paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen

Evil Omen Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 205
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Omen Has Arrived. True closed bolt function. Adjustable, electronic double trigger interface. Cam operated force feed*, hence offset feed. Adjustable recock*. Independent Recock/Reload* assembly. Vertical Regulator for velocity control and Low Pressure operation. 9 nine volt rechargeable battery with AC charger included. One piece barrel with two piece function. Stiff arbor honed step bore barrel 0.690 ID first 6 inches then 0.697 remaining front. Tournament legal tail, Delrin bolt, 'Evil' style delrin valve stem and stainless steel body and on/off bottom line all standard. Barrel threads same as Autococker and feed tube threads same as 2k3 Piranhas, Impulse, Shockers and bushmasters.
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
raps33 Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom- not even close
Piranhas- quick auto, but poor construction and reliability
Angel Speed- Insane, with 1.5 chip- it can compare
Marker Setup: 2005 Evil Omen
eVolution II hopper
68/3000 crossfire hp tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
IN ORDER...
Must use HPA
Electro feed hopper is absolute must
Stock barrel should be changed- it is a large bore size
1.5 chip
1.5 cam arms
the rest are merely aesthetic


Strengths: Speed- 15bps stock, 1.5 chip- 25bps
Cam arms- explained in body
Maintenance
Milling
Weaknesses: MINIMAL BUT...
Sensitive recock
Cam arms- explained in body
Review: I purchased my gun less than a month ago and am very pleased so far. It arrives in laser cut foam for excellent quality. Straight outta the box I think it looks beautiful, the milling is great.

It requires a 22 hour charge for the first charge, which can be a drag, but you can use that time to read the manual.

The only really tricky part about this gun is its recock. It walks you through the process rather nice, so if you take your time it is pretty easy.

It shoots 15+bps outta the box which is great, and honestly its EASY to achieve that.

The cam arms can be the best and worst part about this gun. If you have them set properly, they won't break a ball and will never fail. The setting of the cam arms is all in the recock adjustment. So, if the recock is too high, the cam arms slaps a ball against the breach and breaks it before the bolt hits it. However, it CAN'T be too low, i'll explain.

Ideally, you want your recock as low as it can possibly go. If your too low, the gun won't even recock. So what you do is get it to the lowest pressure for it to recock consistently. Just don't put too much pressure in or it breaks the balls as I said.

When fully functional this gun is spectacular, it just takes some time for the user to understand the fine adjustments required.
Conclusion: This marker is well worth the price(330 new, 270 refurbished). With the 1.5 board it can stay neck and neck with an angel speed(and $500+ cheaper). It is an excellent tournament marker, with entry level and seasoned performance. You can make it as good as you want, if your willing to spend the money for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PsikoDragon Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse.
Marker Setup: Evil Omen w/ halo backman hopper 20oz. Co2 pure energy on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
theres not many upgrades you can get for this gun. Maybe the Evil Pipe system and nitro.
Strengths: Not a big air hog. Anti-chop system actually works.
Weaknesses: no real weaknesses. the gun is tournament ready out of the box.
Review: I started playing paintball a couple years ago and after a few trips to the local fields and a tournament i decided that i would definitely need a better gun. I began looking for something that was not only reliable, but something that would shoot moderately fast and that wasnt hard to clean. After looking for almost half a year i found the marker i wanted. The evil omen came ready for tournaments right out of the box. the anti-chop feed system hasnt chopped a single ball in about 5 cases of paint. Even if you outchase your hopper all the gun does is dry fire a shot or two. the gun is easy to take apart and clean. I'm a big stickler for cleaning guns when you come home after a day of paintballin. The gun is easy to take apart and clean and also easy to put back together. the only upgrades i recommend for the gun might be the Evil pipe system and nitro. The gun isn't an air hog so a 4500 psi nitro system will carry you a long way.
Conclusion: A great buy. The marker performs great, doesnt chope paint, and doesnt suck up air. Sure there might be better guns out there, but for the money you'll spend on this gun it's second to none.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Redneck724 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah Evo, Evil Pimp
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, PDP Chip, CP Drop, Egg II, Pipe Kit, Evil Scion, Dye Rhino
Recommended
Upgrades:
PDP Chip, Evil Pipe Kit
Strengths: Accuracy,Speed,Looks
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun is the best buy out there the price just went down to $325 and it is the most reasonable price for the best quality.They will have all of the upgrades for it coming soon to make this gun unstopabale if you own this gun.You will rule the world,all of the upgrades only cost $100 dollars.So get an Evil Omen for $325 and all of the upgrades for $100 then u will end up spending $425 on a Perfect gun thats all I have to say you cant really describe how well this gun shoots,you have to try it yourself.
Conclusion: You really need to buy this gun it is awesome.Just go test one out and see how much you love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2004 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snapp Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker W/and W/out Eblade, Angels, Viking, Spyders, Spyder Clones, Mags, Impy's, Tippmanns, Pumps, ect..ect..
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
68/3000
Drop
Ego II with Y
Recommended
Upgrades:
PDP Board if you want more speed, Barrel if you want to perfect this marker.
Strengths: Range, Accuracy, Speed, Cam system,
Weaknesses: Kick... The gun has a small amount of kick to it...
Review: Well, its taken me a while to get enough details to write this review... To start.. When i got my omen, it came without the flat rubber bumper inside the body, next to the feedport. So my first trial run did nothing but blow paint. First day results, 600 or so balls, 500 or so blown in barrel/Chamber. But understandable with missing parts.

So i Emailed PMI, to see about getting a new one. 5 Days later, no response. So I called PMI, instant help, the tech told me that WAS the problem, and sent me out a new part right away. I received the part a few days later, and installed it in seconds. (Which the same day i received the new part, PMI responded to my email)

I then took it back out to the field, spent about 20 minutes making sure the cam system operated 100%, dumped about 500 Rounds through it, and packed it up for actual play the next day. Second day results, not a single blown ball, out of 500. Hammering on trigger the whole time. But no actual play time.

The next morning i went out to play. Grabbed the marker, and walked on the field. Through and through all day long, all i was doing was out ranging cockers, shooting faster than most guns out there, and hitting ANYTHING i shot at. Truly a beautiful marker. Third Day results, 4000+ rounds, no one broken ball, not one chopped ball, not one single problem.

I wasn't completely ready to say this was a great marker quite yet. One more day out, would tell the tale. The next weekend, i went out with it. Woods ball this time, not sup air. The true test to any marker, is how it preforms in the woods. =)
So how did this gun perform on the fourth day. Perfect. Again over 4000 rounds, no broken paint, no chopped paint. Not a single mess up, nada. I am sold.

Now, enough story.
Details:
-The marker itself is very sturdy. Doesn't feel like its going to break if you fall on it, or drop it.
- Accuracy is almost perfect. I would recommend an evil pipe anyway, just because of ball to barrel match.
- Rate of fire on this thing can easily keep up with the speed of most guns. With the PDP upgrade id say its on the level of any high end marker.
- Consistency is a slight issue til you've put about 4000 shots through the reg. Then amazingly it just mellows out and stays extremely consistent.
- The kick of the marker was the only issue i was unhappy with. Kicks more or less like a spyder. Which is tolerable, but im still looking for a way to decrease the kick.
- Cam system is probably one of the most amazing idea's anyone has ever had. Assists in loading the ball, while blocking a second ball from loading. WOW, im still impressed.
- Initial marker setup is kind of a pain if your a "Don't twink just shoot" kind of person. But 20 minutes or so, and you'll be shooting like a champ.
- They are cheap in comparison to their competition, the imp. These guns cost around $400 and requires nothing more than a hopper and some air to operate.
- The omen can easily out range almost anything but the A-5 with flatline. (and its close to that)

Conclusion: PMI Phone Tech Support Great, Email Tech Support Bad! Very Bad!!

If your looking for a high end, flashy, spend $1000 upgrading type of tournament gun, I wouldn't say this is the marker for you. Stick with viking, angel, Timmy ect... But if your looking for a mid level, fast accurate gun, that you don't have to dump a ton of money into, i would say this is your marker. Pull it out of the box, make the required adjustments, and go play!..

Im giving this marker a 10 out of 10. The kick of the marker should drop it down to like a 9.5, but since they don't have that rating, i will round up. As i said, the only problems i had with it, was problems on the part of PMI, and not the marker itself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dblbkb Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic, Spyder SE, Spyder Electra Dlx, Spyder TL.
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, Revolution with X board, Nitro duck 68/3000, J&J Edge barrel system, Evile ASA w/gauge.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA w/gauge, Barrel Kit.
Strengths: Closed Bolt, Cam Feed, On/Off, trigger pull and adjustable trigger.
Weaknesses: Really none, just take the time to understand the marker.
Review: Purchased my first one 3 months ago. Found a great deal on ebay fully equipped and ready to go. When I aired up, it chopped the third ball. So I stopped, read the owners manual and started adjusting. Got it close, but chopped a ball. So I called PMI, talked with a great guy there who said; "Turn re-cock closed, turn reg down to no pressure, then start turning reg up until you are 10 FPS higher than where you want to play at. Now adjust re-cock, he said follow the manual, but do it in very small incriments and do it with paint.

After doing this, the gun has worked flawlessly, infact I was so impressed I bought a second Omen.
Conclusion: I must say, this is an excellent marker, for me, I like to fiddle and adjust, so it is a great marker for that. Take the time, read and understand the owners manual, use the forums out there, their a big help. If all else fails call Evil, they have incrediable customer service. Now, go buy an Omen and play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Se1Fer Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmmm an Impulse maybe but other than that nothing compares :).
Marker Setup: Evil Omen (black)
Evil Pipe Kit
Nitro Duck Plasma Tank
Evo II Hopper
Evil Cocking Rod(comes stock with the omen)
Evil Pipe 14
E-Blade Electro Trigger Frame(i can shoot 20 bps) :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a PDP chip and a evil pipe kit
Strengths: Light
Very fast
Good accuracy
Easiest on/off ive ever seen!
Weaknesses: Too good for other ppl :P
Review: Great gun some ppl may not like theirs but i like mine, its a very complex gun that needs pro work to shoot like an angel, i got mine last year and it works great btw dont use halos w/ a omen 4 some reason it doesnt work with it guess force feeds dont work on it :(.

Ive got comments saying there is a new cam arm that lets it use force feeds thats great :)!!!!!!!! :) :) :)

Btw ppl a few days ago i shot a guy with a Dynasty Shocker when the match was over he walked up to me and asked for my name, and of course i replied and he then said "ill remember it well". Hope someday me and Roto meet on the field and see who gets the bets outta who. May the best man(women in ur case) win. :P :)

This kid i no at school thinks he can beat me he has a smart parts impulse that shoots 13 bps(or so he says my impy shoots 18..i think) and my omen shoots 20 plus he has a reg hopper and not even a year of pb experiance. Hmm i wonder wholl win me or the noob.

3 words: read the manual!
Conclusion: Evil Omen ---> $330
Evo Hopper ---> $70
Nitro Duck A1r---> $125
Paintball Apperal ---> $150

Shooting the crap outta ppl with impys and Cockers ---> Priceless :)

There are some things humans cant build for everything else theres the Evil Omen :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 2:26 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Mango21 Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Impulse - its a good gun but i prefer the omen
Impulse - Sucks..needs many upgrades..omen is WAY better
Bushmaster B2K 4- very fast gun...pretty accurate...but too loud...i prefer omen
Autococker w/ over $1200 in upgrades - VERY good gun....very quiet....very accurate....better than omen!!!
Bushmaster B2K4 - shoots very fast.....pretty accurate.....but omen is better

Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Evolution 2
3000 psi Pure Energy Compressed Air Tank
CCM low rise feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Boomstick
Flush cocking (when it comes out)
low rise feed neck
Evo. 2
1.5 Cam Arms
New Trigger
Strengths: Fast, accurate, quiet, cam feed, reliable, and sexy looking.......
Weaknesses: A little kick and um......people that don't know much about paintball guns
Review: This is the BEST gun in the range of $400-$500. i hav used many pb guns in that range and there hav only been a few that actually come close to this gun. its a very good money....especially if u want to get seriously into paintballing.....good even if u don want to get serious too. i have read soooo many reviews on this gun......and all of the people that give this gun a low rating is mostly bc they dont know how to tune....this gun is not hard to tune!!! if u jus take the time to actually read the tuning part of the manual!!! my 2 friends both hav impulse.....one w/ vision and one without.....and let me say that the one without vision suks.....he had to replace the cupseal b/4 he even got to shoot one ball....and he has already spent around $100 into his gun and still does not even compare to my omen!!! now on the other hand is my friends vision impulse....now this gun is ok.....but i still prefer my omen!!! he wanted to use my gun for a game so we switched for like 3 games.....i missed my omen.....his gun broke a ball.....and was shooting crazy.....and the trigger suked!!! now im not tryin to hate on impulses!!! but for all those people who say "impulse's are way better than evil omen's" - now mayb thats true if u drop a couple hundred into ur impulse.....mayb!!! but stock the omen woops the impulse!!!! even my friend w/ the vision impulse said he was thinking about selling his gun and buying the omen!!! i hav never chopped a ball w/ the omen....the cam feed works like a charm if u hav ur settings right!!! the gun has a lil kik but pretty soon it can be fixed!!! umm......people that dont know much about paintball guns hav a hard time working it or tuning it!!!i would jus buy a die boomstick.....and DEFINITLY run this gun on compressed air....NO CO2!!!!
Conclusion: Overall i fell in luv w/ this gun from the first time i saw it!!! then i shot it and new that it was a great gun!!! i don think im goin to be having this gun as my back up anytime soon.........unless i start goin amateur w/ my team!!! but ye buy this gun.....if u really like it....it wont let u down....unless u don no how to tune it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 26th, 2005 at 1:11 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

EvilWins13 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A-5
Spyder Shutter
Spyder TL-X
Impulse
Angel Fly
BKO
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
1.5 Upgrades
Evlution II with Y-Board
48 CU. 3000 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
The 1.5 upgrade would be the best with a speed of 25 bps
A electronic hopper to keep up with the balls
Nitro to run the gun
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Price
Life Time Warranty
Tech Support
Weaknesses: Some people have problems with the regulator.
Trigger Is different.
Review: The Evil Omen is one of the best priced guns compared with the Impulse and BKO this would be the gun of choice. I know alot of people would choose a BKO or Impulse over a Omen just because they never seen or herd of one. But once you see this gun in action you will have second thoughts. Closed bolt function makes it like a autococker, this gun will never chop because of its cam operated force feed. So with accuracy, speed and ZERO choping of balls this is a great gun.
Conclusion: Get The Evil Omen! Good for any type of player Newbies, Advance and Pros! I give this gun a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 26th, 2005 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2dltchap Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Spyder Imagine 04, Spyder Electra, Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Evil Pipe
Evil 1.5 board
Evil 1.5 cam arms
Evil Omen ASA w/guage
Custum trigger w/magnets by THEBETTERONE
Egg II w/z-board
Choke chain clamping feedneck
Thorn drop
68/4500 3a fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pipe kit
1.5 board and cams
custom delrin trigger (MUCH faster!!)
drop
clamping feedneck
Strengths: tech support
lifetime warranty
Low price
high-end
little to upgrade
easy maintenance
fast
Weaknesses: Stock trigger, barrel, and feedneck
Review: I purchased my Omen used as a step up from my Imagine 04. If I am being honest, I was very nervous buying this marker. However, after receiving it and using it over the past several months, I know I made the right choice!

First off, the tech support. As I said, I bought my Omen used. Despite this, Evil was more than happy to help me out when I called them after getting my marker. More so, I sent it in to Evil (only paid shipping to the factory) and they repaired my marker, tuned it, and sent it back all for free!! Evil tech support is unbeatable!

Buying my marker used, I did have to replace a few parts when I got it. The delrin bolt was swollen, the hammer bumper was torn, and the cam arms were stripped. All this was from neglect of the previous owner. All I did was called Evil and they sent me the new parts for free. The Omen is very easy to work on and I had no problem fixing it up.

After getting my Omen working, I began to test it out. I do suggest buying a new feedneck (impulse threads) as the stock does not clamp or have O-rings to hold your hopper in place. You MUST read the manual to learn how to test the marker, but this is not that difficult as long as you can read. After tuning it, I ran some paint through and it preformed flawlessly! Stock, the Omen can shoot 15 bps, however this is difficult to hit with the stock trigger. A custom trigger from THEBETTERONE will solve this problem! Also, the 1.5 upgrade will give you a faster, programable trigger!

While some people do not like the mechanical cam feed, I DO like it a lot. I did have issues with it a first because if the recock presure is set too high it will break balls. Thsi is an easy fix, just turn down the presure. The cam feed makes sure that you always have a ball to fire. I do suggest getting the 1.5 upgrade to avoid jamming the cams with higher speed loaders.

Conclusion: I strongly recommend this marker to anyone who is seeking a high-end marker, but is on a smaller budget. The Omen, when properly tuned and cared for, will keep up with most, if not all, high-end markers at your field. The way mine sits now, I can hit 25pbs easily, and with my Pipe kit can shoot on target every time. I personaly find no faults with the Omen. It comes stock with GREAT parts (reg, delrin bolt, etc.), and can be upped to be even better! Buy the Omen!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kentra Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to list
Marker Setup: Evil Omen-Black
Evil detonator inline reg- Black
Freak Kit-14" AA tip - black
Shocktech No rise-black
PMI flame drop-black
CP ASA-chrome-Pmi gauged-black
Evil Omen2 VA-smart parts gauged-white
Apache LCD -transparent blue-powered with 2/ 9.6v java-has a Egg2 propeller
1.5v cam board for omen-25bps capped and debounce sensitivity from 1- 50.
*its set at 24 capped and 1 debounce for the most sensitive*
Evil 1.5 cam arm
48/3000cu Pmi tank-extreame rage blue tank cover
Beavertail was customed and made at fltcc

xtaprootpoemx
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Feedneck
custom beavertail-other one can be sharp and cut the top of my hand
1.5 cam arms and 1.5v cam board
Strengths: -Accurate
-Compact
-Looks
-Low pressure
-Bolt
-Regulator
-Closed bolt
Weaknesses: -Feed neck
-Beavertail
-Stock board
Review: I tested my gun stock on my friend Shawn. I shot him 75 times in the back and he said that it shoots nice ropes of paint. The gun looks great. stock it shot very well. at 20 yards i hit in a 1/2 foot diameter with moving my gun, was not steady at all. the stock board is a little slow, but its nice. if you get the new board or PDP chip, they both make the gun work very nice, i can shoot 24 bps now and its SO sensitive. i can guarantee that if you get this gun and set it up the way that i did, you will not have any problems walking the Field. the beavertail is sharp! it cut the top of my hand, so i had one done at flt-cc, its a college. im sure any machinist near you can make one up in minutes, if you want pictures, get me on aim, in my gun setup. i do not recommending buying the old omen, it had some serious problems, and it is a pile of junk. I can give you a place to get the new version if you are interested, is defiantly worth the money. it also has adjustable re-cock, so you can make your gun cock to the sensitivity that you want it too. you cannot go wrong with this omen. greatest gun i have owned.
Conclusion: this gun is the best money i have used on paintball, i rate it a 10+++++for my setup and a normal 10 for stock,...out of the box it is just as accurate is my cocker that i sold, it was all free flow, mechanical, and it has been better than all of my spyders. my former spyder imagine 04 had the best of upgrades on it, running on nitro, and the omen is still better!

EVIL RULES THE WORLD!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media