paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Chameleon series™ Proteus (patent pending) is a quantum leap in paintball technology. Advanced micro spectrum pigments have been created to change colors every time you move. This new Proteus™ will constantly evolve in a spectrum of color with every play you make. The backbone of this new Proteus™ is still our most innovative creation, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball. Competing this incredible system is our new "Diamond Gloss" finish, giving you that unbelievable "wet look". JT, the ever changing face of paintball!
Product Availability 
The JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
puck2paint Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some brass eagle mask, it wasnt all that bad, I just couldnt find an aftermarket lense, and it was really scratched
Marker Setup: 2003 BKO
10" Boomstick
Palmers Stabalizer
Supafly Bolt
Razerblade
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Pros:

really cool looking (some noobies sometimes say "it looks like something from halo"
tight profile
can put fan on
good ventilation
wide field of view
if hit at the right angle the ball might bounce

Cons:

cant find any aftermarket lenses
the bottom is really close to your mouth, so if you get shot there your upper lip swells up and you look like a moose (yes that happened to me)
pretty hard to clean thuroughly
Conclusion: I am really happy with this product. its a great product for rec ballers and tourny ballers. looks great and works just as well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord Manimal Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly Every JT mask ever made
Brass Eagle Junk
Nearly every 32 Degrees mask ever made
Marker Setup: Too many to list
Strengths: Comes in CLEAR
Supports com system; for scenario players this is KILLER
goggles are builtintomask
Weaknesses: Lens's difficult to remove
Thermal system double lens makes for glare between them
Review: The fit is incredible for "medium" heads, and aside from the "chameleon clear" not being chameleon at all, I have no real complaints. In fact just getting a quality CLEAR mask is rare in case you've never noticed. Mask is super flexible and the CLEAR mask is all one peice, not two like the normal chamelons.
Conclusion: Firstly, this review is on the CLEAR chameleon mask, not the one in the picture. Don't ask me why they market this mask as a chameleon clear; there's nothing chameleon about it in the least. It's just... clear!

The mask has a super good fit, which despite my love of JT products, isn't something that can be said for too many of their masks for people with "medium" sized heads. As an earlier review put it, it's more like wearing a helm than a paintball mask. The foam around the goggles is full and thick, and no part of the mask touches your face that isn't foam. They even put foam in the "cheekbone" area to keep it from touching your face. It has an ultra small profile that, like everyone else said a gazillion times, won't cover your neck. Personally, I try and keep my head as small a profile as possible, and if people are sticking their heads out far enough that someone has a shot at their necks, I think they need to re-evaluate their game. That being said, it has one of the smallest profiles of any of the dozens of masks I own/have owned, and has quickly become a favorite.

The thermal system I'm not so in love with however. It makes it obvious to your eyes that you're simply looking through two lenses at once. You'll occasionally see minor reflections of things behind you on the inner lense, which can be disconcerting. Or helpfull depending on your point of view. lol Just go stand in front of an empty fishtank and read a book through the other side. It's the same feeling. HOWEVER, since that feature is intentional, and many people seem to like it, I won't deduct points from my rating for a personal preference.

The mask seems to venillate very well, likely due to the "no neck protection" concept mentioned earlier, and I suspect that after you give this mask a try (ask to put one on at your local shop) you'll quickly decide that for the price, it's not only a bling bling, but it's a super comfortable, ultra light-weight, exceptionally well made mask that you can get some crazy good deals on. Check out:
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 18th, 2004 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kimdinh901 Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, diablo skull, v-force armour, v-force shield, pmi x-ray
Marker Setup: model 98 (green), 14'' J and J ceramic, 20 oz with anti-syphon
spyder compact, with electro trigger
Strengths: -low profile
-looks good
-aerodynamic shape
-audio capabilities
Weaknesses: -protection- (its a very minor, read below for more info)
-lenses
Review: Hey, FIrst off, i'm just gonna say this is one of the best masks out there.

GOOD: i like how it changes colour as you move, (but kinda get annoying after a while), the aerodynamic shape so some balls will just roll off the mask, the audio capabilities i like how you can hear people talk a lot clearer and they can hear you talk too, its a pretty low profile mask, and of course the look of it is amazing, you will definately get recognize at fields, haha

BAD: the upper part is made of a hard shell, very easy for it to break when you get shot in the mouth part, it blasts right through and makes you eat paint and can make your mouth numb from the impact, thats what i meant by not good protection, but its still one of the best masks. The bright colour if you got gold, can give away your position in outdoor play. And last its hard to get the lenses in and out to clean the mask on this mask, but its still easier than the skull. It's just like all other spectra masks.

THE INVISION IS BETTER!!! WELL IF IT FITS YOUR FACE WELL. (in my opinion)
Conclusion: i love this mask!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbaler1123 Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
invision proflex 7 envader
Marker Setup: 2003 shocker red and black freak kit with all american tip 4500psi smart parts tank evoulution 2 hopper and 2003 maxi flow
Strengths: small but big enough to protect your face light and good venalation
Weaknesses: doent protect your neck
Review: i like this mask alot all my friends told me to get the invision but the invision shreds paint as soon as it hits a vent and its doent pretoect your forhead or face but this mask its great it protects u but doesnt limit vision or head movement its small and close to your face so it feels liek u arnet whereing a mask at all the thing is though is that it doesnt protect any of your neck at all and its somtimes alittle hard to clean and itts kinda expensive
Conclusion: i would suggest it to anyone who has the money and doesnt mind gettin shot in teh neck when u go aroud over a bunker but remeber if u want to b able to see and hear your team well this is the mask to get
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

demonhunter_86 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT invader mask
Marker Setup: Dye Reflex
-Air America Armageddon Air System
-long drop foward
-Messiah
Strengths: Great visibilty, sometimes you can find a good price.
Weaknesses: Sometimes a little expensive depending where you buy it
Review: Well, when I got this mask I found it on discount for <$70, so I got a deal. This mask is great especially if you live somewhere hot and have trouble breathing. The communication system for this mask is also really cool, but obviously if you doing a tourney, than you can't use it unless you are a ref or something. (I don't like that dumb rule, it takes the fun out of it) but the visibility like I said is good, and the feel is great. Plus it doesn't make your head huge and an easy target!
Conclusion: Deffinetly would recomend going for this mask. You will be glad you paid a little extra in the end.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poorbutgood Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kinds of others
Strengths: tight fit, lots of protection, small target
Weaknesses: if u talk ur chin sticks right out
Review: this mask is great. i bought it for $100(i had to take a loan out) and i got a free fan with it which is pretty good, but it makes one spot freezing while the rest of my face is still pretty hot(great for defogging though). i love the thermal lens that comes with it , once i got used to it. the only real problem i encountered was the rubber on the bottom. because it is such a close fitting mask, when i got shot there, the entire rubber part snapped back and whipped my face. it hurt, but the ball did bounce!
the chameleon also looks really cool

MUCH better than invision
Conclusion: i love the thing, even if it causes a little more pain than the average mask
this mask is a lot better than the invision
i changed it to a 10 cus my friend is stupid, does that make sense to u?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 5th, 2004 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShooterOnYour6 Sunday, August 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann A5 w/RT. 2. Ion 3. Tippmann Custom Pr. w/RT Camo. Ed.
Strengths: Excellent vision, sweat/fog control. And extremely comfortable. Adjustable/rotating ear pcs.
Weaknesses: Lense too difficult to change. High risk of scratching/cracking lense while installing new lense.
Review: I will hunt high and low to find another one of these masks. Has excellent vision radius. Does not heat up like other lighter masks, and it contains the sweat in the foam very well. I would rate the mask a 10/10.
I have used this mask for over 4 years, and only one time did it fog up on me: In Aug., during a scenario game. And while it is not suited for speed ball, it is an EXCELLENT woods ball /scenario game mask! PLEASE bring them back!!!
Conclusion: Bring them BACK! I love them....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wizard_117 Friday, February 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older JT mask
Marker Setup: Pro-Stock Cocker
E2 zero B
Nexus Ram with QEV's
Palmer Rock
Orange Hardliner Bolt
Palmer Reg
System X drop forward w/ on/off
All American Barrel w/ freak front
Egg II
Strengths: Looks so cool.
Scares people.
Fits over glasses.
Weaknesses: Changing Lenses is so hard.
Little close to the chin.
Review: I have the purple/blue mask and I have added metal spikes to it to add to how intimidating this mask looks. It fits nicely over my glasses but lets a little bit of my chin hang out. Just dont get hit in the chin and that problem is solved.
You will never want to change these lenses once you have done it once. It is so hard to do and you get so frustrated at doing it.
I love this mask and it scares kids. What more could I ask for?
Conclusion: This mask is sweet. If you want a sweet looking mask get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballxyz10 Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, flex, scott
Marker Setup: spyder- e99 avant with ccm feed neck i have a revy and a halo and a j and j ceramic.
Strengths: Look,Profile, Weight, Lense, Feel, Price
Weaknesses: Ventilation, not as cool as Invision
Review: I love this ask but not as cool as my brothers invision. The ventalation is tough when i play at my friends land it can get hard to breathe but that is in the mountains of colorado. Its soft and nice feeling though. It is so cool looking though. I think it is great for the money
Conclusion: Awsome mask for the price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitarkid66 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was my first High end mask.
Marker Setup: SmartParts Blue Ion, Hyperflow 45/45, Blue UFD Clamping Feedneck, Cp Rake Trigger, Reloader B
Strengths: Flexible, Comfortable, Wide Range of Sight, Kick A** Looks
Weaknesses: Doesnt offer alot of protection to the chin or neck.
Review: When I got this mask I was so excited because I had read alot about it in reviews on this site. And to say the least, I wasnt disappointed. The mask fits great for the shape of my head, has a great range of sight, very wide so you can spot opponents from the side easier. They also say that the rotating ear piece offers you more audio from the surroundings since you can direct the sound to fit your ear. Pretty cool stuff but I dont use it much.
In gameplay, it worked great. If kept clean and wiped every now and then, fogging up wasnt an issue and I was able to wear it for extended periods of time without it becoming uncomfortable. My only beef with this mask is the protection for the chin area and the strap. The chin area is exposed if you have a longer face but this can be solved by not allowing yourself to be shot lol. The strap for my mask, stock, has come a little loose on me. When you play in the summer heat of good ol' Texas, sweat and a loose mask can be your worst nightmare but this is just a minor problem. Also the lenses are pretty tough to remove if you've never done it before. You gotta put alot of elbow grease into ripping that thing out to achieve your goal.
Oh yeah, it looks like Master Chief's helmet in Halo. Seriously, what more could you want in a mask.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone looking for an all around great mask. With killer features and looks, this one is held above the rest. I give a 9 because of the
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media