i don't have any cash:(.
I didn't chop once after shooting ~2000 balls thru it. I used some bigger paint during rec play and it shot like a dream. The biggest variation from shot to shot was 3fps. The kick on this gun is not that bad if you just hold onto it tightly. I'd recommend putting a fiber-wrapped tank on the omen b/c the aluminum one i have makes the gun really unbalanced and i ran out of air during a game.
I do have one big complaint about evil/pmi tech support and that is quality control. My gun didn't work when i first recieved and even after i sent it in to be repaired the first time. Now the gun works but the tail is crooked. It is just sort of frustrating.

*edit*
i've sold my omen a long time ago and saw that this review isn't very accurate. For $495 you can get a bushy w/ pds, which will blow an omen out of the water. My omen broke again after this review and i sold it. It was never very fast and had enough kick that its uncomfortable. I"m not weak but the kick made it feel like the gun was trying to wriggle out of your hands. If you managed to shoot 9bps you'd get major barrel rise unless you concentrated on holding the gun down.
Conclusion: the omen is an awesome gun FOR A BLOWBACK. you can get guns for $50 more that are much better. My bushy is faster, more reliable, and has no chops. You can even get a gun like a bko that will be much better for about $300. I wouldn't suggest this gun to anybody anymore
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 at 11:03 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media