paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask

JT Spectra ProShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra ProShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra ProShield Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spectra ProShield system features the hard plastic Proshield mask, the original and most popular of the Spectra family. This system is designed for those who prefer the protection of a rigid mask. spectra goggle systems represent the most advanced family of modular protection available for the paintball industry. This premiere family goggle system offers 260 degrees of peripheral vision, superior fog elimination, comfort foam and a host of luxury extras, making your choices unlimited. The ProShield is the safest protection for any age or playing level.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra ProShield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
tigerpaws27 Wednesday, March 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor, Jt-Headshield
Marker Setup: B2k, j&j edge kit, q loader
Strengths: Does not fog, provides excellent protection.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart when cleaning.
Review: Easily the best purchase I have made so far. I got tired of my mask fogging, and having to spray lens cleaner on my mask after every few matches so my mask wouldn't fog. Once I got the thermal lens system fogging has completely stopped for me. I have been using this type of lens for over a year now and it has given me no problems what so ever. I've played in the rain, 90* weather, 30* weather, and not had any fogging at all.

The only problem that did come up was when getting hot, or raining very hard, sweat/water will run off the inside of your mask onto the lens, which I suspect would happen with every mask.

As for cleaning the mask, taking the lens out of the mask was quite a task. Prying and grunting were both required. I ended up taking a hobby knife and slitting the holes a little so the teeth would go in and come out more easily.

The mask provides excellent protection for me (i have a thin face), and does not cause my ears to ring or hurt my face when getting shot in the head.
Conclusion: This is an excellent mask. I know pro players who use it because it is so reliable. It never fogs. The mask is relatively cheap at around 30$. I'm giving it a nine because the lenses are so difficult to put in. I would definitely recommend.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 10:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

natty dread Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle piece of crap, vforce rental crap
Marker Setup: stock spyder rodeo green, 20oz. Pure Energy Co2 tank, 200 round loader, JT Spectra Pro Shield, WGP 2+1 Tactical harness
Strengths: Good ventilation, good padding, good lens.
Weaknesses: The part that covers the chin could be a little lower
Review: I love this mask. It gone above and beyond what I expected it to do. It offers a lot of protection and is easy to breath in. The removable viser is nice and it's easy to clean. The padding is confortable so your not scratching your forhead (key for me).
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good quality mask and don't wanna spend a lot of money this is the mask for you. I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BonusBall Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-ray
Marker Setup: EXT 2K3 PRO, evolution 2
Strengths: Very comfortable. Good field of vision. Great price.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is very, very comfortable with a great field of vision. I put a nicer set of goggles in their but this mask is great for the price it cant be beat. Great for any skill level. There is TONS of padding around the goggles and it just wraps around yourhead. It is so comfy and light you dont even know its there.
Conclusion: Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecrowdog Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various Scott masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
CP .689 14" ported barrel
BSA Red Dot sight
Rocket Cock II
ghillie cover
Strengths: Good lenses, difficult to fog.
Weaknesses: Wide profile, loose screws, chin protection, lenses too far from face, ear foam falls out
Review: Everything negative written on these boards was true. The side screws fall out, the ear foam falls out, you could land a jumbo jet on your chin, the chin strap sucks, the lens frame is so far from my face that the nose piece doesn't even touch me (I can stick a finger between my face and the foam), they are very wide (easily 4-6" wider than my Scott), and the ear/temple area is a no-win situation.

I am 5'11" and 155 pounds. It seems like the mask would work well if I were a LOT larger and had a chin like The Tick. Despite the incredible gaps in the foam, I could barely get the goggles to fog even when trying. I can't get the Spectra lens frame to fit any of my other face guards, so I'm out $40 unless I eBay it.
Conclusion: At least where I live, you can't go try on a goggle before buying it. That needs to change. If you're close to my size, I'd avoid this mask. If you're a very large person with a big head, it might work fine. Usually I try to read negative reviews (and perfect reviews) with a grain of salt but in this case, it turns out I should have bought something else.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

thedancingturd Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Strengths: Super easy to breath, the price, and it looks good.
Weaknesses: Gets hot, paint splatters in nose, and the chin strap annoys the crap outta you.
Review: This mask is good for beginners, its basically worth what you pay for it. I got mine for $40 off some store online. My favorite strengths are the price and that its easy to breath. We all know when we play woodball and we start struggling for air after a shooting with someone. The most annoying weakness is defenitly the chin strap, but i have mine tight so yeah, if you guys loosen it, itll be better (i want my mask to be secure)
Conclusion: I recommend this product since its got those good strengths that you look for in a mask but of course some people wont really like the weaknesses too much
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe238 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap field masks
Marker Setup: Intimidator "Z"
Crossfire 70/4500 peanut nitro tank
RMR Intimidator Lockdown Cap
RMR Intimidator Ramrod
Halo B w/ Rip Drive hopper
Strengths: Very high resistance to fogging
Inexpensive
Durable
Excellent Customer Support
Weaknesses: Holding bolts for mask may work loose after months of play
Review: I have had my mask for almost 3 years and have had very good experieces with it. It has never fogged up on me. It has had some condensation build up under extreme humid conditions (like during a heavy rainstorm), but I was still able to see. I have had friends with other "thermal lens" masks that were fogging up on them all the time, and one of them actually had to call themselves out because of it.

The only slight problem I have had is the lower bolts working loose after almost 2 years of play. Since I lost the bolt, I called JT up and they are sending me some at no charge. They recommended that I use locktite to keep them from loosening up. They said they don't locktite them so that players can upgrade the mask bottoms if necessary. Their customer service is superb.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this product. I have had no trouble with fogging at all. If you want to bring some fresh air into the mask, I'd suggest upgrading the mask with the fan that you can install into it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 2nd, 2004 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilmafia3613 Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE invision-(pretty good) PMI XRAY-(SUX) Alot of diffrent masks...
Marker Setup: Tippy 98 custom wit psycho ballistics double trigga, empire 4 piece barrel kit, custom paint job. Also Smart Parts Impulse with blade trigger, evo2, tapeworm, etc.
Strengths: Low profile, light, good field vision, anti-fog, comfortable.
Weaknesses: some times fogs, kinda hard to clean....
Review: This mask overall is great. I keep hearing rumors that Brass Eagle owns JT but i dont bielieve it. Brass Eagle abosolutely sucks.....They have no good guns, paint, etc...There products just suck so how could it be possible for them to come out with good products....It just isnt,,,thats impossible. This mask first off has great field vision. You can see 260 degrees around the field at all times. Thats more then the invisions. Also this mask is very clear when clean. Everything is very crisp. Also its very low profile. The more less of a target you are then the harder you are to get shot...Its shape and design is very small and compact giving you the maximum protection in a small mask which is great for everyone. COMFORTABILITY-man this mask is so comfortable. The invisions arent as comfortable as this mask in my opinion. They have about 10 diffrent pads all around the mask adding assured safety and comfortability at the same time. But then theres the anti-fog. We all know that when masks fog up it sucks. You cant see 5 feet in front of you and you start to get intimidated. Thats where the anti-fog kicks in...well sometimes doesnt see the flipside is....This mask usually won't fog on you but if you get shot in the mask and clean it it will get foggy for a lil buit.....you jus have to keep wiping it also if you bring out of a really cold place to a really warm place then it tends to fog alot.
Conclusion: Overall this mask is great, dispite the anti-fog problems...I love using this mask...Its one of the best masks that i ever played with...It almost makes me more confident with my game assuring me that i will see everything and everyone. I,m sure JT will soon fix the fog problem so i,m not worried about it they are constantly coming out with new designs and products. Keep up the good work JT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris in va Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Smith
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5 cocker
Spyder Xtra
Strengths: Somewhat inexpensive, great field of view, comfortable, doesn't fog
Weaknesses: Could use more chin coverage, somewhat wide, minicell foam ear pads dig into temples
Review: I knew right away renting equipment just wasn't going to work. A local sporting goods store (D**ks, can't use the name in here??) had this mask for $45 (cheaper online, but oh well) and the thermal lens sounded like a great idea as most ski goggles have this.

This mask just works good. No complaints really. The 270 degree visibility is fantastic. I was out in 30 degree temps last weekend and didn't fog at all. Nice visor too.

I did have to cut the ear foam at an angle so it wouldn't dig into my temples. No big deal, but something JT could tweak a little. There's nothing else on the mask that is uncomfortable, and you can tell they did their homework on the design. I've tried on $90 masks that weren't nearly as comfy.

The plastic is not very flexible, so plan on having the paint spat instead of bouncing.

UPDATE 2/10: Had this mask out every weekend for 3 months now. Only once did it fog a little, and that was due to running around a LOT in the woods with the foam sucking up the sweat. I recommend getting some sort of headband to keep that from happening. Otherwise totally fog free. Just don't spray anything inside the lens. One thing though, and this may just be normal wear, but the lens is getting progressively more scratched. Goggle hits really do a number on the plastic. It's OK for now but a couple more months and I'll have to get another $20 lens.

Conclusion: I really like it! I don't plan on having to upgrade any time soon. If you just play in the woods or rec ball, this is just fine. No need for an expensive mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2004 at 10:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannluvr Thursday, January 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
raven goggle system, rentals
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ e-grip, double trigger, 12' carbon fiber barrel, bottom line adapter, and pmi drop forward, and runs of comp. air.
Strengths: Comfortable, light, manueverable.
Weaknesses: none that I can see yet.
Review: I just got these not that long ago. It is really a good mask. The only thing that could be better is the proflex mask. Those are alittle pricey though. This mask is flexible though, and I put a yellow tinted lense in mine, and it helps for the coolness look. It hasn't fogged on me yet and they are easy and simple to clean. They can only use water for the outside lense or special jt goggle cleaner. The inside of the lense shouldn't be messed with at all. It has a detachable visor, and chin strap. It is a very technological mask.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a very good mask then get this one, for 3 reasons, inexpensive, comfortable, and foggless.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Forest Spyder Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* Head Case
Spectra Proshield
Flex 7
Strengths: -Huge field of vision
-Low profile
-Hard Plastic Construction
Weaknesses: -Thermal Lense needs to be more durable
-Extremely difficult to replace lense
Review: Coming from a cheaper mask, that uses the older Elite lenses, it was a HUGE difference. With the older ones I had no prerephrial vision, which I did not realize before putting on this mask. It's a huge difference, and to be honest, because the lense is larger, there is more surface area for the mask to put pressure on your face, no more raccon-face.

Be careful with the inner lense. I had a thermal lense that had a crack, and moisture built up inbetween the anit-fog layer and the outside lense. It was terrible, I couldn't see anything. So, basically, don't touch the inside area, under normal circumstances you shouldn't have to. If you get paint shell or something in it, just take a q-tip or LIGHTLY remove the paint with your fingers while avoiding touching the inner lense, or just use a paper towl and dab at it.

About Installing: It's going to be hard to to. Do yourself a favor and take the mask COMPLETELY apart, untill all you have is the goggle frame, pop in the lense, then attach the pieces again.
Conclusion: It's a great mask with wonderful vision. I loved the lense so much that I went out and got a Flex-7, which only improves upon the comfort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2004 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media