paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel

Empire Twister Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Twister Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Twister Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Barrel produced by Empire Paintball. It is internally rifled to produce more of a predictable trajectory shot after shot. Made from polished 6061 composite g-aluminum. Comes in lengths of either 12",14", or 16".
Product Availability 
The Empire Twister Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Pretorian Monday, December 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month113 of 116 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
As for similar products, I have never used a rifled paintball barrel before, but I have used the Tippmann Flatline, Armson Stealth, Tippmann Sniper, JJ Ceramic, and numerous other barrels over the years.
Marker Setup: Main: Tippmann 98C, Low Pressure System, Bob Long Torpedo regulator, Air Tipps Stainless Steel Screws, Toxic Performance double trigger, Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt and Power Tube, Staight Line remote with Pro-Connect, 12v Revolution, numerous barrels and air tanks.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used several for testing. The paintballs I used included:
Draxxus Midnight
32Degrees Team Colors
Brass Eagle Super Swirl
Tiger Eye (some paint a friend had, can't remember the manufacturer)
PMI Premium
Strengths: Well, the barrel was very accurate and quiet. In comparison to other barrels I have used I would give it a resounding 9. I tested the Twister over a couple of distances and a couple of conditions. For the sake of this review I will call the the first range "average range" of most barrels, say maybe a 35 to 45 yard distance. The second I will call "long range", like the distance of a Flatline barrel, say maybe 65 yards. The conditions were still and windy.

First lets look at accuracy. At average range it was was every bit as accurate as a JJ Ceramic or Armson Stealth, actually I think it had a little tighter spread. The wind appeared to have much less effect on the Twister than with the others tested. At long range, it couldn't compare to the Flatline of course because it couldn't make the distance, but was every bit as accurate as the Flatline at the average range. And when I say more accurate I mean it shot a tighter spread of paintballs.

As for paint breakage, I had some of the Brass Eagle and Tiger Eye break in all of the barrels tested. I did not however, have any other paint break in any of the barrels I tested. So, to that I can conclude that the Brass Eagle and Tiger Eye paint was either old or is just cheap.

As for velocity consistancy. Here is what I found most interesting. With all of the other barrels tested, when I would change paintballs I would also record a change in velocity (FPS) on my chrony. The largest was between the Brass eagle and the Team Colors on the average. However, with the Twister I had very little velocity change. I don't know if this is some unknown benefit of the rifling, but this is just what I found. Even going from the Brass Eagle paint to the Team colors I had less than a 10 FPS change in velocity. Therefore, I must conclude that the Twister takes a wider range of paintball sizes with more consistancy.
Weaknesses: Well, I don't really like tha spider on the top of the barrel, actually on my Tippmann the threads are such that when the barrel is screwed in tightly the spider is actually turned halfway to the right, not on top. Also, you have to run a squeegy through them a few times if you have a ball break. They don't clean as easily as a JJ Ceramic.
Conclusion: In conclusion I am buying another one of these for my son. It is a very good product. The rifling inside the barrel is subtle so I don't know if the balls actually spin when they come out of the barrel or not. I do know it is accurate, and very quiet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

jamra27 Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month33 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, evil barrels, a5 flatline
Marker Setup: bruizer outlaw, added expansion chamber, empire twister barrel (makes it 50x more accurate), nothing else needed
Recommended
Paintballs:
can't get better than BLAZE!
Strengths: everything
Weaknesses: nothing
Review: ACCURACY: ok this is my favorite quality to this barrel. I took this baby outside for the first time a few days ago with my Outlaw to test it out. everything i shot at was at least 25 yards away. there was slight wind. everything i aimed for was hit right on the money in one shot! bullseye each and every time. right away i fell in love with this barrel. then the next day i took it to the fields. I was up against angels and such that were 10x better than my gun, but with the Twister latched in, i was able to not only be a competition, but take out anyone that required an accurate shot to hit. i don't see how such an accurate barrel could be at the price it's at = )

LOUDNESS: What can i say? This is the most quiet barrel i have ever shot in my life. With exeption to the noise the bolt makes, this thing will make your gun silent.

PRICE: I got this thing for $65 and i think if i had got it for twice that much it would still be worth it. The Empire Twister is just as good as any $200 barrel out there!

DESIGN: wow the Twister looks SWWEEET! Very cool design and intimidating. Will turn heads everywhere you go! The all black keeps you from reflecting which is a good bonus.


Conclusion: OVERALL: Absolutely the best barrel you can get for under 100 bucks and then some. I recommend it to anyone looking to improve their shot by 100%. It will not fail you at anypoint during the game! Excellent barrel overall, so go get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 4:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SACSlym Thursday, December 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year25 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP two piece, pathetic stock barrels (5), and a teardrop
Marker Setup: (Gun I have barrel on) Spyder EM1 with CP Drop forward, Teardrop vertical feed, and RE:load hopper.
Other Guns of importance:
Smart Parts Impulse with CP two piece Barrel, CP Lightning drop, 12v Revolution with X-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze, TC venom
Strengths: Extremely Accurate! Excellent at shooting cross field. I was instantly impressed with it's abilities, trying to find the right barrel is hard and I wasn't sure if Twister rifiling would fix my hunger for an acurrate barrel. My father was the one who got me into its idea. I suggest you go for this barrel if you like being a sniper.
Weaknesses: Carry a squeegy if your gun chops balls, the barrel does eventually clean itself even with a bad break, but it takes a good 25 balls before its ok.
Conclusion: Great, I have never used a better barrel! If you can try it, please do so! I think it'll work for anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rod Pole Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J & J ceramic - quieter, shoots through breaks better, but overall not as good
Lapco BigShot - louder, shoots through breaks better, but overall not as good
Stock barrels on various guns
Marker Setup: Dragun TES with 16" Empire Twister barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Every paintball I've tried rolled through the barrel when doing the size test. The closest fit I found so far was with Evil paintballs, but every paintball seemed to work pretty consistently (probably due to the rifling).

Edit: I just recently tried some Marballizers, which I didn't try sooner because I was told they are small bore, and they are an almost perfect fit for this barrel. I don't know how people could think Marballizers are small bore because these things are HUGE, the biggest paintballs I've ever used. But yeah, it figures that the best paintballs for this barrel also happen to be the most expensive ones around. Well worth it, though.
Strengths: Rifling makes it more consistent
Looks really cool on my TES
Weaknesses: A real pain to clean if you break a ball.
Review: The Empire Twister barrel does exactly what it claims to do: increase consistency. This barrel does not make your balls fly farther or straighter, but even so, it DOES increase accuracy. How's that, you might ask? Basically, your paintball will fly in relatively the same path as the ball you shot before it flew. Normally, when you shoot a paintball through any other barrel, the paintball will begin to curve after a certain distance. The distance and amount of curve differs with each barrel, but the fact that it DOES curve remains true. The problem is that it doesn't always curve in the same direction from one shot to the next. It'll curve up and to the left on one shot and then the next shot curves slightly to the right. This makes your shots less accurate after a certain distance. I mean, pretty much every barrel will shoot the same for the first 20 feet, right?

The rifling in this barrel alleviates some (if not all) of this problem. This barrel makes every shot curve to the right after awhile. It shoots mostly straight, but near the end of its flight path, it will curve to the right a little. The severity of the curve depends mainly on the velocity of your marker and the paintball size. It may seem bad that this barrel will most likely make everyone who uses it's shots curve, but the fact that it curves the same each time is FANTASTIC. It's alot easier to use your balls as tracer fire when tracking a target when you know where your shots are going to end up. You know that if you shoot at something 100 feet away and your shot misses to the left, all you need to do is redirect your aim a little to the right. With most other barrels, you could aim at the same spot and miss in each direction, mainly because that's the nature of a paintball. It's basically the same concept the flatline uses: put spin on the ball to make each ball fly the same. The flatline puts backspin on the ball to keep it in the air longer and ultimately increase it's range and accuracy. You can't get a flatline for spyders, however, so this is your best bet. (Well technically, you could put a flatline on any other gun if you're mechanically inclined, but Joe Average can't so we'll just leave it at that.) I know I may seem a little long-winded when explaining this, but I just want to make sure everyone understands the full benefit of this barrel.

Anyways, the only bad thing about this barrel is that it's hard to get all the paint out of the porting with just a squeegee because the rifling creates an uneven surface. You need to run water through it and dry-fire it a few times to really get it back in shape. Also, my dad has a Piranha E-Force SRT and this barrel and his gun just don't seem to agree. I let him try it out a few times and it busted balls like crazy. He was firing full auto, so I don't know if that affected it or not (and yes, he has an agitated hopper). My TES isn't full auto, but you can fire it fast enough to make people think it is, and I haven't broken any balls yet. I guess the world may never know.
Conclusion: I'm sure that this is not THE BEST paintball barrel you're ever going to find, but it's pretty close to the top of the list right now. Every barrel could be quieter or shoot straighter, and this is no exception. This barrel does, however, greatly increase the consistency or your paintballs flight path. It makes your paintball marker fire a little more like a real gun, and that's great. I'd definately recommend this barrel to anyone looking to upgrade from a stock barrel or someone unhappy with the consistency of their current barrel.

This barrel deserves a 9.4 or so since it could be quieter and easier to clean. No barrel available today that I've ever seen deserves a 10, so take that into consideration when you read this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2004 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

MexicanMadMan Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None you cant find as good of a barrel as this
Marker Setup: Electronic Rebel BTB, Halo B hopper, Empire Twister Barrel 14'
Recommended
Paintballs:
Polar Ice
Strengths: Shoots accurate far and looks awesome, it is cheap too
Weaknesses: 1 It scratches easy and thats it
Review: This is an awesome barrel if you dont get it you will really regret it. You can find it as cheap as 50 bucks and it being rifled improves your shot 100 %. I have a fully auto too, it is great shooting shot after shot after shot. You can hit your friend wherever you want, the finger, the mask, anywhere. I suggest the 14 inch, just don't run into stuff with it or it will scratch, the twelve inch isnt as accurate and the 16 and 18 get in the way, way too much. Get this barrel now you dont know what your missing!
Conclusion: This barrel is cheap, it looks awesome, and shoots as good as 100 dollar barrels i am telling you this barrel wont let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BigT42 Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 C
Recommended
Paintballs:
Cheap Zap Rec. Paintballs work for me. 2000 rounds and no breaks in the barrel!
Strengths: VERY ACCURATE
Quite
Weaknesses: The logo ends up on the side when installed on the Tippmann 98
Review: I got the 14'' Twister. This barrel is amazing! I was blow away on how accurate this barrel is. The first time I played with this barrel was speedball. I was scoring head shots left and right People would pop out from the barriers and I would nail them! I was also surprised on how quite this barrel is. I am very please with my purchase ($67 delivered)

The only barrel more accurate than this would have to be the Flat Line (yes I know many of you are going to argue this point). When setup correctly the Flat Line is very deadly. I my opinion the Flat Line is not cost effective ($115 vs. $58). But this is a review of the Twister not my opinion of the Flat Line.

I have shot about 2000 rounds of Zap Rec. paint balls with NO BREAKS! Unfortunately, some of those no breaks were on my targets…but that is a problem with the Zap Rec. paint balls not the barrel. (Read the reviews on that paint and you will know what I am talking about.) I guess that’s what I get for being too cheap to get good paint.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel. It is 100% more accurate than the stock barrel. I would also like to add that this barrel adds at least 50 to 60 feet of effective range. Before you start leaving comments that barrels don’t help with the distance please note I said EFFECTIVE RANGE. You will be able to shoot & hit targets at greater distances with this barrel…Buy it you will be happy!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2004 at 5:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptbfighter01 Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock, j&j ceramic, pmi thunderpig, others
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
14" empire twister barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use RPS big ball cause their cheap and i'm cheap when it comes to buying paint
Strengths: -fairly quiet
-very accurate
-adds more range to your gun
Weaknesses: -breaks some balls every once in a while
Review: i think that this barrel goes great on the 98 custom because of the fact that it adds distance, quietness, and most noticebly alot more accuracy. it doesn't curve balls like the stock and it most definately doesnt sound like a cannon when you shoot with it. the main reason i wanted an aftermarket barrel was to improve my accuracy-and that's just what the twister barrel did.
Conclusion: it's definately a great buy for around $50 and if you have a 98 custom i would really recommend it to you if you want some better accuracy. i wouldn't recommend it to all the people out there who are looking for a super-silent barrel cause that's not what this is.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 12th, 2004 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_601 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomsticks, progresives, freak, All-american, whisper, stiffi, etc
Marker Setup: (my gun);Spyder Imagine 03'
Empire twister barrel
Shocktech superfly bolt
Bob Long Millenium 45 degree grip frame
Halo TSA LCD Backman
Bob Long Millenium ASA
new trigger for Elec. grip Frame
32 degrees 11 peice spring kit
clamping feed neck
removed the bulky sight rail

Recommended
Paintballs:
it really depends on the humidity, but probably large bore, or medium, definately not Draxxus, it is very small
i actually used wallmart scorch and did not bust one ball
Strengths: Looks,
porting
rifling
Weaknesses: Consistancy,
see review
Review: i did not have space to put this into the weaknesses, but i screwed it into my spyder, and the empire symbol pointed straight down toward my LPR, when screwed COMPLETELY in

i found that if it is humid outside, the barrel is VERY unconsistent, and when the humidity is low( like right now) the barrel shoots pretty accurately, but evry 5 or so ball, it throws one upto 6 or 7 inches away from the main spread

this barrel did not by any means add up to everything said about it, but it still is pretty good. i think the barrel looks awesome, especially on spyders, and probably the promaster and the wrath, but if you have anything better, you can aford better that this

I am getting a promaster soon, and i am NOT putting a twister on it.
my friends have progressives, and on humid days the progressive kicks the twisters butt, but in fall and winter, its vise versa
Conclusion: if you live in the north, i would say buy this barrel, but if you live in the south as i do)DO NOT BUY THIS!
i mean, if you plan on not playing all summer long, and only playing in the cold, it would be alright, but otherwise, no.,
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Draken91 Friday, September 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razor 14", Freak Kit on my autococker
Marker Setup: 98C, Empire Twister barrel, CP flame dropfoward, AIC expansion chamber, Starfire delrin bolt, Dead On proseal valve body....#2 Psycho Ballistics Lighting, full 14" Freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, if you can afford them, but i mostly use Draxxus Blaze, great balls for the price
Strengths: STRONG!
Accurate
Quiet
Great range!
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Bought my 98c, played one week with the stock barrel, was NOT impressed, saw this on a store shelf, decided i needed to grab it, so i did. Took it out in my back yard where i have a 30 yard range setup, started and 10 yards and was happy, was dropping them ball on ball.
Started slowly moving back and while at 90' its not ball on ball, i can put every ball in a 16x16 box that i use for my target. I have to say VERY happy with this product from empire!
Conclusion: High end barrel, mid range price, if you aren't getting a pipe kit or freak kit get this, you'll love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lover9586 Monday, December 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
armson stealth
Marker Setup: 99 cocker, boomstick, mach 404, 48ci pmi, psycoballistic drop,kapp ram,2001 sledgehammer front reg, ans 3 way, system x hinge frame, akalmp lightning bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore to small
Strengths: awesome in cosistancy...very tight grouping...didnt not break any paint while i was using it.. makes an awesome sound when its wizzing by ur head.....the rifling does put side spin on the ball...so i dont know what the person of the review a few below is talking about... its not gonna add any distance to your shot...but what it will do is make it more cosistant..it iwll actually arch to the right alil bit in long range....but will practically hit the same spot every time so u know where your shots going
Weaknesses: its slightly sligns to the right at long distance....but not really bad....not enough to care about
Conclusion: i would definetly reccomend this barrel....as said below it was very cosistant with many type of paint ....go get 'em tiger
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media