paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force VTL / PMI Piranha E-Force VTL / PMI Piranha E-Force VTL / PMI Piranha E-Force VTL

PMI Piranha E-Force VTL Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force VTL

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force VTL
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The E-Force version of the VTL with a new styled air chamber and a venturi bolt.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force VTL is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Bigbadfish Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e99 (yuck)
Marker Setup: Pirahna E-force w/ G3 body, Boss bolt, Boss blade trigger, Boss flush cocking system, 32 degree springs, Evil Detonator regulator Java 68/3k (yuck, soon to be replaced) and anxiously awaiting the release of the T-board for fish
Recommended
Upgrades:
See my setup
Strengths: Solid marker, simple teardown (no tools needed), and E-force frame very user friendly.
Weaknesses: Somewhat limited for upgrades (more limited than a Spyder anyway), ball detent.
Review: Ok,
Where to start?

This is just a solid piece of gear. The parts are nicely made, they fit together well, and so far superior to Spyders its not funny.......ok, maybe it is a little ;) The only concern I have found is the ball detent. It is rubber, instead of a wire or spring loaded ball bearing, like others. But I don't know if this is exactly a flaw. My nephews Spyder has a ball, and it scratches the heck out of the stock aluminum bolt. Pirahna's detent seems geared toward protecting the bolt, and though I hate going through detents pretty quickly, I would rather throw those away than my $30 Delrin Boss bolt

The E-force frame is polymer, but very strong. The pushbutton controls for semi, burst, and full auto are conviently on the side of the frame. Some people complaing that the tourney lock sucke because it is inside of the frame and hard to get to......ITS SUPPOSED TO BE! A tourney lock that can be disabled quickly would be pointless. It doesn't have any kind of display, but to be honest ball counters don't really do anything for me, though a battery gauge would have been nice....Not that it really matters much. The stock battery takes forever to charge, but it also stay charged for a very long time. I have shot a case and a half on a single charge with no problems. The only real problem I have seen is the stock trigger, which I replaced as soon as I could with a boss blade

Anodizing varies from year to year, my G3 has thick, solid ano. The colors tend to be more simple than Spyders, but personnaly I don't want a flashy gun even on a speedball field.

Field stripping is as easy as possible. If it was any easier, I would worry my gun was going to strip itself while I'm shooting it. One pin to push out and pull the rear block. With practice it is possible to do the whole thing with one hand in a couple of seconds. I did it once as a bet. I had a stick squeegee in one hand and removed the whole assmbly with one hand, squeegeed the barrel, and reassembled in 11 seconds.

The only thing that trully seperates this from a high end is the lack of eyes....comming soon from scenario dreams :D

Oh and PMI has great customer service. I think how a company stands behind their product speaks volumes about th product itself. The same care that went into teflon coating the internals to prevent premature wear goes into the way the customers are handled when they call.
Conclusion: Overall, stock this gun is about a 9.3. But this gun can be upgraded to a 9.99999999 very easily and for a decnt price. So since I can't give it a 9.3, and have to choose betweena 9 or 10, I will give it a 10 based on what mine has already, and soon will become.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

halocan Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
only electronic gun I've used so far.
Marker Setup: Pirahna e-force w/ pmi razor barrel. Vert. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
regulator
bottomline
Strengths: Very fast for a cheapy
Firing modes
Price
Light
Weaknesses: Comes set for a vert. tank
Stock barrel is too small
Review: I bought this gun right after my 98 custom broke on me. It was worth evey penny. I did not have a single problem with this gun for the time I used it. Very fast for a cheapy. A much better gun than the 98 custom. This gun performs so much better than a rental and will save you money on renting a gun every time you want to play.
Conclusion: An all around great gun for the price. I reccomend it to all beginers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agent_orange_88 Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: 14" teardrop
gas thru grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper
delrin bolt
gas thru grip
barrel
Strengths: Fairly light
Small
Easy to use and maintain
Weaknesses: Strong recoil (my opinion)
Stock bolt wears up
Freezes
Review: This is a real great gun for its class. The reason why it is so good is mainly the price, I got mine for $100. However I did have some problems. First off is the bolt, it really wore out the inside of my gun and since there is no beavertail it can hurt you. I was actually whacked a couple of times in the chest and confused it for getting hit with a paintball. This gun also has mad recoil but it's nothing you can't get used to. If you do not buy a gas thru grip and you shoot like a maniac ( I personally do ) the gun will actually ice over. I remember one time in a game it actually grew a layer of ice on the gun, and it was about 90 degrees out that day. This gun is actually more good than bad though, it's small, light weight, fast, and affordable.
Conclusion: This gun is the best for a beginner and really good for a second gun. Buy it.......now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbman09 Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine. Pmi ext pro
Marker Setup: Parhana Vtl E-force, 6-stage exp. chamber, 3 1/2" Uni-mount dropW/ Phat dovetail on/off asa, 14" J&J ceramic, 47ci 3000psi Phat bulldog hpa tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel!!!!!!!!!!!. Stock barrel really sucks. Expansion chamber( if using co2< helps it expand>), Air upgrade if possible, Electronic hopper.
Strengths: Light (somewhat), not super fast but fast enough, accurate
Weaknesses: bolts can break if not oiled really well, Wont re-cock sometimes.
Review: I have played with this gun stock for a couple months and I didnt like it. I got everything you seen above and it is great. Not super fast but it works. Im thinking of getting an e-bladed cocker. If your looking for something simplem cheat, and very customizable, this is probably the way to go.
Conclusion: All in all its a good gun for beginners but if your looking for really high performance, go with a high end gun, but be ready to pay alot( over $300)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phill-chill Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Mech VTL with powerfeed
Marker Setup: 2K3 E-force VTL with cp reg 12 oz Co2 and Empire Reloder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline/reg
Strengths: Could be accurate with correct paint to barrel match.cheap
Weaknesses: I think that I got A slightly defected one
Review: I moved up to this marker from a mech VTL. I wanted to put a e-force frame on it but I hated the powerfeed. Whene I first got it I oiled it, and charged the battery; Whene I got back from school I tried turning it on. Nothing happened. I didn't panic. I may have only one year of experience but I am very knowledgeable on the subject of paintball. The first thing that I did was remove the battery and put a screwdriver across the terminals. I put the battery back in and charged it again. This time it worked. after dry firing fow awhile, I took out the hammer bolt Assembly I saw a bit of wear, so I looked at the top of the upper tube and then I kinda freaked out because I saw that the anno was scratched off in 3 places. as mentioned before I oiled it so it couldn't have been that. Next I saw a small nick in front of the bolt. So i got steel wool and polished the top of the bolt and the top inside of the tube I was also having some recocking problems which this fixed I chose not to send it to PMI to get it replaced. I recently started going to a differen't field and I was happy to know that the paint was perfectly matched to my barrel which makes for some good accuracy. Not as good as electropneumatic markers but still good. I am recently having no problems. I am planning on buying an omen or a mag next year.
Conclusion: Currenly this is probably hard to find now but if you do find it, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sarroopoo Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
First electro-blowback marker ive used
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (everyone stresses this for a reason, the stock one sux)
Bottomline if ur as bothered by the vert bottle as i am
Strengths: Cheap, Easily maintained, great rate of fire
Weaknesses: Barrel!!!!!! lack of bottomline
Review: This is my first gun that isn't a brass eagle and i have to say i love it.
I've had it for a few months before I stopped playin for the winter (too busy to freeze while shooting) and other than the barrel its great. Easily stripped for cleaning, just pull the pin in the back and it all pulls out for easy cleaning.
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner or a veteran looking for a back up gun. Just dont forget to change the barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Apeterson Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Spyders, pirahna sts 2k2, autocockers
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash
12" Spyder Trio Barrel
Shocktech Supa-fly Bolt
12v Revvy w/ X-board
16oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel for sure
Strengths: Fast, light, clean
Weaknesses: Barrel sucks!
Review: This is a great gun, its light, clean, and shoots very fast. It can easily shoot 12+ bps. The functions are very easy to change with the push buttons on the side. The barrel is VERY BAD, it shoots everywhere. So get a new barrelbut besides that, its overall a geat gun.
Conclusion: Great gun buy it. Ony make sure you get a new barrel for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LuckXIII Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Low end spyders (victor, victor ii, xt etc)
Marker Setup: Black E-force Vtl
Core Drop Forward with Gauge
14" Terminator Barrel
Empire Reloader SAB
32 degrees x chamber
Tiger Shark Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basics, such as a barrel, fast hopper etc
Strengths: Check Body
Weaknesses: Check Body
Review: Weaknesses:
Trigger might be too light for some, since there is no 'trigger feel' but for me I love it. I did have some problems with it not recocking when I had my stock bolt, not anymore though.

Strengths:
The Price, very upgradable, trigger speed factor


took long hours of looking up and trying out all the guns I could before starting investing in paint-balling but I decided on the PMI E-Force Vtl for multiple reasons.

First it was the price that got me, I got mines with both type of chargers, gas thru, bottom line, for just about 100 bucks.

Second, the gun itself is pretty basic in design and style (basic spyder like upgradeable ness) but with the e-force it pumps out, I believe if Iím correct 10 bps on auto and 14-15 possible with a muscular finger =]. This gives me a huge advantage over other players with guns around the same price and level such as spyders and tippmanns which was main reason why I got it.

Upgrades was my last reason. As I stated above this gun can be upgraded greatly, I wanted a gun which I could upgrade to my hearts desire, and just like any spyder I did so with this gun, got an empire reloader which greatly helped since it could keep up with my trigger, but also a new barrel which is a must for any gun almost (but from personal experiences I believe that the stock barrel isnít that bad after rounds and rounds of target practice from multiple ranges) and other things for personal touches such as drop forwards and x chambers which arenít really needed that much or at lease not yet.
Conclusion: If your looking for a gun to start off and hardly cost a penny I would greatly recommend the E-force VTL, I got mines with bl and gas thru for 100, just about 30-60 dollars under the other pmi e-forces, for 30-60 bucks I'm pretty sure you can upgrade very nicely and get better items on your gun than the stock 130-160 dollar pmis. If your crazy enough like myself and the rest of the reviewers here you can keep upgrading untill you hit dye boomstick with nitro and the works, or you can just start with this cap everyone and save up for an autococker, either way best starting gun in both price and overall effective killing machineness haha.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 3:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nrodz1991 Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder tl, spyder sonix, and pmi vtl
Marker Setup: Eforce vtl with bottomline, asa and gas thru grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: This gun is very fast, user friendly, and small
Weaknesses: barrel, grip frame is plastic
Review: I got this gun a few weeks ago, the day i purchased it I ran about 500 balls thru it with 2breaks wich were caused by the gravity fed hopper. It is un accurate but then again, 9 inch barrels suck. I instantly noticed the great speed, about 13 bps wich is good for a pirhana.
Conclusion: If you are a rec player or a new tournament player then this is a great gun, only $100!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jedi1354 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
my first gun so imagine my friend has one
Marker Setup: blue e-force vtl
smart parts progressive 9stock is better)
gas threw grip
eggII
16oz cO2
bottomline

getting
a crossfire nitro
x chamber
new bolt in may
Recommended
Upgrades:
new berrall
electronic hopper
x chamber
bottomline9without it is junk)
Strengths: cheap at paintball online
easy to costomize
good gun
Weaknesses: white flakes come out of the berall brakes balls wit my progressive
nothing else
Review: it is a good gun if you want something to coustomize but is electric it is great
good out of the box better with nitro
brakes balls like mad
but is a good gun
at paintballonline it has extras
nice good beggeners gun
i broke a oring the day i got it witch wasnt that good
Conclusion: grate gun to costomize can be very very good i reccomend to newebies like me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media