paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
cmcan22 Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator (black to blue fade) with Evil asa, Evil bolt, Evil ram and ram cap, Evil detonator reg(inline), Evil Repirator(lpr), Evil grips and a Kapp mini drop with a System X on/off
WAS 2.8 board
45/4500 LP Crossfire
Ripped Halo B
Five bore Scepter barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze
Arctic inferno-best
Team colors
Strengths: RANGE RANGE RANGE
Acurracy
Weaknesses: Noise
Does not shoot through breaks
Review: This barrel is absolutly amazing. Once i connected it to my A-5 i was absolutly amazed. The first thing that you notice is that the balls don't look liek they're moving that fast becasue it looks like they are just floating out of the barrel but that is just and optical illusion. The next thing that you will notince is that the range on the A-5 immediatly jumps at least a hundred feet. And the next thing that you'll see is the tight groupings of paint. The noise is probably the loudes in all of paintball but that is only due to the fact that there is no porting. The noise doesn't really matter because if you know your in range and you fire a few shots in woodsball you're pretty much guarenteed a hit. And in speedball the noise doens't matter because hiding is not an issue at all. a lot of people might say that this barrel isn't good for speedbal but i love it. you can shoot across the entire filed and nail people in back if your a back player and becasue of its short length it wont get in your way if your a front player. It does way a lot but as longhave you have some muscle you shouldn't notice this that much at all. The weight helps balence the gun if you have a co2 tank on the back. The only major problem that i found is that it does not like cheap paint. If you use cheap paint you will soon be shooting a paint flamethrower. If you carry a battle swab or a stiff sqeegie with you this shouldn't be a problem.
Conclusion: If you have an a5 buy this!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with a Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
R/T (response trigger)
GTA double trigger
Flatline barrel
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 (x 2)
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS premiums (half GOLD, half BLUE)
BIG BALLS
Evil & Midevil
Strengths: When you think the ball is going to drop..it keeps sailing
Weaknesses: Increased overall length of marker and $$$
Review: When you pop a shot and you think the ball is going to start to drop it just keeps sailing...compared to the standard barrel this think really launches the paintballs out there

You can reach out and touch most of your non-FLATLINE wielding opponents before they come into there straight and accurate shot range...they can shot upwards and hope it their shot drop down on you but you can get a straight and accurate shot on them.

The slightly curved barrel and the textured interior of the barrel helps put a spin on the shot making the p-ball sail thru the air with better aerodynamics thus increasing range and accuracy.

If your field has 270 - 280 FPS rates then the flatline really shines (lower FPS decrease accuracy and higher FPS is also less accurate)
Conclusion: If you got a Tippmann A-5, a 98 Custom or a Model 98 this WILL improve the markers' accuracy...for roughly double the price of another cheap aftermarket barrel or the price of a quality barrel...this will shoot futher and be more accurate...IT WORKS.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2004 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dump_Sum_Paint Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Model 98 or the Custom 98 Flatline is the only thing that resembles the A-5 Flatline!
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse, vert reg set up, HALO TSA Backman LED, SP tapeworm(RED) SP Tear Drop, J&J Ceramic, Freak Kit, 47CI/3000PSI HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would DEFINATELY recommend the ever so popular, DraXxus Blaze! They're fairly cheap for their astonishing accuracy and awesome fill! Medium Bore!
Strengths: Shoots clean, very accurate, looks cool! Durable! C-H-E-A-P!
Weaknesses: I can HONESTLY say there is nothing wrong with this barrel! Awesome barrel!
Review: This is an extremely durable, stylish, accurate, sleek, excellent value for your 100 dollars!
Not once have I ever regretted nor bad mouthed the Flatline. It is the best barrel in the price range. Very affordable means you can buy more paint to shoot through this awesome paint barrel!Very cool distance shots! The good ol hail mary shots!
Conclusion: This, bar none is one of the best barrels on the market today! From pros to noobs, this barrel would suit everyone!
DEFINATELY CONCIDER THIS BARREL!I'd give it a 20/10, but oh well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 at 7:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TeamPointBlank Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custome 98 flatline, Dye Boomstick, Freak and Freak Jr.
Marker Setup: A-5 w/flatline, x-pansion chamger(GTA), folding adjustable stock, custom forgrip, custom bi-pod, modified RT(20+rbs,:), remote line, custome milled bolt and striker and then some
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hard to say really, medium to small bore, as it creates an "air cushion" around the ball. I like marbs personally for games, but Dusk Draxxus is what we use in practice, they get the job done
Strengths: LOOOOOONG range, FLAT trajectory, VERY good for woods-ball,
Weaknesses: -Picky on paint,
Review: For players with an A-5, this is a MUST. May take a little tweeking and a little time finding that good paint-barrel match, but its not big deal, one or two games really. Hasnt broken a ball, but barrels usually dont(believe it or not its your bolts doin it people) I like it ALOT, and totaly believe it was worth EVERY cent I paid for it. I have played years of Speed ball and Woodsball(i prefer woods 110 times better). So YES this barrel CAN and IS used for both, but does increse profile just a touch.
AMAZING for back players and Captains(Like Me) but my front players use it without a problem at all. Goes GREATwith RT, DOES NOT slow down ROF more than 1 bps(MAYBE). Over all a FANTASTIC barrel, especially with a custom shroud and bi-pod(will have to make bi-pod yourself though). Change the front screws, i can get this baby out in under 5 seconds flat. It really is NOT that noisy to tell the truh, despite rummers.

Does need to be reblasted on a so far un-agreed on number of paintballs, not a huge problem. Simple barrel maitnence, i have run a few cases through, have not see ANY drop in perfomance or damadged grain(blasted part inside)

take some time to find your best paint-barrel match, then stick with it. May need some tweeking as well, all this only takes one or two games. No biggie
Conclusion: If you have an A-5, its common sense, buy the thing man, no matter WHAT your style of play. If you play woods, then you should be beat sensless with a hammer in front of your children(or parents for you younger people) for NOT buying this. Each and every member of my team, Point Blank, is a proud owner and user of tippmann! Play Hard, Win easy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacquestalbert Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, dye boom stick, progressive
Marker Setup: a-5 with response trigger, co2 and flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
decent ones
Strengths: supirior distance and great acuracy
Weaknesses: harder to take off but who cares
Review: best barrel ever. I play at a very big field and a lot of players think they are out of my range so they stand up and walk around. This makes it so easy for me to tag them with some paint. This barrel has no flaws when you install it right.
Conclusion: Makes the A-5 supirior to any angel on a medium to big field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

plugray Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, Double Trigger, 20oz CO2 Anti-Syphon, Evil Adaptor, 14" Lapco Bigshot
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS AllStars, Marbalizers, Premium. In that order.
Strengths: Distance. Barrel length.
Weaknesses: Time to install.
Review: When directly compared to my "14 Lapco Bigshot and "12 Dye Utralight on my A-5 the Flatline got much farther distance with a flatter trajectory. I don't have enought property to tell how far it shoots. I can shoot trees at the back of the yard from ~120' with good consistancy.

It takes a little time to install or remove but becomes easier with use. Of course I rarely remove it from my marker. With it I'm able to shoot players who's shots don't make it to me with any force. It's smaller size is nice for crawling through the woods or ducking behind a bunker.
Conclusion: If you own an A-5 this is the best barrel to get. Just make sure to get good small paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaliska Thursday, February 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Dye Boomstick 12", a Smart Parts AA 12" and a Lapco Bigshot 12"--- All good barrels, the best are the bigshot and aa as far as accuracy and quality. Dye, as usual, is overrated.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 20 oz c02, ACI 6-stage xchamber, Flatline, Lapco Bigshot 12", double trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I highly recommend paint made by PMI and RPS. El Tigre, All star, Marbelizer. Also Diablo Midnight paintballs work great. AVOID PROBALL AND POINT BLANK!!!!
Strengths: This product is great because it has great distance and accuracy-- If you use the right paint. Cheap paint will only break in the barrel and screw up your game. Shoots further than any other barrel. Accuracy is exceptional.
Weaknesses: Somewhat loud and front heavy, somewhat expensive, but as long as you have a job, you're fine.
Conclusion: This product is great, and ANY tippmann a-5 owner should own this barrel as well as a lapco bigshot-- they are easily the best barrels and they are all you need for paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrokenToeEdgar Tuesday, January 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 with Flatline Barrel is very accurate as is the A-5 version, Pro-Carbine which is as durable and reliable as any Tippmann even with a Flatline Barrel installed.
Marker Setup: I currently own an A-5 with a Response Trigger, Venturi Bolt, Expansion Chamber, and Flatline Barrel. I also have a 98 Custom with Flatline barrel, Venturi Bolt, Expansion Chamber, and CAR-15 Stock.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any slightly harder smaller caliber paintballs such as Diablo Blaze, RPS El Tigre, or RPS All Stars. RPS Marballizers are a bit snug of a fit for the barrel.
Strengths: This is an excellent accessory for the Tippmann A-5, simply elevating the effectiveness of this rapid fire gun to incredible heights. It is excellent for distance support firing paintballs en masse while equally suited for choice sniping shots. Combine the Flatline Barrel with the Cyclone feed System and you are capable of putting out quick accurate shots of an unprecedented caliber. Using the paintballs listed above I've accurately hit head sized targets at distances over 100 ft. repeatedly.
Many a complaint for the Flatline system has always been their pentient for ball breaking. I personally have never encountered any problems of the sort with either of my Flatline Barrels while using the ammo I do. Keeping the barrel straight is another factor for effective game play and it is simply operator failure that is to blame for inaccuracy due to this.
Weaknesses: I have had NO problems as of yet with this barrel or the barrel system for the matter. My experiences with Tippmann products in general has been impeccable, as have the experiences of many of my friends. Until the day Tippmann makes a faulty product I will stand by there tight-@$$ markers and unique line of upgrades.
Conclusion: If you've got an A-5 and can't take the pressure of close quarters, or like myself just love to rain down paintballs from grand distances the A-5 Flatline barrel will suit you wonderfully. If you've never used a Flatline barrel before it takes a bit of getting used to, but that time spent is well worth the enjoyment of consistent long range eliminations in the end. Hell yah!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjpomeroy Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
J&J Ceramic 16" Barrel
8" Lapco Big Shot
14" Boomstick
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
WAS Egrip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Flatline Barrel Kit
88ci/4500psi Pure Energy HPA
My rating scale defined
10- Oh my god this thing is awsome, drop what every you are doing and go buy one
7 - Good piece of gear
5 - Does what it is suppose to do
3 - Doesn't live up to advertised features
1- If you insist on buying this item, you should just send it to my paypal account either way your are waisting your money
Strengths: Distance
Looks
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Ball don't always break
Loud
Sucks air
Cleaning
Review: I am writing this review with new players in mind that don't know much about how to get the most out of their marker. So if you are new to paintball and just bought an A-5 your first investment should be a new barrel. Make sure you do your research about barrels before buying a new one. Also take most things you read with a grain of salt. The most accurate review are from people who have tried different products. Also just so I can qualify myself in the field of markmenship and shooting, I spent 8 years in the Marine Corps and was a Primary Markmenship Instructor for my Unit. So I know a litte bit about shooting.

First let me say that this barrel will allow you to shoot farther than anyone else on the field. You will get 50-70 feet of addtional flat trajectory with this barrel.

Second, having said the first don't think you will be picking people off from 150 feet with this barrel. The accuracy at long range is pretty poor. Granted you will be able to provide cover fire from a long way out, but you will find it hard to hit anyone. I found that this barrel is realtively accurate at less than 75 feet (certainly more accurate than the stock barrell). Also another problem I have seen is that at a greater distance the paintballs won't always break. Keep in mind that most fields require you to crono at 285 or less. The farther the ball travels (doesn't matter what barrel you are using) the slower the ball will be traveling when it hits the target.

Cleaning barrel requires you to disassemble the gun. I have had several ball breaks and it really bites when you are in the heat of battle. You can clean most of it out with a barrel swab, but your accuracy will be crap until you get off the field and run a squegy through it.

This barrel is really loud. The A5 with CO2 or HPA is loud enough as it is and when you add the Flatline it gets even lounder. Now this can be a positive or a negative depending on how you look at it. If you want the intimidation factor of the loud barrel , this is your barrel. If you are wanting to go recon on someone, they will know where you are after your first shot.

This barrel uses alot more air that some of the other barrels I have used. This is due to the large bore size and no porting. Because the barrel bore is larger than most paintballs out there it allows excess gas escape and requires you to use more air.
Conclusion: So after reading all that you have to decide what type of player you want to be.

If you want to be the guy in the back pinning people down while you buddies move in for the kill. This is the barrel for you.

If you want to be a sniper (one shot one kill) type of guy. Don't buy this barrel (or an A-5) for that matter. It is too loud and you will most likely no hit your target. On ebay and some folks on this site tout this a being a sniper barrel it is anything but that.

If you want to be the guy that closes with the enemy and destroy him buy close combat, there are much better barrels for this purpose. I would recommend the J&J edge Barrel kit for the A-5. It provide much better accuracy at 75-100 feet than the flatline does. You will have a greater arc on the trajectory, but you will find a much more consitent shot.

All thing said I really like this barrell. It does what it is suppose to do. Which is allows you paintballs to travel farther on the field than anyone else. So if you are wanting to stay back in the back of the field and pin people down this is your barrel. Since the accuracy is sill decent at closer distance it is a good barrel for a combination of long and short range shooting it is also a great choice.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spencemo Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
98 C flatline
Big daddy barrell
progressive
Marker Setup: WOODSBALL:
A-5
Flatline
E-Grip
Double JCS trigger
400 round Alein hopper-GREAT BUY
shocktech supafly bolt
Scepter 4000 grenade launcher-SWEET

SPEEDBALL:
05- Red Smartparts Shocker
Brand New Tag Sportz Predator SFT Board (5.0 code)
Black A+ Products Composite Trigger
2005 Black Smart Parts Guage Mount w/ Gauge
New Designz V3 (Stinger) Low Pressure Bolt Kit
Black New Designz Shocker Low Pressure Firing Can
New Black Smart Parts Detents.
14" Red Tip/Black Back All American Barrel
Black Smart Parts Angle Drop w/ Black/Red Smart Parts On/Off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs shoot B-E-A-U-T-Y-F-U-L-L
Strengths: Distance
Distance
Sometimes acurate
Weaknesses: Acuracy
Review: Ok ive had the flatline a little over a year now...i started out with a stock a-5 with it and it worked nicley. People say velocity helps and this and that but nething around 280 is fine. Then i got the egrip, now i can shoot fast and far; but the faster you shoot the less acurate it is in my opinion balls are swaying everywhere. To improve this get a new bolt it will drastically help. And get your tanks ANTI SIPHONED....normally people do this for higher end guns but trust me you will see a drasticly better in your flatline because normally one your tank starts to get low the distance and accuracy of your flaline suffers, but with antisiphoned tanks this does not happen.
Conclusion: In a nut shell this is a good barrel but requires some work to get it the way you want it. But i dont care what anyone says this gun does suffer from bad accuracy..you can listen to everyone else go get a chrono and get your velocity at EXACTLY 285 and it wont make much of a diffrence....but now since they came out with the apex barrel im considering getting that to see if its drastically better then this barel..cause the apex is basically a new n improved flatline. the reason im giving this an 8 is because of accuracy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media