paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Yusko Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot 2 different electronic guns, a Kingman Advant and Spyder Imagine, and the only advantage of those is that you can switch the modes by buttons, but their consistancy is pretty bad.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-Grip, Flatline, Riochet hopper, laser (for messing around at night)
Strengths: If you have double trigger, your set; walk trigger; shoot more balls than auto.
Weaknesses: Obviously the changing of firing modes, water resistance
Review: This trigger is the best E-Trigger I have ever used, it shoots incrdeibly fast. The 5 different fring modes are very nice, you can choose your style of fire. The only thing that I don't like is that the firing mode and rate is adjusted by a small screwdriver in front of the grip, it could strip easily if not being careful. overall it is the best upgrade someone can possibly get for their A5. And i keep mine on full auto so i can light up people which is fun at fields with a lot of people. but if you get it, and you have the Flatline dont put it on the highest full auto because it always hits that curve too fast and SPLAT! BIG MESS!
Conclusion: Get it try it out, if you dont like it return it, but that first time i shot it i was hooked.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 4:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NoSurrenderBoy Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
electro-spyders
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Flatline
-E-grip
-32* Car Stock (Sucks)
-JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA (Sweet!)
-Lapco Slidecheck
-32* Thick Coil Remote
-R5 Hopper (smoke)
-Custom Trigger Job
Strengths: Different Fireing Modes
ROF Adjuster
Fast!!!
Weaknesses: Nothing Advertises As E-grip
Review: The E-grip is a must for any A-5 owner. It may cost a little more than the RT but it is worth it. Not only does it offer a lot of fireing modes, it is fast! I keep mine on Turbo (see description) and I find myself emptying half a hopper within a few seconds. To Adjust the Firing mode you use a jewelers screwdriver (included) and turn a wheel that has a arrow pointing towards different numbers representing each mode. the wheel is housed inside the front end of your grip easily accesable to the outside though there is no way dirt or debris can get it. The ROF adjuster is located below it and works almost the exact same matter.
Since the E-grip requires a tool to adjust the ROF and fireing modes it is tourny legal! The trigger pull is very nice and light. The trigger assembly is a little tricky go get in right the first couple of times but once you get the hang of it, it's easy. The E-grip has great battery life as long as you use a decent battery such as Duracell or Energizer. If you plan on using the Dollar store kind you may find yourself without any power left. A Duracell should last you 20 cases of paint easy (9 volt).
Conclusion: If you are currently trying to decide between a RT or an E-grip for your A-5 the E-grip is the bette choice. It may be $25 or so more dollars but they will be the best spent dollars that you'll ever use. 10/10 for Tippmann!

Check out www.a5og.net for some mods and other players opinions on the grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netramakin Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used both the stock and Rampage boards, but I only own an A-5 so have tried no other electronic grips.
Marker Setup: A5, Red Hot, Superfly, Rampage, Vortex, Flatline/C-series 4" flanker, A-5A2 foregrip, MP5 mag, MP stock
Strengths: durable frame
high ROF
quick & easy to remove
Weaknesses: Lack of interior grip space
Lack of wiring channels
No auto shut off
Review: I bought an eGrip a few months into my paintballing career and was happy with it for awhile in comparison to the stock grip. After all, how could you not like gaining a whole new range of new firing modes (especially if it's your first marker)? The good is that the grip is very durable, easy to remove, easy to get into and you can get 20+ BPS with a QEV. In the months since, however, it's drawbacks have really started to sour me on it.

For starters, the stock board (W.A.S. Equalizer) has no auto shut off and you must turn it on to use it (as opposed to, say, A.P.E.'s Rampage board which only draws power when you fire) which means it devours batteries. Changing the battery once a day or once every other day that you play is not uncommon and I use Duracell. In comparison, the Rampage only requires a new battery every half dozen games or so. And don't get me started on the ridiculous setup of the interior. There is no good place to put the wiring to the battery. You just have to lay them on top of the battery, which means the trigger group presses down on them, which can't be good. There's even less room for the solenoid and capacitor wiring. You have no choice but to sit the battery directly on top of them which, again, can't be good.

A couple of small spacers incorporated into the mold of the grip would have solved one of these problems and another 1/4" of length on the grip would probably solve the other. Did no one think of this or was the product rushed to production and never retooled? Either way, Tippmann should have been embarrased to have charged $150 for this product. You can get one now for $100 but I'd rather have paid $150 for an upgraded grip, with these issues addressed.

Also, the programming on the Equalizer is much more tedious than the Rampage (the only other product I've used to compare it to so far). You have to go into idle mode, then into programming mode and then into firing mode. With the Rampage, you just click the mode button once to advance to the next firing mode and just keep clicking to cycle through all of the available firing options. Oh and did I mention that the Rampage is waterproof?

And finally, although you get the various organizational settings (NPPL, NXL and PSP) on the W.A.S., there is no 3-shot or full auto options without ramping, which you do get on the A.P.E. If you need the organizational settings or if you can't find an eGrip with a Rampage board, try finding an eGrip and trigger frame to put the second board into so you can have two full grips that you can just switch out. That way, you can use one for tourneys, one for rec ball (or whatever) and if you ever have a problem with one of them the day of a game, you'll have a backup.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5, you have to have an eGrip, but if you can find a grip with the Rampage preinstalled, I'd highly recommend going that route unless you need the tourney settings, in which case, follow my suggestions in the last paragraph of my review body. I give it a 10 for the durability of the grip itself, a 4 for the durability of the board and wiring, a 5 for ease of use of the W.A.S. board, a 7 for the programming modes, an 8 for performance and minus 1 for all of the issues I've had with it which equals a 5/6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann Owns Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder IPI grip
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Dye UL 12
Palmers stab (male)
32* uni drop
lapco uni mount

Strengths: ROF, electric grip after all
fire modes, like response
adjustable bps
weather resistant
Weaknesses: youneed a screwdriver to change firing mode and rof
price
malfunctions
incompatible with aftermarket triggers
Review: well, lets be honest people, who doesnt want to have a fully automatic gun? the E-grip does a good job but i would not recommend it. The grip malfunctions ALOT on anything but semi. It will fire 2-4 rounds then stop releasing the hammer, it will just make a click noise. The screwdirver that comes with the grip also strips the fire mode switch when u change it, its made out of like cheese or somthing...
As usual, tippmann had to do thing differently, which worked in some areas (the A-5 for expample) but was a bad idea in others. The E-grip is a great example. It was desighnewd to be compact, so they brought the changing buttons inside the grip so u have to use a screwdriver to change them, but yet my biggest complaint is were the fireing button is located. It to is inside the gun, witch is just plain not needed, it makes it so u cant bring the trigger right up to the button and fire faster, a pain if u like to know when ur guns gonna fire, the new firing button also has a TON of slop. the first 1/6 of an inch the trigger fires, then theres about 3/4 an inch of just plain uselsss pull, this makes it very hard to fan or walk
Conclusion: its not worth the money
it has so many bad points to it, but i may have just got a bad one, still for about 120 bucks is it really worth it to take the chance?
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer(()) Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
W.A.S E- Grip
24 oz CO2
Strengths: Fast
Battery Life
Easy Installation
Easy to use
Weaknesses: The price,but it is well worth it.
Review: This is a great accessory for the A-5. It can be programed to shoot up to 30 bps with the Tech-T Cyclone Feeder Upgrade. Without the Tech-T upgrade this it can shoot about 16-17 bps without any dry fires. It has 5 different firing modes which i will describe later. As far as the installation goes all you have to is slide the safety out. Then pull the trigger assembly out, attach the battery, slide it in place, and tuck the wires in. Then put the trigger back in and slide the safety back in. If you have trouble getting the safety in or out it helps to press down on top of the trigger assembly . Then all you have to do is take the other grip off and put he E-Grip on. Changing the modes is not as hard as some people say. I change modes during games all the time. As long as you have an allen wrench with you. If you have a stock barrel then it will be very inacurate when firing fast. I recommend the Flatline Barrel. Now for the different modes. This is in the order that they are on the gun.

Single Shot- Fires one shot for each trigger pull.

Three Shot Ramping- For each trigger pull 3 shots are fired, when you pull the trigger fast it is basically full auto, you just have to keep pulling the trigger.

Full Auto- As long as you hold down the trigger it fires. FAST

Auto Response- Fires a shot for the pull and release of the trigger.(personal favorite)

Turbo- This a confusing mode. The faster you pull the trigger the faster it fires. It is like a combination of Auto Response mode and Full Auto Mode.
Conclusion: This is a must have for the A-5. It is fast and easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilverSoldier09 Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Response Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-grip (A.P.E. Board)
New Designs Aluminum Power Tube
Shock tech super fly front bolt
32 degrees adjustable shoulder stock
Spyder Kingman remote line
Tippmann 14 inch barrel
Allen Paintball 350+ round hopper
Strengths: -Different firing modes.
-Great fire power with full auto, auto response, and turbo mode.
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a great after market grip. You have 5 different firing modes for different battle situations. With being a heavy rifleman on my team the fire power of full auto, auto response, and turbo mode makes it easy to keep the opponents heads down. Therefore I'd recommend this upgrade to all other heavy riflemen out there. However if you want to have a worry free game of paintball I would consider getting an APE rampage board after getting this or buying the E-grip frame, sear, and armature pin separately and then the A.P.E board (That way you have it right away). The W.A.S. board they put in this is nothing but a big problem. At the field I go to I always see people on the side lines with gun issues and they're usually the ones with W.A.S. boards.
Conclusion: Overall it's a great upgrade to get, especially if you're a heavy rifleman, but as I pointed out I'd consider getting an APE rampage board because eventually the W.A.S. will give you nothing but problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 12th, 2008 at 7:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT trigger, stock triggers...
Marker Setup: Folding stock, egrip, Apex, double trigger
Strengths: Faster ROF
Selectable firing modes
Tourney legal. (Semi auto)
Weaknesses: Battery eater
need tools to switch modes
run through sears quicker
Review: The e-grip is the best thing to buy if you wanna make your tippy into a full auto monster. I had the RT trigger before I bought the e-grip, and there is no comparison. The e-grip was easy to install, and right outta the packaging I was loving this thing. The battery is easy to replace once you have done it once. My only real complaint would have to be that you need to carry a jewlers screwdriver to be able to switch firing mods and ROF. It might be a good idea to also by a decent double trigger for the egrip. Those are easy to install as well. A good JCS double trigger or something like it will insure you can play speedball as well as woodsball. Some refs even think I'm cheating sometimes when I double tap.... But thats another story. The battery lasts for 3-4 cases of paint. After you have played a few times, it might be a good idea to carry an extra 9-volt. The sear comment above may just be for me, I have gone through 2 in the past 6 months, might just be somethin wrong with mine, but just thought I'd mention it.
Conclusion: This is the best alternative to the RT out on the marker. The only negatives are that it eats batteries pretty quick if you play alot, you need tiny screw drivers to change the ROF and mods, and it could potential make you buy new sears. Overall however It is a great investment, especially with a double trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacc33wpbstr Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First i had a brass eagle avenger which i later found out i should have bought the p8c instead, then i was stupid agian and boughta spyder xtra, and then i finally traded my drallion cocker with and a5 with egrip and sum other ups.
Marker Setup: tippy a5 with EGRIP(i love it), shocktech drop, macroline and fittings kit, physchoballistics double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, j&j cermaic 12 inch barrel, gas threw grip, and 20oz co2
Strengths: Many different modes of fire, capable of high bps, ROF adjustable is great.
Weaknesses: hard to change mode and ROF
Review: I ike this feature very much. i usually use 3 round burst or fully with the ROF. i traded myold autococker for my a-5 with everyting on it right now and im so glad i did. When i first played at my friends house with this gun there were about 7 people and they were going crazy and loving it so much. people asked if they could fire it and were i got it and all. now my 2 friends are getting a5's for xmas cuz they like mine so much. i am so glad i got it to b/c my spyder was so unreliable and so was my autococker.

With the double trigger i can get around 15bps or more. i also like the gripping of it. the fell is good. little bit hard to install the battery but i guess it as just cuz i was new with tippys.

I still dont like the fact about having to carry a small screw driver around just to change the mode or ROF. and it hard to switch too especially under pressure during gameplay.
Conclusion: Definatley take this for about 30 bucks more then the r/t b/c it has more modes and is just way better for only a little bit more money. thre is no point in the a-5 with the cyclone feed unless its electro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guile470 Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a wide range of guns from low to high ends.
This upgrade will put the a-5 up there with the high ends.
Marker Setup: A-5
20 oz. C02 (soon to be 68ci 4500 psi HPA system)
4 inch drop forward
e-grip
Strengths: Fast, relaible, good battery life, easy to install,
Weaknesses: doesnt like heavy weather
hard to see speed and mode adjusters
Review: I got this upgrade when i bought my a-5 and i must say, it is one kick ass upgrade. it is very fast and somewhat weather resistant. I also own a Angel 4 and the e-grip can almost keep up with it. the angel is a faster, but it is also fully electronic. the a-5 with a e-grip on it can be placed right up with the high ends and should be. i use this gun for forest, scenarios and speedball and it does excellent in all of the fields. BUY THIS UPGRADE RIGHT AWAY!!!! you wont regret it.
Conclusion: i would highly recommend this upgrade along with the flatline, it just makes the game so much more fun. buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT, Stock trigger.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT and E-grip
8" Bigshot with Lapco Supressor
68/3000 Crossfire stubby tank
20oz Co2
Pro-Team Collapsible Stock
Flatline
GTA 2x Trigger
Strengths: Fast. Easy to tune. Cool modes.
Weaknesses: Battery can be hard to replace.
Not as fast as RT.
Review: I am relatively satisfied with my E-grip. Though not as fast as the RT I believe it is greater. It provides a electro trigger feel, and a couple of mods and a 2x trigger will let you max out easily. It fires very fast in every mode, and Auto-Response is cool to open up on that Angel user. The only problem is that the battery is under the trigger assembly so to replace your battery you have to pull the trigger out of the gun, so always have a fresh battery before each day of play!
Conclusion: Good product, definately a step up from the RT, makes the A5 just as fast as an 1000$ gun. Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media