paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400 / Zap ZXS 400

Zap ZXS 400 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 400

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 400
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Entry level semi-auto polymer marker
• Spring loaded trigger frame
• Gravity power feed
• Rear cocking bolt with keyless
velocity adjustor
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 400 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
pAiNtHiMgReEn06 Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle marauder-ick
Jt Excellerator 6.0- kick A$$ gun but it got stolen :-(
Black Dragun LCD Bottomline- awesome LCD Electro
Marker Setup: Black Dragun LCD Bottomline with a dye boomstick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a barrel if you can find it, maybe a bottomline setup
Strengths: Accurate(low pressure) , Hits hard, great beginner gun
Weaknesses: Loud, not accurate (high pressure), chops soft balls
Review: Great beginner gun, if you have 50$ lying around and you've never played before this is the gun for you. Not that its a bad gun, its reliable, but its loud, has a short barrel, and chops soft paintballs. Good if you're ready to just get up and go, i had this gun for 4 years, and never had a problem with it. Its well worth it if you are just starting
Conclusion: Only a beginner gun, not for the avid player looking for a new and mproved gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ratchet505 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots
Marker Setup: stock with new barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Cheap, tough plastic , light. most of the time its gas efficient, shoots hardddddd
Weaknesses: Bad stock and hard to install new stuff
Review: My begginer gun its pretty good (this review is for begginers) its shoots really hard so if u dont want to hurt anyone lol get a different gun. without a new barrel your accuracy wont be very good. Very light to so if your playing in the woods which i would reccomend for this gun if your just starting out .
Conclusion: Id reccomend it to a begginer and not an advanced player trying to improve. (Id also reccomend for someone who loves to hurt people). (10 is for begginers only!!!!)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

talon118 Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: VL 200 round hopper 9 ounce tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get A better GUN!
Strengths: No probeblems what so ever except i dislike the gun
Weaknesses: Too many breaks and balls curve.
Review: The gun is good 4 a beginner just getting into the sport of paintball but if your not you should get a better gun because i used this gun in paintball city and the gun choped about 1/3 of the balls. but the good thing is that the i have had no problems with the gun and my friend has a jt excelerator 3.5e and hes had about 10 problems with it. ive noticed that the jt stock barrel fits on this gun and less breaks and straighter shots with it .
Conclusion: I sugest 2 get a better gun like a dragun tes
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Malachi505 Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None this is by far the worst gun i have ever used
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I only used it for one game and i lost because when i shot it chopped the ball and then the person noticed me i got shot but anyways my friend though is the owner of this gun and his barrel got all rusty and he says that it waste alot of Co2 when you take it off and it only shots like 100 feet
Conclusion: Sucks
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

stef.p Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triton, PMI Black Maxx
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical, Trinity Force Barrel, Pure Energy Remote line, Python Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are none.
Strengths: Durability (I think I just got lucky)
Small
Cheap
Weaknesses: Too many. The main ones are in the review body.
Review: For performance, the ZAP ZXS 400 is the worst marker I've ever used. I've used around 6 or 7 different markers in my last year and a half of playing and the ZAP is the worst.

The grip is SO uncomfortable. My hands hurt like crazy from holding it and I had to switch hands every couple minutes.

The accuracy and range are pathetic. I had a target lined up, didn't even know I was there, about 30 feet away. I shot my remaining 10 balls and missed every single one.

The trigger pull is very long and heavy. Max rate of fire is only a few balls per second and it will kill your fingers.

There are literally no upgrades for this. You can't even unscrew the barrel. The best actual marker mod you could get would be drilling holes in the barrel to reduce the noise.

It's entirely plastic and feels like it will explode any second.

The bolt is actual difficult to pull back. Not really a problem because you don't need to do it in the heat of battle, but it's still annoying.

The only advantage is the the tank comes out of the bottom of the marker rather than the trigger. It means you can use the tank like a foregrip and makes for better mobility.
Other than that the only think that was good was the marker never broke. I think I'm just lucky and happened to get a good one, but no matter what I did to it, it never broke.
It's performance sucks, but I can always trust my ZAP to function.


I'd like to point out that when I originally tried to post this I got an error message that said the 'weaknesses' field had too many characters.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. You'll just end up buying a better marker later anyways. At least get something half decent like a Viewloader Triton or Black Maxx. I STRONGLY recommend any Tippmann products for a beginning marker, especially 98's or ABT's.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Surge24 Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
lots
Marker Setup: ZXS 400 all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, if there is one. same with bottom line.
Strengths: Its very cheap, durable, and hasnt had any problems. This gun is good for newbs who only go so often, or are deciding whether to get into paintballing. co2 use is pretty good 2. this gun is very light.
Weaknesses: This gun is cheap, though, almost impossible to upgrade. the stock barrel is 6 1/2 inches long, its plastic and i dropped it once, but only the elbow got cracked (but it wasn't serious) and it was on hard tiles. it isn't field strippable, or even able, though i haven't tried even to clean it and it still works great.
Conclusion: if your a person who has only played like 1 or 2 times, i advise u get this gun. it is available at Wal-Mart, and is like 100$ (canadian) and comes w/ mask, hopper/elbow, gun, some reason it came with a windchester mask bag and a foam pad instead of a visor. also comes with two 100 or 150 ball hauler case and tubes. No co2 but u can by it seperate.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paint_kid_3 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None compared to this!!!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Egg 2 with camo cover
2 finger trigger
Smart parts 14 inch barrel
n2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None just a new marker
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I got this gun knowing nothing about paintball an i shot it and it sucked but i didnt know it did until my dad told me its suposed shoot farther.then i got my tippmann and i imediatly tried to sell my zap.the only reason i had it for 6 months is because i had to find somone idiotic to buy it finnally i sold it in a garage sale for $15.!!!
Conclusion: Dont waste your money on this.....you would be better off with slingshot!!!!!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaRkBaLa Monday, October 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Striker
Marker Setup: Hopper
3.1 Oz C02 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
C02
Hopper
Trigger
Strengths: Umm...
Weaknesses: Broke 80% of balls i shot
weak
inaccurate
Uses un refillable c02
Review: Um...
i bought this gun, very first gun, my dad knew all about paintball guns so let him set it up.
He shot 10 balls.Shotgun mode.8 of those balls broke, thats what shotgunning is.
He passed it to me.i shot as fast as i could.4 bps and the barrels was clogged with 8 balls stuck in the barrel.I laughed hard.I took them all out, cleaned the barrel, then the gun still broke the balls.I brought it back.Got another.It was missing a part.Brang that back and got another one that still broke balls!!!!!!!!!!So i just complained to Wal-Mart and got a different gun at a discount. The brass eagle striker thats done me good for a very long time now.
Conclusion: $100 for the gun and everything with it u needed to play.Still a big ripoff!
Stay away from it!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

08paruu Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray, pro-carbine,
Marker Setup: -16in thunderpig barrel
-10 inch sniper barrel extension
-A pronghorn hunting rifle scope
-Home made stock
-heavier spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Extension or new barrel
stock
scope
Strengths: Dependable, loud
Fast , accurate with extension
Weaknesses: Heavy, Plastic, no double trigger, no hopper, can't field strip the gun.
Review: This gun is a inexpensive and a good first gun for starters. but if you start to play tournaments ditch it and buy a gun that is non-plastic. it can take a lot of abuse and it will still work fine. the gun I own has never jammed on me once.
Conclusion: good for the money
It gets a 7 because it is a surprisingly durable and fairly accurate for the price and that it is plastic
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 5:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bill.692 Friday, October 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Stock electric Icon, and a Spyder with a drop fwd and gas thru grip as a backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel, better pins, a thinner velocity locking nut, and a better elbow.
Strengths: Its cheap and not Brass Eagle. Its light.
Weaknesses: The pins that hold the handle on are lame. Pin valve assembly flimsy.
Review: Received as a starter kit. The gun was hard to cock by grabbing it but when you have air to it all you have to do is hit the cocking knob lightly with the barrel and it will cock itself. Did not like barrel. Played with the Dremel Tool some and got the barrel off of my Tiger Shark to work and that barrel was an improvement. Went to a game with it and it leaked a large volume of CO2. Disassembled the pin valve and found the pin had fell in and did not have anything to center the pin. Could only get gun to chronograph at 300 fps by taking locking nut off, grinding it to half thickness.
The trigger pull feels like and the shot sounds like the Brass Eagle Stingray
Conclusion: Wish Zap had put an extra dollar or two, or at least a few more minutes on the production of this Paintball gun. After I put some effort into it I liked it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media