paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs X-Mag / Airgun Designs X-Mag / Airgun Designs X-Mag / Airgun Designs X-Mag

Airgun Designs X-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs X-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs X-Mag
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Adjustable Chop-Free Bolt - Anti-Chop ACE Board and Vision Eye - All Aluminum Body & Valve - Modular Breach - Cocker Barrels - Beautiful Fit/Finish- Insane Rates of Fire - Ligther than a Fly Angel - No Ball Chopping
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs X-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Havoc_online Friday, November 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used every level of mag. I've used most highend markers Angel/Excal/Matrix/Timmy/Impy/Bushy/Cockers(SFL,Race,Dye,etc .) and I believe this marker to outperform the rest for what a marker is suposed to offer a player.
Marker Setup: Red-Polished-Red CnC Xmag with a 68/4500 Flatline, Red 12v Warp, Red Halo B, CP pro barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good N2 tank
A barrel kit(CP PRO) (cause barrel breaks are not upto the marker)
A HALO hopper for the low-rise
optional - warpfeed
Strengths: 1.This marker is softer on paint than any other marker with it's level 10
2.This marker also has less recoil than any other marker with it's level 10
3.There is no other high-end marker that is lighter than the CnC Xmag
4.The Emag/Xmag is the only electronic marker that will work w/o the battery
5.This marker offers a lower profile than any other marker
6.The A.C.E. on this marker can see any color of paint(also fully adjustable)
7.Offers interchangable breeches to fit your playing mood.
8.Comes in custom colors, the valve can be custom colored too(on order)!
9.You can purchase the non CnC version and have it milled yourself!
10. Dont forget that there's STILL nothing that can outshoot the Retro Valve!
Weaknesses: The only draw back I see to this marker is the fact that they are being sold faster than they can be made at this point. If you choose to purchase one, get on a pre-order list fast!

The grips are plain but they are working on it. Plus you can get custom grips made! Find out how at www.automags.org/forums

and no these markers are not gas-hogs, I get almost a case off of a 68/45
Conclusion: I've worked with these markers for a while(selling/teching/testing) and I believe they offer the most of what a player needs. With the option of getting it custom colored and milled it also offers the most of what a player wants thier marker to look like. With both level 10 and A.C.E. , Electronic mode and Mechanical mode this marker is designed to be a players main and back-up marker in one. If you want a cutting edge marker, get the Xmag!

BTW, if you already have an Emag, AGD will be selling upgrade kits in the future so you can turn it into an Xtreme.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
34 Comments - Add Comment

ben_JD Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Mag; Angel
Marker Setup: Cut 'n' Carve X-Mag;
Evil Pipe barrel system;
Halo B (TE); and
AGD Flatline HPA regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extremely fast hopper
Strengths: Lightweight;
REALLY gentle on paint;
Ridiculous rates of fire;
AntiChop eye; and
Modular breech.
Weaknesses: A little inefficient on air, but not abusively so.
Review: AGD's E-Mag hit the scene about 2 years too late. At the time (and still) it was the only high-end marker that did not rely on its electronics to function, but actually allowed the player to switch from pure electronic mode to mechanical mode in the event of a battery failure or uncommon electronics mishap.

The ability to switch back and forth from electronic to mechanical was fantastic, and the rates of fire accomplished with this marker were unreal. But, deserved or not, the E-Mag was still plagued with the reputation as a ball-chopping machine that leaned a little to the heavy side.

Things have changed...

AGD is now producing in numbers sufficient to whet the appetite of the paintball public the new X-Mag (fka, the "E-Mag Extreme"). Take everything loved about the E-Mag , change everything that was found lacking and Tom Kaye gives us the X-Mag. Where the E-Mag was too heavy, the X-Mag is one of the lightest markers on the planet (weighing in at a few ounces UNDER the Fly Angel). Where the E-Mag was considered to be a chopper, the X-Mag combines the ingenious Level 10 modification (available to EVERY SINGLE marker made by AGD) which independently eliminates the ability of the marker to chop a paintball with an electronic Anti-Chop Eye (ACE) to give us a marker that might see 20 or 30 cases of paint without a single chopped ball.

What is the result? A marker almost as light as air with a stock trigger pull of 1/2 of a millimeter (adjustable down to 1/3 if you need); rates of fire that other markers can only attain in their dreams; and the ability to pound paint downrange without the thought of a squeegee. Also, the CnC milling on this marker is elegant and aggressive; certainly a plus for those folks who actually care how their markers look.

Also, for those of you who like your Warp Feeds, just unscrew the Cocker-threaded barrel, pull out the vertical, no-rise breech module and replace it with a side-feeding Warp Feed module (right or left) and continue the party.

Conclusion: Is this the finest marker available right now? Probably. And for the price, it is without a doubt a necessary consideration for all those interested in a product that works and works well.

AGD is still getting their production numbers up, but expect to see a lot more of these markers VERY soon...if you are lucky, you'll see it in your own marker-bag.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 26th, 2003 at 2:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tritan3 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
old shocker
new shocker
angel speed
pnuematic cockers
electronic cockers
intimidators
AMG
NYX
matrix
asorted blowbacks
dragun lcd
Marker Setup: xmag
cp nodrop
warped sports (pure energy) 68 45k 800 output
smart parts freak barrel
halo B
evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
moterized hopper ie, halo fastest, evo capacity, revy lightest
gun has an eye and lvl 10, does not break paint and (if) it does it shoots threw so don't be affraid to shoot a revy if you like the feel, the pros do it with timmys and speeds/4s all the time
Strengths: fast as S#!T ROF,
light
small
classy
NEVER chops
reliable
quality
Weaknesses: price
finding one
Review: In the land of the Timmy the XMAG is king. One thing that makes people reluctant to buy this gun is that they've never seen one. They're arn't that many tournament teams that play with the gun. This has nothing to do with the marker, xmags are unavailable, and airguns doesn't hand them out to teams like Bob long, Dye and Smart parts do. Lets face it the Timmy and the Trix have the circuits now. I was fortunate enough to reff at a field where 2 people had this marker, one day one of the guys let me shoot his ( a red to black on a warpfeed). It made an impession. When I finally had the money for a new marker, I was going to get a vision 03 shocker, when I happened upon a retailer who had this gun in stock. I jumped on it thinking that they're so rare that I could always sell it a little loss if it wasn't a tournament gun. I had my doubts, I've had enough gun trouble to believe in "shoot what the pros shoot." Now you would have to tear this marker out of my deathgrip to get me to part with it. Why it is the tournament gun: Fast, in electronic mode it can hit 20 bps not on paper, in your hands!. I know they say that the A4 and the DM4 and the empires cycle at higher bps in electronic mode (keep in mind so can the xmag in reactive mechanical mode). I'm telling you now that your X is a gat and will shoot strings like non other. The trigger comes pretty long in electronic, seperate the cuplink remove the rail/grip frame, tighten down the set screw on the select fire lever so that in test the DOTLED reads shot and then loosen one half turn. I know your A 4 can get a tighter trigger, bc the hall sensor need a little more travel, no worries. on the top of the grip, unscrew the eye board retension screw, remove the eye board(leave pluged to the board). put the lever in mechanical. Use something metal to remove the 2 magnets. find a piece of plastic or wood or paper about the size of the 2 magnets and place it back in the hole. Put one magnet back in, on top of you homemade spacer. Put the gun back together. OK, your pull is now insane. What about the Timmy was board or the Matrix debounce boards. Lets face it, trigger bounce on the was and the nyx/dm4 boards are what make the guns popular. Don't flatter yourself those guns are cheating (adding shots) when you rip into them they take off. The x does too. Now that you have a light trigger select SHBF on your DOTLED. This is shot buffing, if you turn it down to somewhere between 30 and 40 you will get added shots. If after this you still want the gun to shoot itself when you pull the trigger then set the selector lever to 9 o clock. This is hybrid mode or "reactive electronic" and the ref will only suspect "cheating" when he sees your victims. The gun is beautiful, I get comments on mine all the time. Its small 2 the halo doesn't peep out over my head when I'm shooting. I replaced the barrel but there is no rush too its pretty nice. The gun has cocker threads which is a beautiful thing if you've ever tried to use a mag. The lvl ten doesn't break paint. The eye is recessed and keeps up every ball that comes down the feed neck is shot. I love my xmag
Conclusion: If you can afford it get it.
There are a few really good guns on the market,
the DM4, The empire, alias Timmies, Trix LCD's,
soon you'll see was impulses, signature A4's with eyes, Cyborgs, Dynasty shockers
the x mag definatly is in league with these tournament markers.
Maybe not the obviouse choice as a tournament gun but definatly a preformer. Think of it as a ferari, in the land of corvetts, mustangs and vipers
I honestly love my gun, and I've never been satisfied with anything in my entire life.
thats saying alot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magsrule Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
anything that ends in mag.
Marker Setup: gloss black Xmag w/ black Smart Parts all American 14", Black Halo B, AGD flatline with black tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel I guess, thats it.
Strengths: light
fast
pretty
can't chop
consistant
compact
can switch to mechanical
no rise
Weaknesses: takes a long time to get one.
Review: Although there is no such thing as a perfect gun, this gun comes close too it. it has the lowest feed neck in production right now, and the feed necks are angel threaded so you can get hi rise if you want. The level 10 and ACE combined make chopping impossible, even with old and non-round paint. the barrels are cocker threaded now so you don't hafta worry about the nubbins and stuff. The coolest thing is being able to switch it to mechanical in case the battery dies or somethng, and my favorite, it has hybrid. hybrid makes it so you still have an electro trigger pull, but the RT valve pushes back the trigger.
Conclusion: buy this gun if you have the money, it is without a doubt the best gun out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mag pusher Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag RT, Angels and various electro cockers
Marker Setup: E-MAG xtreme with Warp Feed and AGD Flatline 3000 psi 68 cu
Recommended
Upgrades:
Try it before you do anything!!
Strengths: My team were part of the beta testing team and have seen it develop into something totally awesome. Been using it now for a year and a half. It's light, accurate, reliable, gentle on paint and extremely fast :-) It gives you the option to shoot either warp or centerfeed. AGD has an excellent customer service and has a great users forum at www.automags.org
Weaknesses: Production rates are still low.
Conclusion: It's a brilliant piece of machinery that will serve you well !!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster 2002 B2K
Marker Setup: X-mag C&C blue to silver fade, Evil Pipe Barrel Kit, Evo II with Y-Board, AGD warp-feed, Air Gun Designs 3,000psi 68ci Flat Line air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel or barrel kit, good adjustable or preset reg, must run this marker on N2 not CO2
Strengths: Small, light, dependable, very fast, soft on paint, craftsmenship, simple design, accurate, has own backup
Weaknesses: Not made anymore, hard to find, still abit pricey ($1000-1200)
Review: This marker is hands down the best marker ever made, period! AGD has seriously outdone them selves.

THE GOOD:
This marker is easily one of the smallest on the market. It is very compact, and has almost no profile (especially if you use a warp)
It is very light, it only weighs something like 2 pounds (may not be as light as a timmy or a shocker....but it WILL outperform them)
Very dependable....I have yet to have my X-mag break....or to hear of one just breaking for no reason or from normal use.
This marker is FAST! It is capable of more than 20bps without shoot down (reduction in velocity or cycle time) And even faster with a warp feed! The trigger is very light and is fully adjustable.
This marker is softer on paint than any other. With the level 10 bolt and the Anti-Chop Eye (ACE) it is impossible to break paint. About the only way that could happen is if there was a really bad paint to barrel match.
One of the first things you will notice about this marker is the quality. This is one of the most solidly built on the market. No poorly made parts went into this marker, of that you can be sure.
The design of this thing is oh so very simple. In fact it is so simple it is complicated. When you first get your X-mag and start adjusting it to your liking you may have some minor problems with it. The most common is that it will leak. Most new mag owners end up calling AGD tech support with-in the first 72 hours. This is NORMAL. The problems you are having are just a matter of adjustment. And rest assured any leaks or other problems you are having are easily fixable. I recommend you call AGD tech support, especially if you are not all that experienced with paintball markers. Their customer service is some of the best in the business.
And let me say, this thing is accurate! Even when I had an old school All american 1 piece barrel on it (relatively accurate, but nothing to brag about) it was putting paint onto targets in very tight patterns (about 9" at 50 feet). Put a better barrel on it and the accuracy will be unbelievable!
This marker has its own built-in back-up. If your battery goes dead in the middle of the day flip a switch and, boom, your in mechanical mode. You can even take off the battery and keep playing while it is charging! Not to mention there is a hybrid mode. With the switch in the same position for mechanical mode and the battery on you will be in hybrid mode. Meaning the trigger will behave like it does on a mag RT. Very smooth.....AGD was thinking on this one.

THE BAD:
Unfortunately the X-mag isn't being made anymore. This is due to the Smart Parts (the paintball community needs to start boycotting them) lawsuit.
And since they aren't being made anymore they are quite rare. Not many people have one of these babies.
Average price is about $1100.00 or so. If you want one be prepared to spend the money.


Conclusion: If you are looking for a high-end competition marker that will easily outperform, outshoot, and is more reliable than any other marker out there the X-mag is for you. I give this marker a solid 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004 at 1:58 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Merlin Sunday, November 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-mag, Micro E-Mag, Stock IR3, Fly Ir3, 2002 Dark Angel, B2K2, Impy, Rat Impy
Marker Setup: Mag avec Intelly, LX, Centerflag 200 series, and other assorted goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
All you need is a Eggo2, or a HALO, and a good barrel, adn a high end adjustable air system
Strengths: In my opinion this is the best marker out. It is light, fast, no way to chop, and the sweetest lookin piece of meat since Faith Hill
Weaknesses: Well unless you can con Tom into making you one special you wont get your hands on one for a long time. the only reason I have touched one is that my friends dad has become obsessed with paintball, and bought one at a tourny.
Conclusion: This is the finest piece of workmanship I have ever seen, The pics of it are sick and not even the sexiest autocockers come close to this beast. I honestly think that AGD has hit a homerun and a half with this guy, and will come back into the tourny scene with teams scrabbling for sponsorship.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Outlaw5 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini Mag with X-Valve. No comparable electro's.
Marker Setup: Black Satin X-Mag XT00206-Dual Breaches (Center and Warp Left), Armaggedon 68/4500, CP Mini Rail, Powerlite Scepter 16" Black Satin Barrel Kit, Warp Feed Left, Halo-B/Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spend the money in the original purchase for both the Flatline Air Source and Warp Feed. Barrel Can come later. remember not to sell short because of the purchase price. As my dad used to say; " Don't buy a Cigarette Boat if you can't put gas into it"!
Strengths: Speed firing
Weight
Adjustable Trigger
Modular design
Hybrid mode
Switch from electric to mechanical mode
Weaknesses: Availability (Although getting better) and possibly price: Then again see above...Cigarette Boat......
Review: I've been playing for a while and although I have limited experience with electro markers I feel I can say this marker is all that you could ever want. With my MiniMag and X-Valve I can reach pretty amazing ROF (mechanical trigger) but I can reach ROF that i never thought of before with this marker. You know when you fire fast enough that an opponent can't run through without being marked, you've reached a high ROF. The speed at which you can clean/wipe down the marker and the modular design are in itself worth the money. This marker with a Warp feed and Halo will give you positive Ball Feed no matter how you hold the marker to include a ROF unmatched by most.
Gas mileage is average and I have gotten surprising distance with my X-Mag. 1400+ from a 68/4500 Flatline system.
The original barrel is excellent and if a ball were to break inside the barrel it cleans out in three shots and then shoots darts. I have yet to break a paintball in the breach by the Warp or Bolt (LvL X is the heat)-(5 cases of paint thrown proudly). The ACE is excellent and if you forget to turn it on the marker is covered by the LvL X.

My Edit: I have put the X-MOD Software onto my stock board (designed by Lornecash on AO) (See My review on the X-MOD Software on PBReview) and this marker now outshoots all the high end markers that are out today. I can shoot 21 BPS full auto for demonstration purposes without one skip or Lvl X function to stop from breaking paint. Again, if you can pick up an X-MAG and get the X-MOD software this gun will keep up with all guns now and in the future!
Conclusion: All in all this marker with barrel kit is the reason why I play. The latest in technology and best customer service in the business. Tom Kaye and the Crew out did themselves with this marker and the advancements that are incorporated in it. When you have the money and find someone selling it on a forum, don't ask why they are selling it... buy it, laugh like a mad scientist and know you have the power of the X and all will be awed!......
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 12th, 2009 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

copper-top Monday, January 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker, RT, Angel
Marker Setup: 0,8l kevlar tank
4500psi Apocalypse
FREAK barrel
WarpFeed
Custom C&C
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing man... This marker is sweet as it is.. If anything, get the WarpFeed.
Me getting that FREAK is just me being a snobb!
Strengths: Everything.... There's a really REALLY high ROF. No chopping paint thanks to the LEV10 bolt... There's a SELFADJUSTABLE ACE, and that rocks..
It's fast, it's accurate, it's deadly.
I would'nt want to meet a team with X-MAGs...
Weaknesses: Nothing... This is one fine piece of metal...
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN! It really is the best of the best out there..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1stdeadeye Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Mag, Impulse, Automag R/T
Marker Setup: Black C&C X-Mag with Vericle and Warp Left feed. AA Freak Kit. 12V Warp Feed. Eggo II. Crossfire 88/4500 stubby. 32 degrees mid drop. SS fittings.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Warp Feed
Strengths: This marker rips. It is extremely light. It weighs much less then the non-electro R/T I was shhoting before.
The marker is very easy on Paint. The level 10 only kicks in when the marker outruns the hopper. I set it up at 20bps and didn't chop a ball(Not sure about actual rate of fire though).
The speed of it was incredible. No shoot down noticed!
Weaknesses: Trying to get one. My wife ordered me one in August. It arrived 12/18! This marker is very difficult to get. It is also pricy at over $1300 for my marker.
Conclusion: If you can afford the best, here it is. It is lighter, faster, and better looking then any other electro out there. In fact, the X-Mag has set a new standard for the next generation of paintball markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media