paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask / JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Chameleon series™ Proteus (patent pending) is a quantum leap in paintball technology. Advanced micro spectrum pigments have been created to change colors every time you move. This new Proteus™ will constantly evolve in a spectrum of color with every play you make. The backbone of this new Proteus™ is still our most innovative creation, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball. Competing this incredible system is our new "Diamond Gloss" finish, giving you that unbelievable "wet look". JT, the ever changing face of paintball!
Product Availability 
The JT Chameleon Series Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
snoboarderrr178 Sunday, December 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force profiler. Dye invision
Marker Setup: piranha EVO, halo tsa, teardrop 14in, co2
Strengths: Low-profile.
Looks cool.
X-treamly comfertable.
sweet lense
Weaknesses: The same thing everybody says. Your chin will stick out when ur yelling
Review: This mask is pritty cool i would say. It fits really well and is really comfertable. The only thing bad is ur chin will stick out the bottom when ur yelling. The mask is light weight. It is very good looking i would say. I like the lens on it to. It has things that make it easyer to here on the field when your playing too.
Conclusion: This mask is a good mask. It is a little bit exspensive but its a good mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMann14 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nvader, all Jt masks, Vforce profiler
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter/ 14"Teardrop Barrel/ ESP frame / Shocktech supa fly bolt/ 20 oz.co2,
steel braid hose, Madman Spring kit, Empire reloader2
Strengths: Small, lightweight, color, comfortable, tinted lens
Weaknesses: Strap loosens but not a problem, and no neck protection
Review: This paintball mask is awesome! It is a really cool color and it is very comfortable. It feels like im not even wearing a mask because it is small, lightweight and gives you a low profile just like it is supposed to. Yes like i said the strap on the back doesnt get very tight but the one under your chin keeps it secure so this is not a problem. I also said that there is no neck protection. I knew this before i bought the proteus but i heard such good things about it that i didnt care. If you get a neck guard then this problem is easily fixed.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great mask. The stap on the back could be tighter but i still love this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 25th, 2004 at 6:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

porschekid Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing in any comparison
Strengths: Looks never fogs soft plastic is grand bounce factor
Weaknesses: Somewhat to bright for woods ball
Review: I've had my chamelon for a long time , and i've only ever had it fog up once really bad {mostly my fault washed it the night before and got water inthe lens} if you get the fan for it you should never really have any trouble. One thing that i wished i did was get it in black the yellow/green is ok but if you get it in the purple/blue and only play woods don't get a chamelon just get a black proteus
Conclusion: I think there one of the best masks out but if you into woods ball like my self i recommened getting it in black
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chazmatazz Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Flex, Scott, Dye mask
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mech, 14" freak barrel system, HPA, "Playboy" drop forward
Strengths: Comfort
Peripheral vision
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Lens changes are a pain
strap isn't very secure
Review: I bought my Proteus Chameleon from a friend, and I haven't looked back since. It fits like a glove, peripheral vision is amazing, and the upgrades are wikked...(the vortex fan is great and you can even get a custom 2-way radio system installed, earpieces fit where the round ear caps go and the mic snaps to the front of the mask...PURRRRfect for scenario games)

I replaced the lens not too long ago cause I always seemed to get gogged...I asked everyone what they saw when I was bunker-jumping, and all they said was "Your lens"...so I changed them...and man what a time I had doing that...If you ever plan on doing a lens change, take the afternoon off, cause it'll take you that long to do it.

All in all, this mask is amazing.
Conclusion: I give it a 10, even though the lens swap sucks...you don't do it often enough for it to really matter
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IraqiFreedomVet Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT, Scott, VForce Morph
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
MacDev Matchstik barrel set
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
VForce Morph
Strengths: Good fit, looks good
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This mask looks good. It forms to your face and head pretty well. I got more than a few bounces off of the visor that came with it.
I found it was fogging a lot.......especially indoors. Here in the summer it's pretty humid, so had some trouble there. That's to be expected.
It's a decent mask to buy, but try a few others before locking in on this one.
Conclusion: Decent mask to buy, but try a few others before locking in on this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccer spaniel Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other jt masks
Marker Setup: dragon timmy with supafly, halo b, nitro duck 45/45
Strengths: low profile
lens
peripheral
style
Weaknesses: price
forehead shots without visor
Review: the proteus mask is by far one of the best masks out there next to the flex. the peripheral you get from jt is only rivaled by v force. this mask has style.theonly problem is their description of the color shift. its not that great. if your willing to be blinging all kinds at the field, get this mask. if you dont want to bling so much, just get a regular proteus or proteus II. its a better price for what you need.
Conclusion: the mask is good for those willin to be blingin, but for everyone else, the other proteus masks are just fine
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasden Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, and various crappy field rental masks.
Marker Setup: Not that it matters, but I shoot a pimped out e-Orracle.
Strengths: Extremely comfortable, doesn't fog, looks great, low profile and breathes well.
Weaknesses: Changing lens can be a pain.
Review: I bought this mask nearly two years ago, and have never looked back. By far, this is the best mask I have ever owned. First off the Chameleon Proteus is extremely comfortable to wear. The mask covers just enough of my face, and the visor (which I wear) takes care of my forehead. This mask has good venting, breathes well, and hardly ever fogs--when it's freezing or boiling out--especially with the Vortex goggle fan (optional accessory). Changing lens is just the same as it is for the whole Spectra line, not too difficult, but kind of a pain in the ass. And, last but not least, this is one of the best looking low profile masks out there. I have the gold Chameleon and I think it has the bling bling factor needed for representing on the speedball court, yet the color is subtle enough to work well in the woods as well.
Conclusion: JT makes some excellent products, most notably masks, and the Proteus is the best they make. Priced better than other high-end, low profile masks, like the Dye Invision or the V-Force Profiler, this mask is a great value for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 19th, 2004 at 7:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiLF Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: JT 6.0, CP 12" 2piece, PMI 68/4500, ST on/off with Stubby drop
Just ordered my ALIAS!! FEB. 9 2004!
Strengths: Very Small
Fitting is awesome
Comfort
Weaknesses: Lenses on Blue to clear, Price
Review: I love these masks they are great! People say they are hard to put together and take a part but i didnt have a problem. The Lenses how they fade blue to clear are ok.... im going to just buy an all clear one for $20.00. Price is not the greatest but u can find them for like $70
Conclusion: Get them!! Or get the dye invisions those are great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SC20Ksniper Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
crappy brass eagle jt knock off, and several Dye Invisions
Marker Setup: tippy 98 custom RT, rico AK, IS boomstick
Strengths: nice strap setup, low profile, wide specta lenz, looks like a viper head.
Weaknesses: some problems with lenz(read review)
Review: This is one superior mask, from looks to performance. First the strap, it doesn't touch the lenz, instead it threads nicely through the back. Then the spectra lenz, this kicks the invision's ass and then some. awesome side to side vision, and little fogging. in some places i play it can get pretty humid, and will fog no matter what, however it is at a more slower rate, and seems to move like a wave down ur lenz, i kno it's hard to explain, but it shows the intensity of ur play in humid areas, a large heavy band of water that moves down, and as u calm down, it's a smaller less dense area. next is comfort, excellent, i've used my friend's invision and it ain't nothin special, i actually prefer the proteus. then there's appeal, i've had several invision owners ask to try it on, and they like it better! Although i do agree that the invision does appeal more in looks, but the proteus is just plain interesting. the rotating ear covers that adjust is u r a back or front, and the huge spectra lenz.
Conclusion: all in all this is a top quality mask, (it should be for the 90 bucks i spent on it, however that price has dropped), it provides more protection than the invision in the chin area. I give it a 9 because JT could have done something more to the ventallation
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2003 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tk_03 Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proteus
Marker Setup: Piranha E-force EXT PRO
14 inch Teardrop
12 Volt Revy
16 ounce Pure Energy CO2 tank
Strengths: Thermal lens
Color
Never Fog
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is a great mask it never fogs so u dont have to worry about not seeing the opponent. This mask is very comfortable. This mask has a great design and looks really cool. This mask is a little on the expensive side, but i think it is worth every penny because it protects your eyes. If you have ever had your mask fog up and the opponent sneal up on you and get you out you know how frustrating it is. With this mask you dont have to worry about that because it never fogs.
Conclusion: This is a great mask and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. It is pretty expensive but is worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media