paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400

Zap ZXS 400 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 400

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 400
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Entry level semi-auto polymer marker
• Spring loaded trigger frame
• Gravity power feed
• Rear cocking bolt with keyless
velocity adjustor
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 400 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
remz Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none really (pump actions are better!!)
Marker Setup: i have a spyder rodeo now
Recommended
Upgrades:
anything!!
Strengths: light, -- I guess
Weaknesses: -Vertical co2
-6 inch barrel
-Extremely hard to cock bolt
Review: This gun is awful, it shoots slow and can shoot like 3 a second topps. It has a crappy 6 inch barrel. I got the gun this summer(2005) and it broke after 2 months, it's not reliable at all.The gun is ugly. It is very important and a good idea to spend an extra 50 dollars or so to get a much better gun.
Conclusion: please don't buy this gun
luckily for me i got it new with a mask, co2, hopper and everything for 40$CDN.
pay about 50 more and et something a lot better
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

22" Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ flatline, 12v revvy w/ x board
Strengths: Great starter gun, quieter than my 98 custom, fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Parts brake off(plastic) everything is plastic. heavy trigger pull. = low rof
Review: I bought this gun off my friend with the mask for $60, when i didnt know anything about paintball. he thought it was worth more than 60. then i realize u can get a brand new one on ebay for $20. but it was a great gun to get me into paintball. i bought a reddot scope for it and it helped alot.but like i said before the bad thing is its all plastic. i was playing one time and i guess i hit the velocity screw on something and the handle broke right off. another storry sorry to make u bored but my friends brother had one and its so hard to cock he had to use his teath and they chipped in the shape of the cocker. lol ya another good thing is the how easy it is to change velocity, say ur playing with someone u dont like ;). then i bought my 98 custom and sold the zap to another friend.
Conclusion: If your new get one, but dont buy one from a store i.e. walmart, like the other guy said you can find one for really cheap somewhoere else..
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thatswhatshesai Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ummm nothing really
Marker Setup: BE avnger stock
20 oz. C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have no idea what threads it has so you can't really upgrade the barrel or anything else
Strengths: Cheap, works i guess
Weaknesses: Made of plastic, inaccurate, list goes on...
Review: I had this for my first gun, it sucked because it was the most inaccurtae gun i ever used it was plastic and everything about it really was cheap. My friends with VL triads were laughing at me n they had Triads!. worst of all i lost the barrel to gowith it and i wasn't sure what threads it had so i had no barrel! I sold my gun to my friend's dad but we usually just let some1 who doesn't have a gun use oit to try `paintball out. I bought the set for 100 canadian and sold it for 50 and 2 co2 refills . best deal i ever made. and now its on sale at walmart for 60 brand new!
Conclusion: Unless you want your ass shot off in a game don't buy this gun..as tempting as it looks (sarcastic) I give it a 2 because when my avenger broke i used this, this gun accually worked for longer than my avenger, but other than that my avenger is better.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

AsphaltDragon Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Crossfire HPA, Red Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you're this desperate to play, you won't need upgrades, just to fix a couple errors in the internals.
Strengths: It's not too expensive, it's decent.
Weaknesses: Obvious weaknesses are the fact that it comes needing a little work.
Review: They say you get what you pay for, and in this case they're right. Granted, even I was surprised at the durabillity of this gun for what you pay. It's made of an invinceable plastic, the stock barrel is a tank, the internals are pretty solid too.
However, at the price of quality comes durability. So let's get on to the finer points : The barrel. The barrel is literally indestructable by ANY force in a game of paintball. My friend literally used his as a hammer, with no drop in performance. However, there isn't a whole lot to drop from, this barrel will send the paint forward, but don't expect any tight shot grouping. The internals will need to be polished, cycles the gun a lot smoother, and the trigger pull will need to be both shortened and eased. These are done my adding to the top of the trigger, and by replacing the trigger spring. Also, you may want to cut the trigger guard completely off, and then sand it down, it'll make switching hands much easier. What else can be said? You can add a bottomline to this, maybe find a barrel that will fit, but you're fighting a losing battle, in my opinion. I've never owned one of these, but I have owned a Victor II, so I'd say go for that instead, you'll be better off in the long run.
Conclusion: It'll get you into paintball, and you'll soon be wanting to spend more on it ( Yes you will! ) but this gun doesn't leave much room for upgrades.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TIPP*A-5*MANN Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I Have the A-5 with R/T flatline expansion chamber remote line and stock ZXS 400 back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Beter barrel or do some work on the stock one. Also a remote line is nice.
Strengths: This is a vary nice starter gun. Vary cheap!
Weaknesses: The stock barrel would have to be one of the key weaknesses
Review: This is a vary nice started gun. Vary cheap ,about $50 at some stores, or look around and you can get really good deals, for example i got this gun used from a friend to use as a back up or if my sis wanted to play for 300 paintball and $5. This gun actually shoots pretty hard and if you want it to shoot harder tri taking the back nut off so you can put the velocity harded. The worst thing about this gun would have to be the barrel i would recommend just finding a new barrel to put in there.
Conclusion: This gun is a really good gun for people just geting into paintball and don't want to spend alot of money. I would recommend this gun to beginners !
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lacrosse freak Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
zap zxs:500 vl orion
Marker Setup: vl orion brass eagle hopper 9 ounce tank stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: good on gas, cheap
Weaknesses: bad accuracy, slow rate of fire
Review: My little brother got this as his first marker last night and we went out shooting this morning. It performed pretty good it choped the odd ball but wut gun doesnt. It is very gas efficitent whern my orion ran out of air he put on the tank and got at least 100 more shots out of it. the only bad thing is that it has bad accuracy but u can just get a new barrel to fix that
Conclusion: this is a very good gun and from wut i hear it has a lot of upgrade capabilities
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

<Sch> Raven Saturday, January 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Max, Thunder Cat
Marker Setup: Armson 16" Barrel, 9oz CO2, "Custom" Full Auto kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BLOODY BARREL!, the players kit needs a better mask and squeegee.
Strengths: Good Strong gun, CO2 efficiant, not heavy, Good gun for it's price
Weaknesses: needs some cosmetic work, stock accuracy is pathetic, Pressure screw is sad, hard to cock
Review: This has been my primary weapon for a long time and really is a good gun for tourneys. It hurts like bloody hell to be hit with!
Little advice:
Never go against someone using this gun with a longer barrel!!! Unless you dan't want to walk for awhile
A few problems are the fact that you CAN make someone have a hard time walking with one leg shot (Thats why I use it in tourneys).
Other then that it's a reliable gun with little needed maitanance.
Conclusion: This is a good gun if your opponent is brave but if you don't want to hurt anyone get a Brass Eagle Murauder.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Taylorius Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
Marker Setup: Zap 400 ZXS, APP230 hopper, 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you can find one
Strengths: Accuracy, inexpensive, teaches you to be a better player. last a long time
Weaknesses: Very difficult to find upgrades, slow, noisy
Review: this is my first gun.I bought this gun for $50 and used it for three years. It is a good beginning gun. It could use some work but it works fairly well and it increases skill because you have to learn to play with not the best fastest gun. If you play with people who have good guns you with increase skill faster and you will learn to adapt and will get better.
Conclusion: If you want to get good faster buy this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

GhostSlayer Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custon
Spyder TL-X

Both better
Marker Setup: ZAP ZXS-400 Camo Marker
CMI Tru-Flight 14 Sniper Barell
Brass Eagel Electronic Point Sight
Custom Camo VL200 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket Barrell
Strengths: Very cheap and easy to disassemble
Weaknesses: Rough construction
Review: I bought this as my first gun. I purchased it on eBay for $20 and it was the only one I could really afford. I've played with other guns that are much smoother and sleeker, but this one gets the job done. I can't afford a hundred-dollar gun, but this will do the same job. Not extremely accurate, or precise, but with an aftermarket barrell and an expansion chamber, you can light a guy up all the same. I've played with Spyders that break more balls than this one.

As I've heard other people say, this gun forces you to use tactics instead of spraying the opposing payers with full-auto. True.

This gun is upgradeable, though. The barrell threads are spyder compatable and the sight rail fits most sights you find on the market. It also has pre-drilled mounting holes on the grip for a Bottom-Line adapter.

If you need an intro marker that won't leave you broke, this is your ticket.
Conclusion: If you are cheap, buy this.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RustySniper Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Blackpoint Engineering rifle butt, high tension spring kit, 18" smartparts progressive barrel, Winson 4X15 scope, 16oz tank with smartparts valve.
Recommended
Upgrades:
can't upgrade this thing.....
Strengths: Cheap,
steel parts,
easy to take apart, making field stripping a breeze!
Weaknesses: Curving shots,
barrel flaking with stock barrel (Causes Chopping)
Non-upgradable,
Innacurate,
jams a lot
Review: The Zap ZxS 400 was a gun that a paintball buddy of mine picked up for a fraction price, and I figured there was no harm in trying it out. Only once I was on a field that I found the true nature of this beast. I saw that my shots that managed to escape from the jaws of the flaked barrel were wildly spun and innacurate. Not only that, but this marker seemed to jam a lot, where A good point comes in.
The way to strip this gun is incredibly easy, a couple of twists of an allan key and the entire firing mechanism pops out intact and ready to strip. In seconds, I had the marker back together and was launching another assault.
I also like the engineering of the marker, made of steel parts, inside for the durability that'll last you a good-many-games without the need to constantly replace parts.
Conclusion: Not too bad, but there are a lot of problems associated with this marker.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media