paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Chameleon series™ Proteus (patent pending) is a quantum leap in paintball technology. Advanced micro spectrum pigments have been created to change colors every time you move. This new Proteus™ will constantly evolve in a spectrum of color with every play you make. The backbone of this new Proteus™ is still our most innovative creation, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball. Competing this incredible system is our new "Diamond Gloss" finish, giving you that unbelievable "wet look". JT, the ever changing face of paintball!
Product Availability 
The JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Karnikid666 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V force profiler (like it about the same as my proteus but the profile breaths much better)
first X-ray (no comment)
Scott mask (good noob mask but thats it)
E Vents (love them but i have my VForce)
Marker Setup: Blue and silver Karni
Blue Empire Reloder
70ci/4500 crossfire stubby
Samuri trigger

Silver Nerve
Black Ndz Roller trigger(love it!!)
Black Dye stickys
Black Empire Reloder
Silver NDz On/Off
Freak Bore master kit (all inserts in other words)
70ci/4500 cross fire stubby (yes i like them)

Yellow Evil Jersy (05)
Yellow Evil pants(05)
Yellow Vforce Profiler

Strengths: COMFERTABLE
looks kool
no fog
perphrial vision
Weaknesses: BREATHS TERRIBLY
kinda heavy
strap losens
chin strap gives me a rash : (
Review: Weaknesses:First of this mask breaths very poorly which makes it all hot and kinda takes the fun out of... well moving. When a mask gets hot it makes you breath harder then you nomally would even if you are just standing there. All this is pretty minor because im a back player.

Strenghts: First of this mask is pretty comfertable (for a while). And the stock lenses a kinda kool (green at the top clear at bottom) and has a wide range of vision(good for back players)
Conclusion: This mask would compeat with the vforce if JT would just make it breath better.
It a good back players mask, if your not a back player,save your cash and get a vforce or e vents
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-V Force Profiler
-Dye Invision
-JT Flex 7
Marker Setup: Stock '06 Red to Black Fade Black Magic

Stock Titanium '05 Karnivor w/E2

Frankensteined Autococker #1:
-2004 Yellow to Orange Fade Kapp Reflex Body Kit
-Kapp Front Block
-Kapp Rhino LPR
-Shocktech Ram
-Eclipse QEV's
-Eclipse E2 Eblade
-Worr Games Black Magic Reg
-Custom Products Flame Drop
-Phat On/Off Bottomline ASA
-Worr Games Locking Feedneck
-Kapp Delrin Ball Detent
-Eclipse Dart Bolt
-Shocktech Rat Valve

Frankensteined Autococker #2
-98' Flat Black Stock Worr Games Body
-Stock Front Pnuematics (HUGE!!!)
-Orracle Tickler 3-Way
-Dye Swing Trigger
-Bud Orr Expansion Chamber
-Dye Locking Bolt/Back Block
-Stock Internals
-Dye Beavertail
Strengths: -Light
-Breathable
-Tight Profile
Weaknesses: -Hard to change lenses
-A little tough to put back together
Review: Okay first off, if someone is reading this and wondering how I can own a mask for 4 years, but have only played for 2...I only played every once in awhile. I didn't get into actually playing fairly consistantly until a couple of years ago. So I just consider my playing experience based off of that.
Alright now that that misconception is cleared up I'll start with my review.
The first thing I noticed about my Proteus was how much easier it was to breath in the thing. My previous masks were a Spectra (first year they came out) and then I upgraded to a Flex 7. Both of which were like wearing a cotton respirator. I would pretty much suffocate in those things! So when I tried out my Proteus it was literally a breath of fresh air (bad pun, I know.)
I also really enjoyed the lower profile, and the fact that this thing was so much less bulky then my other masks.
As for the look, it's not the most amazing looking mask, but I still enjoy it.
Another great feature is the adjustable sound recievers (if you've never used one of these masks, don't get too excited, they are just pieces of plastic.) You can rotate them, depending on what position you are playing. So if you play front, you can swivel them back to better recieve incoming commands from your back line, and vice-versa for back players. Personally I never used them, but they're a nice little touch that might benefit someone who uses them correctly.
Now for the bad...
I HATE changing lenses in JT's systems! Why can't they take a cue from the Profiler or Proto, and simplify the process? The last lense I changed I scratched because I was trying to push one of the tabs in with a screwdriver. No I suppose it wasn't the best tool of choice around a lense, but the tab was like trying to stuff a car through a mail slot. I lost my patience, and gained a scratch...lesson learned, but I still hate the design.
The other thing that kind of aggrivates me is assembling the thing. If you use a visor, I hope the tabs are not as flimsy as the ones on my mask. It takes me about 5 minutes every time trying to push this wiggly little piece of plastic through another amazingly small hole. I guess I could also just bore the hole out a little, but then I'm afraid that it will just pop out...
Other then that everything seems to be in order, and very well put together.
I know that this review is probably a tad bit late (well several years) but I guess if you come across one of these masks, they're not to bad...but by todays standards, and with some of the improvements today (breathability, disassembly, etc) they are a little outdated.
Conclusion: If you can find one cheap (doubt they sell them anymore) or if you get one in a package on ebay or something, you'll definitly be satisfied. There are much better masks out there, but it's still a very reliable product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr_98 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Dye Excel Barrel
RT kit
Rocket Cocker 2
BT Double Trigger
BT tactical Stock
egg 2
Strengths: Fit, Profile, Lense Change, Lenses, Venting.
Weaknesses: Price, neck protection (easy fix though)
Review: Best Mask i have ever used. none compare. if your going for a pro mask save the money and get one of these. but you can find a them REALLY cheep on eBay (i got mine for 75 dollars canadian off eBay). I have no regrets about this mask ever.
Conclusion: Best mask ever. buy it you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballp.i.m.p Saturday, July 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT N Forcer, V-Force Rental
Marker Setup: Silver Bullet LCD, Empire Reloader, 12'' cp barrel, cross fire 4500psi nitro tank
Strengths: Looks, Comfort, Light weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great mask, It has never fogged up on me. I would recommend this mask to anyone, for the price you cant beat it. I Know people who hate this mask only because of the looks, but I think it is a matter of opinion. The comfort of this mask is insane, the foam is so soft and smooth, and the way it forms to your face is awesome too.
Conclusion: All I have to say is BUY THIS MASK you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 24th, 2005 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JTs
Marker Setup: Upped impy, nitro eggy, bla bla bla
Strengths: Small, very comfy, has that JT foam (the best IMO)
Weaknesses: Looks, changing lenses
Review: This is a great mask. it is very flexy all over so it might give some bounces. it seems like the whole mask is made of rubber oposed to plastic. it is very comfy with good vision. it would say it is like the other JT gogles but tighter to your face. its only downfall is price, changing lenses, and looks. it is still like 50-70 bucks, and for that you can get better look, and performing masks.
Conclusion: Because of reasons i stated above i give it a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeavyG Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing even close
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP superstock
68 3K HPA tank
Evolution II
Jt Proteus Chameleon
Strengths: Looks hot, very comfy, good audibility, good peripheral vision
Weaknesses: Headstrap can be irritating, slightly expensive
Review: Very nice mask. Turns heads at the local field and looks and feels amazing. I describe it like a suction cup on your face, sort of like a second skin (to a point). Looks really hot and the colors blend and shift from different light very effectively. Visibility is amazing as there is a loss of maybe 10-15 degrees of peripheral vision. However the headstrap around the back can be irritating. For me just wearing a hat underneath works perfectly.
Conclusion: This is an amazing mask, if you can spare the change you should buy it. You will never look back
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

everyday_paint Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, JT Profex
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, Crossfire 92/4500, 14" Carbon Graphite Barrel Kit, CCM Front-end kit, CCM E Kit, CCM J2 Gripframe, PPS Stabilizer

Resent Update (April 9, 05)
Strengths: Comfortable
Looks good
Price
Weaknesses: Colors
Hot
Review: Sadly i sold this mask for a better one (JT Profex w/fan) But when your like me and have glasses you need a mask that breaths a bit better. so anyway this mask really isn't bad it isn't expensive of heavy but it does get a little hot even with a fan. but I had no real problems with it. it did good for me for the time i had it.
Conclusion: really this is a good mask and if your looking at it and you don't want to pay for a Dye or V-Force then get this
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blitzkriegfront Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme rage x-ray
Marker Setup: Orracle, Crossfire 68 ci 4500 PSI, VL Evo 2
Strengths: Anti-Fog, Looks Awesom, and very comfortable.
Weaknesses: Not enough face protection.


Review: This mask is very good, it is comfortable and looks awesome. The only real problem is it does not cover up very well below the nose, if your hit in the face you will taste some paint. Overall I do think this mask is very good and is worth the money, not to mention the colors it comes in look awesome, and it changes color in different shades of the light, which is an awesom feature. I recomend this mask for all players.
Conclusion: I think this mask is worth the money, it is good for beginers and pros.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jex Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt flex fit
Nvader
And other shizy masks
Marker Setup: 04 Black Dust Angel Speed
Uni mount
Angel preset Air
Strengths: Never will fog
Low profile
Never falls off
Chin strap
Forget its on you
Comfy
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This mask rocks! This mask will never fog on you! You forget ur wearing it and it will never fall off your head. It also look awsome! The mask almost molds to you head very very very very x 1000000 comfy! its a must have! Heres the specs

Comfy
Easy to get on and off
Low profile
Never fogs
Sucks to you head forget your wearing it
Buy this MASK!
Conclusion: If you don't have this then u must get it! This is a must have, the best mask i have ever used! Awesome mask, you won't be disappointed! BUY IT NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikau Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other JT masks
Strengths: Very intimidating, small, and comfortable
Weaknesses: does fog, DOESNT breath
Review: After purchasing this mask, I was happy with the look, weight, and overall feel of it. I ordered mine online, and of course, it was better than I had planned. Unlike the other JT masks that I have used, this one seems to have move visual range than neccessary, which isnt a problem. What is a problem, is if you do a lot of running, which I do, then you will quickly find out how hard it is to breath in one if these. The chin curves inwords, and cuts back on just about all of the breathing room. I really didnt expect for that to be a problem, because I never used a mask that was this hard to breath in. Otherwise, the mask held up well... where I play, any mask will fog, and this one did too, halfway. It wasnt too bad, it too a long time to fog, and when it did, it only went about half way across the lense. I played a few games without the visor and it seemed to do even better.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone, as this mask has preformed much better than any other I have tried, but it still has it's wierd problems. The price is deffinatly worth it. I'll have to give it an 8 because I like the breathing room in my other 2 JTs better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media