paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Paul Hewson Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 RT
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, with carbon fiber brrl, 3000 cc tank, E-grip.
Strengths: Mad fire power. Battery lasts, light short trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Draws attention. Banned at your local field even turbo/response mode? Pricey.
Review: At first i tried the RT in my A-5, which was not reliable and tended to jam. The E-grip however works flawlessly. The only thing is to check and make sure that this thing is legal at your local field. I thought that the Response and turbo modes were legal and was promptly told to put it to semi after i won some games, ( i'm not even that good). but in all fairness when its on turbo or RT its just as fast as fully auto, and makes it too easy to bunker people and take out opponants.
One trick to overcome this ban is to put the grip on semi-auto, and turn the rate of fire all the way up. In this mode if you slightly pull the trigger you can spit out a burst (3 to 5 balls) yet its still in semi-auto mode... Good times!
Also the e-grip puts the A-5 at the same level as expensive tourny markers, and is a great way to compete with these markers on the speedball field. Angel speed, cocker accuracy (with the right barrel) tippmann reliability/price.

Conclusion: This is a fun upgrade for your A-5. If your field doesn't allow the faster modes, and you mostly play rec ball, you don't need it but its fun. If you play tourny's and speedball, this will allow you to compete with any marker out there. Enjoy!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sk8punknate69 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto-cocker. they are both great on full auto.
Marker Setup: i have an A-5 w/ the e-grip and a 32 degrees 14" barrel.
Strengths: Very Good at scaring ur friends and other teams
Weaknesses: Takes too long to change modes
Review: BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!! If u are smart u will. If u buy the e-grip..make sure u get a barrel no less than 14" or you wont have a lot of accuracy. I was at Boston Paintball yesterday and i had 3-shot burst of nd i hit some kid in the face with all three shots because of how fast the balls come out. Its the best part i have ever used. My gun setup is insane because of how i use it. I am usually a back or middle player so i can cover my teammates who move up. I use the e-grip to scare the other team into staying behind the bunker so my team moves up quicker and easier. SO IF U HAVE A BRAIN..USE IT AND BUY THE FRIGIN E-GRIP ALREADY!!
Conclusion: All i have to say is it is an 11out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Turborascal Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: My Son
A-5 A-5 Hellcat
E-Grip E-Grip
Flatline Empire 15" sized
68/4500 58/3000 & 20oz CO2
drop for expansion
on/off on/off
double trigger
rear velocity

Strengths: Easy install
Really works
Works well with feeder
Weaknesses: micro switch spring needed slight bend
setting a bit awkward
Review: Bought E-grip for my son, who wanted the upgrade. I didn't think it was necessary as the A-5 performs so well right out of the box. Installed his last Friday and we went out the next day. Awesome is the word for it. Works in every mode. Feeder keeps up with no problem. Had it set to about 3/4 of fastest repeat. No ball breakage, used mostly Blaze and some Evil paint.

Well didn't make it home without buying another E-grip for my A-5. Put that on and went shooting again Sunday. Had a riot. The Flatline and E-Grip combo was perfect. Sprayed flat far and often. Sounds like a sub machine gun in the woods. What a thrill to walk through the woods and have opponents run off away from you. Only drawback will have to work overtime to pay for paint and air!

Keep your pretty colored chromed up guns and fancy paintball clothes. But if you here my son and I in the woods and see two combat dingy looking dudes coming at you with our E-Gripped A-5s, you might want to high tail it outa there!

This is a must have mod for the A-5.
Conclusion: Definite must have upgrade to a stable gun platform. Just know that when you pump out in auto with Flatline barrel you WILL attract attention and fear. Definite do it again, infact I did on my gun after doing it on my son's.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kordavox Friday, February 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like it.
Marker Setup: My gear:
A-5 Tippman
Flatline Barrel System
E-Grip
JCS Fit-Grip and Combat Stock
Strengths: -Very fast, pull&release fire is beautiful, especially if you share my disease: FAS: Fully Automatic Syndrom. (You hold down the the trig on full auto and can't let go...lol)
-Battery isnt that hard to change.
-Battery powered, as opposed to r/t which uses some of your air to fastfire the marker
Weaknesses: -Theres a little glitch in full auto mode. Tippmann knows it, I sent mine into them, and they sent me back a brand new egrip for free. Just email them at their site (www.tippmann.com in case you couldnt figure that out) and its free replacement, free shipping, got mine back in 5 days flat.
-little problem with the pins lining up, to remedy use a hammer
Conclusion: Beautiful working, minus the free-repair glitch and little pin misline, and fun. Scares everything out of your opponents, especially if you're gun is loud. (Get the flatline and go pull&release for a full hopper, you'll scare anyone within 200 feet to death.)
I love, you'll love it, we all love it.
Just remember: If it ain't Brass Eagle, it probably works...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kingspyder29 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Smart parts Impulse
E-rex pro
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
20oz co2(x2)
18" Dye Boomstick
Saw Stock
E-grip
E-dot sight
Remote
Off set sight mount
Strengths: Rate of Fire!!!!!
Easy Drop in kit
multiple firing modes
Weaknesses: $$$$
Changing ROF and Firing modes is a joke
Review: The e-grip is a must for you avid a-5 lovers!!! this thing is awesome!! 15+ bps!! You can choose between semi, full auto, auto response, 3 shot burst, or turbo. My fav. is turbo because it allow you shoot semi if you want but if you pull the trigger faster than .25 seconds it kicks into gear and fires on the trigger pull and release!!! I'm a sniper and play only woodsball but i still love this grip for those firefights when my team needs me!! You can really scare the crap out of people with this bad boy! It also lightens the trigger pull a considerable amount. The only downfall to this grip is the way you change the ROF and firing modes....they give you a tiny little flat head and have to turn them clockwise or counteclockwise to desired ROF and mode. I think tippmann could make major improvements on that.
Conclusion: Overall i find this trigger awesome! Everything you could ask for in an e-grip and if it goes on the a-5 then you know it's going to be a hit!! Besides the minor ROF and firing mode deal this trigger is a must!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cannondale Sunday, June 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom 98 with reactive trigger.
Marker Setup: SHocker turbo Loaded to the hilt, A-5 has a E-grip, Flatline, 32 Degrees bolt, antisiphon tank and have ordered a Palmers Female Regulator.
Strengths: Easy to install, Fire rate is insane commands respect.
Weaknesses: Made of plastic, Battery can't be turnd off.
Review: I installed the E- Grip for a friend and a new Flatline. He is very meticulous about his paintball Gun always wants the best or nothing and the Plain reactive trigger was problematic so all I did was install the e-grip and tested about 1000 balls (Didn't take long LOL) on the gun. it's really easy to install just watch your wires and don't pinch them when installing. My first hopper volley on Turbo mode was like a Machine gun the rate of fire and was much better than my Shocker and just as easy to achieve. My first thought was WOW I don't want to be on the opposite team (woods Play) it's Kinda scary. I though by time a person realized they have been hit they would have taken about 15 balls from this gun already!! it's one of the funnest and fastest guns I've ever shot. Makes me rethink going to The Tippmann Open in Michigan (unless I buy the a-5) and I will. I do think you need a on/off switch and a rough figure on how long a battery last I also don't like the plastic it's durable but I like aluminum .45 Frames, the adjustments are plastic also with a steel mini screw driver (included) the adjustments can be stripped if your not careful.
Conclusion: I wish for the money they could make a aluminum grip frame. A gun like this Deserves that much, i'ts worth the money regardless. on semi out mode it has a great trigger pull and that itself will increase your rate of fire for tourneys. Make sure you have deep pockets for paint once you shoot this thing you can't stop pulling the trigger and on Full auto you don't have to. I tested this gun with the E-grip and now I'm going to buy one!!! I would give it a 10 if it was aluminum and had a battery on/off and trigger travel adjustments.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 18th, 2003 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Shaha44 Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used my buddies Spyder E-99.. never anthing else electro...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with Flatline or either Lapco Bigshot (mostly Flatline), E-Gip, Sniper FX stock, Remote Coil, 12 oz. Pure Energy tanks
Strengths: AUTO RESPONSE MODE!!!! EASY TO INSTALL!!!
Weaknesses: NOTHING!!!
Review: The E-Gip is the first thing you should do to the A5 besides a Flatline. It takes probably 10 minutes to install and you cannot screw that up because it is so easy... I like all of the modes, AUTO RESPONSE is the best. Super light trigger pull now, compared to stock trigger. This thing shoots very fast, watch out. Does not weigh anymore than stock trigger grip. Buy this beauty!!
Conclusion: This thing is a beauty. Get it! Whats the point of the Cyclone Feed without being able to shoot THIS FAST.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cpt. Morgan Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
High end electronic boards
Spyder boards
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: Well, my friend after much frustration decided to let me have a crack at installing his e-grip with a jcs dual trigger and program the board.

It takes awhile to install a new trigger/guard but I think that probably has a lot to do with my inexperience with A-5 e-grips.

I quickly found out that my first problem was that I was using a good rechargeable batter y (9.6 volt) that was a little larger than a normal battery. It wouldn't allow the receiver half's to fully come together.

If you take the board and everything out you will see on the grip frames where they are milled to fit wires. Utilize this aspect of the receiver half's... it helps.

Also, your probably going to notice that annoying magnet... glue it into the slot it is supposed to go into. It really makes things easier.

I was pretty rough on the board but the wires are very strong. I find it hard to believe you could ever pinch one.

From my dealings with other boards using high ends i found it interesting the the micro-switch is so oddly positioned on its side. It requires extra tuning with a jcs dual trigger to make it work correctly and not stick.

As for how easy the battery is to program... I'm having a hard time. I just have set everything on default. I need to have another crack at it and when I get back after trying will edit this review.

Now... for the paint! well, i used re-balls. On semi with a light spring returning the trigger it shoots as fast as you need it to go. I will try and cap the board at 17-bps. The cyclone in its stock form limits how fast your gun can shoot.

Personally, I love it but still like my super r/t on my A-5 more.
Conclusion: Buy it if your want to be able to shoot just like ion owners and every other mid end gun user. But don't want to buy a new gun.

Only thing I would ever worry about regarding this is the fact its a good upgrade but tippmann's are already expensive and have a low resale value. Consider what I paid for my A-5 with all its up and could have bought something instead, That something being able to preform just as-well for half the cost or that something costing the same and being 50 times better.

Its a great upgrade, just watch how much you invest in your tippy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 11:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Madballaz5 Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT and the 98 egrip thingy( dunno what its called)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
M249 air through-connects to mp5 mag
Air through Mp5 Mag
S.P ion, Halo B
72-45 Crossfire
Strengths: Fast, adjustable ROF, light, internal wires and sutff
Weaknesses: Wires break easy, hard to cahnge battery on field
Review: K i play with the Egrip and the RT, this is a great upgrade but tippmann could ahve done a better job. If you wear down the ROF and firing mode screws UR BONED!! the wires snap real easy while changing batt. and thats about it, this is a godly upgrade, and u will scare the crap out of newbs when they hear u coming over a ridge with this baby!!! great upgrade, could use some tweaking
Conclusion: Get it if you are willing to be EXTRA careful cahnging out batt. U WILL OWN WITH THIS BABY ( i give it a nine because of the wires)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goats896 Sunday, October 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Trigger & Frame
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5, lps w/ dye gauge, tippy reg, macroline, shocktech supafly, e-grip, double trigger, 16" tippy sniper barrel, flatline, shocktech dropforward, JT 47/3000
Strengths: Could not be simplier to install. Can install in under 5 minutes.
Weaknesses: Changing the battery is a nuisance , but nothing else.
Review: The e-grip is a very good investment for anyone wanting to up their bps. It is very easy to install; it only takes a few minutes and you're ready to start shooting. I highly recommend this upgrade for anyone serious about the sport. This upgrade will not let you down. I also enjoyed the five different mode settings and the mode rate. My personal favorite setting is auto-response. It is not as hard to change the settings as some people think.
Conclusion: If you have the cash, then buy it right now, if not wait until you get some cash and go buy it. You will not be disappointed. GREAT UPGRADE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media