paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
PBinOR Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
IMHO there is nothing that compares to the flatline in woodsball.
Marker Setup: My A5 is pretty basic: Flatline Barrel, R/T, Capri Sun trigger, pen spring trigger, polished internals, Ballistic Sports "silencer" for stock barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil, hellfire, inferno. Anything small
Strengths: trajectory=amazing Looks=pretty good Accuracy = ok
Weaknesses: They don't make it for my Bushmaster!!
High maintenance
Paint picky
Review: Well, you have probably read 300000001 reviews about this thing already, so I will try to lay it all out super simple...
If you play woodsball and have an A5, GET THIS BARREL!!

You will have to buy smaller diameter paint which isn't all that hard. If you don't know where to look, go to search engine and type "paintball size chart." you will get lotsa hits.

The A5 sounds like an A-bomb going off no matter what barrel you have on it so I won't say that this barrel is loud.

As long as you shoot small, dry, clean paint through a clean barrel, that is held vertical, on a marker that is shooting 275fps, on a tuesday, when mars and jupiter are aligned, you will be unstoppable in the woods. Get yourself a close cover guy to watch your 6 though.(People wil sneak up behind you while you are having fun shooting people that are far away.)
Conclusion: Buy it for any kind of play where long range shots are necessary. Once you have it, go to A5ownersgroup.com and check out the Flatline barrel recipe for success. It will save you a lot of headaches.
The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because it is sorta high maintenance and finicky on paint diameter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Tuesday, September 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Flatline
APEX
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
14" Battle Stikxx
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
E-Grip
12"Lapco Big Shot Apex
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore paintballs
Strengths: Accuracy
Increased distance
Weaknesses: Makes the A5 louder then it already is
Paint picky
Review: I have used this barrel for a very long, over 5 years now. This IS a great barrel if it is installed and used correctly. The flatline does take a little fine tuning and getting used to but it is overall a good barrel. The flatline can easily achieve distances of 150'+. The accuracy at long ranges dwindles a bit but nothing unexpected. accuracy at short to mid range is sweet. I just recently stopped using the flatline because I bought a 12" Lapco Bigshot with the APEX tip.
Conclusion: Overall, I used and loved this barrel for a long time, even though I dont use it any more its still a great barrel especially if your a rec/woods baller.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somemook Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like the flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,
collapsible stock,
Flatline barrel,
E-grip,
Low profile hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I hear all these people saying you have to have the right kind of paintball or that you have to buy high end paintballs. Honestly I have put nothing but cheap field paint through mine and I have yet to have a break out of thousands of shots. I haven't tested fate with wal-mart paint, and I most likely never will, but if this barrel is picky on paint I have yet to see it.
Strengths: Added distance
Style
accurate
Tough
Weaknesses: Must be installed right
tough to field clean
loud
Review: First off I want to touch on the subject of this barrel being picky with paint. I have shot thousands of rounds of cheap field paint through this barrel and have never (knock on wood) had a single chop. As I said I haven't used wal-mart paint and most likely never will but as for just normal mid range quality paint I have never had a problem. I have also turned my E-grip on full auto and shot a full hopper (about 200 rounds) and had no chops and no problems.

Accurate. I'm not going to say that you will be able to pick off a target from 200 yards away. The barrel does for the most part shoot pretty straight, although the balls will sometimes be off target the further you are shooting. All and all the barrel itself is pretty accurate but I do notice some of my balls going off target if the shot is near the end of its reach. Then again that is true for all barrels. One thing that will help increase how accurate the barrel is, is buying high grade paint. This might not be a option if your local field makes you buy their paint however. But if you play any farmball or own your own land I would suggesting thinking about this in order to increase how straight your marker shoots.

Added distance. The flatline does increase the distance in which your balls will travel. They might not be the most accurate shots but that doesn't mean you won't get kills. And if nothing else you can lay down some nice cover fire for a your team from a distance that just isn't possible with a normal barrel.

Style. This is a big factor for me, and the reason why I own a Flatline and not a Apex. the Flatline barrel looks just as nasty as it is.

Tough. Just as anything Tippmann puts out this barrel is made to last. You don't have to worry about breaking it on a tree or any kind of barrier. The only downside is the shroud itself can be prone to rusting if you don't take care of it.

Must be installed correctly. This is by far the most important part. This is not a screw in and play barrel. You must make 100% sure that your flatline is installed correctly in order for it to work. If you find your balls always curving to the left or right every time you shoot your barrel is most likely not properly installed. If your barrel is loose or if it wiggles at all you do not have it installed properly or there is something wrong with your marker.

Tough to field clean. since this barrel doesn't just screw off it is a bit tricky to clean it in the field if you need to. Honestly I have never needed to but if for some reason you just had to take it off to clean it out you will need tools and if you are in the middle of a game a good hiding spot. However I have never run into this issue.

Loud. This isn't really that big of a deal if you are playing air ball or some other game where being sneaky really isn't that big of a issue. But when you are attempting to be sneaky during a game of woods ball it is a bit hard to keep your location on the down low with this thing basically announcing your location every time you pull the trigger. All and all though this is a very small issue for me.

One more thing. You must have the proper velocity on your marker. Anything close to 275 is recommended. If your velocity is set to high it will cause chops!
Conclusion: I know there are going to be people who wish to disagree with some of the things I have said. But all and all I see no reason not to have a flatline barrel on your A-5. Unless of course your style of play is to run up and get as close to the enemy as possible. then the added distance isn't needed and you might as well just get a 10-12 inch barrel. I can't say it enough, I have never noticed any pickiness in the kind of paint that this barrel uses. I'm sure that higher quality paint would improve the accuratcy of this barrel but I have never had a problem with mid grade paint chopping in the barrel.

I highly recommend the flatline barrel for anyone who owns a A-5, or any other tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 13th, 2009 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnson64 Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own this exact product
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline barrel, low pressure chamber and folding stock
Tippman 98 Custom with flatline barrell and folding stock
Piranha R6 with E-GRIP and custom barrell setup
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any ball works good with this barrell, but of course the better brands work a lot better because they have less imprefections.
Strengths: Increased accuracy, distance, and straighter trajectory
Weaknesses: Must be tuned to a specific velocity to be accurate.
Review: Many people claim that this is a poor barrel because it has poor accuracy, distance, and that it is an air hog. These are not necessarily true claims. 1st- This barrel will be accurate, but you have to take the time to tune it in. If the velocity is too low, the ball won't achieve enough spin and it will be very sporatic. If the velocity is too high, you will have too much spin and you will have the same problem. I'm not sure on the specific fps but if you take some paint and go take the time to do a little target practice you should get it tuned in about ten to fifteen minutes at the max. My marker is accurate at 200 feet on average, sometimes as much as 250 depending on conditions and balls.
As far as the air hog is concerned, I usually can shoot around 4 to 5 hoppers on a 20 oz CO2 tank, so if you like to paint the forest, I amagine that you would have problems.
Conclusion: Overall, this is my favorite barrel and marker setup out there, especally for the casual player. It isn't a super expensive package and it is the easiest to clean and maintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boing7472 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None like it
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th century limited edition marker
12in J&J ceramic barrel
Apache Ricochet
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used Draxxus rec and they work perfect
Strengths: Added Distance
Fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Cant just screw it out
Review: The flatline isnt actually mine, its my moms of all people and shes nice enough to let me mess with her toys.
Anyway I am a frontal player so the flatline only helped me in one way and that was its flat trajectory. It made shooting paintballs into the little holes in nettings reallly easy, also when trying to shoot people with a standard barrel, you sometimes have to angle your gun in order to get the ditance needed. Nothing is more frusterating then watching a perfect looking shot clip a twig and break in mid-flight. With the Flatline you dont have this problem because the bal flies flat.
It has been said that the flatline is much louder due to lack of porting. I have noticed that it is slightly louder, but it seems to echo so I dont think it would give away ones position.
On the occastions that you have your opponents in the back waving at you because they think that there out of range, it sure does bring you alot of pleasure watching their dismyaed reactions when they get hit, this barrel is fairly accurate even at long ranges.
As most people know, even if you do not break a ball in the barrel, it still gets oily, this WILL throw the accuracy off greatly, be sure to squeegee it every other match or so.
Besides this i have no other prblems with it.
Conclusion: Even you are a front player, BUY it. A great product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 8th, 2007 at 5:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

candymanjl Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger, Flatline Barrel, in-line Tank Pressure Gauge, Double Trigger.
Strengths: flat trajectory, no arch. more accurate aiming, great for woods play.
Weaknesses: once you hit the end of it's range, it drops quickly
Review: I love this barrel, it does exactly what tippmann says it does, adds 100 feet of flat trajectory. I can go out and start to get good shots on targets before I have to worry about them being able to reach me, especially in woods play when the other person can't add arch to their shot to compensate for their shots falling short.

I played one day with the stock 9" barrel on my A-5, it worked great, predictable, no breaks, just not the range I wanted for a $300 gun. maybe I just expected too much since I'm fairly new to paintball, but I was a little dissappointed. then someone showed up with the flatline on their model 98 custom, it only took one shot to make me a believer! ordered my flatline the next day!

it shoots just like tippmann shows on their site here...
http://www.tippmann.com/systems/image/flatline/flatlinea.gif


ok, I think everyone knows what it does and not too many people argue that it does add distance, but everyone who poo poo's it says negative things like "it breaks balls" "it's not accurate" things like that.

Breakage - I've used about 5500-6000 rounds with the A-5 and the flatline barrel, I've yet to chop a ball (go cyclone feeder) and have only broken 1 ball in the barrel. that break was with the velocity all the way up (target practice) and $30 a case paint. with the velocity at a normal range, I don't think I would have broken any paint so far. so, if it does break paint, it doesn't break more than any other barrel, I can't complain about 1 in 5000+ breaking.

Distance - like everyone knows, the distance is awesome, I can aim straight at targets before they can reach me. or maybe they can reach me with a upgraded barrel on their gun, but they have to add arch, which isn't always an option. again, mine acts exactly as the animation from tippmann's site

Accuracy - accuracy is great, I don't want to keep repeating, but the strongest point to me is that I can aim dead on target and hit it. as opposed to the standard barrel where you aim on target, first couple shots fall short, compensate, then hit the target. it shoots very repeatable from shot to shot, which is nice.

I've shot cheapo $30 a case paint, diablo blaze, and about to try some nitro ducks to see if there's a difference. so far the barrel has been good with all the different paint I've put in. more consistant with the diablo blaze, with the cheapo stuff, I would get an occasional shot that would go off target, but after using a case of diablo and not having that problem, I'm figuring that the ammo was to blame, not the barrel.

I don't think I've said anything new here, but I hear a lot of people bashing the flatline, and I think the bashing is undeserved. also, the people I've heard bash the flatline, don't have a flatline or even a tippmann, so I think it's a case of "my (insert brand here) is better than your (insert brand here)".

this barrel has worked great for me, added a ton of distance to my marker, is accurate, and at $105 shipped, is about the same price as it's competitors.


Conclusion: if you have a A-5 with the stock barrel, order the flatline right now, you'll never regret it! it may not be the end-all, be-all, but it's darn close. and honestly, I haven't seen a better barrel in action yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rodregan Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Flatline
Freak - on a Matrix

Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline barrel (replaced 14' barrel)
HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have had success with all kinds, including white box cheapies.
Strengths: ACCURACY
DISTANCE
Short barrel length (shorter than what I had).
Weaknesses: Loud
Barrel does not remove quickly for cleaning
Review: This barrel seems shorter than the 98 Flatline, and has a metal shroud that looks like a silencer.
It shoots incredibly straight and far.
I buy a variety of white box cheap paintballs, and it has not had any problem.
I also switch between CO2 and HPA, and have not seen any real difference, except I have to change the velocity.
Conclusion: With Tippman's unique feed system, this barrel makes an A-5 an awesome, reliable and accurate gun. I would not trade it for my son's Matrix. If you have an A-5, you will not regret getting this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 18th, 2003 at 8:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goats_896 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
A-5 Sniper f/x Stock
A-5 Flatline barrel
Red Dot Site
Remote Coil
20 oz CO2
4+1 PMI Pursuit Pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI or Rps......if anyone out there is on a tight budget i found Rps Super Swirl purty good!
Strengths: It has the flattest trajectory of any paintball gun barrel, and the range is just as impressive. For any of you who want a new barrel for your A-5 this is the one to get. It doesn't chop that much paint really about 1 of every 700 or so that is another good quality. It is great for woods ball ( great for the Sniper). The guys at Tippmann have done it again. Keep it up!
Weaknesses: It takes 1/2 a minute or so to put the barrel on. And it takes a lil while longer to take off the barrel clean it and reinstall it. But other than that i haven't found anything back with this barrel yet.
Conclusion: In conclusion i strongly feel this could be the world's best paintball barrel. Any of you guys want a new barrel for your A-5........don't get any boomstick or any other crap ........get this one you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Firebird427 Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, 14" J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: A5, flatline barrel, e-grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizers, big balls
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Looks
Loud and intimidating
Short
Weaknesses: Heavy
Difficult to clean
Loud
Review: I purchased the flatline barrel for its claims of increased distance. The barrel does fulfill its promise of extra distance. I regularly find myself pelting the enemy from out of their range, and that's a wonderful feeling. Unfortunately, a number of factors decrease the barrel's effectiveness at that range. Obviously the paint is traveling slower by the time it gets to its target, so more often than not I here reports of "you hit me like five times but none of them broke". I have also found that wind seems to affect the flatline moreso than other barrels. The balls just seem to die in a good wind. When playing in inclement weather I find myself switching barrels. I think even the stock barrel can out perform it if the weather is real bad. When the conditions are good, I have absolutely no complaints with the barrels accuracy. I point at a target, and the ball hits it every time.
The most troubling complaint I have is the weight. I tend to be an aggressive player and the cumbersome nature can get in the way. If I play for any length of time I often find myself shooting from the hip. The flatline puts a good portion of the weight on the front of the gun, making for an odd balance. All the weight up front sort of acts like a big boom, making it difficult to really turn, aim, and shoot quickly if a new target suddenly arises. And forget using anything smaller than a 20 oz CO2 tank. I've tried a nine ounce before and the gun feels like it's always falling forward.
The barrel can be a real pain to clean in the field. It requires a couple of allen wrenches and at least a minute to remove the barrel, clean, and reattach it. I will say that the supplied squeegie does an excellent job though.
The barrel also requires a special plug, because its bore is larger than usual. I found that the special plug wasn't even tight enough (I accidentally shot it out the end once-oops). Some barrel condoms do fit, but it takes too long to put them on while playing cause they have to stretch quite a ways.
The barrel is loud. Personally, I like that because it lets the enemy know I'm coming, but I could see how a lot of people wouldn't.
Conclusion: If you tend to play a more defensive style, I would recommend the barrel. Its accurate and provides unparrelled distance. For more aggressive players, I would recommend trying a buddy's first. I would strongly suggest for anyone considering the flatline to have at least one other quality barrel in addition to the flatline, and would not make the flatline the first barrel to buy for the A5. Try something else before you go this route, because its more of a special circumstance barrel than an everyday barrel.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Matt6996 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing as bad as this
Marker Setup: A-5
Now a Bt* 16 barrel which by the way is way better then the flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Heavy, inaccurate, tough to find right size bore of paint
Review: This barrel is by far the wrost barrel I've ever seen. It's a pian in the but to take off and on if you chop a ball. I will giveit some credit on looks, but the bt-16 has way better looks then the flatline. Also it is not accurate, once again bt- 16 better. Range not good, once again bt- 16 way better. See what I'm trying to say:D
Conclusion: Do not get this barrel. If you want a good barrel for around the same price, get a bt- 16 barrel or a freak or an all american.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media