paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip / Tippmann E-Grip

Tippmann E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Grip
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the All New E-Grip, Electronic Grip System. The E-Grip system uses an electronic control board to activate a solenoid. When activated, the solenoid disengages the sear, which in turn fires the marker. The System is powered by a concealed 9 Volt Battery. All electronic components are completely contained inside the grip, which allows you to quickly and easily change grips.

Fire Modes:
Semi-Auto: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull.
Auto-Response: Fires 1 Shot for each trigger pull or release.
Full Auto: Fires Repeatedly as long as the trigger is held.
3 Shot Burst: Fires 3 Shots for each trigger pull.
Turbo: Fires 1 shot for every trigger pull, fires 1 shot for every trigger pull or release if the time between trigger pulls is less than .25 seconds.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Corrupted355 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Response Trigger - performs a very similar function.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J S2 Ceramic / DYE Xcel / BT Apex
WAS E-grip and Response Trigger (alternating)
Vortex mod
Palmer's QEV
BT combat stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Easy install
Major firepower
Light trigger pull
Relatively simple programming/use
Unloads LOTS of paint
Weaknesses: Not great battery life
Somewhat disconnected feel
Shuts off after 20 minutes
NXL modes annoying
Review: I got this because I was tired of being out-gunned by ten-year olds with speedball guns. It turns out it's pretty easy to use too. It allows you to adjust a variety of things easily, such as firing mode and ROF, along with a couple other things you probably won't use like debounce and dwell. Just turn on the board in programming mode, then use the trigger to navigate around and change things. Everything you change is confirmed with color coded lights

As far as use, it is very effective. Trigger pull is very light while remaining precise, with the right trigger. Depending on what mode you use, you can really unload a lot of paint at your target. That can either be a good thing or a bad thing depending on how you look at it. Overall it does give an edge over the factory mechanical trigger.

Now for the not-so-great. I'm not a fan of being tied to electronics. If it starts raining, or the battery dies, or a myriad of other things happen, you're out of luck. As far as battery life goes, the WAS board isn't that great. You can get maybe two days out of a nine volt, depending on how much you're firing. The electronics also give you a somewhat disconnected feel of the gun, as opposed to the part-of-your-arm sensation you get from shooting a Response Trigger. Also, because of the pre-programmed NXL modes for 3 shot burst and Full Auto, you have to fire three shots (semi) within a few seconds before it will actually give give it to you. Another feature that I find interminably annoying is that if you are stomping around in the woods for more than 20 minutes without taking a shot, the board shuts itself off. That means if you suddenly walk into an ambush or find yourself under fire, you've got to find a stick or something to turn the grip on, unless you've done the Rivet Mod (see below). Basically, the WAS has a few bugs to work out before it's a perfect upgrade.

Rivet Mod:
www.a5og.net/trigger-systems/4115-how-e-grip-button.html
Conclusion: This is a good upgrade if you have a factory mechanical trigger. However, if you've got the old screwdriver style board, don't bother. It's a good, cheap, simple addition to your Tippmann, as long as you're willing to deal with it's nuances. Personally, if I knew what I know now about the WAS when I bought it, I would have gone with APE's Rampage board instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trolleyman98 Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing except other etriggers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
egrip with W.A.S
Crossfire 68/4500
smart parts linear barrell 16"
pen spring mod
Strengths: lighter pull
faster ROF
Weaknesses: Price
Review: If you want to be a competitor, this upgrade is definitely recommended! This makes your trigger pull WAY lighter and with the pen spring mod its basically pure SEX. This deadly combination shoots with the best of them. The only thing you need is a double trigger and you might want to get a QEV or the TechT mod so you can shoot at higher ROFs (the cyclone is capable of around 15 or so) Those are my next upgrades
Conclusion: If you want to compete with the best of them, then get this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Friday, February 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Semi Auto
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
Lightning Rod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
APE Pro trigger
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks
Advanced Tactical Rail Shrowd
UMS RIS MkII
Tactical Scope Riser
30mm NcStar Tactical Red Dot
Tac Light
Black Offset Hopper Neck
Strengths: OMFG fast at every mode!!!!!
Weaknesses: fully auto and the WAS board
Review: First of all let me start out by saying that this is the most killer mod you can get for your good ol' tippy. However...
A) Fully auto let me down. It will fire one ball and just click as the selinoid continues to discharge without firing the marker any more.... I also have many other people who have the same problem so it is not isolated, it is the board that is causing it, which brings me to my second point...
B) The WAS board is a total POS!!!! pardon my abbreviation but it really is. The board has major problems with runaway firing. The only reason I mention the board is because it comes stock in egrips now. Tippmann made a big mistake with putting the WAS boeard in the gun. The bright side is I didnt plan to ever use full auto, I only use turbo...(which is just as fast as fully auto if you have quick fingers) and I upgraded to the ape rampage<<<<<<good board>>>>>>
Conclusion: I love the egrip but I am dissapointed with the stock board they put in so i can only giv it a 9. UPGRADE THE BOARD AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FunkOn$ight Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing..
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 with Flatline Barrel and E-Grip
Strengths: The Modes......
Weaknesses: Hard to Change modes,Very hard to change batterys,chops cheap balls
Review: When i got it i could not install it way to hard so i took it to a store they did it and it worked but chopped alot of The Fields balls and hard to change modes need a small screw.and then the time came to change batterys again and opening it was hard and then i replaced the battery and some stuff fell out didnt know where to put it now i dont know how to fix it now got to take it back to the store to fix
Conclusion: Uhhhhh
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xtremepballa10 Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it
Marker Setup: A-5, 16" all american barrel, ricochet hopper, e-grip
Strengths: ROF
firing modes
lighter trigger pull
Weaknesses: Lack of weather resistance
Review: wow, the e-grip really kicks ass. Most of these other guys have the version where a small screw river is needed to change the settings, mine has one button and a light in the two holes in the front of the grip. The gun is remarkably easy to set once you understand how the combos of trigger pulls and button clicks work. I deffinitly recommend this for all tippmann a-5 users. Its the ultimate 'fun' upgrade, plus it gives you an edge to play up with upper level guns (ions, shokers etc.) besides the lessened weather resistance, there is njo downside that I can honestly see with this product. the only other downside is that changing is a little annoying, but i can literally do it in seconds now that i have memorized the settings. on the field many people are already intimidated by the A-5's loudness already, but the e-grip gives you the edge of intimidation and performance. with the cyclone feed system e-grip combo, you can have the performance of upper level guns without the price and technical difficulties. From my experience, all mods work perfectly exept the 3-shot burst (ramping) 50% of the time only 1 or 2 of the shots actually come out. but besides this, deffinitly a well rounded upgrade
Conclusion: Deffinitly worth the $100 i payed for it. If you own a tippmann A-5 and are even thinking about getting it, deffinitly go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shortman Stroup Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Stock electronics
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:
-Egrip
-Rufus Dawg double trigger
-Rufus Dawg Powertube
-Rufus Dawg Bolt
-48cu 3000 psi pure energy hpa tank
-14 in archon Barrel
Strengths: very fast
Light
Weaknesses: Hard to change the batteries and easy to lose pieces
Review: THe A-5 is already a reliable gun but if ur a speedballer like me this is the best up u can buy it has five modes:
-Semi
-Three Shot burst
-Full auto
-Turbo
-Rebound(My personnal Favorite)
If u bought this and a new barrel u could rock with the ions
I can get at leat 10-15 bps easy out of the a-5 with the egrip and get even higher on rebound mode And an ions Cap is 17 bps standard so u can keep up
Conclusion: My final recommendation is a definite buy this is the best up for an a-5 u can buy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjpomeroy Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Trigger
Stock Trigger with Double Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
WAS Egrip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Flatline Barrel Kit
Vortex Cyclone Feed
Red Dot Scope
Carbine Stock
88ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Pure Energy HPA on remote
My rating scale defined
10- Oh my god this thing is awsome, drop what every you are doing and go buy one
7 - Good piece of gear
5 - Does what it is suppose to do
3 - Doesn't live up to advertised features
1- If you insist on buying this item, you should just send it to my paypal account either way your are waisting your money
Strengths: Fast
Good Customer service
Mutiple modes
Lighter Trigger pull
Intimidation factor
Weaknesses: Reliability
Difficult to put back together
Programming requires a small screwdriver
Review: The WAS egrip is the great equalizer to the guys with speedball guns. I have had mine for about six months is it is one of the best mods I have gotten for my gun. As everyone else has said it has mutiple firing modes. I love the fact that my A-5 can shoot very fast if i want it to. I have never tested to see exacly how many BPS I can get, but when I go full auto or even R/T on someone, they keep their heads down.

Here are some of the problems I have had with this trigger:
1) Once you take it apart it is somewhat difficult to get it back together properly. When every you remove the trigger assembly from the housing you have to be very careful when putting it back in to ensure that the trigger makes the correct contact with the switch.
2) I had a problem with it double firing and sometimes it would go full auto
3) The solenoid went out on mine.
4) I have the WAS board installed and it seem much easier to program the orginal, but it still requires a small allen wrench or screwdriver to do the programming. When you are out on the field and wanting to swich firing modes is is a pain in the rear to break out a tool to make the programming changes. It would me much better if there was some type of button you could use to do the programming.
5) The stock cyclone feed ratchet broke. The high rate of fire may have been too much for the cheap plastic. (I recommend that if you buy the Egrip you also invest about 30 bucks in the Voretx Cyclone Mod it is made of metal won't break).
6) In full auto mode I do break a few balls in the barrel. (This could be due to the paint as much as the egrip)

In order to correct the solenoid problem I had to send it back to tippmann. I am happy to report that they were very easy to deal with. I mailed them my broken egrip and they sent me a new one. No questions asked. They didn't ever ask for a receipt.
Conclusion: This is a must have item for your A-5. The advantages to this trigger far outweigh the few problems I have had. I would recommend the Vortex Feed system if you have any problems with your Cyclone Feed. Also, I recommend HPA for full auto. C02 is just not consistent enough and it may freeze up your gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 5:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronSlacker Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maybe my 98c
Marker Setup: (Primary Setup)SP Nerve
-68/45 Crossfire Carbon Fiber HPA
-Evo III
-Freak back / All american front
-q-lock

(Secondary Setup) Tippy A-5
-J&J ceramic 14 inch
-Double trigger
-E-grip(dud)
Strengths: -Light trigger pull
-Full auto
Weaknesses: -Dud
-waste of paint for rec ball
Review: I wasn't to happy with my A-5 e-grip because it didn't work correctly after I put it in three times CORRECTLY. We sent it in to Tippmann...twice. From there on my cocking system might have gotten messed up from the whole e-grip issue.Seriously, not worth the $100 bucks I spent for it.

Conclusion: If you want to shoot fast, cut a little bit of your spring and get a double trigger. That way you won't waste paint and you won't waste your time.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

birth.PB.death Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 w/ e-grip, folding stock, 12in. 32 degree whisper barrel, and smart parts drop forward
Strengths: Shoots fast, adjustable rate of fire and fire setting
Weaknesses: A little hard to install/replace battery, a little pricey
Review: In my opinion the E-Grip and the Cyclone system were made for each other! The E-Grip is a bad ass trigger it has a crap load of settings that are pretty easy to adjust, including TURBO. This trigger makes the trigger pull super easy and in addition it's hella easy to walk the trigger.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5, I HIGHLY recommend this upgrade. It may cost you 90+ dollars, but you'll be happy with your results on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

overlord1111us Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A friends electronic trigger on his spider i think, however his was $249 compared to $95. The buttons on his were more easily accessed, they did not require a tool to change. Also the response trigger on 98 custom, don't recommend it, you really have to get a feel for the trigger to use it effectively.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
Tippman E-grip
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 tank w/on/off valve
32 degrees 14" whisper barrel
SpecOps M-249 air-thru stock w/MP5 foregrip
AR-15 style carry handle attachment with weaver rail
32 degrees coiled remote
BSA red dot sight
Strengths: You can set bps, 15bps, no paintballs broke.
Weaknesses: Has built in battery saver that shuts off after 30 min, hard to reach buttons
Review: Overall i love the e-grip, its like going from a pinto to a Ferrari. I have always had semi-autos before this and it is nothing short of a rush when that paint is streaming out and all of the shrubbery in front of you is being torn away. Trust me, according to my friends response after being on the receiving end of this configuration, it will put the other players on their knee's or bellies avoiding the stream of paint. After the second game and about 300 paintballs i decided to change the mode and shoot 3-round burst. I found this conserves paint, yet still puts out an impressive barrage. I should note here that i do have the newest e-grip which is push button, not the screw style. Also i did shoot at 17bps on my first fully auto test run and it did jam twice, however i feel that with a little tinkering, this can be solved.
Conclusion: So here is the deal i have been using the E-Grip for about 6 months now. It is a good upgrade, however there are some design features that i have found less than appealing. First and foremost is that the button is so far recessed that you need a screwdriver or other elongated tool to reach it. That is a definite problem when you need to operate it to change modes or if it shuts off on you to turn it back on. I got smoked in a game as a direct result of it shutting down and me not being able to return fire. It seems to me that tippman's are primarly popular as a mil-sim or woodsball marker, with this in mind for realism i would like to see a select fire flip switch instead of a button. ill keep dreaming i guess. I would recommend this upgrade though, unless you can find an E-grip with a better button configuration.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 2:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media