paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
CrotchSnot Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT for the Mod 98
Marker Setup: Tipmann 98 Custom
14" JJ Ceramic
Expansion Chamber
Tippmann Drop Forward
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
20 oz Pure Energy Tank
Full Boar Rear Cocking
Viewloader Revolution X-Board Hopper
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight
Chrome Sight Rail

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrell
Cyclone Hopper
Tippmann E-Grip
Stock Barrell (Sucks)
Pro-Dot Sight
Strengths: 5 Different Settings
Easy Install if you delt with tippmanns b4
Battery operated
Weaknesses: Keep a small thingy accessable to change speeds
Won't take away power like RT
Review: Besides a new Barrell this should be your 1st upgrade. E-grip + Cyclone = " SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND" This will help you get just about everything you can out of the A-5. (5) varieties of shooting speed. If you can't find one to make you a good competitor on the field you need to sell your A-5 and stick with squirt guns and playing socom 3 on PS2.

It could be a little pricey for you people who still make $7 an hour at work. But even you can save up for it. Must have....must have......must have.

Most places $125 - $145........you can find one online for $99


...did i say it's a must have.


1. SEMI AUTO - Fires 1 shot for each Trigger Pull.

2. AUTO RESPONSE - Fires 1 shot for each pull and release of trigger.

3.(3) SHOT - DUH!, 3 shot burst when trigger is held or if trigger is release b4 3 shot cycle is complete.

4. FULL AUTO - Fires whole time while trigger is held.

5. TURBO - Fires 1 shot for each pull of trigger until the time between trigger pulls is below .25 seconds - then it goes 1 shot for each pull or release of trigger.

. . . . thats 5 reasons to buy it

Doesn't use CO2, THAT MEANS more air for your Cyclone Feed, Damn 9 volt batteries are over priced - but fit right in your pocket (5 finger discount).

Make sure u have a strong battery b4 u hit the field, easier to change an A-5 then a Mod 98 on the field. It should only take a minute or 2. Practice changing it fast when your sitting home watching reruns of "HAPPY DAYS". Worst comes to worst carry your old trigger on till you get the time u need to properly change your battery (If possible).

************************************************************
***********************************

I believe they have to versions of the E-Grip. Older ones need a small screwdriver for selecting fire rate and turn counterclockwise to slow the rate, or clock wise to increase. Then there is another hole near the finger grip that selects "FIRE MODE" by turning with screwdriver, and the e-grip turns on when u pull the trigger. Then turns off after not using for 10 minutes.
************************************************************
***********************************

The E-grip I have you push a little button and hold for few seconds till the green light is lite under the button. The you push the button to select "FIRE MODE".

************************************************************
***********************************
Conclusion: - Just Buy It, most efficient way to spend $99 for the A-5.
- Now just learn how to use your gun.
- I know guys that spent close to $1000 on a gun and get blow away by very little modified tippman 98's. You just need to learn your gun and don't be fooled by unnecessary modification. I'm not saying don't buy stuff like a Laser Sight, because they look cool, i got one. But don't depend on them. Practice on squirrels or your neighbors dog just learn what your gun can and can't do. If you can hit a squirrel running up a tree aguy trying to run behind a bunker isa breeze.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 1:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hillbillyyoung Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: E-Grip, 16 in Dye Ultra light
Strengths: ROF (fast as crap comin out a goose)
Reliable
Weaknesses: Having to take the trigger assembly off just to instal the battery
Review: This trigger is FAST, and RELIABLE. That says it all.

My personal experience with it, both giving and receiving, has been nothing but awesome. What got me to get one was when I played against this kid that had one. We did a one-on-one match; he lit my butt up like it was a brand new bug zapper during mosquito season! After that I just had to get one. After installing it I went and played with it, my opponents got the exact same feeling that I got when I first meat one.
Conclusion: I think that the welts that you will leave on your apponents will say it all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Predator1117 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT and stock the RT is fine other than you have to tweak it to get it to rip
Marker Setup: Tippy A5 with all the mods. Even rino lined paint too!
Strengths: Speed, Selectable firing modes, lighter trigger pull, Takes expensive guns to school
Weaknesses: Players keep complaining about how their $3000 AngelAutowhatever is out gunned by a $900 Tippmann
Review: This makes your Tippy rip. It scares the hell out of anyone you unleash it on. I play against semi pros with expensive guns and this thing makes em duck every time. You get Tippmann reliability with high end gun fire rates. E grip makes 20+ bps possible in Turbo mode the E grip is capped at 15 bps in full auto. Local fields usually don't allow full auto anymore so be care full. People don't like getting hit with 10 balls instead of 1 or 2 even though you only feel the first couple. You have to use a small flat head screw driver to change the ROF and this plastic screw wears out if your not extremely gentle with it. Tippmann needs to come out with a Gen 2 E grip maybe with a 45 frame adjustable trigger and battery on/off switch lcd etc. Anyway the E grip works great my bro has the RT and its great and all but the E grip definitely has him out classed.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the 100 bucks. Turns your Tippmann into a high end gun I give it a 9 only because Tippmann could have done better they have some bugs they need to work out and re release the E grip and quit leaving all us A5 owners hanging they've sold like a billion of these guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 8:46 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ness Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paradox Electro - Cheaper model and not as great. Only had Semi, 3 round burst and full auto at 10 BPS, but E-Grip costs the same as the entire marker setup!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip Custom Stock and Flatline barrel
Soon to come sidearm: Ariakon Overlord stock with Ariakon Holster
Strengths: Ajustable rate of fire
5 different modes
Turbo mode
9-Volt life
Weaknesses: Price (Got mine for 150 USD)
Swiching modes is harsh
Low quality balls can chop
Review: First off, when I receved this product, it came in a neat, yet very small box. The packaging was lacking a little bit, but suffecient for the job. I opened the box, read the instructions and found that it should only take the average user around 15 to 30 minutes to install. The only thing you have to do is pull the two quick strip pins on the old grip, slide it off, slide the E-grip on, and re-insert the pins. Within minutes, I was ready for action.

I put on my CO2 and ran out side. At first, I didn't bother to see if the thing was on. I loaded up and pressed the trigger several times to find my E-Grip didnt work. However, after reviewing the instructions again, I found that to chage the mode of firing, you must stick a little screwdriver into a small hole in the grip facing toward the barrel (The worse side of the two for quick changing). The same goes for changing rate of fire. The worst part of this is I screw a 20 ounce CO2 into the recever directly, not under the grip. However, with this modification, you cannot fit the screwdriver into the holes. Immediently, I knew this was going to be troublesome. At first, the E-grip shot as promsed, 14-15 balls per second, and all modes worked. Next week, I took the thing to a game. I played for hours, and later found myself reading to bunker some guy behind a small plywood board. I reached into my pocket, and began sticking in the screw driver to change my mode of firing into full auto, when I got bunkered myself, all because I panicked and couldnt get the driver into the hole fast enough. To re-instate my thinking, the placement and choice of changing modes of fire sucks, and should not have used a screwdriver rather than a LED and push buttons. However, some fields will let you play in semi with the E-grip becuase you cant change it without a screwdriver. But if you're going to use semi, just take a few minutes to swich out to the old trigger.

Next, is the modes of fire. There are 5.
Semi: Plain and simple. Pull the trigger, and it fires one ball.
Response: Fires a ball when the trigger is pulled, and fires when the trigger is released.
Turbo: Same as Response, however, only if your trigger pulls are under .25 of a second. Otherwise, its only one ball.
Full auto: Also plain and simple. Pull the trigger, and hold for longer effect. I got mine to fire between 7-15 balls per second.
3 Round Burst: Shoots 3 balls at the selected speed. For example, 3 shots at 7-15 balls per second.

This is a great little puchase if you are looking to get a fully auto gun for your team, or just for fun and you have the money. But if you are not looking to make your A-5 full auto, consider purchasing a different marker. One 9 volt has really lasted me 6 months. However, be warned about changing it. Once your battery starts showing signs of heavy use, change it. First off, your gun wont be able to reach 15 balls per second, but more rather 12 when the battery is low. Next, is when my was low enough, it would fire, then the voltage would get low enough, and reset the trigger, then fire again, then reset the trigger again without the user pressing the trigger. In otherwords, your gun would be stuck on full auto and firing until you remover the battery. Also, another note to take, is do not use lower quality balls. At around 12 or 13 balls per second on some wal mart quality balls will cause the gun to jam and chop.
Conclusion: For the serious paintballer looking to make their A-5 Full auto, go for it. This is probably the best buy for your A-5 next to the flatline barrel. However, shop around and see if you can't get one for cheaper than 150 USD. If not for the placement of the mode of fire and rate of fire screws, and the whole screwdriver idea, it would have scored a 10. However, for the price I paid, and the screws, an 8 out of 10. If you can get one under 150 USD, a 9 then.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

iman88 Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
electronic spyders
Marker Setup: A5-Egrip with double trigger,expansion chamber and flat-line also a 12in jj ceramic
Strengths: -one word FAST!
Weaknesses: nothing I have noticed
Review: When I first got my A5 it was faster then the 98 custom I had first used. Now that I have the e-grip it is amazing. It is definitly a all-around-gun. It can play in the woods(and dominate)or play on the speed-ball field(and dominate). Next time a person at your field using a high end marker makes fun of you for using a Tippmann, take them to the speed-ball and show them whats-what.
Conclusion: This is definatly a good by...but make sure you have a good set of pods or you will have to leave the field mid-game because you ran out of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flatliner17 Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Electronic Trigger for Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline Barrel System, E-grip, CAR Stock, Psychoballistics Bullet Style Drop Forward with on/off valve
Strengths: shoots FAST, 5 different modes of fire
Weaknesses: Firing Mode & Rate are adjusted by a small screwdriver in front of the grip
Review: this trigger is the best E-Trigger I have ever used, it shoots incrdeibly fast. The 5 different fring modes are very nice, you can choose your style of fire. The only thing tat I don't like is that the firing mode and rae is adjusted by a small screwdriver infront of the grip, it could strip easily if not being careful.
Conclusion: Very nice, convenient, Tippmann did a nice job on this Electronic trigger, FAST, Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maverick_26 Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98 w/response trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
20oz Co2
32 degrees expansion chamber
V-Force Shield Rental
Just ordered E-Grip
Strengths: Rate of fire, PULL 2 pins and put it on, Easy battery change, 5 modes
Weaknesses: Uses up paintballs fast. Turn rate of fire down.
Review: When I first recieved my E-Grip it looked hard to install. But it really wasn't, I just had to put a 9 Volt battery in the grip. Pull 2 pins that hold the grip on, pull the old grip off, slip the E-Grip on, and finally put the 2 pins right back in. Total Time: 2 minutes. At first, when I bought the A-5 I thought when it said field strip it in about 90 seconds, I thought it was just some sales crap to make you buy the gun. But as I noticed, "I was wrong!"

GET THE E-GRIP! YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!
Conclusion: Overall the E-Grip is one of the best upgrades you can buy for your A-5. Since it runs off a 9 Volt battery, it wont use up some of your Co2/Air like the Response Trigger. Highly recommended item for anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egaleye2 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippy stock grip
Marker Setup: tippy a-5, freak berral system, hpa and e-grip w/ doubble trigger
Strengths: Rate of fire
Trigger pull
Simplicity/ease of installing

Weaknesses: Changing rate fo fire, plastic screws
Review: ok, come on people, first of all its a tippman product (its durable), second, u need to read the directions that came with it-- in other words-- you wont have any problems with the grip if u just read the directions. plus u should leave the tammpering of the gun to the experts-- they know what they are doing!!!-- i have played in weather from 28 degrees to 98 degrees with no problems at all with the grip. defenatly buy this if u own a tippy a-5, but READ THE FRIGGIN DIRECTIONS PEOPLE, and u wont have any problems what so ever!!!
Conclusion: read the directions, know how ur equipment works, and u wont have any problems, tampering with it is out of the question- experts know what they are doing- the only way i can see any one having a problem is if they screwd up while instaling, or if there just dumb and dont know what/why they did what they did.(in other words- not for the avarage idiot. ;P )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 11:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhillipA5 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-grip,
16" Smart parts All-American barrel,
G.T.A expansion chamber,
D.O.P adapter block,
D.O.P 7" Bullet Drop foward W/ on off,
Shocktech front grip,
JCS Dual Trigger,
Shocktech Delron Front Bolt
Strengths: Easy adjusting firing mode, , the speed adjuster is very handy! Low battery usage
Weaknesses: It is not quite as fast as some of the other guns.
Review: It is a very good upgrade for the gun. The many rates of fire are very nice! Worth the price! Only problem is the shorting out problem. when you are shooting in semi-auto, it will go over to full auto for about 2 seconds. I've ran out of words so know I'm just typing stuff yade yade yah! Rick James Yeeeah woooo hooo
Conclusion: Would go out and buy! You will be the #1 bad a** on the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 12:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattchoo Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested the tippman A-5 RT and Mechanical triggers.
Marker Setup: Custom annoed A-5 (black into blue) w/ 5 inch on/off drop forward,double trigger, and E-grip.
Strengths: This product makes it simple for anyone to reach 13 bps.
Weaknesses: Breaks very easy! not reliable!
Review: I have had two E-Grips and each only lasted one season! I have also had little problems like the pin in the grip mushrooming. This product is not very reliable! this is the only reason i gave this a 3!!! Other than that i have had no problems. When it works i love E-Grips!
Conclusion: I love it when it works. i hate it when it doesn't.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media