paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag / Airgun Designs Minimag

Airgun Designs Minimag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Minimag

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Minimag
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 157
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $259

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Minimag features outstanding looks in a
compact design for the player who demands the
balance of a vertical bottle and the convenience
of a quick disconnect hose.
The Minimag includes the same high-performance
valve system as the 68Automag with a shorter 8"
barrel for fast maneuverability in tight spots.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Minimag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Sir_Adagon Saturday, February 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag
All Tippmans
Schocker
Marker Setup: AGD Minimag
Perfect Expansion Chamber
32 Degrees Flame Drop Forward
14" Dye Boomstick
47ci 3000psi Crossfire preset
9 vt Revolution
Strengths: Automags in general are very fast, and dependable guns. The easy assembly/ disassembly makes these great guns, also great customer service. The Minmag molded grips are comfortable, and the factory installed vertical adapter works well.
Weaknesses: My Mag has had the following problems. First the horror stories f compatibility with c02 were more true that I believed, the gun just won't work with c02 in cold, haven't got summer test yet, put nitrogen is perfect if you've got it or want it. I have had several barrel breaks due to the boomstick (I purchase it used with a boomstick, and local field paint is too big). I have had two devastating chops due to the speed of this gun, and hopper. It isn't the most accurate but work can tweak that.(my brother has SP AA 12'' for his classic which is straighter, not as long)
Conclusion: I bought it for 270 with expansion chamber and barrel. I need to buy a new barrel, an X-board for VL. I would also like to ad an Intelliframe, and X-Valve (Reactive Trigger valve w/ level 10 chop free bolt) This gun would rock with those accessories. My big problem is that I will have to get new loader had to get nitrogen. This is a good gun , I've never seen the stock barrel, but plan on dropping at least 150 extra on top of the original price. Start at RT if you are serious about mag future. Getting level 10 soon can't wait.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phaseshifter Friday, November 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None this gun is in a class of its own.
Marker Setup: AGD custom black body minimag, Cossfire 47ci, 13" Armson stealth, dead-on drop forward, 12v revolution, CP mini gas thru grip (all red parts), black intelliframe!
Recommended
Upgrades:
A newer barrel, nitro or compressed air is a must, a long drop forward to help balance the gun, an electro-hopper.
Strengths: -This gun is great for those who love to buy a gun and upgrade it.
-The reliability of mags are great, I have never had a problem with my gun.
The only chopped balls come from when I forgot to turn on my hopper. The Empire reload kit takes care of that problem too.
Weaknesses: I believe that these reviews should actually be for the gun itself, not the gun after it has been upgraded.

This gun stock is not all that great. The trigger frame blows compared to the intelliframe. Stock barrel, lets not even touch that nasty thing.

Conclusion: This gun right out of the box isn't really that good. But with a little money for those upgrades you could be shooting one of the best guns on the market. I rarely chop paint and if I do it's because I forgot to turn on my hopper. If I were reviewing my gun itself after upgrades I would probably give it a 9 because it's not perfect, but since this review is for the gun right out of the box I'm giving it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P190HK51 Friday, June 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Mags. Cockers.
Marker Setup: Mini Mag. Polished SS Body. 14in All American Freak Kit w/ Stainless Steel Back. Intelliframe Blade Nickle. RT Retro Valve. Smart Parts Blue Body Kit w/ matching 14in AA Barrel. Air America Apaco 68ci 4500psi. Viewloader 12 volt w/xborad. Air America Vigilant Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel. Regulator. N2 Set up. Motorized Hopper. RT Valve if you like to shoot like madness.
Strengths: Its Polished "Bling Bling". RT Valve shoots really fast. Smaller than autococker. With a good Reg and a adjustable N2 Consistancy is not an issue. Easy to maintain. Easy to work on. Reliable & Rugged. If your a player that bangs the gun around then get mag. Freak Barrel Kit is a BIG Help with this marker. Quiet with a ported barrel. Great Range with a longer barrel and a paint to match it.
Weaknesses: Weight. But there is alot of weight behind a good marker. Stock barrel sucks. Its only 5-4 inches. LONGER BARREL. Shorter barrels on a mag dont cut it. I wouldent go lower than a 14incher. Because the range sucks on the shorter barrels. Co2 Does a number on a mag. Mags were never ment to run on CO2. Nitro only especially if you get the RT Valve.
Conclusion: I won this mag 3 Years ago at a tourney. I finaly used it because someone ganked my tricked spyder. Oh well not much of a big loss. I love mags my family use mags. The newest addtion uses a E-mag. And I must say its a nice marker. But back to the mini. People that say Mags are for F*gs. Ho please you'll be on both knees. Mag is the one that started the Sprey n Prey. And birth of the one who shoots tons of paint in one game. And with a few upgrades your mag will be kicking angels and other high end markers in the teeth. Yes MAGS ARE ANGEL KILLERS. Simply with the RT Valve you can MOW people down. The Freak kit is a great addition. Why didn't smart parts think of this before? Paint to barrel match is a must for a mag and so is a Motorized hopper. And mags are suprizingly low priced. But I got mine for Free. And it has been kicking your butt since then. Longer barrel around a 14 to a 16 inch will give you plenty of range. Short barrels suck on mag. 14 incher is what I use and works and hangs with the autococker. I love my mag because I dont have to worry about timming which for me makes me mad. Get it if you need something to blast on. Low Maintiance. Low Price. MAG IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cookiemoster16 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers and an x-mag....oh my god the xmag is god.
Marker Setup: AGD PF right minimag | 10" cp 1piece | kapp micro drop | AGD z-grip | AGD warp feed w/ rico ak | fighter x 3.5 gas-thru grip | 68/3000 pe steel tank | black stickies ... and most importantly LX W/ X-VALVE
Recommended
Upgrades:
grip, drop, FAST hopper, DEFFINITLY need nitro
Strengths: Wow this thing owns. its super compact, so its a great front players gun. its also super fast. as soon as i got it i chronoed 240, 242, 243, 238, 240. thats awesome. after the full day of playing after about 1200 balls through it, i chronoed with the broken in reg....240,241,241,238,243. wow. thats amazing. it comes with a built in reg, so the reg on your tank and on your gun will be superconsistent. its accuracy is also shocking. from 30 yards away i hit a 3in square.....yea, wow.
Weaknesses: little heavier than a classic mag...which is 1.8lbs....this is 2.4lbs. thats still better than most guns though
Conclusion: this is the best front players gun. i play in tournaments with it and i kick @ss. i can get in so tight wth it and snapshoot so easily since it is so d@mn small. my friend with a black magic was like "holy sh!t, that thing is smaller than my tank"... yea and hes only got a 88ci tank. i got it for 400 a year ago....i guess its around 350 now, so pick one up, its bettter than cockers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Phrostbite06 Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Semi-Tippmanns and other mags
electro-angels,shockers,bushmasters
Marker Setup: 2002 V-feed Shocker, LS chip, New Designz Delrin Bolt,Eclipse Blade Trigger w/custom magnetic setup, gadget grip, 9volt Con, Max Flo, Halo Backman, 68 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, new trigger frame, level 10
Strengths: Very solid gun, compact
Weaknesses: distance on this gun absolutely sucks, dont touch it if you play back.
Review: This is a very solid gun, its compact, and holds up. But if you are on a team and are going to be in tournaments, dont touch this gun. It will not hold up with the higher end guns out there. I hate to say it but mags are growing into the past and they arent coming out. This could could work in tournaments if you really decked it out, and i mean really. But by the time you put all that money into it, you could have bought an 03 shocker.(IMO the best)
Conclusion: If you play rec ball and dont know much about guns, this is a good choice. If you're going to be in tournaments, dont get it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Aslan2005 Wednesday, December 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic 68
Marker Setup: Minimag w/Retro Valve, Level 10, and ULT trigger kit
Shocktech Medium Drop, chrome foregrip
Intelliframe with Intellifeed to Warpfeed modification
Taso Winforce 16" barrel
MaxFlow reg on 70/4500 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Air tank
Intelliframe
Strengths: Durable
Technology
Modifiable
Weaknesses: Weight
Efficiency
Review: I started out using a 68 classic powerfeedwith a Level 10 classic valve. I wanted to get another Mag and upgrade it even more so I built a Minimag from parts.

Body:
The body is durable and quality, but heavy.

Valve:
Automag valves are the best in the business, especially for a mechanical marker. Instead of the Minimag valve, I upgraded to a Retro valve which I had milled to accept the ULT trigger upgrade. The only drawback is they are inefficient and can only work well with HPA.

Trigger Frame:
The standard trigger frame is fine, but I suggest upgrading to the Intelliframe. It can be easily modified (Intellifeed modification) to send a signal directly to your hopper to spin whenever you pull the trigger and it's a double trigger that is easier to acheive a higher rate of fire.

Upgrades:
Level 10 is a MUST. I've maybe chopped 1-2 balls EVER with the Level 10 installed. I also have the upgraded valve (Retro valve) and ULT trigger mod, but these aren't "must haves".

Air Supply:
Must use HPA. Especially if you upgrade to a faster valve (Retro, RT, E-Mag, X-Valve). Some people can get by with CO2 on the standard Classic and Minimag valves by going through an X-chamber or a regulator or by using an anti-syphon, but I wouldn't recommend it. I use an adjustable regulator (Max-Flow) to increase the pressure to 900-950 to increase the performance of the valve, but it's not a "necessity".

Barrel:
Just about any barrel works well with it. It's designed to use shorter barrels and be compact, but I've had better luck using either a 16" Dye alluminum or a 16" Taso Winforce.

Hopper/Loader:
A Revy will be able to feed it just fine. With a Level 10 upgrade, you could use a standard gravity hopper and not chop, but I'd suggest at least a 9V Revy. I use a 12V Revy that feeds and AGD Warpfeed, but I use it more for profile than feed rate.

Company (AGD):
Best in paintball. I've dealt with them (customer service) and the automags.org forum, it's like having your own personal technician whenever you have an issue.

Other:
These guns are durable and simple to clean/use. They don't need batteries and you don't have to worry about them getting wet. They work great with a $50 investment or you can upgrade to your heart's content and have a $450 marker...your choice. They are quiet and impress everyone on the field. You'll get respect from the old timers who remember Mags with fondness or the new players that want to know what kind of cool marker that is.
Conclusion: I'm tempted to go as low as an 8 because of the weight and efficiency issues, but I gave the Classic Mag a 10 and this Mag is at the least similar if not better. So I'll stick with a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cfos00 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
68Automag, Auto with Retro Valve
Marker Setup: Currently have 4 guns, an ePGP, an Orracle Slider, an Angel LED, and this little beast:
Black Minimag body
Level X'ed Retro Valve
ANS Rail
Pneu'ed Intelli with magnet mod'ed trigger
8" CIP SS barrel
Benchmark drop reversed
68/4500 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only three things that I would recommend upgrading are the bolt, valve, and the trigger frame if you want to really make it rip as fast as possible. The level X bolt completely eliminates chopping, a RT version of the valve eliminates drop off, and a pneu trigger makes it walkable. If you put those three upgrades on your gun, you'll have a gun that can do over 25+ balls a second, doesn't need batteries, doesn't chop, and is walkable.
Strengths: Extremely durable, fast, small gun that doesn't need batteries.
Weaknesses: Not the lightest gun ever, can chop a lot until you get used to it.
Review: There's a lot to like with Minimags. I'll go through positives, negatives, and upgrades I put on mine. In the end, if you toss a few parts on the gun, you can end up with something that not only looks great, but can keep up with absolutely any other gun on the field, will never break a ball, has an incredibly light trigger, can be walked, and doesn't use electricity.

There are several positives with minimags. As multiple people have stated, they're very small guns. The same can be said for any mag. In fact, a standard mag is actually smaller but comes with a longer barrel. Regardless, they're all small guns. They are very durable. I've had my mag for around a decade now, and had to change o-rings on it once. Ever. The only leak it ever sprung took me 20 minutes to fix, and most of that time involved finding which o-ring died on me. They need next to no maintenance. A couple drops of oil through the asa takes care of it. They're fast stock. Contrary to what one person wrote earlier, they can handle CO2 like a champ until you get a RT valve. In fact, AGD used to make mags that were used specifically as rentals about ten years ago. If you put a foregrip or expansion chamber on your mag, that solves any liquid issues that you may have and you shouldn't have any problems with the valve on CO2. The valve itself is well designed, and virtually identical to some Air America hpa system regs from the early 2000's. Mags also hold their value pretty well at this point. You can get a minimag now for around 120 stock. You could get one a year ago at that rate, and will most likely be able to do the same a year down the line. For what you get, that's ridiculously cheap.

The bad is also well known at this point with mags. The stock valve has shootdown at high rates of fire. They're gas hogs, meaning they're not the most efficient guns ever. A lot of their main components are stainless steel, meaning the valve and body (the two main parts of the gun) are heavy. And until you learn the trigger on the stock gun, they can chop quiet a bit. I chopped a lot less with my mag than my cockers, but that's just me. The level 7 bolt that minimags have stock just is not forgiving to partially fed paint, and can turn your gun into a blender.

You can absolutely turn one of these into a tiny little monster that doesn't require batteries, is really easy to maintain, and can shoot as fast as you can. The first thing I'd recommend on it is a RT type of valve. In other words, getting a Retro/X/E-mag/X-mag valve. They can only use HPA, but don't have any drop off at high rates of fire. The X valves are also aluminum, and are much lighter weight. They also come with the second upgrade that I'd really recommend, which is a Level X bolt. This bolt kit, which you can get for any mag, makes it virtually impossible once installed and tuned. This took me about 20 minutes to do, and is incredibly easy. The third thing isn't really necessary unless you want to make your mag really a monster, and that's a pnuematic trigger frame. Basically, it makes the mag fire through use of a LPR, a three way, and a ram, and can drop a trigger pull down to 1 ounce and one millimeter. I use one with a couple magnets for a return on it, and it feels a whole lot like an electro trigger. with those three upgrades/mods, the only real downside to a minimag is that it's not the most efficient gun.

Also, you don't need a 12" barrel. *This is going to be a tangent on barrels and accuracy in gun and barrel reviews, so feel free to skip.* Anything over 6-8 inches will shoot the same as any other barrel with the same bore at a greater length (numerous tests have been done by people like Tom Kaye in the industry to back this claim up). There's a reason that the Freak barrels and Dyes and about every other barrel back out there are the same length. Accuracy is only determined by a couple things, paint-to-bore match and stability of your shooting platform. In other words, no matter what you're shooting, if the gun is stable, you will be consistently hitting in the same spot if your paint and bore match. Only the first 6-8" of a barrel really matters, as it is where your paint actually accelerates and how much wobble you get in the barrel is established. The worse the paint-to-bore size match, the more wobble, and the less accurate you will be shot to shot. After those first half dozen inches, it just doesn't matter. The ball is going to the same spot or not going there if your fit is bad. That's why you don't have bore sizes in tips on two piece barrels. An 8" barrel with a good paint match can absolutely shoot darts. The extra inches past the 8th or so inch are usually used for porting, and the reason that most companies make barrels that fall into the 12-14 group then has to do with efficiency and loudness. After 14", your efficiency starts to drop, but the porting up until then is great for quieting the shot. In other words, your barrel length after the first 8" is a trade off between loudness and efficiency. I shoot an 8" SS CIP barrel on my mag, and it's dead on accurate with the paint I use. It's just not the quietest thing ever. So if you're looking to upgrade a barrel, find out the bore size of the paint that you usually use and then look for a barrel that matches. That will get you the best accuracy. The gun itself doesn't matter, nor does the length of the barrel after the first half-foot or so (again, this has been proven over and over again in testing by industry leaders for the past decade).
Conclusion: I gave it an 8 stock, because it's reliable, is incredibly easy to maintain, is nice and fast on it's own, and can be great with a little work. I'd give it a 9 with the valve and level X upgrades, and a 10 if you slap a pneu frame on it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cryosilver Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra and Victor - not even close
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with A2 kit from Spec Ops Paintball and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 20 oz CO2

or

AGD Minimag with 14" All American Barrel, custom hopper and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 Bolt
Better barrel
Remote
HPA
Strengths: Accuracy
Small size
Easy to clean
Reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy for size
Chops balls with level 7 bolt
Review: This was my first paintball gun, and I still use it. I got it used from a buddy with the 14" Smart Parts barrel and a bunchof other stuff. This is the gun that I use for sniping. I have the velocity at about 290 fps, and this gun will consistently make 6" groups at 30 yards, using RPS Evils and HPA. It is very quiet, and has a low profile, except for the hopper. To make this gun into a low-profile sniper, I sawed off 2 inches of the feed tube and built a magazine out of PVC.

This gun is very easy to clean, and the twist lock barrel makes squeegeeing a breeze.

There are a couple downsides to this gun. Since I got it used and never upgraded, I have the level 7 bolt, and it chops if fired at more than 3 or 4 BPS. Also, this gun is a little picky with paint. I have come to the realization that I need to use RPS Evils to get the most out of it. In addition, this gun is front-heavy and weighs a lot for its size, making aiming a little difficult.

Also, many paintball shops do not carry twist lock barrels, so upgrading can be a pain.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to people who are looking for a small, accurate and reliable marker. I would not recommend it to people who needs to lay down a lot of paint, or draw attention to themselves.

Overall, a very solid gun, with only a few flaws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazy_penguin85 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag 68
Marker Setup: ULE or Hopper Right Minimag
Dye stainless steel barrel 12"
68/4500 Tank
Intelliframe
12 volt revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Compressed Air Tank
Inteliframe
ULE Bodies
X-Valve
Strengths: Reliable
Very Customizable (even with AGD not making any new products)
Fast
Weaknesses: None Really
maybe a little heavy for some (but not me)
Review: Awesome Product I have used several markers in the past and I always find myself going back to a Mag! Just can not beat it. Durable, Reliable, Customizable, and Small Profile. Perfect for speedball or woodsball or anything in between. I have always been able to just pull out a Mag, oil it, air it up, and some paint, and go play. This is like a High-End version of a Tippmann.
Conclusion: The marker that I keep coming back to. Severed me well in my paintball career. Great Product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other AGD markers, tippmann, autococker, spyders/ clones, bushmaster
Marker Setup: AGD Minimag valve,ULE body, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame with dye sticky grips, Check-it unimount on/off , 10in CP barrel, Revy w/ x-board, Crossfire 47ci HPA tank w/ Redz cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first thing everyone needs from a new marker is always a better barrel than the stock. Next is level 10 and after that N2.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, built to last, simple and easy to clean
Weaknesses: It's heavier than most but add paint and tank and it doesnt matter
Review: For me AGD has but the perfect marker. They havent change their marker for the last 20 plus years and it still rocks. I have had automags that the valves are 15 years old and they work better than most of the markers out their. I keep up with everyone from those with angels and high end eletrics to those who pour money into their cockers. It has accessories for what games you like to play. It doesnt matter if you get a minimag, automag, RT or and X valve. They all are great. I just depends on what you want to play. Minimags and automags are the same. There is no difference in preformance. The minimags generally have more stars for the free fix. But mags are so simple to fix that any one with a little help from the video or a friend can do it.
Conclusion: If you are a person who likes a gun that wont break paint very much or a person who wants a marker that they dont need a lot of maintance. Then this is the marker for you. I love my mag. I love them so much I have 4. I will never use an other type of marker. True they run off high pressure but so what. I get plenty of accurate shots and I have most of my friends running and hiding when they find out that I am after them because of my mag. If you are looking for a up grade, beginning marker or just want to get something that wont cause you heart ache. Then this is the marker for you. You can get one off of ebay for around $100. Which is a lot cheaper than most beginner markers. They run best off of N2 but so do all markers. Get one if you want to play rather than clean or sit out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media