paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
seankubin Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares. boomstick perhaps. but much closer to target.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 ($200)
Vertical Expansion Chamber (Male) ($30.00)
Horizontal-bottomline Palmer Stabilizer (Female) ($120)
E-grip trigger for A5 ($100)
Foam-padded Aluminum carrying case from Ebay ( $50.00)
no drop forward- no stock - no sling - no ribbons - ($0.0)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Havent tested- but I can tell you that I have a bag of yellow Wal-mart paint that broke alot. But the A5 never broke a ball. Infact, I came home one day, and my younger siblings had made a sport of shooting the paint.. finding it in the yard, and then re-shooting it. and none had broke.
Strengths: It seems to magically float paint way further than it should be allowed to hit.
Weaknesses: the barrell is meant to be semi-permament; which makes finding a cool case hard.
Review: the flatline barrell is amazing. It changes the way you think about paintball.
The back-player can put paint on the other teams back player.

turned sideways the marker throws a mean curveball. which is not as effective as I hoped, but perhaps usefull in a bunkering situation.

belive the adds- it makes a long flat trajectory. and is really accurate.

Paintballs are not bullets.
half the paint you shoot at a target will never hit it.
but the fact that the A5 can but 16+ balls per second on a target that sits at the
other side of the field makes for a deadly "artillery" or flak weapon.
up close.
when the enemy is just able to put flak on your position.
you are shooting a stream of paint at a 0 degree angle

Its only when the opponent is close enough to shoot at a 0degree angle that you might be at a slight disadvantage.

So if you are mid or back player get this barrell.

if you are front/tape. buy the boomstick.... but then you must ask yourself why you have a long gun like the A5...

If you buy both barrells- you will find that you never us the boomstick.
you will be addicted to the extra distance that the flatline gives you.
Conclusion: the first upgrade you purchase for your stock tippmann A5 should be the Flatline barrell.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

josh scott Wednesday, January 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Well i have used many diff. barels but none of them are as accurate or loong distant shooting
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5, rt, flatline, co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI/RPS El Tigre, Dusk (if u buy ur paint from wal-mart)
Strengths: The distance, The accuracy
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is the best barrel i have ever used and i have used dye boomsticks, evil driver, freak, and all american barrels First of all u cant beat it in the distance and it is as accurate if not more accurate than all the barrels i just stated I love this barrel and m so happy i did not buy any other barrel made. It is worth every penny i spent on it and i havent regreted it yet (and i never will)
Conclusion: the best barrel ever definet buyThanx for reading my review and i hope u founfd it helpful............ tippmann rules way better than autofa-gs (autocockers) im sorry i had to say that
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 28th, 2004 at 7:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urukhai86 Monday, December 22nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 126 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatlline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Psycho Ballistics Block Adapter
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop w/ On/Off valve
14 in. J&J Ceramic Barrel
68/3000 Crossfire tank
Redz Performance tank cover
Redz Dimension Pack 5.4 w/ Comfort Belt
Strengths: nothing
Weaknesses: everything
Review: This thing sucks....its a pain in the butt to put in on...its a pain in the butt to take it off. I'll give Tippmann some credit in saying that it does go straight when you don't chop a ball, but if you do chop a ball then you are screwed...cause you can't squeejee cuase its a pain in the butt to take it off.
Conclusion: This barrel sucks....the stock barrel for the A-5 is a hell of a lot more accurate and its doesn't cost 115 bucks!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

chuck_za Sunday, September 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-grip, Flatline Barrel, SAW Stock, Palmer's Pursuit Regulator, Air or CO2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Instinct Three-2
Strengths: Accuracy & Range
Weaknesses: Too sensitive to type of paint used, hogs gas.
Review: Ok, I've owned this barrel for 2 years now and believe me, when you get it right, it is magnificent!

The problem is that it is just too darn difficult to consistently get it right! This barrel is just too sensitive to the type and size of paint being used. You need something that is absolutely round (yes that sounds funny, but I'll explain later), smallest bore size, consistent ball size, hard shell and consistent velocity.

For starters, paint develops small indentations when stored for a long time as the balls lie on top of one another in the box. Anybody that has inspected balls closely would have noticed these small "dents" some time or another. If you bring such a ball close to this barrel, it shoots anywhere and everywhere, except where you want it to go! So your paint has to have been kept at optimum conditions and has to be as "fresh" as possible.

I've had a lot of barrel burst and experimented with type and size of paint. Generally speaking, the smaller and harder the shell, the better. This unfortunately results in two additional downsides. Firstly the smaller paint ball size allows more gas to escape between the ball and the inside of the barrel and results in higher gas consumption. Secondly and much more problematic is the use of harder shell paints. The problem is that at longer range (say >30-40 yards), the harder shell paint just doesn't break anymore! So why have a barrel that is supposed to give you increased range if the optimum paint to be used with it just doesn't break anymore?

Next crucial thing is velocity. If you can maintain exit muzzle velocity of 280 +-5 fps, fine. Anything over and under has disastrous consequences for any form of accuracy. I've installed a downstream regulator on my A5 to try and improve consistency of exit velocity and this has assisted. Problem is when you are hammering your e-grip and pushing high rounds per second. Velocity spikes then occur and again accuracy is gone. So for single shots, works well. Forget about accuracy with high rates of fire. I don't care what anyone says, it just doesn't work!

Ok, if you can get all of the above sorted, the barrel works darn fine. But that happens at home when you have a lot of time to fiddle. When you hit the field, things go astray, too many variables are introduced and things just don't work.
Conclusion: If your game is single shots at relatively short range and you're prepared to inspect every ball of paint for roundness etc. before play, this is the barrel for you. If you want a simple solution to get increased range and reduced curvature on shots, look elsewhere!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IceMonkey34 Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
All-American on my Spyder Imagine...can't compare cuz the gun doesn't even come close to comparing!
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline barrel
Soon to come...
E-Grip
Double Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only used Midnight and Storm...neither broke in my gun though
Strengths: See Review...
Weaknesses: Don't bother seeing review about weaknesses...there are none!
Review: Well...here come the strengths!
1. Shoots wicked far!
2. Shoots wicked far!
3. Shoots wicked far!
4. Definately gives you better accuaracy than the stock barrel (although I've heard not as much as say...a Boomstick!)
5. Looks cool (on the A-5...looks stupid on the 98 Custom)
6. Really balances out your gun (weight wise)
7. Gotta love the noise it makes! (scares noobs!)
8. It doesn't have any weaknesses!!!

Alright...now that that is done on with the review.
Actually there is not much left to tell you except that you should buy it...If you like long range and accuracy...It's definately worth it and not only long range but mine worked awesome in speedball too! If you have a Tippmann...BUY IT!
Conclusion: If you have a Tippmann...BUY IT! If you don't...first buy a Tippmann...then BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

the_ion Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline, other none flatline barrels
Marker Setup: A-5
Response trigger
Special ops A5-A2 stock
Special ops frontgrip(stock bottom line)
ADCO Hot shot sight
PMI remote line
Tippmann A-5 flatline
Smart Parts progressive(barrel I used before I got flatline)
Recommended
Paintballs:
This barrel works best with .688 cal. paintballs. if you use any thing smaller you will not be able to hit anything

.688 paintballs I have tried and had success with: PMI Premiums
Strengths: Flys flat
flys far
as accurate as any other barrel
the ability to hook shots
Weaknesses: Requires .688 paint
Maintenance
Thats about it
Review: I have been playing paintball for a while now and I have gotten sick of having to lobe shots. The difference between a paintball gun and a real gun is that paintballs go way slower and they also loose speed, this causes the paintball player trouble because he has to lob his shots in order to hit his enemy from a far distance. If you get the flatline you wont have to do this.
The flatline works by putting backspin on the paintball. It does this by the curve of the inside of the barrel. Also the inside of the barrel is like a very fine sandpaper. The sandpaper surface and the curve combined causes the ball to go into a spin. and when it flys out the spin stops it from flying in a parabolic trajectory and instead it flys in a completely flat line.

Don't let someone fool you into saying that the flatline is bad, it isn't. here are some common problems that people did not do anything about and say that the flatine is bad just because the don't know anything about it or what its requirements are:(look in the low ratings and im sure those peoples flatlines would work if they didn't have these problems)
1.the barrel could be a factory defect
2.wrong size paint(remember that you NEED to use .688 NOT .685)
3.wrong velocity(should be around 270 range)
4.Flateline is not aligned(the top screw with the sight, you will know what I mean once you see one)
5. poorly maintained(see below)

Another thing that this barrel needs that most other barrels don't is that it needs to be cleaner. the sandpaper like texture on the inside of the barrel catches debris from paintballs and other things. every once in a while you should run scalding hot water through the barrel for at least 5 minutes. I have even heard of some people boiling their flatlines after every time that they play.

A cool thing that this barrel can do is that it can hook shots or do drop shots(the same thing that the Apex does but the Apex makes it easier). all you have to do is turn it sideways and you can hit people behind trees

Some people say that the flatline is inaccurate. This is NOT TRUE, I know people that would choose their flatline over their all-american! The flatline is only inaccurate if the user is doing anything wrong(see paragraph three)
Conclusion: I recommend that you get this barrel if you are sick of lobing your shots to hit people. this barrel is accurate, long range, cool looking, durable, and can do many more things that other barrels can't do. I believe that it is worth the money for this great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1BallAtaTime Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c flatline- is more difficult to set-up, longer length, more range, less accurate.
Marker Setup: A-5 Flatline, e-grip, Female Stabilizer, DOP d/f., DOP 2x trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any round ball. I recommend a good regulator to make its performance 100%
Strengths: -Raaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnggggeeeee.
-Intimidating.
-Does not affect ROF
-Straight Line.
-Short.
Weaknesses: -Odd balls curve.
-Heavy.
-Needs consistent velocity.
Review: This barrel, simply put, is greatness. Allthough it is hard to hit someone at mega long range you can still hold them down, while you kill closer ones. Other barrels can't touch this barrel's uniqueness. Its straight line is like a well thrown rise ball in baseball, it deeks out your eyes. Takes a little to get used too, but it is great to control your spin on the ball. At the end of your tank you will lose your straight line and it becomes a normal barrel, 20 shots or so, then you run out. It tells me when not to fire so my gun doesn't freak out on E. The range and accuracy is measured by the amount of backspin, which is measured by the velocity. Anyways a reg keeps your velocity steady, so it is handy, without one is still very fun. The flatline barrel system is a great addition to any team game, they will love and hate you.
Conclusion: It is easy to get a bad experiance with a flatline if you've only tested it. You have to understand that it is measured by velocity. Unfortunately the rating is lower than it should be for this break through.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Yourunclebob Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
all american- not as much range or accuracy
whisper- quieter but not as much range or accuracy
progressive- so bad it doenst even compare
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
flatline
DOP- front bolt, power tube, front grip, bottomline adapter, double trigger, on/off bullet drop forward
dye micro gauge
soon to be response trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs, midnight, anarchy, team colors
DONT USE BLAZE, THE FLATLINE SHREDS THEM, THE MIDNIGHTS WORK 10X BETTER, AND THEY'RE CHEAPER
Strengths: accuracy, range, looks, and the bragging rights that come with having a flatline
Weaknesses: expensive, but definately worth it
Review: I was weary on buying this because of the intimidating price, but once i bought it i knew it would be worth it, and it has proven its keep. Simply said it kicks ass!! I love it, i have used it for 6 months now and i have only broken two balls and they were BLAZE, the BLAZE arent as accurate and they break so i stopped using them after 500 shots, if you want good paint for this use marbs or midnights. Now getting back to the ass kicking, i took out 4 people from the back of my local sub air field just yesterday in one game, they cant reach you and most of the time they dont know where the shot is coming from. Think of it this way, the flatline gives you 100+ extra feet, so thats 100+ feet that the enemy has to run into your fire before they can hit you, its just awesome.
Conclusion: AWESOME, all reasons in the paragraph above.....Think of it this way, the flatline gives you 100+ extra feet, so thats 100+ feet that the enemy has to run into your fire before they can hit you, its just awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2003 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbwars Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c with flatline barrel both barrels perform the same as far as i can tell but the a-5 flat line is MUCH better win it comes to set up, it will only take a few secounds with the a5 flatline but with the 98c its a pain in the A$$ .

to sum it up it takes alot more tweaking out of the 98c flatline to get the same amount of performance out of the a5 flatline , so for people that want a little less hassel go with the flatline for the a5 other wise both great barrel's (the same)
Marker Setup: i use two f4 illustrators one from 99 its only got stock parts on it and i own another from2002 that has a 12 inch zero gravity sniper barrel and a four stage aci expansion chamber - i also just bought an A-5 with rt already installed and i picked up a flatline barrel too !
Recommended
Paintballs:
all star and any kinda small bore paint .
Strengths: i just got this barrel i think it rules !
1. it's got great distance and it can pretty much hit any target at any distance within range with about 4 shots
2. its easy to install .
3. it handle's rapid fire good
4. it doesn't break paint unless the wheather affects the paint
5. it can shoot around bumkers this is true but its a skill you must learn
6. it works well it most small bore paint
7. its not too long it is small enough to move around in small space and still
be able to reach out and touch someone
Weaknesses: 1. kinda ugly but some may find it's looks to suite the a-5 just fine
2. its very loud but its not a problem since by the time your enemy hears the sound it will be too late .

3. if you do break a paintball in it you will have to take it apart to use one of those pull barrel cleaners .

4. this barrel is high$$$$$$$ 100 bux is too much for any barrel in my view but i had the mony so i said what the H###

5. it isn't for every one some people might not want to bother with the allen key deal
Conclusion: i think this barrel rules and everyone should at least give it a try some people may not like it because you do have to loosen three allen keys to adjust the barrel or take it off to clean it but i can do that under a minute its very very very easy no joke .

i have put 2000 paintballs through this gun and i only broke 3 balls and those three were brass eagle and it was 18 degrees out side ! out of 500 brass eagle i broke 3 !!!

this barrel is great at a distance of 100 feet i was able to hit a pop can 1 out of 4 times and if i didn't hit it i was very close (1out of 4 base on about 100 shot's)
at a distance of 120 feet it is very good, i can hit a pattern of about 12 inches round or less and one more myth that needs to be killed about the flatline barrel, is that with the rt it will break paint with rapid fire this is not true i shot more than 400 shots going full rapid with out a break and its true it wont shoot as straight but it does darn good !

the flat line is a great barrel if you give it a chance it will win you over if you got the money go ahead and pick it up dont think it wont work well with the rt installed cause it does it kicks A$$.

but one thing i will say it can shoot and does shoot really far but after about 225 feet it isn't really dead on, but you will still be able to hit people at that distance while they can't do anyting to you it rocks.

good barrel no great barrel it does coast alot there are barrels for cheaper
that can give you the same dead on shots but none that can give you this kinda distance reaching out to take someone down will make this barrel worth it to you well at least if your that kinda player ,(a back play aka sniper)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bezerker Tuesday, February 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None. Nothing comes close to this barrel
Marker Setup: A-5 E-grip
Flatline
Nitrogen
Recommended
Paintballs:
so far evil and slam have been just fine.
Strengths: I have tried five different barrels so far including the ronin katana adjustable, 14 inch Dye, lapco big shot, aci, and stock. Out of all of these nothing comes close to the flatline. This by far is the best shooting thing I have seen. I was hitting just about every thing I shot at distances other barrels couldn't touch I have tested many different paints in the above barrels and nothing came close to the flatline's distance and accuracy.
Weaknesses: It is top heavy and I did notice rapid fire decreased accuracy but still way more accurate than any other barrel.
Conclusion: I must say this is the best barrel I have seen. If you want one I recomend looking on line, not sure if I am allowed to say where but I found mine for only 89.99 plus 6.00 for shipping. I spent more on the dye and the flatline was better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media