paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400

Zap ZXS 400 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 400

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 400
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Entry level semi-auto polymer marker
• Spring loaded trigger frame
• Gravity power feed
• Rear cocking bolt with keyless
velocity adjustor
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 400 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
JayAcob Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Smart Parts Progressive 14'' barrel, Veiwloader VL 200 round Hopper, JT Nforcer Mask
Strengths: In Body
Weaknesses: In Body
Review: STREGNTHS
1]SIGHT RAIL - This sight rail actully works. The feed location is OUT of the way, and the sight rail is pretty accurate.
2]KEYLESS VELOCITY ADJUSTER - It abviously makes it easier to adjust. If you wanted to go +300 fps, you could take of the bolt infront of the adjuster, but your accuracy is gone.
3]CHEAP - This gun was pretty cheap. I went with my bro and dad to Wal-Mart to go get a gun. They were starting out, so they both got this gun in a kit for like $45

THIS NEXT IS A PRO, AND SORT OF A CON
~WHERE THE CO2 TANK IS PLACED - It is placed where the foregrip would normally be. The good thing is it balances out the weight, and theres less on the back. The bad thing is if you're shooting realy fast (which you probably wont be with this gun), the tank'll get cold and I don't know about you but i dont like holding cold tanks.

WEAKNESSES
1]PLASTIC - It's Plastic, you got it. That's what you gotta expect for a gun that's like not even $45. It's not bad though. It's just where I am now i would'nt go for this gun. Duh
2]HARD TO COCK - This gun is impossible to cock. sometimes i gotta go get rubber gloves and it still dosent cock. So once i get it cocked, I leave it like that.
3]BARREL - The barrel is just a regular (8'' i belive) pipe. And I don't think that there's any other threads for it.
4]SIGHT RAIL - This was screwed. I opened my brothers gun, and it had everything. THEN, I opened my dad's, and it didnt even have a sight rail. And, The barrels on both were totally different.
Conclusion: This gun does exactly what it's suppose to : Shoot a paintball. Its not bad, but i would only reccomned this if you are starting out, or go rarely and hate renting.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oldstyleshooter Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only gun I have owned.
Marker Setup: I use the ZXS 400. I put black tape around the hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a longer barrel.
Strengths: It is cheap.
It has a sight.
Not very shiny
Weaknesses: Sub-par accuracy.
Frequent ball-breaks.
Review: You get what you pay for. You buy a cheap gun, and it will work cheaply. The accuracy is sub-par, and the amount of ball-breaks are astonishingly high. The hopper is semi-transparent, so if you have bright colored paintballs, your hopper will be very noticeable unless you paint it.
All of these mishaps will force the player to use strategy, instead of firepower. Depending on how you like to play, this can be a good or bad.
I think its also important to mention that, while my gun works great for me (besides the countless ball-breaks), my friend bought the same model, and his was different than mine in many ways:
1) The gun had no sight on it.
2) His was pure black, instead of black and grey.
3) He had WAY more ball-breaks than me. (I could unscrew my barrel and clean it, and Voila! good as new) When he had ball-breaks, he had to take it apart and clean it each time (while I only had to take mine apart twice a month).


Conclusion: The gun forces you to use strategy over firepower. The frequent ball-breaks require you to clean the barrel in between rounds (and sometimes on the field!). If you (like me) are cheap, enjoy using tactics, and like to clean your barrel on the field (cover me, I'm cleaning my gun!), then you should buy this gun.
But beware! You might get a fluke, like my friend, who is now forced to buy a new gun because his is so crappy.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dogtag Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 - more relaiable, about the same gas use

Vl orion - better then the zxs 400, about the same accuracy, but orion has a larger range

Spyder Xtra - Way better then the zxs 400, has great accuracy, and a lot larger range.
spyder tl-x - practicaly same as xtra
Marker Setup: vl200 hopper (the hopper that came with it broke)
20oz pure energy co2 tank
stock spyder tl-x
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new gun, not worth spending money on
if you did I would get a drop forward and a better barrel
Strengths: accurate
CHEAP!!!!
doesn't chop much
cleaning
durable
weight
color

Weaknesses: Range
freezes in cold temps
no beavertail

Review: This is a good gun for the price. I live in Canada, so if i mention any prices they will be in candian dollars.

First of I got my gun at wal mart for $60. This included everything I needed, a hopper, an elbow, pods with a belt, a squeegee, a 9oz co2, a winchester mask. This was an amazing deal, it was under 60$ when if you get all your accesories separate, it would cost you over 70$.

this was my first gun and i think it is good. It has good accuracy but the range is only about 75 before it drops. It is ok on co2, gets 400+ on a 9oz.. It is quite durable, even though it is plastic. I dropped it from a tree when i was about 20 feet high. It fell upside down luckily, and the hopper shattered. The gun was fine though.

I played in the snow about 2 weeks ago, and the results were horrible. It only shot about 30 feet, about 3 out of 6 balls broke, and it shot doubles almost every shot. I was

not using my best paint at the time, but is usually works fine in warmer weather. I do NOT recommend this gun for winter play, you might as well throw the paintballs into the garbage.

It is a pretty good gun for the price though, and i would recommend it just for the kit, if you can get it for a good deal. The gun a flag swipe is only 30$, so it is a cheap gun.

I highly recommend that you do not use this marker for winter play, it chops paint and freezes up really quickly.
Conclusion: I would not really recommend this gun, but it is good for people who just want to get into paintball, or who want it to just play around with in their backyard. I am going to get the spyder tl-x soon, and i will right a review on that after i get it.
I will give it a 5 but some people give blades a 10 so, i will give it 5, a descent gun, good for beginners, good to get into the sport for a cheap price.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 10:11 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tippmann98C_000 Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder TL-X <---- No comparison...... Big Time!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Progressive Barrel
Reactive Trigger
Evolution II Loader (Egg)
2,5" CP Lightning Drop Forward

Expansion Chamber And Nos Tank soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
I Recomend A New GUN ALL TOGETHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Zap Inc.
Review: Well this gun is awful the gun itself is made of plastic they use to make action figures. The Barrel looks like the lead pipe from wrestling.... no wait not even as good as the pipe from wrestling... the sight rail is also very sharp plastic I cut my hand on it ..... Well i got it for Christmas and was so happy cause i was going to the field with my friends a week later.... well we get to the field and i take it up too the owner since were good friends he said it wouldn't last 5 minutes sure enough he couldn't cock it ...it was so hard to cock i swore it was a trampoline spring stuck in the cocking mechanism... it was so hard the owner broke it while cocking it so i picked it up and pulled the trigger and sure enough i frig-gin fell off all this courtesy of ZAP.Inc well say if u need a gun don't buy this unless u wanna play pretend guns with ur 4 year old brother.
Conclusion: This Gun Is A Piece Of Dirt
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paint kids 2004 Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
marauders,zap 500,stingray,viewloader orin(much better)
Marker Setup: 9oz pmi hopper jt mask no upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger frame new spring at least a 14" barrel x chamber
Strengths: shoots hard looks decent
Weaknesses: no double trigger inacurate(very) chops not to bad
Review: it is a gun for beginers i wouldent really send any body out on the field with it.
its ok but i got it from a friend he only used it a couple of times it is a little to inacurate
for my likings i tried to shoot a pole when I first got it and it missed it three to four times and I am a decent shot and I was only 15 feet away so if I were you i would either buy this gun and get all of the recommended upgrades but you might as well save a little more and buy yourself a spyder victor that gun rules but if you dont have the money at leats buy a 14" barrel.
Conclusion: dont buy it unless u plan on buying a barrel so save up and buy a jt or a victor
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ir0nExpress Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II Ice, another cheap mass produced marker, however produced much better.
Marker Setup: -Kingman Spyder LED Imagine with delrin bolt and DYE Sticky Grips
-Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice with non stock detent ball, 200 rnd viewloader hopper, 14oz Brass eagle C02 tank, 12' SP teardrop barrel, Assault Pins, mounted keyrings for sling.
-Brass Eagle Stock Stingray II Ice
-ZXS-400, non functional.
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Loud, low cost to buy.
Weaknesses: Hard to cock, many defective ones are out there, not well known(ill explain)
Review: I am writing this as mostly towards a guide for the newbies who want a gun and probably stumbled onto this, one of the cheapest markers avaliable. I had done my research on this gun and considered myself informed on a basic level (shopped around etc), however i considered this a bad investment.

Well, this was the first gun that i had bought off ebay with the hopes that i could start playing paintball, even if the gun only costed $22.

This gun is probably one of the worst out there, mainly do the the fact that most of the parts on the gun are probably not even finished (uneven edges, air adapter is poorly crafted, the hammer tube is not even smooth.)

However, these things would not matter if it worked right? WRONG, this gun doesnt even work properly and its not even to the point that you can fix it without some machinery of some sort.

Because these guns are mass produced. I have never fire the gun over 75 shots without the gun malfunctioning (in which part of the mechanism(valve stem) cannot retract back into the valve hole, causing the C02 to be emptied out. The solution to it was to unscrew the giant screw in front of the gun under the barrel until it "clicked"(in which the stem fell back into the hole cuz the spring loosened from the screw). Im sure i want to do that everytime and have it eat my gas also.

I've read many other reviews before writing mine and i did notice several mentioning defective batches (like something to the extent of for every 4 of them, only 1 functioned properly), mine is clearly a defective one.

The few times i have used it without it malfunctioning, i noticed that the trigger pull on this gun is long AND HARD. Ive played with quite a few triggers on low end guns and usually they are just long but can be remedied. This gun however, has both traits of a LONG pull AND a HARD PULL, i cannot get this gun above 4 bps, not even with an autoing technique i use which works for all other guns i have used regardless of trigger pull distance. This gun would also not be functional in either a speedball or woodsball, do to the fact that it has a EXTREMELY slow rate of fire (no speedball) and very loud (woodsball, you cant hide). Way too many guns will outgun this one in performance.

Another problem with this gun is no one knows about it. It is not even possible to seek help on it. If you buy a more "mainstream" gun, there are usually FAQS out there to help you with modifications on how to take care of it. You can simply ask around on the forums or do a little homework, whichever works.

The one thing i like about this gun is the super thick plastic build, you can literally run it over with a car and i dont think anything could happen to it. But this doesnt even balance out the fact that this thing is completely useless.
Conclusion: If you do buy this gun, get it from a store(i dont think stores would even carry this gun, they would probably lose profits from the amount of returns) if its defective, you can just go and return it. By no means get it online, its not worth it. The money and time to ship it back is just not even worth the gun.

Obviously, ive had a bad experience, but ive seen that other people's works, so i would assume this gun is a "gamble". It might or might not work, if it works, you score a very nice gun for its price, if you dont, then you are screwed.

Afterwards i had bought a Brass Eagle Stingray II Ice. This gun requires some work, as it has a tendency to leak a little (nothing extreme, a little oil and a little love fixes it) A lot of help is out there. This gun retails on average about $20-$25 with usually goodies, mostly found used online. This gun is semi reliable, the only problems are the leaks, take 5 minutes to fix, just always have some gun oil. REQUIRES SOME WORK, if you dont even want to take the gun apart at all, DONT BUY THIS.

Another gun that i recommended my friends to buy was the spyder victor II, which is EXTREMELY reliable as a newbie gun. Both my friends that i suggested them to buy it are satisfied, they have never had any problems the 6 or 7 times we have played so far. No leaks, no malfunctions, the occasional ball break but thats normal. Easy to find help with, well known, However, not that many upgrades on it, as getting a better gun would be more efficient. DOESNT REQUIRE WORK, plays right out of the box.

If you have a good amount of money, get the tippman 98 custom, whom another friend has, probably the most reliable out of all of us. Looks sleek almost like a real gun and has many upgrade options. Also well known, easy to find help with. DOESNT REQUIRE WORK, PLAYS OUT OF THE BOX.

Ill give it a 3, 1 because if it works, its good. and 1 because of the cost($20). But because mine didnt work, ill only give it those points.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 1:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DQcrew Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi R6
Spyder Victor
Sting ray 2
Marker Setup: Bob long intimidatior
Halo B hopper
Jt Flex mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward
xpansion chamber
Strengths: The price
Weaknesses: It leaks it is hard to cock.
Review: I bought this gun for $25 from a friend of mine and I still think I made a bad choice I wouldnt recomend this to many people except those who just want to get on the field for a season i had alot of problums with the gun though it wouldnt stop leaking when i inserted the Co2 a 9oz tank only lasted me 250 shots
Conclusion: I recomened the R6
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ikoran Monday, June 30th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ZXs 800, zxs 200
Marker Setup: ZXS 400, VL 200 RND hopper, 9 Oz Co2, soon getting a bigger one
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy the pack, and you are set
Strengths: Shoots REAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLY hard, and very accurate, give you more info in review
Weaknesses: hurts to be hit with it lol.
Review: K about how hard it hits, i shot a bucket, it bounced OFF the bucket, and blew up in midair. it was going straight up, and blew up, it looks AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! heheheheh.
about accuracy, i was about 20 feet away from the bucket, when a bee was flying around it. and i started shooting at it, within 2 very carefull shots, i nailed the bee from 20 feet away, killed it instantly.
Conclusion: If you have some money, but not much, like about 80 bucks, then i would get this package or something like it. atleast get a zap, all zap guns i have tried are alot better than the spyders i have tried, i went up against a spyder with my pump and won, very sad....... and it was a spyder victor im going to give it a 9, because for an 80 dollar gun, its awesome.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Prop Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS 400, brass egal 9oz. co2 tank, brass egal electronic red dot sight, home made stock and barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, air through grip, remote
Strengths: Reliable, not alot of internal peices, good gun if your not looking to shoot fast
Weaknesses: Slow feed rate, the stock barrel is very short
Review: This is a very good gun if your a beginner or don't play that much. It is very light so its good for making charges at people. A longer barrel is definitely a good up grade but its hard to find a barrel that will fit. I asked one field and they said that Autococker barrels might fit but i haven't tired it. If you want a new barrel for it but cant afford one (like me) you can extend it using 3/4 inch PVC piping. I removed the limiter bot on the velocity adjuster and it is very accurate.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun if you don't what to spend alot of money and not play that often and not mind putting a little work into improving it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fountain Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Throwing the paintballs
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: It doesnt work
No range
Inaccurate
Review: 2 of my friends have this gun, one bought it in a kit for $100 and the other bought it off of a friend for $2.
The gun that came in the kit will only work with the co2 tank that came with it, and when it does work it has a range of 30-40 feet.It is horribly inaccurate and kicks up when it shoots.The max fps for this gun is 230.
My other friends gun that he bought for $2 will also only work with the co2 tank that came in my other friends kit.We tryed putting other tanks in it but when u screw it in all the co2 escapes instanly.It is also no good and inaccurate.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun it doesnt work!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media