paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
warder Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE EQUAL
Marker Setup: a-5, e-grip, flatline, remote line, 4+1 pack, and a 20oz Co2 tank with anti-siphon tube
Strengths: ROF, ease of use, durable, battery efficiant.
Weaknesses: Other people can have it too... :( SAME PRICE AS MOST GOOD Electric grips
Review: O got this thing about 3 months ago and WOW. Still havent had to change battery. All this talk about a tight fit its not THAT tight. If you slip the pin in and out a couple times it fits like a dream. You dont need to see the numbers to set. If you memorize the selections in your head its really easy to set. This thing is a rock! I've had no problems and have taken a couple of falls on it too. I recomend HPA if you have this or an expansion chamber or you'll have liquid C02 in your gun from getting trigger happy. 8P
Any ways the reason some people are having the cyclone stop while shooting in turbo is that when your low on C02 or are empting 2 240 rd hoppers at one time you get the the pipes freeze up and will go back to normal in a couple of seconds. A anti shiphon tube will work too.
Conclusion: This Thing rocks and There are FEW or even no problems with this thing! Think what you want but I recomend this thing!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bezerker Saturday, February 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with R/T
Marker Setup: A-5 E-grip
14 Dye
Nitrogen
Strengths: It's about the fastet thing I have seen yet for the A-5 so many more BPS than my A-5 when it had the R/T.
Weaknesses: Tippmann should have made the battery more accessible. You shouldn't have to take apart the lower receiver everytime the battery needs replacement. I am drilling a small hole in the handle and running longer wires along the side where the cyclone feed is and mounting the battery under the feed system.

I did have a hard time installing, the armature pin keep falling out of place when trying to put the grip back togther. This is one reason why the battery should be more accesible.

The mode selector switch is a bit strange I don't know why they made it an eight position switch, when you can only use four modes. It is hard to tell what mode your in the only why I could is to shoot it.
Conclusion: Other than battery replacement being a pain I feel that everyone that ones an A-5 should get an E-grip it really does shoot a ton of paint fast!. I can not give it a ten because of the difficulty in installing and battery issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ESP Frame, Spyder imagine electric trigger frame, E1, E2, Ion frames, DM4 frame, shocker frame.
Marker Setup: DM4 w/Dye UL, 68/45 CF, HaloB w/rip

Storm trooper ION w/Freak Kit, 45/45 PMI, Egg2
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: First off, let me begin by saying that being that it only cost $60 for a new e-grip with WAS board, it is one of the best upgrade you can get for your A-5.

The grip looks sturdy, it is also pretty easy to take the grip frame off the marker. One thing I didn't like though was also the fact that you have to remove the entire frame to get to the internals. They should have like a compartment door or something like the other eframes. Another thing it should have also is maybe an on/off button?

I tested this item and took it apart the first day I got it. I wanted to see how the internals work and see what it is really made out of as compared to the other eframes. Let me tell you one thing, when I first opened it, boy was I surprised. I guess for $60, you really get what you paid for. The internals look very cheap and the components of each are likely to wear off, break into pieces, or be lost.

First off, the trigger mechanism is terrible. The trigger and sear component is all made out of plastic. Worst of all, its not even plastic that sticks together properly. The switch with the trigger is completely not my style. Instead of the trigger pushing on the switch, its actually the trigger GLIDING over the switch, which in my opinion, in the long run... that metal switch is going to fly off because its constantly being rubbed with a horizontal force instead of a veritcal force as its suppose to be.

I'll tell you one good thing though, the sear solenoid is huge and seems very powerful. heh. However, I dont like how tippman designed this item. There is a free floating rod that is used with the solenoid. The solenoid charges, and displaces the rod upward. This upward deflection inturns, pushes the sear and causes it to release the hammer. I played around with this for awhile and find out that if you don't properly place the rod into the right position, it will occasionally move out of place causing you not to be able to fire anymore. Then you'll have to take apart the entire frame, etc. etc.

Another thing that bothers me as well is that the grips don't close together smoothly. You need to use force in order for you to get that tight seal.

HOwever, when I was shooting the marker, it shot faster than what I thought. There is recoil and I can imagine how that would mess up accuracy and precision. Because you put it into the cyclone feed, there will always be a ball there. Only thing you have to fear is just not enough air going to your cyclone, causing it not to move, thus allowing a paintball to be jammed inbetween the bolt and cyclone resulting in ball breakage. Other than that... w/o the eye, I personally think its still fine. But I think its faster than what the cyclone can handle.
Conclusion: The overall product isnt bad if its main purpose is speed. however, I don't like the fact that half the parts are very cheap looking and cheaply made. I really don't like the fact about with the rod not being held stationary. What is the deal with that? Couldn't tippmann put the solenoid on the top instead of the bottom of the grip?

If its for speed, I would def give it a good rating base on tippmanns' conventional 6bps on regular mech.

As for user friendly, design innovation, quality of product... I don't like it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mightytutu Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT
Marker Setup: A-5
E-GRIP
Remote Line
MP stock
Laser Sight
20oz Tank
Strengths: FAST FAST FAST ROF
Easy to install
RUUUUUUUNNNN!!!!
Weaknesses: If your lacking muscles it may be hard to line up the pins
Pricey
Review: Well I loved my Tippmann A-5 sooooo much when I first received it in the mail. The rate of fire was fine for those rec games in the woods. I fell inlove soo much, that I decided to treat it to a phat folding stock, remote line, and then my precious e-grip. It's a tight fit, but once its on.. WOW!! Watch out kids! You can tap the trigger, to single fire (so you dont waste those precious rounds, and gas), and you can also hold down the trigger a bit longer for 2-3 shot burst.. or keep your finger down for full auto! Being a very spoiled rich boy, I would have to say that besides my rolex ,this is the best thing I've ever purchased in my 21 years of life. I am a very hard to please individual. Your gun isn't a gun without the E-grip! With some skill, and the a-5/egrip set up, you're a god of the woods!
Conclusion: I quote my friend (that is quite experienced in paintballin'), "I will never go against you or that d*mn sub machine gun, I cant even get close to you!!"
Warning- May leave bruises all over your opponents!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

|2ogu3 4ssassin Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder trigger
Marker Setup: A-5, 14" J&J Ceramic, E-Grip, Double Trigger
Strengths: ROF ROF ROF ROF ROF need i say mroe?
Weaknesses: uhhhhhhhh...... u cant walk it
Review: CRAZY!!!! ok i got this cuz i though u could wak it, but o well u cant. its still a harder pull, but ITS GOT BOUNCE!!!! ok i got this so i could walk it, but i shoot faster with just shootin normal. thats right no jk no lie. this thing bounces. i outshot the cyclone feed, and shot around 15bps. its crazy.
Conclusion: ok get it. its worth it. get it. if u wanna walk it u cant sorry. but its faster than u think. it bounces like crazy so just get it with a double trigger
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

gexx Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5; Flatline; Drop; E-Grip; Aluminum Hammer and Chamber;
Strengths: Cyclone feed-- no batteries
Weaknesses: Big and Bulky
Review: I got an E grip in about July. since then i fried the board once, and have not been able to get the grip to fire in a selected mode since. after i sent the trigger in the first time (for a new board) the gun would fire for no reason if you bumped the gun even if the safty was on. i sent it in. i got it back and i did the same thing but now it also would "stick on". meaning after i pulled the trigger it would continue fireing after i stopped pulling the trigger for about 5 shots. i sent it back in. now the missfiring has stopped but nothing but full auto. touch the trigger and it doesnt stop. i had to catch the cocking lever and stop it that way. so now i was really really pissed so i sent it in, talked to the service superviser and he personally worked on my gun. guess what i still doesnt work. so i called up and raised hell. im supposed to send it back in next week. i am trying to fix it my way by bending the metal piece that pushes the fire button up because i suspect that the gun recoil is setting it off. the tippman guy said it wont help but since i did this i went through a 24 oz co2 tank and all is good so far. im gonna play a game on friday 2 see if it really works. if any one has any suggestions they would be greatly appresiated. im sick of wasting gass and fraight charges 2 and from tippman since they cant even get it 2 work.
Conclusion: i dont know any one else in the area that has an egripp on their a5 but if you do buy one, be warry of this apparent problem. i know that all of the other reviews are good, but as i said, i havent been able to go through a game with out swapping out the e gripp 4 the stock grip.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Response Trigger - way more complicated, EGrip has an extremely high plug&play factor
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5/TacCap
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Strengths: - Lighter trigger pull
- Several fire modes
- High ROF's
- Easy to tune
- Genuine Tippmann quality
Weaknesses: - Lack of weather resistance
- Price?
- Doesn't seem to line up perfectly
Review: I picked up the Egrip some time ago, and I love it. It is way easier (even on semi) to get a high rate of fire (10-15bps), but without the hassle the RT has. It is way better to be able to use several modes of fire (auto, 3shot burst, turbo, auto-response and semi), even if you happen to use only one of them.

Especially in full auto, it is very easy to get 10bps, just keep the trigger pulled and there it goes, which will even provide some backfire. It is really easy to tune (just a Philips screwdriver). It is a perfect upgrade to show off to your neighbors of some rental group on the field.

It does however, have some flaws: First, this egrip will die if you happen to get any water inside it. this can be fixed by putting in the APE-board, which will be one of my first future upgrades. The egrip isn't cheap at around 100-125 (euro's or dollars) and with a new board prices will even increase. The last big problem is the fit, since i need very much force to get the push-pins in. This may partially be because of my stock, but I tend to think that the egrip does contribute to this.
Conclusion: A very fun AND functional upgrade, just be aware that you won't be able to swim with your marker anymore (which I and some other of my team used to do). Because of the two flaws and the price, this product will get a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

might162003 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
e-grip
shocktec bolt
expansion chamber
red dot scope with offset
flatline barrel
Strengths: It is awsome for speedball
Weaknesses: If you use the double trigger with the e-grip it sounds like a shotgun.
Review: the E-grip is very dependable but if you use the double trigger with it, you need to pull the metal bracket and spring off so it doesn't shoot so loud. Is is kind of hard to get used to. the adjustment for the different levels of shooting is very hard to get to.
Conclusion: If you get one you will be satisifed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elton2522 Friday, November 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested - Warrior E-grip (not for tippman though)
Marker Setup: A5
Flatline
Remote hose
Custom made laser site
Custom made stock
off set sight rail
1x30 red dot sight
Strengths: Different modes of fire
Turbo ****** (love it)
Weaknesses: Refer to review
Review: Firstly I must say this probably the second best upgrade for your A5. (firstly upgrade your barrel cause the stock stinks).

As for 15 balls per second I hardly ever use mine that high, prefer roughly 9 balls. The E-grip is fully adjustable in this regard

Pro's: -Hellishly easy to install
-Relatively cheaply priced
-Rate of fire - 15 bps is more than enough for woodsball
-All the different modes available.
-Turbo mode is great - a mode I have not seen on another marker (but I haven't
really payed much attention in this regard)

Con's: -Trigger is still quite heavy
-Difficult to change through modes of fire (could also be counted a plus
sometimes)
-Very fussy with your drive spring. When your spring wears out your standard
trigger will still work but your E-grip wont.
Conclusion: Get yourself a good barrel for your A5 then buy this. Its deffinately worth it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 18th, 2005 at 4:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5paintballpro Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, cyclone feeding system, E-grip,12 & 14 oz Co2, Flatline Barrel, 16in. whispher barrel
Strengths: You can shoot twice as fast.There is differnet modes too.
Weaknesses: Good question, I don't know.(none)
Review: I recommend you get this for your A-5. This thing has turbo. 3 burst. Semi & Full. Plus you can pull the trigger twice as fast. You also can use any trigger on this frame. This( E-grip) is one of the things that makes me be able to take out older and better people than me( in a game).
Conclusion: I would get this for you Tippmann A-5. I mean what the heck, there is nothing about it and tones of things that makes this a could contribution to your A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media