paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen

Evil Omen Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 205
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Omen Has Arrived. True closed bolt function. Adjustable, electronic double trigger interface. Cam operated force feed*, hence offset feed. Adjustable recock*. Independent Recock/Reload* assembly. Vertical Regulator for velocity control and Low Pressure operation. 9 nine volt rechargeable battery with AC charger included. One piece barrel with two piece function. Stiff arbor honed step bore barrel 0.690 ID first 6 inches then 0.697 remaining front. Tournament legal tail, Delrin bolt, 'Evil' style delrin valve stem and stainless steel body and on/off bottom line all standard. Barrel threads same as Autococker and feed tube threads same as 2k3 Piranhas, Impulse, Shockers and bushmasters.
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
penguins_r_kewl Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is the most unique marker ever.
Marker Setup: Omen, Empire Reloader, PI drop forward, Extreme Rage Clamping Feedneck, Centerflag 47/3k.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hammer kit(when and if it comes out), flush cocking kit (when it comes out), OMni blade trigger, it may just be me, but these guns feel very nice with drop forwards, barrel kit, feed neck.
Strengths: See review body.
Weaknesses: See review body.
Review: Goodies:

Fast- Nice pull, very fast.
Stock parts- The delrin bolt ROCKS, the reg(Detonator) is the best inline reg on the market(don't argue about it, its a proven fact), and comes with a $50 ASA and rail combo, and the stock barrel is just as good as a driver.
Cam Feed- No chops, ever.
Gas Usage- She runs at like 250psi, nice gas milage.
Accuracy- Just as accurate as an autococker.
Uniqeness- Most unique marker EVER.
Back Block- They're sooo cool!
Adjustable recock- Turn your velocity up when not having to use extra, uneeded air to recock your gun.
Closed bolt- We all know why thats good.

Baddies:
Bad Reputation- Idiots will buy this gun from time to time, and mess it up and say the gun sucks because of their ignorance.
Kick- A little, not much though.
Conclusion: Great gun. Its fun having people call your gun a cocker when they see the back block move. I've had my Omen called a Black Angel. Its a good gun. Fast, accurate, efficient, the essentials.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 14th, 2004 at 10:08 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sterenberg Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All sorts of Spyders and Tippmanns (not really comparable), 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker, Dark Angel
Marker Setup: Evil Omen (Black), eVLution II loader, Crossfire 68/4.5k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Maybe a barrel kit, depending on the paint you use
- PDP chip (if 15bps aren't enough for you)
- Electronic loader (Halos will not work right, buy an eVLution II instead)
- HPA tank
Strengths: Great Cost/Benefit, speed and accuracy
Cam feed
Easy maintenance
Excellent customer service
Weaknesses: Tuning may be tricky the first couple of times

Review: I did a very extensive research before opting for the Evil Omen. I was considering a '04 vertical feed Autococker, but I was a little concerned that I would have to buy so many upgrades to make it decent that I decided to give Omen a try. The first time I shot it, I was so impressed! The marker is very good right out of the box: it's very accurate, it's fast (for me 15 bps are more than enough, but for $50, you can go and buy the PDP chip and have the speed increased to 25 bps), it never chopped a single ball (and I must have shot about 3,000 to 4,000 balls so far) and it's also darn sexy.

The funny thing about owning an Omen is that the experienced players who are used to Angels, Autocockers, Impulses or Shockers might not take it too seriously at first. They will look at you and think: "hey, there comes another kid who bought an electronic Spyder or something like that". But once they see the Omen in action, they will respect it a whole lot more. The first time I played, I was bunkering guys with Angels and it felt really good to bunker someone with a marker that might have costed at least 3 times what I paid for mine. "It's like an electronic Autococker!", "What, you paid only US$400 for it?!?!??", "I've never seen any anti-chopping mechanism like this... let me figure out how it works"... these are some of the comments I heard the first time I showed up at my local field with my Omen.

My friends couldn't really believe how good this marker is for the price I paid. It does rival markers that cost twice as much and you WON'T be in a bad shape against those guys carrying those über-expensive high-end guns that may cost more than their cars. Remember, for just US$400 you get a very well constructed, true closed-bolt marker, with a very ingenious anti-chopping mechanism, a GREAT (on par with the Maxiflow) regulator, a very good stock barrel (maybe the best stock barrel out there), an on-off bottomline etc. It's so good that most of my teammates are considering getting one.

Unfortunately, the marker isn't perfect. It took me a while to tune it for the first time. I read the manual, followed the instructions but couldn't me it work right. But once I figured out what was going on (I had to break in the reg by giving a few thousand shots), the marker got so sweet. Also, I've heard some people may experience some "binding issues" (i.e, the marker will not recock after every shot). This may happen to some of the first units produced, but all you have to do is calling Evil/PMI and they will have the necessary upgrades sent you for free (Evil is supposed to have one of the best customer services in the industry, as opposed to companies like SP, for instance...). Finally, since few people know the marker, it's not easy to find someone who's willing to help you with maintenance and stuff, although regular maintenance is really simple for this marker (all you have to do is to lube a couple of orings and to clean the bolt assembly every once in a while). Taking all these downsides into account, the Evil Omen is still one of the best options among paintball markers today.

Oh, I almost forgot... another good thing about the Omen is that it has a incredibly supportive community that you can always rely on for tips, technical advices etc. Just take a look at PBNation and you'll see what I am talking about.
Conclusion: This marker is the best choice I could have made. How else could I have spent US$400 for a brand new marker, put a decent loader and nitro tank and have a setup that will keep up with the most expensive markers? Of course you can have better guns if you're willing to spend over US$1,000. However, I'm yet to see such a complete package on the US$400-US$800 price range. Definetly, a great buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PiercedJD Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers, spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
new drop, The stock drop/rail set screw is a total P.I.T.A. to get to....... have to remove the grips to tighten it. new trigger if anyone ever makes one. twist lock feed neck
Strengths: speed, accuracy, and consistency.
Weaknesses: trigger and the rail is not as good as it could have been.
Review: I like the cam feed. As long as your pressure and recock are adjusted properly, you will never chop a ball. I went through a case and a half with one chop, and that was a recock adjust problem. If you ever experience a break in the breech, you simply remove one allen bolt, and the feed system moves up and out of place ( on a hinge) to allow you full access to the breech for cleaning.

the stock drop/rail IMO sucks. the set screw for the on/off is set too close to the grip and you can't adjust it easily with a standard allen key set. You have to use an l shaped allen wrench, and work in 1/8th turns. a new drop forward solves this for cheap enough.

the stock feed neck sucks... but heck, they all do. the fact that it is threaded same as an impulse makes it simple to replace with a twist lock feed neck though. problem solved.

the trigger takes a little getting used to. I would have much preferred a blade type trigger, as they are easier to walk. with the factory trigger, I find I have to bounce my index finger off of the raised portion in the center that would normally rest between your index and middle finger.

the gun is terribly simple to field strip. think newer spyder....... Pull the pin at the back, and the entire back block assembly, bolt and ram slide out. the back block assembly is in one piece, so no loose screws/rods/springs to get lost at the field. rotate the cam out of the way, and you have full access to clean and lubricate all essential parts. Could it get any simpler?

Conclusion: it's an awesome gun and is definitely with the top of it's price rangein terms of performance, accuracy, speed, and ease of use. Some people have problems tuning theirs, which is where the bilk of the bad rviews come from, but it is a high end marker. if you can't tune it maybe you should be shooting a spyder still. I give it a 9 based on the above review.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OmenMan Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've had a JT 5.0 which was a little similar to the Omen. My opionion is that th omen is a heck of a lot reliable. No offense JT but after about 5 months or so almost most of my shots were all over the place.
Marker Setup: I just got the Omen a few weeks ago and I still have everything as how it came, but later on when I earn some money I'm going to get a pipe which I heard works well with the Omen
Recommended
Upgrades:
From what I've I heard, the Pipe works very well with the Omen and makes the gun even more accurate. Also an egg would help with no chopped paint.
Strengths: -Cam Feeder
-Low pressure system
-On/Off Bottom
-Nice stock barrel
Weaknesses: The gun to me is a little bit to noisy, thats basically it.
Review: With the 15 bps and the cam feed all the other team is going to see is a stream of paint heading toward them. The delrin bolt works great, doesn't wear down the gun at all. On/Off valve is sweet and low pressure system works great. Compared to the Impulse, there really isn't that much of a difference. Im getting an egg because right know hte 12 volt is to slow for the Omen!!
Conclusion: All in all I think that the Omen is a great fast shooting, no ball chopping, very accurate gun. I went the other day with my friends and for the first time the Omen had no problems (except the velocity was a bit to high and from about 5 yards I shot my friend in the neck.) If your looking for a $400 dollar gun, the Omen is the gun to get.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joeluc1 Thursday, November 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi piranha sts, system x-type autococker
Marker Setup: evil omen, with 14 inch evil pipe system, 32 degress drop forward, extreme rage twist clamping feedneck, halo tsa led hopper, 47ci 3000 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel system
drop forward, otherwise tank restricts your movement
Strengths: VERY FAST GUN, this thing rips.
VERY ACCURATE
Cam feed
PMI TECH DEPT.
Weaknesses: None to mention
Review: Ok I have been upgradeing my paintball gear for the last 3 years I have been real heavy into paintball. I started off like everyone should with a low end gun. I would go out with my piranha and get lit up by everyone using autocockers. So of course, I looked into all the reviews and decided on a cocker and got one so I would be able to compete. Well when I got it, it sucked. So I sold it at the local paintball store. The guy there told me about the omen. I held it and fired it in the store. I was like this is the gun for me. I got it out on the field. Adjusted the cocking pressure and was ready to go. The gun work perfect. Not one ball break, and I was outshoting a guy with an angel. Everyone was asking what gun it was. Well the more I used it, the more I had to tinkle with the cocking pressure. Little did I know that this was a major problem that the omens were having. Well all the paintball players have started to give this gun a bad rep. The problem that the gun was having was with the machinists that made the internals. When the gun would fire the internals(which were only being held in place by a field strip pin) would pivot on the field strip pin, causing it to jam up and not recock. This was an alignment problem, which everyone(including myself) thought it was a pressure issue. So you turn back the set screw and let more air thru. This allows the gun to recock, but rips away at the internal parts. During shatnerball 3 my omen broke. Lucky for me a pmi rep was there and was able to help me. He explained the problem and told me to bring it to pmi, which I did. The first thing the tech did was tell me the problem. Then he put in all the new design internals, and rebuilt what had broke, along with a few other mods. All in all I got the gun back and made it out to the paintball field a couple weeks ago. And once again I was out shooting everyone there. I have played a few more times since the gun has been fixed, and I am just ripping ropes out there.
Conclusion: I just wanted to write this review so the omen can get the credit it deserves. Since it has been fixed, my buddy used it for a game and went out and bought one. If you are having problems with your omen give pmi a call, talk to their tech Ian.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ThorDad Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT 6.0, Autococker
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, PMI Pure Energy 88ci/3000, Empire reloader. Evil Pipe
System X Attitude, Java 88ci/3000, Empire reloader. Evil Pipe
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank. If you run CO2 use a remote. Very, Very, Very fast loader! Evil Pipe.
Strengths: Fire power!! Accuracy !! Fire Power!!! Fire power!!!
Weaknesses: Owner manual is a little hard to follow. DID NOT WORK!!!
Review: I was about to give up on my Omen. I had it less than 2 weeks and it was blowing air out the back. I called PMI Tech support, hoping it was something I could fix. Well it had to go back to get fixed. When I got it back It seemed to be working fine. I took it out to play and It chopped balls. I cleaned it and it still chopped. Took it home and thought I had it dialed in. Used it again the other day, this time I chopped only one ball. I was frustrated to say the least. I mean I spent good money on this gun, had it a month and haven't been able to put 500 balls thru it yet. I told my buddy I'm calling tech support one last time! Well I called them yesterday 11/3/03. I spoke to Mark and Brian, really the first guy I talked to was Mark. Then when I called back with another question I spoke with Brian. Trust these guys!!!! They know their stuff!! Mark explained in detail about the cocking pressure and how to set it correctly. Then it was breaking paint in the barrel, thank goodness for the Pipe system. I called Tech support back, this time I spoke with Brian. He explained that the gun might be using the air pressure to cycle instaed of the springs. He told me how to adjust that, which I did. When they tell you set the gun about 10 fps faster than you want to shoot then adjust the recock pressure. Do it! Well now the gun is functioning Fantastic. Wish it had out of the box. thanks again to Mark and Brian!
I really like the built in on/off. The loading "cam" is great especially once you set the recock pressure right. The gun's lines are smooth. PMI makes great pruducts! The adjustable trigger is super. If you get you check it out before you play. Mine was a little too light! Once the kinks were worked out it's a great gun!

Well after almost two years of using mine. Actually should say attempting to use mine. I ended up giving it to my grown son. It never worked properly for more that a day or two of play. The 18 months or so months I had it I had to send it back to tech SIX!!! TIMES!!! NOT GOOD.. Problem after problem after problem!! I wasted time and money. I almost contacted the seller to ask for my money back. To those of you who might say I can't read the instructions or such I say bunk!! This was one of if not the WORST marker I've ever attempted to use!!! I've been playing since alot of you were in diapers. Almost 15 years now. Don't waste your time and money. Get a Cocker or if you want the speed an E-Bladed Cocker. Or a Timmy or an Angel, or a Shocker or even an Electro Spyder. Just not one of these.
Conclusion: Not a newbie gun! Maybe I just got a bad one. If you want fire power this is it!!! I'd like to rate it higher, but because the problems I had I can't. But thanks again Tech support!! I was very disappointed.. PMI usually makes great stuff. Not this. I guess it does live up to it's name. EVIL OMEN!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 13th, 2005 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

volcomska Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels cockers timmys
Marker Setup: cobra ir3 black dust w/ tattoo E-Pipe
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop foward... barrel
Strengths: very fast accurate and shoots very flat. the feed system on it rocks
Weaknesses: it has a little kick, trigger gaurd isnt made for fatter fingers, its very small.
Review:
The Omen is a really sweeet gun. It easily compares to cockers and timmys. With this price you cant beat it. The gun is very accurate and shoots very flat. The feed system rocks. you just need to get used to it being off to the side. but all around great gun, i had no problems with it.
Conclusion: purchase it, right when i comes out. great price for what it has to offer...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rotoman1 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything from sting rays to dm4s
Marker Setup: i currently shoot a cobalt to black dm4 stock (pure sweetness)
Recommended
Upgrades:
i don't recommend any, will explain later
Strengths: I don't believe this marker has any strengths.
Weaknesses: One key weakness is the fact that you can not use a force feed system.
Review: ok, im a self proclaimed gun tech that fixes guns at a local field. ive repaired just about every kind of marker out there at one time or another. except these (because there's no fixing what was broken when it was made)... The marker itself is basically a modified "spyder" style blow back thats been converted to closed bolt. the hammer and bolt are not connected in the traditional spyder way, since the bolt has to return to the closed position after every shot. now first of all the blow back design has been problematic since the day it was invented. now add the the new sleeved hammer, the cam feed,the back block and cocking knob and POOF!!! what do ya know?!?! more frigging problems!!!
now then, they had to put this "cam feed" thingy on the gun because they couldn't feed the gun fast enough any other way, because the bolt opens and closes too fast. now, if you could incorporate some kind of eye system to prevent the bolt from closing prematurely, the speed at which the bolt opened and closed would not matter. BUT, the system is completely mechanical. therefore once the sear is tripped the mechanics of the gun take over and you have to hope for the best. unfortunately "the best" would mean 10-12 balls per second because thats all a revy will feed on a good day.
Conclusion: my conclusion is this a prime example of over engineering. everything this gun has to offer has already been covered by the venerable auto cocker. if you want a closed bolt gun, i mean a good closed bolt gun, buy an e-blade. i think you can obtain an e-blade for about the same price as the omen and you will not be disappointed with the auto cocker. And i guarantee you will VERY disappointed in the omen if you decide to wast your money on a tool that just wont do the job it was intended to do.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
49 Comments - Add Comment

Twinkie 509 Friday, July 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Empire Reg,
Hybrid Bottomline
Tear Drop Barrel
PROTYPE PMI board 27BPS+
EVE II
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board and new Reg
Strengths: Dependable, Accurate, Durable Shoots Fast Cleans Easy
Weaknesses: LOUD, GAS HOG, short battery life (least on my gun)
Review: I Love this gun i bought it new 2 years ago and have had nothing but success with this gun it is very dependable on the field. i had it in a tourny and it was a little muddy but it didnt stop the gun from working. the cleaning after was a snap to just take out the bolt and stic ka squegee through one side and out the other the only thing is it is a gas hog and has short battery life and its loud but for the money its a good gun. i mean its no DM8 but its shoots fast. least on mine iwth my protype board mine shoots just as fast a shocker.
Conclusion: Good durable gun if you dont mind the noise GREAT GUN
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 4th, 2008 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jctermite Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0
Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi
Viewloader eVLution 3
21" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" barrel (21" was way too long)
Strengths: Fast, light, looks, doesn't chop too much
Weaknesses: Chops a little, loud, not too gas efficient
Review: I've only used this gun 4 or 5 times, and so far i haven't had any major problems. the first time i used it, no chops. it's starting to a little bit now, but just clean your barrel every few games and you'll be fine. this gun is pretty loud, but i guess if your playing speedball that doesn't really matter. with the stock barrel, its not too inaccurate. (with a 21", it's deadly.) i would recommend a 16" barrel. it's a bit of a gas hog. i have to fill up every 5 or 6 games. the recock is also pretty hard to deal with. when you're starting to run out of gas, it sometimes doesn't recock.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the beginner to intermediate player, but i wouldn't recommend it for an experienced player. i would probably just save up for a pimp or shocker if you want a mid-high end gun. good deal for the price. i got mine for less than $200.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media