paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag

Airgun Designs E-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs E-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs E-Mag
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its trigger is actuated by magnets, it has a
dual selector (switches from Electric to Manual
operation), operates with 18 volt rechargeable battery or
2 9 volt batteries, L.E.D. display features countdown
timer, shot counter, plus many other features, and it was
tested beyond 20 shots per second without shootdown but
is restricted to 13 shots per second (to comply with current industry standards.) Comes in power feed (for use with Warp Feed)
or vertical feed.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs E-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
jclaine Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion -fast and light but not as accurate
Cockers - slower because mechanical
E-cockers - just as fast (depending on setup), and as if not more accurate, but finicky at times
Tippmans - lol just simply lol
all matrices - not as rugged and bullet proof but fast and accurate none the less
old shockers - accurate as hell fast as hell but there's a reason they call them shoe boxes
lots of mags - typical not as fast because of the lack of an electric trigger.
angels of all sorts (ir3s, LCD, speeds, g7) - no matter what one you shoot they still shoot in the tornado pattern, annoying as hell to me...
ect...
Marker Setup: Custom 1/2 block Cocker
E2 (v 1.10 psp ramp)
Custom Milling
Delrin bolt and mid block
Custom ano
Stiffi Switch
CCM Feather weight front block
CCM LPR
Nexus Ram w/ Q.E.V.s
Reversed 15* asa (karnivor style)
Detonator Regulator
&
Soon to be MQ valve

And my flawless Emag back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 up grade
x valve
maybe install an on/off switch
most current firmware
ule stuff
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Reliable
A frigging tank
Can switch to mech mode mid game
Fps ramp
Weaknesses: No psp ramp (that is getting worked out though)
Review: Ok i have owned this thing for ages and i bought it slightly used, and it still runs like the day i got it. This has shot so many people in the face ots not even funny. Its fast as you can pull, the software limits it to 20bps but please show me someone who can pull that fast, and its not like the cant cycle faster, it can actually do around 36 bps with the right pressure input, but again find me a loader that can do that consistently (and please don't tell me that halos w/ victory can because war pig has proven they at max can do around 22 on the highest setting).

This thing wont break one ball if you have a lvl 10 installed right, it will stop on your finger or even a folded dollar bill if tuned right. I love scaring people by telling them to stick there finger in the breach, while im dry firing. They don't know to do when i stick mine in there after they told me no and i start screaming and yelling about how stupid of an idea that was, and how i think it took the tip of my finger off at the knuckle. The look on ther face is priceless when i finally show them that my finger doesn't have a scratch. Needless to say its soft on the balls, and i think better then eyes because there is no way this can fail on the field, but eyes always can. BTW you can install eyes if you wish with the new firmware, but with lvl 10 its not needed.

As far as accuracy is concerned, its as accurate as most any other gun, short of cockers.

It is by far one of the most reliable guns out there, all i have to do is screw in my 88 cui 5k scion, and it will shoot 288, 284, 287, 288, 286, 288 really no matter what the temperature, because of the ingenious design of the valve the regulator is in the valve. So it is not as susceptible to temperature variance as most other guns are with external regulators. As one of my least favorite infomercials (realistically who as a favorite infomercial, well besides the one with that crazy English man that destroy stuff :P) says "Just set it and forget it".

This gun to say the least is a tank, in a couple ways. It is a bit heavier, but nothing is going to break this gun besides submerging it in watter, and even then you have the hybrid switch so you can still play. It will take every slide, drop, hit, any anything else you can think of and work perfectly. Besides trying to shoot rocks or marbles, nothing is going to stop this from shooting.
Conclusion: In all this gun is probably the best gun i could ever have for a back up and is still proud gun to have as my main when my cockers down, plug and play. Unlike my cocker witch is tinker, check to make sure its tuned, and then play. I love this gun to death and will never sell it or part with it.
And the best part is the look on peoples faces when i walk off victorious against there dm5s and 05 speeds and im using a 5+ year old gun :P (i am a strong believer its the player not the gun, the gun is just a tool, and certain people are more efficient with better tools). This gets a 9 because it doesn't come stock with lvl 10 or any ule upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 at 11:25 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

psifry Tuesday, August 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro-lite (great marker)
AutoMag
Marker Setup: Emag upgraded from AutoMag, with Minimag reg (don't ask)
Dye S.S. barrel
Compressed Air
old motorized V.L revolution hopper (9v)
remote tank setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
good electric hopper that can keep up with the rate of fire
maybe new barrel, but try the stock one first for a while
Strengths: quick rate of fire - nice to dish it back to the players with Angels...
sweet trigger - short and light pull, which can be adjusted with relative ease.

3 trigger modes - not sure what the advantage of other modes are other than if the electronics fail or battery dies you aren't stuck with a dead marker. I keep it at the electronic mode so that I have the short trigger pull.

small, compact marker.
Weaknesses: WEIGHT WEIGHT WEIGHT!!!
The marker is heavier than other guns. 5lbs doesn't sound like much, and isn't when the adrenaline is pumping, but in between games it just gets a little heavy. Trying to run and shoot one-handed isn't the easiest.

Can't use the burst modes on any fields around here, so kind of depressing.

AGD's Emag videos keep showing the marker firing fully auto, but they don't program the markers with that mode anymore, so only way to go full auto is buy an aftermarket board for $200 dollars....but still can't use it anywhere.
Conclusion: a bit expensive to buy a multi-mode gun that you can't actually use due to rule restrictions at the fields where I live. Can only do 1 trigger pull = 1 ball.

Overall, the gun is sweet, but you may want to just get the AutoMag RT, which is what the EMag is built off of (same valves and such). The only thing missing is the electronic trigger. But you'll be saving $400+ dollars and have an truly excellent marker.

If you really want the Emag, i'd wait for the Emag Extreme which has the lighter body.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Wpd Angel, Black Magic Autococker, Timmy, Bushy
Marker Setup: stock barrel, Warp Feed, Ricochet, drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
None as of yet
Strengths: Perhaps the thing that appealed to me the most was the compact body. The gun shoots great and shoots fast. The trigger is on par with the angel and may have a little on it. Has about the same accuracy and range as my old angel. Overall a decent gun.
Weaknesses: To be completly honest there is something the e-mag seems to be missing something I feel when I shoot autocockers and Timmy's I think its the smooth release but I'm not sure. The gun is a bit heavy just take of the sight rail and that helps a little. The battery pack grip tend to hurt after awhile.
Conclusion: Great Gun overall. Small compact and fast. Make sure you try this gun out before you buy it. It may not be what your looking for.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s67cobra Thursday, July 12th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: *Attention to all who read this
This is in response to the review below
Guns do fire differently. Each chamber is a different size and has a different layout, thus causing a whirl of air in the chamber. This causes different effects on the ball. The placing of holes on the bolt will also cause a difference in accuracy and range. Think about it. One hole in the middle puts all the force at one point, warping the ball as it leaves the gun. Holes spread around the bolt even up the pressure.
Any more questions go ahead and e-mail me

When I first heard about the E-Mag I was sooo excited.
I have always been a fan of mags. They are so durable. This gun carries on the great traditions of mags.
It is strong and durable with few problems.
It shoots well. Good range and accuracy.
Looks sooo bad a$$.
Light, fast firing trigger.
Good balance. Even though its a little heavy, its balanced
Battery lasts a good number of shots
Weaknesses: Like I said, I was stoked about the gun. But then I shot it
I felt very disconnected from this mag. I felts much more of a connection to my old mag which I still keep as another backup (in case my cockers go down)
The grip took some getting used to, but after using for a while, isnt too bad.
Like I said, it fires good, not great. Mags have stayed too much the same since their first ones. They need to redesign.
I actually found that the reactive part of the trigger pushed my finger too far back. It is fine when rapid firing, but I found it rather annoying when under normal firing conditions.
Barrel sucks!!!
Conclusion: I ended up buying an Evolution X cocker after firing the E-Mag. I must say it was one of the biggest disapointments I have ever had in paintball.
This gun fires nicely. But, believe it or not, I actually enjoy shooting my old mag more. I find it just as good and the force of the reactive trigger kinda annoyed me (although I must say the gun wasnt mine, so I never got to adjust the trigger force). I also felt the battery/grip was very unusual.
The other problem I have with this gun is that it seems too delicate compared to my old mag. While it is still a durable gun, the beauty of the mag is that you can throw it in the dirt, and it will still work fine. I dont see this gun doing that. So what I can figure out is why one would buy this over a RT or normal mag? You can lighten the trigger on those almost as much, and they are much more durable. The performances are identical too.
Basically what I am saying is that for $1000....no way!
This hurts to do, but I gotta rate this based on the price, so I am giving it a 7.
This from a guy whose nickname was once "MagMan"
I wish Airguns would get their act together. They made me convert to the dark side (WGP)
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maniac Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tourney mag, mini-mag, m3 sniper
Marker Setup: e-mag, nitro rig, boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic loader and a freak or boomstick
Strengths: stable, balanced, accurate & great rof
Weaknesses: the opposition
Review: *shoots consistent velocity:
if your not a newbie you'll understand consistent i.e. there is a small fluctuation in velocity but considerably more stable than most of the competition. it likes to be at 275 to 280 f.p.s. to perform at its best
*hard to abuse because of simplicity:
almost maintenance free and in reality only needs a little lube now and then, no major cleaning or disassembly required to get literally years of action out of this gun, and IF you break a ball it's very easy to clean.
*if you can only buy one high end marker, get the e-mag!
Conclusion: for anyone who plays: speed ball, woods, tourneys, scenario or rec! if you want the best marker available get the e-mag
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keeptrying56 Sunday, May 6th, 2001
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Ability to switch between electric and non-electric modes.
Reliability of Mags.
Mechanical parts are very easy to maintain.
Trigger operated by magnets.
If you have never owned a mag and are looking for gun that will never go down during a game, this is the gun for you.
Weaknesses: -Very high price.
-A lot of adds out there state that the trigger is adjustable, this does not appear to be true, the only adjustments are through the sear which only effects manual mode. If you want to adjust travel lenght for the elcetric mode its not going to happen.
-Other websites also state the gun can accept two 9-volt batteries, this cannot be accomplished without rigging sometype of wiring harness, basically can't be done in stock condition.
-Battery included with gun comes with a charger that is only compatible with a car cigarette lighter. I would have liked to been able to charge the battery in the house.
-Modes of fire are truly limited considering the price of the gun: electro semi, slow burst modes, hyper mode (electro & mechanical), manual mode.
-I also agree with the other reviews regarding overall weight, this gun is heavy especially when you start adding on drop kits, stainless barrels etc.
-Shot pattern is just like other mags.
Conclusion: I stated earlier that this is the best gun if you do not own a mag. I own two mags both of which are heavily modified. One mag has a Z-body with lots of extras and the other mag has a Hyper Frame with a Retro Valve and lots of extras. When I puchased the E-mag I was expecting something better than the Hyper Frame mag and this simply is not true. The Hyper Frame mag can easily keep up with the E-mag. The Hyper Frame mag is also lighter and costs significantly less. Will the Hyper-Frame electronics last as long as the E-mag electronics who knows? This is why I seriously stress if you own a Retro-valve mag, you are not truly getting a whole lot more for the money. An RT mag costs around 600 dollars and the E-mage is around 1,100 dollars, there is definately not 500 dollars worth of electronics in the E-mag. If the E-mag was 200-300 dollars cheapper I would give it a 10, However for the price and considering the other markers on the market I give it a 7. I traded the E-mag in for an Intimidator. I now finally own a gun (intimidator) that is as accurate as a cocker.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 2nd, 2001
 
0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: **ANOTHER OPINION ABOUT RANGE**(concerning the opinions below)

Guns do not shoot the same range and accuracy with all the previously mentioned variables the same. There is another variable called crown turbulence.
CROWN TURBULENCE is turbulence made right outside the tip of your barrel every time you shoot. This gust off air throws the ball off its mark slightly and is mostly noticed towards the end of the paintballs path. OPEN BOLT guns (like the angel, E-mag, and most guns) have a high crown turbulence and therefore are not incredibly accurate. Also, the lower the pressure that your gun shoots, the lower the crown turbulence. ClOSED BOLT guns (like autococker and exalibur) have very little crown turbulence and are more accurate. If all variables are the same like barrel, paint, N2 system, etc. then the autococker, excalibur, and other closed bolt guns will out perform all other open bolt guns due to less crown turbulence and lower pressure. So this just means that at a distance they are much more accurate and hit the same spot consistantly.

E-mag

Great gun. Compact design makes for small profile. Rate of fire is amazing.
RELIABLE!! this gun is great for novice players or those who are not mechanically inclined because of its low maintenance.
Great for front players!
Really a trusty peice of equipment that gets the job done.
Looks awesome
Good Battery


Weaknesses: Open bolt design. Its not gonna be as helpfull with those lob shots. Not recommended for back players.

Could be more air efficient. I prefer guns that only need a 45ci HP tank.

A bit heavy (steel body) you can work on this by getting an alluminum, ceramic coated barrel.
Conclusion: Overall, it is a great gun. Many years of design have made it incredibly space efficient and reliable. If you wanna get up close and fling loads of paint then its awesome. My Emag is my backup and i love it.

If you dont know how to work on cockers or you have trouble with their trigger pull, i think that the E-mag is a great first electro gun. It is also newbie freindly.

Think about what kind of player you are and what shots you take. If you play anything but the very front, then you have some more accurate choices for a gun. I give it a 6

If you wanna save $$$. Buy a used automag ($300 or less) and then buy a hyper frame for it ($200-$300) then you'll almost have an E mag and saved yourself loads of mula.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrod15 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel G7
Marker Setup: shocktech timmy customized, halo b2 prototype, 20 ounce anti siphon with flame tank cover and flame pressure gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt and new feed neck
Strengths: Durability, stregth, and power I love power
Weaknesses: Nothing at all my friends
Review: I have been using this baby for 3 months and she has took many lifes on the battle field. I like to go to the local field and play becuase I like to show it off to the pump players. I also like to shoot my grandson with the velocity tuned up.
Conclusion: Very well rounded peice of my life
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media