paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proflex Mask / JT Proflex Mask / JT Proflex Mask

JT Proflex Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proflex Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proflex Mask
[ View Photos (42) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A pro's choice from the start, this new system incorporates the world's best selling goggle; the Spectra™ with our world-famous soft ear protection. The state-of-the-art Pro-Flex® mask provides superior face protection using JT®'s unique insert molding technology. This gives the player a rigid upper mask for ultimate protection with a soft lower to conform and move. Add the 7visor®: and our infamous thermal lens and you've got a winning combo. Performance, comfort and versatility - now available in all the hottest colors to make sure your team looks as good as it plays.
Product Availability 
The JT Proflex Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ranger42 Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months54 of 70 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray goggles
I beat-up these poor things until they were the plastic frame and a lense. The lense was not much better than looking through a couple sheets of clear plastic tarp. Seriousley the goggle frame padding was torn out, the lense scrap and scratched with permanent paint stains, and the plastic frame had gouges and scratches from constantly playing woods games.
Marker Setup: The indestructable Tippmann 98 Custom in the beautiful silver color
Insanely accurate 14in All American barrel
Double trigger and Smart Parts Smart Grips
16oz Pure Energy CO2-lets face it CO2 is the best way to play when using a tippmann, the gun doesn't know the difference between liquid CO2, gaseous CO2, or nitrogen and high pressure
Strengths: Very soft, comfortable, clear, customizable, easy to use, good looking, and perfect mask.
Weaknesses: I don't wear glasses but your glasses still fog up.
Review: My quest for the ultimate paintball mask started the first day I played paintball, 2 years ago. I first started out with my PMI masked and the first day I played it was miserable. The thing fogs like nothing else. Luckily my first experience of the sport turned into a full-on obsession of paintball. I have been playing everyweekend for the past 2 years, honing my amazing abilities. Anyways, my talent could not make up for the crap I was wearing on my face. I needed a real man's mask. For my senior year spring break trip my friends and I went camping and to play paintball (I told you it was a disease). The day we got up north in Michigan it was beautiful paintball weather. But, if you know anything about Michigan the weather constantly changes. The next day we woke up to a foot and half of snow, cold weather, and a lot of moisture in the air. My quest for the mask ended here. My friend let me use his JT spectra Flex7 mask and I was instantly impressed. NO FOGGING!! It was like a whole new game to me, no fogged lenses. I loved the mask from that day on. The mask was a piece of art, it was perfect. When people say to buy a quality mask first and the mask IS the most important piece of equipment to own in paintball-they are right. After the trip I made the decision not to buy the Flex7 mask and use my old piece of garbage still. This was a good decision because the ProFlex was not out yet. The mask caught my eye and I researched it on this site and finally decieded to purchase my favorite piece of paintball equipment. For Fifty-five dollars from www.888paintball.com, I bought the JT spectra proflex, ironman black. When I recieved it finally it was the piece of art I thought it would be. You first open the mask package and take it out, you get a mask bag, the mask, and some soft padding strips. The mask itself is the most perfect thing ever. The lenses are insanely clear and when wearing the mask you can see the reflection of your eyes in them. For the lenses I clean them with plexus spray and toliet paper. Soft toliet paper does not scratch up the lense and you don't have to buy a microfabric towel. It works very well. The soft ear padding is very comfortable and protects very well. My problem was I didn't realize what the foam strips were for. !PUT THEM ON YOUR MASK! That way the soft ear protection sits off the side of your head and makes it even more possible for paintballs to bounce off the sides. Seriously a paintball is more likely to bounce off the sides then break when you take one to the side. The soft ear foam with the sticky strips put on it makes the soft ear foam sit more off the side of your face and makes the mask dissappear. The insanly nice lenses, soft ear foam, and soft bottom part of mask combine together to form a mask that you really forget about. You forget your wearing it. The soft rubber mask on the bottom is stronger than the orginal Flex7 stuff and doesn't give out to paintballs as much, so don't worry about have a paintball smack you in the mouth like the older mask. The mask does the job. I personally wear a baseball hat backwards and the mask over it without the visor attached and I forget im wearing the mask. This setup gives me a total soft paintball bouncing head except for the eyes and nose area and the back of the neck. Even though the Raven company and V-force says their goggles have more visibility, they are wrong-all hype. Raven uses proimity to the face to gain visibility which is uncomfortable and V-force gives you an extra big lense. If you look at the human head the JT lense gives you the best possible outcome for vision. The lense wraps around the side of your head to the outmost point to where your perhiphal vision ends. The mask can't possibly allow you to see more below or down past your nose because the rest of the mask has to protect your mouth and the up vision is always blocked by the rest of the goggle frame. The JT mask system gives you the utmost vision and the cheapest professional frame possible. So many pro teams use these goggles. Changeing lenses can be a hassle but just read the instruction that the mask comes with.
Conclusion: The goggles give you the best vision, will not fog, new lenses can be bought anywhere, the soft ear and mouth protection (it does not hurt when you get hit in the ear if the foam strips are attached to your mask), easy clean lenses, super comfortable, affordable, customizable. The best piece of equipment that I own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Los Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months41 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proteus, JT Spectra, JT Flex 7
Marker Setup: Cobra Mamba IR3 - Dust Black with tatoo
68/4500 Air America Armegeddon
14 inch titanium Longbow set.
Strengths: Light, light, light. You don't feel the mask at all. The Spectra lense is a plus too. No fogging, the only reason I have a fan on it is because i kept mine off of the Proteus I sold. This mask actually covers your chin unlike the Proteus or the Dye Invision.

You can pick colors that match your team.
Weaknesses: The foam on the ears is thin. I played with it and was worried, unitl I got hit there. it's not that bad. If you are not into the foam ears, you can get the proflex and replace them (If you want the colors), or just get a base Specta or Flex 7.
Review: I used this mask and the Proteus mask recently in downpouring rain. The Proteus required the fan the entire time to keep the fog away. The Proflex didn't require this at all. I didn't notice an advantage in hearing my teammates with the Proteus. They could also hear me just fine. So I didn't see the advantage of the Proteus in these areas. I don't use my visor usually, but since it was raining I did.
Conclusion: I highly reccomned this product. If you like the Proteus, go for it. but the Proflex is tight,...that's probalby why the pros still use them. Hope this was helpful.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

ClippersRchamps Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lots of cheap mask, high end: invision, this one, and vforce morph
Marker Setup: VF 2002 autococker, 12v Revvy, STO 3-way, STO Ram, Palmers Rock Regulator, WDP Spiral Regulator, Crossfire 47ci 3000psi, Check it Unimount.
Strengths: VERY LIGHT, COMFY, VISION, DEFLECTS Oncoming balls to your ear peice!?!
Weaknesses: kinda ugly (I have plain black one), Chin Strap on mine.
Review: Ive been meaning to get a new mask for awhile. All my friends had DYE Invisions, it was too small for my head, and I wanted something different so I bought the JT Pro-Flex. It was really light, and excellent ventilation. It uses Spectra goggles so u can replace it when u need new thermal lenses. The Pro-Flex can be bented on its rubber mouth peice so u can breathe easy when u need to or play like that to look cooler. What I like most about the Pro-Flex is how light it is, also the incredible vision it offers you, its more than what the Dye Invision and other goggles provide, and if you need to change lenses its quick like T3 internet. Even though it is light, the pro-flex offers one of the best head protection out there, the best ive ever worn, second only to the Vforce Profiler, but heck its like $100 for that Vforce.The soft ear pads, I was afraid of because it doesnt offer as much protection than other goggles . I have been shot on the side, and it doesnt hurt that much. Also, my brother and I tested the myth about it being able to deflect pball shots on the ear peice and it works sometimes, like 4 pballs out of 12 pballs that hit me, so 33%.
Conclusion: Best goggles. Its under $60. Light, comfortable, excellent vision. Dont get the black version because it is ugly. Getting shot at the soft ear pads doesnt really hurt. I would prefer this over the Dye Invision
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Flex7 that's as close as you'll get
Marker Setup: Marker setups don't matter...because sure..I have marker A right now...but in 3 months that could change...besidse what does marker set up have to do with my goggles? Call me stupid, but I see no purpose in this matttering.
Strengths: Comfy, good field of view, bounces, colors, light, cheap
Weaknesses: Foam padding looks dumb for some, can cut down luckily, chin strap
Review: I got this mask (for free [thank you caleb and those who donated]).

First thing I noticed about this mask, even before I put it on, I saw a chin strap. So I was like wow..what is this? Okay let me say it is pointless and stupid. If you have the back goggle strap on the mask won't fall off anyway, the chin strap all it does is get in the way of yelling, so it makes communication hard. So I suggest cutting it off, although that voids the warrantee what else can you do?

The next thing I noticed about the mask is that the mask is SUPER comfortable when it's put on. Wow that's all I can say. It feels 100x better than my x-fire and I thought that was comfy. Now that I've got this and I use my x-fire again, I hate the x-fire. The foam padding no the face is so light and is perfect for molding to any face structure.

The goggle strap makes it so that the foam will feel good on everyone's face, and the strap adjusts to fit most heads.

After putting the mask on I went to see how it looked, and I thought that foam padding looks atrocious (sp?). I am one of those people who doesn't like how it looks when the padding goes above the top of the mask, luckily since it's foam it can be easily cut with sissors.

Another great feature about the mask is BOUNCES! The foam ear peices will help with bounces, however as good as that helps that isn't why the mask givse you a lot of bounces. It gives you a lot of bounces because of the SUPER FLEXIBLE lower mask part, the grill looking thing. It's so soft that you can flip it up and it will stay there (so agg, but looks stupid).

The mask is also light which is awesome because I can wear it for long periods of time without even caring or noticing it's on really.

The colors of the mask are good because you can get many different frame colors and straps.

Parts on this mask are good too because they are interchangable with Flex 7's and other spectra lenses.

It's also fairly cheap, less than $60 at most stores.
Conclusion: Overall this has to be the BEST mask I've used and probably ever will. The comfort, field of view and overall greatness of this mask help to promote it onto my Best buy lists because it's cheap, compared to other masks out there like a profiler or invision.
I'd say buy this if you're low on cash, or if you're high on cash. It doesn't matter this is my favorite mask out there on the market right now.

Plus it says pro...so I mean...you can't lose.

10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

bunkermonkey77 Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flex 7, flex 7 ize
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Sniper
WGP 2k2 Cocker
Spyder E-99
Spyder Sonix
Trracer (3)
Kingman New Hammer
Viewloader Triton
Strengths: light, flex, no fog
Weaknesses: i dislike shots to my lip...
Review: this mask is extremely light, like a pigeon... or something like that...
Thats my favorite bit about the mask, then theres that flex that deflects balls from hitting ur mask, you just have to love that little bit...
the lens is great about not fogging, so i really cant complain much!
Conclusion: as long as u dont mind geting a little sting from a ball hitting ur chin, buy this mask!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

spudz Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Elite Headshield TERRIBLE
Strengths: Doesn't fog
Bounces
Comfortable
Looks Great
Weaknesses: Difficult to get lenses in first couple times
Water gets between lenses(see review)
Review: I wanted to get a thermal lense after having fogging problems with my old jt mask. I ordered this mask and it costs me 60 dollars, A fair price considering the product.

When I first received the mask in the mail, I went outside it was about 18 degrees celsius, I did some laps around my yard trying to work up a sweat, I then breathed as hard as I could but the lense did not fog. During my first walk on match with this mask it did not fog.

The soft bottom face and ears got me many bounces, In a match I would leave my face out just to get bounces, To see if it really was as great as they say, and it truly is very bouncy mask.

Putting this mask on is really comfortable, There is no proshops in my area so I don't have the luxaries of testing things out in the stores. But this mask's foam around the goggles is soft, No friction between your face and the mask. My old mask I would often stick moisturizer in my foam to make it so my face did't have scratches all over where I was wearing my goggles. My only complaint about comfort is when tightening the mask really tight, your hair will often gets caught.

Doing what I was doing (leaving my head out to test the bounces), I got gogged. Then came cleaning the goggles, I read the booklet that came with it , Wetted a clean baby's wash cloth and dabbed all the paint off, The lense looked good, Then after cleaning I stuck the goggles on to see how well I did. But I could see orange paint inbetween where the goggles meet the lense. Popping the lenses out is fairly easy, Just start at the top using your thumb to push all the tabs out, Then sliding it around. I consulted the manual but couldn't find anything about getting paint out from inbetween the lenses. I looked on the forums and it said run the lenses under water. Doing this got all the fill out between the lenses, But I now had a pool of water built up in between the thermal lense. This puddle evaporated after about 3 days, But now the goggle is not as efficent keeping the fog off the lenses. Now to get paint out between the lenses I take q tip and cut it down so that it fits inbetween the lenses, Works much better than getting water inbetween.

Putting the lenses back in can be quite difficult, I stick some dish soap on the nose prongs to get them in, This makes it much easier.

The actual lense is so clear, When sticking the lense in front of your face you will see no difference than just looking with your eyes, It is so clear that it reflects your eyeball back at you in low light. The field of fiew is great, You don't notice the sides of the mask, My old mask I had 2 big rectangles of to the side of my face, Non of this Terrific. Scratching is fairly good compared to my old elite 180 lenses which would pretty much scratch just touching it,. I have 2 small scratches from playing bushball, The durability of the lense is excellent.

Conclusion: This is a terrific mask for all players, I STRONGLY urge you to save up your money and buy an outstanding masks such as this. I rate this product a 10 now that I have all the minor problems worked out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 17th, 2005 at 3:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.K Saturday, November 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various goggle systems including:
JT X-Fire
Proto Switch FS
V-Force Grill
Vents Cylus
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse ETEK 1
Proto '07 Matrix Rail Special Edition
Proto '08 SLG
WGP '05 SuperStock Select Fire
WGP '03 w/ AKA Lightning bolt and ANS pneus
WGP '98 Autococker w/ CCM premium pump and auto trigger kit
Psycho Ballistics Lightning w/ pump conversion
Ariakon ACP 2.0
Tippmann ProLite

Strengths: Very light, very comfortable, modular and customizable. No problems with the lens fogging up.
Weaknesses: Removing and replacing the lens for cleaning and/or replacement.
Review: I started playing paintball with a JT X-Fire, moved onto various other manufactures over the years, then came back full circle to JT, buying my Proflex.

The JT Proflex is very light and very comfortable. It is a modular design and customizable. I have not had an problems with the lens fogging up.

My only gripe is removing and replacing the lens, BUT realistically, the time it takes is really not that much. I guess that I have been spoiled by quick change lens systems.



Conclusion: Highly recommended. I've used other nice (and some expensive) goggles, most with the newer quick change lens systems, but overall, none of them really stands up to the JT Proflex. It simply is (IMHO) the best goggle EVER.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 15th, 2008 at 3:07 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ski Bum1080 Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just a PMI X-ray (no comparison)
Marker Setup: (black) 03 VF
Belsales Hollowpoint 3-way
Egg 2 w/ y-board
Crossfire 68/4.5k
Strengths: Amazing field of vision
Ball bounces
No Fogging
Very, Very Comfortable
Weaknesses: Might get hurt if hit in the ear, but I haven't been yet so.....
Review: I got this after I got fed up with my PMI X-rays. I group and I wen't up for my first indoor paintball field game. My marker was working fine, except for a chop and my tank and everything else was working great. But in the middle of a game, my goggles fog up like crazy, I can't see or anything and it is getting hot in there. I was stupid/desperate enough that I loosened them from my face and tryed to clean out the percperation on the inside. After that day, I decided to get something new before my next time paintballing.
So after looking at all my options I decided to narrow it down to the v-force morph or the Proflex, The proflex was cheaper and my favorite team, the naughty dogs were using them and dynasty was too. So I bought them..... WOW!!! I was blind but now can See!! It was incredible to put them on for the first time, after a little adjustment with the straps, they fit like a glove and I couldn't tell at all I was wearing them. The field of vision is the best I have ever seen.
The next week I got to try them out in the snow and they woked so well, I only got tagged once that day in speedball and woodsball. I know it might not be the goggles, but I like to think so. I would highly recommend you get these goggles, Just please don't mess with the inside of the goggles (inside lense) because of the thermal lense.

Conclusion: I give the vision a 10
Comfortability a 10
anti-fog 10
these were the 3 things I was looking for in a goggle and I found them.
I hope this review helped those in the decision
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Saturday, December 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7 - same but with hard ears.
Profiler - jaw not as flexible but much easier to remove lens.
Grill - more aggressive look, easier to remove lens.
E-vent - love the look & the lens change.
Marker Setup: Ion, some ups
Un1tech
Vlo Jr
Crossy 72/45 stubby
Strengths: Comfort
Customization
Never fogs
Weaknesses: Not much.
Review: Proflex = most comfortable mask i've ever worn. Ample foam, light, very breathable.
Near-endless combination of parts, as there's many frames, bottoms, lenses, soft ear colors (and now designs) & straps available.
Mine never fogs. The dual pane thermal lenses really do the trick. I've even worn single pane lenses with no fogging occuring.
Proflexes are very comparable to other masks in price & in some cases, are cheaper.
Conclusion: Great mask that's been a player's favorite for years and for very good reasons.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Feed Kill Chain Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proshield - Same lense, but the Proflex is more comfortable and has better ventilation, JT Spectra - Years and years ago, cant even remember if they had multiple Spectra models back then or if it was just the Spectra.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Double Trigger
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT QEPH Mod
Shocktech Drop Foward
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Polished Internals
Palmers Pursuit Male Stabalizer (With Gauge)
Palmers Pursuit 12" Barrel
Single Spiral Porting Option
Polished Black Finish
.690 Bore Size
Ball Dent Option
Strengths: Comfort, Ventilation, Excellent fog resistance, Looks, Softer material promotes bounces, Large assortment of accessories.
Weaknesses: Cheap ear foam protection. Getting goggles out of surround.
Review: I paintballed alot when I was a kid, getting back into it now as a adult I remebered how important a good mask was and it was my first purchase. I wanted a mask that was comfortable and had excellent fog resistance and I found everything I wanted in the JT Proflex.

This is a excellent mask well constructed and very sharp looking, its also not that popular and you dont see many of them at the field helping to give you a different look. This mask has a old school look to it, it dosnt make you look like a martian or buck rodgers like some of the newer masks do.

The Spectra goggle system is excellent, when paired with the wonderful venting in the Proflex, mask fogging is a thing of the past. Im a big guy and when I run around on the field I get very hot, my goggles constantly get steamy and sweaty but these rarely fog, in a couple high humidity scenarios I experienced the slightest amount of fog I simply popped my fan on for literally ten seconds and the goggles got 100% clear and stayed that way. Im not sure any mask is 100% resistance to fog, but these come very close. Another benefit of the mask is voice projection, this mask dosnt give you the annoying echo inside that some masks do and enables you to yell loud and clear to your team mates without giving you that in mask disorienting sound of your own voice feeling. I have seen more ref's wearing the proflex than anybody else probably due to this feature. The mask also covers the face well and does a great job of protecting chin / lower cheek area, Ive tried on some Events and my chin stuck out (Double chin im kinda big :() and it didnt exactly cover my lower cheek area to well. The softer material on the lower part of the mask (Cheek / Chin Guard) is a very flexible plastic that has deflected a couple balls for me which is a great plus. Its not going to make you invincible but the occasional bounce off the face denying a opponet a headshot is priceless. I just need to reiterate this point also, this mask is so comfortable and and the ventilation so excellent that between games I often end up leaving my mask on forgetting sometimes its even on, its so light the mask seems to float around your face, and you really have to wear this goggle system to understand what I mean.

Now for the bad as no product is perfect... I have two complaints with this mask and one is barely a complaint... My main complaint is the foam ear covers that are only attached to the mask by a screw / rivet and have a slot that the head band runs threw. My right foam ear guard tore off the rivet attaching it to the mask, so now its just sitting on the head band, its no big deal but the rest of the mask being so wonderful and solid with quality construction it kind of makes this stand out as being extra cheap. My other complaint (Which isnt even really a complaint but I think people should know what they are getting into) is that when you are taking the mask apart getting the lense out of the lense surround the first few times can be a real pain, it took me a couple breakdowns to get it to the point where I dont have to tear my fingers apart to get the lenses out. Its probably a good thing that its so tight, but just be aware of this, its not something I would recommend for a younger player 10-13 as it can be really hard and frustrating.
Conclusion: This is a excellent mask if you want quality and comfort in a good looking product, aside the small problem of the cheezy ear foam protection this mask is a top of the line product and you wont regret the purchase. I will give this product a 9 and if it wasnt for the ear foam it would easily get a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 17th, 2008 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media