paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel / Empire Twister Barrel

Empire Twister Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Twister Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Twister Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Barrel produced by Empire Paintball. It is internally rifled to produce more of a predictable trajectory shot after shot. Made from polished 6061 composite g-aluminum. Comes in lengths of either 12",14", or 16".
Product Availability 
The Empire Twister Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
merc0311 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts 16" progressive
Marker Setup: A-5
smart parts progressive
expansion chamber
remote
shock tech bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any medium to large bore
Strengths: Consistant
durable
good looks - after a cammo paint job
Weaknesses: Picky on velocity
Review: I bought this product after some good reviews on here. I took it out this weekend and shot it as a walk on on my local field. It was dipping slighty down at medium ranges (might be due to fps), but this barrel is extremely consistant! I shot 2000 rounds of paint, everything from evil to scorch (darn good for the price) and did not have one break!! I highly recomend keeping your a-5 shooting no more than 270 fps when you have this barrel, and ensure that you have a good paint to barrel match. If your fps is too high, it will cause your ball to drop (comes in handy for those bunker campers!!). Overall this is a decent barrel that is worth the price and it will make your shots predictable. Make sure that you have the basics down (paint match and fps) and you will love it!
Conclusion: This is a good barrel for the price. If you are looking for consistancy, but there are just as good if not better barrels out there for the same price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bauls86 Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (crap)
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Sonix
14" Empire Twister Barrell
IPI 3.0 E-Trigger
12oz. CO2 tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heat
RPS Super Swirl
RPS Big Ball
Strengths: Rifled Barrel
Weaknesses: Tough to clean
Inconsistent at times
Review: The Twister Barrel from Empire is decent and definitely better than any stock barrel. The rifling makes most of your shots more accurate, although every so often one will tail off course. I would say 8 out of 10 shots from 25 yards would hit a 1' x 1' target, which isn't too bad. I've heard many people comment on how ugly the barrel looks, but i don't agree with them. It matches my all black spyder perfectly, and i'm satisfied with how it shoots. I did run into some problems the other weekend with cleaning the barrel mid-game. It takes a little longer to get this barrel clean due to the rifling.
Conclusion: All in all this is quality barrel. It is fairly accurate and not nearly as expensive as buying a barrel kit. It's not a bad buy if you're on a budget, however there are a few better barrels out there.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stanman Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI Trueflight: straight rifled and horrible honing
Armson Stealth: stright rifled and well made

smooth bore:
JT one piece (.690)
Smart Parts All American
Dye Boomstick
Flatline
Marker Setup: E-Rex Pro, palmer stab, New Designz Spyder HP valve,Modified APM Nylatron bolt, Halo B w/rip drive, psycoballistics bullet drop (small),14" Empire Twister: soon to come Shockteck spring kit, nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
Large Bore: PMI premiums, bigball... All draxxus/diablo seem to work just fine even though they are a medium bore paint... <- those are the best, but this barrel is not even remotely picky about paint
Strengths: Extremely Consistant flight path
Quiet enough for my tastes
Looks sick on my marker
Weaknesses: Nothing to gripe about as of yet
Review: Well I must admit the whole consistent flight path thing is great as one can adjust his aim in a more precise manner than just accurate point and spray (As with all other barrels)... All the other barrels that I have ever used or tested have always been an extreme improvement in consistency over stock barrels (of course), but I was amazed to see a similar result between other after market barrels and this barrel... The CMI trueflight was decent after alot of work and compaired to a friends Armson stealth, but still had vertical variation as the ball still rolled out the barrel, just it only had two choices front or backspin. With the twister the ball is spun in the direction of the rifling as it moves forward and does not have the option of rolling in any direction.

I mean no other barrel was able to hit a 6" paper plate shot after shot at 30 yards. My JT one piece could do that at twenty, but it also missed at least once out of every ten shots... The twister at the worst had one nick the outer edge... That blows me away and I can't wait to see what it does on the field...

Also in my testing I used (according to my shot counter) 362 rounds of paint (a hopper of Draxxus midnight and a hopper of PMI Premiums) and not one break. So I do not know how well it cleans... The rifling is subtle though so it shouldn't clean too badly as I have one of those foam disk cable squeegees which should form well into the grooves...

NOTE: I will update in one year to give more detail as this is a vague review and is based only on testing (which was performed in my barn so there were no environmental factors *ahem* wind *ahem* )

EDIT: Well, finally I got to see what the beast cleans like; my friend outshot my hopper (was using a reloader at the time) and chopped... Well seeing as I use a cable squeege with foam discs it wasn't that bad at all as the foam form fit the grooves... Went ahead and did it again to see how long it took it to clean and it took ~25 balls before it was decent, though it was funny to watch the balls travel in a curly-que path :P
Also, as far as wind goes it takes quite a gust to throw the balls off course which is awesome.
However in over 5000 rounds not one barrel break so the barrel is very reliable.
Conclusion: Great barrel as far as testing goes but i will be sure to be very grueling on it this weekend and try to put myself in every situation possible to test reliability...

EDIT: Awesome barrel for the price and would still be worth more than $100: a definite must buy for those on a budget with open-bolt markers....

I wish they had decimals, but they don't; nothing is perfect ,but so far this is as perfect as I have seen... 9.5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 28th, 2004 at 12:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1__SpLaTtEr__1 Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: My Pirahna EXT Pro G3, Camoed out with custom side mounted scope, 12 volt Revolution hopper, Empire Twister 14" barrel, 20 oz Pure Energy Tank, 6+1 with remote, Jt Nvader goggles
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, PMI Premiums, Diablos
Strengths: Accurate and quiet
Weaknesses: none at all
Review: Through my testing, the barrel only missed 3 shots from 10 to 110 feet going up by 10 feet each 10 shots! I love that barrel, and I have never regretted buying it! I know a few other kids that bought the Twister due to my advice, they have never regretted buying it either, the Twister is a sure to love barrel!
Conclusion: I think everyone shoul dhave a Twister 10 outa 10!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KoreanKyle Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Performance
Marker Setup: 2002 powerfeed Autococker, 12volt Viewloader Revy with X-board, Empire Twister Barrel, 32 Degrees 45 Slide Trigger frame & Gel grips, Twisted Paintball Products Bolt, 68ci 3000psi Crossfire Nitro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Larger bore paintballs, some of the smaller more "professional" paint tends to roll through, match a good paint and you are all set
Strengths: Accuraccy is amazing, Looks very nice, internal rifling
Weaknesses: Scratches sort of easily
Review: I have only used this barrel for a few months, but the accuracy is amazing. It can consistently hit targets at short, medium, and some long range distances. The rifling gives the paintball a spin that is very consistent so there are no suprises when firing it. The rifling takes away the mystery of what kind of spin each ball will have which results in a much more predictable shot. The barrel looks amazing in my opinion, the only problem is that the barrel scratches fairly easy if you are rough on it. Another pain I have encountered wtih this barrel is that it is hard to clean if you break paint. However this rarely happens and is usually caused by my marker clipping a paintball or something equally unlucky. With the rifling it makes it difficult to use a jerk squeegie but i have found that the squeegies that are made of all cotton (not sure) work the best. However, if worse comes to worse, just dry fire the marker a few times on the field and it should gain back 90% of its accuracy. Overall it is an amazing barrel for the money. Only problem is it tends to be a little louder than some of the barrels on the market.
Conclusion: Read above
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miki Wednesday, February 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 + car stock + 14" Empire Twister barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tomahawk
Blaze
Field
... any good
Strengths: 1. Very Accurate as for 14"
2. Quiet
3. Price

Very good idea of replacing original barrel for Tip. It is very similar to Armson but cheaper.
Weaknesses: 1. Design (spider-logo on the back) - it should be more "military style" especialy for Tippmann
2. Sometimes hard to clean - does not self clean



Conclusion: Great barrel / Great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintPlaya Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ultra lite, j&j, freak kit, lucky 15, Cp barrels
Marker Setup: System X NME w/ Lucky 15 kit awesome barrel kit
i used the twiset on my old spyder electra.
Recommended
Paintballs:
A very small bore paint smallest you can find
Strengths: I hated this barrel the only strength was it looked cool and was kinda quiet.
Weaknesses: Chopped and was not accurate i chose my stock barrel over it.
Review: I hated this barrel it definitely ruined a couple days of my paint balling i think no one should get this get a sp teardrop barrel or a lucky not this. it is crap. it really is great barrel until you chop a ball in it then your day is ruing cause the balls fly so side ways it is sad.
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel get any of the others in my others used.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Triple_X_Losi Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
e99 stock barrel, quoit riot
Marker Setup: SPYDER E-99
EMPIRE RELOADER
20 OZ CO2 TANK WITH ON/OFF VAVLE
SYSTEM X BARREL CONDOM
EMPIRE TWISTER BARREL
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dusk, Marbs and blaze
Strengths: accurate as hell, looks kool, has rifling inside, quiet
Weaknesses: the spider logo is not cenetered, to many ppl to trade for it
Review: It works awsome, very quiet, looks awsome, i dont think there is any weakness to it, i got a 13in wish i coulda got a 12, the other bad thing is that it isnt availiable in diffrent colors cuz it doesnt look the best in black on a blue e99
Conclusion: Buy It
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tphnc Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alot
Strengths: It looks neat
Weaknesses: Cheaply made, inacurate
Review: I was highly disappointed by this barrel. Thanks to other people posting on this sight, I ran out and bought one. That was a big mistake and one I will not do again. I think people equate spending money with how well a barrel performs. If you are shopping for a barrel, when you are out at the field and someone is shooting incredibly accurate. Just go up and ask them what kind of a barrel they are using. The other thing to remember is that paintballs are not perfect and therefore are going to be inaccurate to a degree. This barrel (maybe I got a bad one) isn't even accurate after 40 feet.

Was going to be list of weakness's:It is not that accurate and definetly not worth the money. It is put together very cheaply, will scratch very easy, the barrel o-ring does not keep the barrel tight on the gun. My cheap 16" tru flight barrel I bought for under $20 on e-bay out shoots this thing in a heart beat. It is very hard to clean if you break one in the barrel. The internal spiraling only hooks the balls to the right.
Conclusion: Maybe I got a bad one but I would never buy another one of their barrels.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Elevation7 Monday, May 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: PMI E-Force Auto, 20 OZ Pure Energy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS
Strengths: None, looks cool
Weaknesses: Everything.
Review: A guy I play with bought this barrel for his 98 Custom, and I for my gun. We both HATE IT.

DO NOT BUY IT! It sucks! It's a waste of money and it doesn't do anything to help you. It's a gimmick. Rifle barreling doesn't work for paintballs. What rifling does is supposed to put a backspin on the barrel. It works for solid objects, like a bullet, but paintballs are liquid filled, so, the center of gravity constantly changes. I was unimpressed by all the people who give this barrel such great reviews. Both the 98 Custom guy and myself who played with the barrel hated it.

It sucked so much I didn't move my gun after firing it on a tree about 20 yards away from my position. Out of 10 shots I probably hit the tree twice, while paint went all around the tree.

We even tried adjusting the velocity and it didn't do a damn thing to make it better.

It's also loud! Which sucks/
Conclusion: STAY AWAY FROM THIS BARREL! Buy a teardrop, all-american or something better. This barrel sucks. I can't believe I wasted $65 on a barrel to find my stock barrel on my gun worked better/
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media