paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
snowyhessh Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Xcel Barrel for Model 98 (but you can't compare regular barrels to the flatline. It is a unique product.)
Marker Setup: A-5, Proshop Solid Sniper Stock, Armson Prodot, Flatline, PMI 48ci/4500psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Though I've only used RPS Evils because of their good rating, smaller bore size, and ability to break well on targets without breaking in my marker, from reading about other flatline users' experiences, medium-small bore paint without dimples or oiliness should suffice.
Strengths: flat-trajectory, accuracy at great distances, loud (can make opponents run for cover)
Weaknesses: loud (gives away position), different maintanence from "normal" barrels, heavy
Review: The flatline is a barrel innovation, and the A-5 version of it is an improved innovation, now that it is easier to clean and align. You can truly "reach out and touch" other players that are hiding behind a false sense of security of distance. "He's too far too hit me," will soon be replaced with "The non-flatline's can't hit me here." In the woods, the flat trajectory is especially useful, through the brush that you try to aim through, but the angled paintballs just seem to never get through. For speedball, the flatline's okay too. The weight does require more effort to move around, but... it doesn't bother me. The barrel, because it is not ported, is very loud. This can be both an advantage and a distadvantage. Advancing players will rush for cover if they hear loud shots and are having paintballs whiz by them. As a down side, players may be able to locate you more easily, but then again, if they know where you are, but you mark them first... not big deal, right?

Aligning the barrel so that it shoots correctly is fairly simple, as one must just align the top screw with the front sight. As I've read from other reviews, this is a much more improved way of mounting than the mounting of the original Custom/Model 98 Flatline. The 98 version would probably deserve a nine, while the A-5 version recieves a shiny gold medal ten.

Tips:
Use the Flurry Industry barrel condom (it's able to cover the wide diameter of the flatline). A stock (any stock) will also help a great deal because of the extra weight of the flatline will unbalance your weapon.

For barrel maintanence on the field, I read an innovative idea to replace the two front allen key screws, with thumb screws so the barrel can be removed easily. Great idea, that I haven't done yet, but I plan to do soon.

When you purchase the flatline (you must buy because no Tippmann made marker owner should be without one), make sure you understand that the inside of the barrel is rough by design. The barrel is not dirty, and rather the roughness allows better backspin. If you use an abrasive cleaner, you can wear out the life expectancy of the barrel (250,000 rounds). Also, I was told that one should not use the barrel cleaner provided by Tippmann for the stock barrel. The thing is pretty hard, and the barrel cleaner that comes with the flatline seems to work fine. Just remember, the inside is supposed to look "dirty".
Conclusion: Anyone with an A-5 who plays woodsball should at least consider the flatline. Its flat trajectory renders your marker to be a short range rifle (in terms of the straight flight paths of the projectiles). The flatline is also best combined with a red dot, sight, red-dot sight, or low power scope, since the factor of curving paintballs is not an issue with the flatline. (I like the Armson prodot because it doesnt need batteries).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajsmith1701 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline
Marker Setup: A-5 pro-team commando delux f/x
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil
Strengths: distance, accuracy
Weaknesses: Couldn't find any.
Review: Tippman has done their homework. This barrel is 200 times better then the 98 flatline. Anyone who has a A-5 NEEDS this barrel. You will put fear in the other team. Mental is 60% of the battle. Big confidence booster.. Will help you get out of pin downs on the field..
Conclusion: The A-5 is the best and the flatline makes it even better...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acsarver Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Speedball:
SP Ion
Egg loader
SP steel color kit
PE3000psi

Woodsball:
Tippmann A-5
PDW Air Thru MAG
g-36 stock
Picitanny Sight Mount
1x30 Red Dot scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heat, Nightmare
Strengths: Flies far,
Easy to clean,
Doesn't break paint.
Weaknesses: I'll explain below
Review: ive had my A-5 for about a year now and the Flatline was the very first upgrade i bought. since it was new, it worked perfectly. paint flew far, and striaght, just as described. but after a while, i noticed problems. the co2 was trying to get too much air to the Flatline for it to work propperly, the cyclone wasnt working right. i noticed the Flatline then chopped more and more paint. i dont know if its my a-5s problem or what.
i then sold my Flatline.
Other than that, great buy. does as described, easy to clean.
Conclusion: Great buy. Does as described, easy to clean.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 9:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prodis Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-99, Tippman 98 custom.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with Flat line barrle double trigger Car stock Red dot scope sling 20 ounce Co2 and 12 ounce Co2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well right now i'v had no problems with any real PBs but i would say stay away from brass eagle
Strengths: Strong, Durible, Powerful, sexy look, great gun.
Weaknesses: Cyclone feed uses alot of Co2, complicated parts. Advise not to take it apart
Review: On the line for the Cyclone feed there is a hose make sure that the hose going to the gun to it, make sure that the screws are set up right or ur gun won't shoot right. with car stock it lowers ur psi i would advise sticking somthing to make the spring longer.
Conclusion: Great gun worth buying. great for woods ball. Its ok for speedball, overall i sujest u buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

lupisargent Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker and 98 flatline
Marker Setup: Trilogy Comp, 20ozCo2, evo2 loader, 14" boomstick
CCI phantom, air through stock
Strengths: -Range
-Flat trajectory
-Barrel shroud
Weaknesses: -Accuracy
-Noise
-Cleaning
Review: Alright, I don't actually own a tippman or a flatline but I have used them quite abit. My friend has a couple of them and being a speedball player myself, never really saw a need to get a good woodsball gun (although thats changing). I would always borrow his A-5 or 98 (whatevere he wasn't useing) when we went out in the woods and he has a flatline on both. His guns were geared towards his style of play (mid/backfield laying cover fire). I, however, am a sniper. I like being able to hit a CD at 75 ft 100% of the time. With that beinig said here is my review.

Good
Range: With out a doubt the flatline barrels are the logest range barrels in paintball. If you need to hit something at 200 ft, this is your barrel. The backspin the barrel puts on the paintball does a fantastic job of making your opponents think twice about sticking there head out at the other end of the field.

Trajectory: The flatline puts the paintballs out, well, flat. Unless there is a serious problem with the paint your using, all of the shoots will stay within a horizontal plane of flite.

Barrel shroud: The barrel shroud for the A-5 just looks cool. The marker already has the MP5 feel and the shroud reminds me of the old suppresors they used to use on them.

Bad
Accuracy: While the flatline has reach, it does not have the accuracy that pinpoint shooters want. This is because of the backspin put on the paintball. No matter what paint you buy no 2 paintballs are identical and will therefore react differently to the backspin. While shoots will almost always stay flat, they won't always be straight. In my personal experiance, I had shots spiral around peoples heads at 30 ft. Not good when your relying on a one shot kill.

Noise: This barrel is loud. If your not concerned about stealth then its not an issue. I if you are I strongly recommend a different barrel. The lack of porting on the barrel practicly says "I'm over here." It does, however, scare the bajesus out of the noobs.

Cleaning: Its kind of a pain to clean the barrel. Having to take out the screws holding the front of the gun togeather. It really isn't that complicated and easily fixed (someone else mentioned the thumbscrew idea). So its really more of a speedbump than a problem.
Conclusion: Like any other barrel it has it pro's and con's. Depending on your play style the flatline can be a curse or a god send. If your looking to send out the longshots or lay down some heavy fire, this is your barrel. If your looking for 100% bullseye accuracy or stealth, try something else.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramics, CP barrels.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Richochet hopper, fixed stock, JJ ceramics barrel, WAS board egrip for rec and scenario play. Also have an Ion with new trigger, feedneck, QEV, CP reg, and custom drop forward with Halo B w/ rip, JJ ceramics and CP barrel for the Ion, use it for speedball.
Recommended
Paintballs:
N/A see below review
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Alright, I know some of you are going to tear me up for this one, but I bought the flatline a month and a half ago, and I've had nothing but problems with it since. I have not been able to get my velocity above 210 fps with this thing. I've tried everything, new springs, new screws, clamping this thing down to make sure theres no leaks, regulators, expansion chambers, I don't know what to do with this thing. As soon as I put it on, my velocity adjuster just doesn't work any more and the barrel is useless. At the same time, when I use my ceramic barrel, back to normal, no problems at all, so it's not my gun, it's something with the barrel. I'm in contact with the dealer that I bought it from and he's giving me some good customer service (he's going to take it back and give me a full refund when I go back next week). I'm very very dissapointed, because during some of my scenario games, I'd love to be able to reach out another hundred feet, but this thing has been nothing but problems for me. If anybody has had this problem before, write a comment and let me know how you fixed it, or if it just cant be fixed, I'd appreciate it.
Conclusion: I know I'm going to get flamed for this, but unless I can get it working, this is definately a 1 until I can get it fixed. If somebody can helpe me out with it, I'd be happy to give it a new rating after I've been able to actually use it.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 11th, 2006 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Jimmy Welzig Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Boomstick, Flatline and now Freak system, n2, laser,drop forward, reg,aluminum inner parts and anything else I could put on to make it more accurate
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have tried several type's of paint same result added distance not Accurate !!!!
Strengths: It deffinaly added distance
Weaknesses: Allot of opinions but I used this barrel allot and its just not accurate.
Review: I was very excited to purchase this barrel after reading the reviews posted here but I was very quickly disappointed,

I play allot of indoor speed ball where you have to turn down velocity to 250 f.p.m. and the accuracy of this gun drop off drastically as you turn down pressure's. It already suffers at high pressure at 250 it is impossible to hit a hopper at 50 feet. I know so many people say its how you hold the gun or I even had one person tell me to coat the inside to smooth it out a little ( this doesn't help at all)

I also noted a huge increase in the % of chopped balls!
Conclusion: Against allot of hype by people who are excited at there resent purchase and the added distance this barrel does allow I highly recommend you invest in another barrel to improve your A-5. unless you just don't care about your spread( the size of circle when you fire five to ten ball at same spot) and your focus is distance and a cool looking barrel?
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xmrichx6151 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: I have a tippmann a5 stealth. i bought it off of paintballonline.com, and it sucks. the frame is plastic and the cyclone feed lasted about fifty shots before it stopped feeding balls. I also bought a response trigger from paintballonline.com, and it DOES NOT WORK!!! it fits the gun extremely loosely, and nobody at my local paintball shop can figure out what is wrong. DO NOT BUY FROM PAINTBALL ONLINE!!!! they will rip you off!!! action village is MUCH more reliable (do not take my word for it, go to their ebay account and check their feedback, it is extraordinary)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING EXPENSIVE (<unfortunately) with a hard shell that will not chop easily.
Strengths: Distance, Accuracy, Appearance
Weaknesses: Takes too long to remove, hard to clean, did not work with nitro
Review: The flatline is a very useful woodsball tool. For some reason though, it did not perform with nitro. I had a full tank, but the balls would just shoot out like they were being shot by an old 98 rental. They were not accurate, and certainly did not travel 250+ feet, which is what the flatline is supposed to shoot. But once i put a CO2 tank on the gun, the flatline ripped!!!!! It shot so far and had my paintball club buddies wanting me on their team. IDK if this is the case for everyone or just my gun, but with CO2, the Flatline barrel is accurate and farther shooting than anything ive ever seen! BUY IT!
Conclusion: Buy the a5 flatline, you will not be disappointed if you are a woodsballer
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Werks13 Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel, and 14" Werks Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
- 14" Werks Barrel
- E-Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
- Stock Hopper
- Psycho Ballistics Medium Bullet Drop with On/Off ASA
- 16 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers I guess
Strengths: It shoots
Weaknesses: - Not Accurate
- LOUD
- Has to be upright when you shoot it
Review: Well after reading such nice reviews I decided to pick this barrel up. I was severely disappointed with its performance when I first went to play with it. The balls curved severely, no difference in range, and when I fired a shot everyone could tell where I was. I've done everything I possibly can to get it to work for me. It just doesn't work the way I was hoping it would. I HIGHLY suggest that you don't get this barrel because it will not do anything for you. Now I'm not trying to be a hater because I love Tippmann and when a barrel costs $100 I expect better quality then a sandblasted piece of crap. Or perhaps I got a "poorly" manufactured barrel... Selling it on ebay as soon as I can.
Conclusion: Don't buy it unless you like crap.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 18th, 2005 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mr2what1 Sunday, December 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder e-99 with a dye excel barrel and a halo hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
not house paint, or gap
Strengths: distance
Weaknesses: accuracy, ball breakage
Review: Man i tried this barrel out and didnt like it at all. everytime i took a shot it would go striaht and then arc horribly to the right or the left. i will give it credit for going really far, even though it is really inaccurate. Oh and i forgot to mention i had three bouncers in one game, YES THREE!!!! i watched as i took shots my ball would just skip of the other person. to much back spin if you ask me. my friend and i traded guns for the day and my dye excel was doing a whole lot better than his flatline.
Conclusion: ill admit it is a pretty good barrel but that is a large price for something that isnt that accurate. distance is good though
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (31):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media