paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner

Brass Eagle Afterburner Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Afterburner

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Afterburner
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Afterburner sets the standard for value priced, metal, semi-automatic markers with features that include a lightweight aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a newly redesigned field strip pin, a self-locking velocity adjustment, vertical feed, two panel grip, double finger trigger, laser engraving and newly redesigned top cocking bolt. The Afterburner is designed to play a defining role in this new semi-automatic marker category.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Afterburner is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
gimlo Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle raider
brass eagle avenger
Marker Setup: everything stock, 16oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Durable, stock barrel is pretty good
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull, no foregrip
Review: i just borrowed this gun while my normal gun was broken. It was pretty good and it dint chop 1 ball the whole time I used it! A new barrel would be good but the stock is pretty good. It could also use a foregrip.

This is a good gun for begginers.
Conclusion: If you want a low priced gun that shoots ok get this. If you are more advanced get a better gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B.E. Player Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray,Brass Eagle Raider
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Afterburner,Dye 12 Ultralite,4 Stage Expansion Chamber w/ Macroline Set up,VL Pro Series Delrin bolt,Blade Trigger with reworked trigger springs,VL Pro Series Drop Foreward/Cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel definatly.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Pros:
Light
Durable
Accurate with a decent barrel.
Doesn't chop too bad,again,with a decent barrel.

Cons:
Trigger spring is very stiff
Stock barrel is useless.
Uncomfortable to hold,unless you order the expansion chamber.
Hard to find a drop foreward for
Eats air like a fat man eats Mcdonalds.


This is a gun for beginners,or people like me that like to tinker and mod,I'm actually in the ICC (Indiana Captain's Councel) With this gun...honestly,with all the mods listed above,this gun will compete if not,out gun pretty much any Spyder,put some money and time into it,and the Afterburner will actually compete with some of the heavier weight markers of the day.
Conclusion: I recommend this to any Newb who is just getting into the sport or trying it out for the first time,and wants something metal rather than that plastic stuff. Or,if you're like me,going into Amatuer tournaments with a heavily modded Afterburner to turn some heads. Either way,I recommend it.
As a stock gun,I give it a 5,as it's not that great stock,as a modded gun,a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 8:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alias_baller338 Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hand (throwing paint)
Marker Setup: red black dm6, 14" stiffi, pure energy 68/45, white reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell, posibally a new gun
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Reliability, accuracy
Review: It's a cheap gun if that's what your looking for or want to get started playing with go for it. but if you want a reliable gun spend a little more money and get a tippmann. IMO this gun is not worth buying. just buy a gun that will last for a long long long long time
Conclusion: Buy a differant gun
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

rotaidalg Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion (Broke some paint - a little worse)
Tippmann 98 Custom (about the same)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/CO2, homemade sling, stock barrel.
BE Afterburner w/14" CMI True Flight Barrel, homemade adjustable stock and homemade dropforward. Running CO2.
VL Orion w/CO2, VL Expansion chamber, Reversed dropforward to get shoulder stock configuration. 12" CMI True Flight Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Actually nothing other than a longer barrel.
Strengths: Light in weight, simple, inexpensive, reliable.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel.
Review: I was able to get this marker as part of a used package on eBay. ($45.00 total!) I've read some other reviews and this one looked pretty decent - I was not disappointed!
I've been in one long scenario game and this marker was great! I had the CMI barrel on it and the range was good and accuracy was great as well. Loaned it to one of my son's two friends when his electro rental kept crapping out in the rainy weather. Soon they all wanted to use the Afterburner! (They're all between 17 and 19 years of age.)
My 17 year-old daughter used this marker on her first day and loves the light weight and balance (I have added a homemade aluminum stock and a homemade aluminum dropforward to help with stabilization and balance.)
This has been a great performer for us. The side cuts on the feed tube of the receiver help prevent ball breaks in the hopper neck (we had some of those in the VL Orion - doesn't have side cuts!) by relieving back pressure.
(UPDATE: 03Nov04) About out of weather to be playing any more this year. My daughter has been using this consistently - it works great. Only had a few problems when we inadvertently used some high-end paintballs designed for low pressure gun (HPA) - the CO2 was blowing balls in the barrel one after another! I think the reason this gun has out-performed the VL Orion is the larger gas hole on the bolt and a chamfered edge on the front edge of the bolt.
There's a lot of similarity between the VL, BE and JT markers - but for now the Afterburner has had the best running bolt of the markers I've been able to examine - otherwise most of the parts are interchangable. Still a good buy for a beginner/recreational gun.
Conclusion: I usually give a shot of spray silicone lube into the ASA on all my markers before we play so they're well-lubed for play. No problems with this one at all. The day of the scenario the weather was really wierd and everyone else running CO2 had problems with ball-breaks and/or lots of vapor - the BE did just fine w/no problems!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 9:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball_cow Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor2,tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with a CMI barrel i got for Christmas and 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u use this gun i suggest a new barrel
Strengths: -good for begginers
-Not an air hog (unlike my A-5)
Weaknesses: -The o-rings break alot
-barrel sucks
Review: This was my first gun i bought. It was good for the first couple of days, but the o-ring broke on the striker.The thing i like about this gun is that it looks cool and i like the cocking.Its also not an air hog.The bad things are the barrel sucks REALLY REALLY BAD! The o-rings break because when u shoot the thing that is a part of the trigger(the
thing in side the gun that holds the striker) scratches the o-ring.its also uncomfortable to hold.
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun if u got good money or not.Buy a gun that is not brass eagle.Trust me you will save money if u do.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

LexLaw Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: -marker is stock
-200rd loader
-20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a new barrel would help. One that is longer would make it a little more accurate than it is right now.
Strengths: Read review.
Weaknesses: Read review.
Review: This gun is definitely fun to start off in the sport with. Though its accuracy is nothing to talk about, its durability is. I have played a few games of woods ball with it and put it through a real test. When I got home and cleaned the thing, there was sand in every crevice, but it still shot fine.

One thing I would like to warn about is that it does not upgrade very easily. Its unique asa needs an adapter to be ordered in off of the internet to fit an expansion chamber or regulator on it. If you plan on starting off with this gun, don't waste too much money on maintaining it or upgrading it, rather you should save for a better one. The Afterburner is the sort of gun that will indicate to you what style of play you should look for in a new gun.

IF YOU GET THIS MARKER* The first thing you should do is replace the striker spring immediately. It is perhaps the cheapest spring Brass Eagle could have possible put into this gun and a stiffer, longer one will help bring you velocity up to par with the other guns on the field.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun again if I was in the situation I was in a few months ago; that is, not knowing the difference between a vertical feed and a drop forward. Now that my skills have progressed, it would be a wiser investment to purchase a gun with accessories more readily available.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer2669 Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
triton 1 and 2
maruder
most brass eagle guns
Marker Setup: right now my current setup is a spyder imagine with a jj ceramic barrel,viewloader revolution with x-board hopper, 9oz,12oz,and 20oz co2 tanks.
i plain also to get a tippmann 98 custom next
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
bigger co2 tank
Strengths: accuracy
dependability
cheap
this is one of brass eagles greatest guns
Weaknesses: stock barrel
only semi-auto
Review: i used this with my friends in many paintball matches. this was my first gun and i found it worked well for a brass eagle marker. it was cheap to buy, i got it at wal-mart for 100$ and it came in a pack with a mask,9oz co2 tank,squeegee, electric viewloader quantum hopper,tools, and manual. it is a very good gun for the money!
Conclusion: it is a good first gun and it comes with almost all the stuff you need to go paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigsam0909 Friday, February 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle guns, they all suck.
Marker Setup: a spyder with remote line,16in barrel thats it i think.
Recommended
Upgrades:
shoot i recommend a butt load of things like a new barrel,new hopper,new triggering,maybe just a new marker will be good.
Strengths: Nothing........ what the price
Weaknesses: Humm....... everything like i said mabe just a new maker will be good.
Review: All in all this wus my first gun i had, and it wus good to me at first but when i started to know more and more about paintball and got my other gun i think its all that good. it wus one year ago when i got this gun i asked my mom for a gun and she got my this gun and i wus happy now i got this spyder im really happy like playing paintball even more now.
Conclusion: The barrel and hopper,the barrel why cuz if u try to shot stright the balls curve and the hopper you shot fast and u shot co2 and the balls break.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 2nd, 2007 at 10:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tman185 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Kingman rodeo
Marker Setup: I have the kingman rodeo. I have a 16 inch barrel for it and thats about it. I use co2 for it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a longer barrel and a sight to put on the side.
Strengths: field stripable, reliable, and doesnt waste co2
Weaknesses: not accurate needs longer barrel and chops alot of balls
Review: The afterburner is not a good marker. it is relaible but its not accurate at all; even with a longer barrel. it chops balls like crazy. you can not do rapid fire and i repeat you can not do rapid fire with this marker. if you do it will chop every ball fired. it does save co2 but that doesnt matter if u cant shoot any paint.
Conclusion: i will never get the afterburner again. it is one of the worst markers on the market. i like to go rapid fire sometimes but i couldnt do that with the afterburner. and its not a good sniping marker either.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pimppaintballer Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Brass eagle stock
20 oz
200 rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,expasion chamber
Strengths: Double finger trigger is the only thing that i think that is good on this.
Weaknesses: Bad aim shots like crap.I think barrel stinks.
Review: I think this marker stinks. I do not know why I gave up my spyder for it. It has busted over 20 balls. I clean it and everything. i don't know but it stinks. I recommend that you do not buy it. It is a waist to spend over 100 dollars. It might be just my opinion.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media