paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask / JT Spectra ProShield Mask

JT Spectra ProShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra ProShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra ProShield Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spectra ProShield system features the hard plastic Proshield mask, the original and most popular of the Spectra family. This system is designed for those who prefer the protection of a rigid mask. spectra goggle systems represent the most advanced family of modular protection available for the paintball industry. This premiere family goggle system offers 260 degrees of peripheral vision, superior fog elimination, comfort foam and a host of luxury extras, making your choices unlimited. The ProShield is the safest protection for any age or playing level.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra ProShield Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
degrafex Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other JT Masks, Scott Masks, Brass Eagle crap...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, Ricochet AK loader, 72ci 3000psi Pure Energy, JJ Ceramic, BT Apex
Strengths: Still looks great even though old, functional visor, no fog.
Weaknesses: My strap doesn't always stay tight
Review: I bought this mask about 5 or 6 years ago after getting tired of the amazingly cheap and crappy Brass Eagle ones that they sold at walmart back then. Now 6 years later, i still have it and it's as good as the day i bought it. Protects well from head shots all around, and has a great field of vision. The visor works great in reducing glare off of your shield that is so visible when you play woodsball. But the 2 biggest selling points of it are the shield and price. The thermal lense is amazing, i have never once fogged since i've owned it. I was actually shooting at my brother and watched him duck behind a tree to take his mask off to wipe the fog out... i couldnt believe he was actually fogging up since i never have. Also, the price is great. i paid like 65 back in the day, but have seen it for 45 nowadays
Conclusion: Definately reccomend, great product that doesnt fog. give it a 9 b/c nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbagent Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVADER
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, ACP Delrin bolt & pin, Evil Driver, Endo Cradle, Smart Parts on/off, dyed blue grips
Strengths: Great field of view, comfortable, lots of options for the lens
Weaknesses: Visor could provide more protection, difficult to swap lens out
Review: I played with a JT Spectra Proshield mask for the last two years. At the end of last year, the inside "lens" started to crack. When I get a lot of paint on my mask, I take the lens out to clean the whole mask well. Taking the lens out and putting it back in can be a bit of a chore, and I think that is where some of the cracking came from.

The chin strap is a nice added feature, and the foam around the lens is very comfortable. I think my mask used to have foam back near the ear covers, but it fell off long ago. I have not missed it.

The field of view on this mask is great. One nice thing about the Spectra mask is that you can get almost any lens you want for it. Tints in a variety of colors, fades etc. Prices for the replacement lens are anywhere from $15.00 to $35.00 depending on what you want.

There first thing I do not like about the mask is that the visor does not provide much protection for the top of your head, and it does not block the sun very well. I am considering getting a faded lens to help with the sun.

The only other thing I do not like is that the profile is kind of wide, and it seems to leave my neck exposed a little more than I would like.

I do wear glasses, and have had no problems wearing glasses with this mask.

Overall, it has been a great mask!
Conclusion: This is a good mask for the price, which is in the middle of the pack. It should last a long time for you, and you should always be able to find a replacement lens for it.

Aside from the difficulty of changing the lens, I wish the visor covered a little more of the front of the head. I have only taken two good hits to the head right above the visor, but I definitely remember them.

Great mask for somebody who wants to upgrade from a starter mask or a first purchase for somebody with a decent (but not huge) budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 9:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

timthedrummer Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy rental mask
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
PMI 72/3000
Ricochet Apache
Strengths: NO FOG!!!
durable
stays on your face
Weaknesses: Wide profile
Sits far from your chin
Review: I got an olive colored version of these goggles (works great with camo) and I love them!!! They do have a wide profile, however, and i lost the foam pieces that came with it to put by my ears, so it starts to hurt my ears after a while. But they do have a great field of vision. The olive is also fairly dark, unlike it shows it in the pictures. The accessories that are also available with this mask are great, like the sport-comm system and the colored lenses. THEY WILL NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES FOG!!! you can breathe as hard as you want, and they will not fog. Nothing will make this mask fog up. Nothing. End of story.

Edit- I have been into paintball more, and I have started to notice how wide this mask really is. It is hard to snapshoot around bunkers, and the nose/mouth/chin protector part of the mask is a distance of about three fingers (side by side) from your chin. For speedball, this is not a good mask, size really doesn't matter in woodsball, but I play speedball, and low profile is key for a frontman (such as myself).
Conclusion: Get it for woodsball, don't get it for speedball. A good, inexpensive speedball mask would be the VForce Vantage thermal goggles ($24.99 on actionvillage.com).
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imhotep29897 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proflex (same thing, only with the flex part)
Proteus (nice, but i like my proflex better)
Proto Switch (nice mask)
Crappy starter masks
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2
Rocket valve
Assault block
Dye mini gauge
Shocktech regulator
WGP black magic drop forward
Viewloader revolution w/ x-board
Crossfire 45/4500
Empire 4pc Barrel kit
NDZ on/off
EVX2 trigger frame
Strengths: Foam
Spectra Lense
Feel
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was the first mask i ever used playing paintball. I got it at the same time as my gun and everything else. This is a great mask, it has never fogged on me in the 2 years ive had it.I can't really say anything else about it besides it feels great and works great.The only thing that can be annoying is the lense changing, but once you get good at it and figure it out it only takes about 5 minutes to change.
Conclusion: Good mask, has held up for 2 years, and is cheap ($35)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ContraPaintball Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nfire (bout the same, a little better)
Marker Setup: Stock E-force GTI with 32 DEGREES black drop-forward
Strengths: has a stiff bottom(part that covers mouth)
Polarised (NICE for sunny days)
Ear profection
Weaknesses: Polarisation weak (sorta)
Coarse foam around lens
Review: I must say that if you are going to get a mask spend the extra $10-$20 for a n-fire or nvader or nforcer, this is their bottom of the line mask (or very close) It does have plarisation on the lenses, and ear cover. On the first time i playeed i got compkletely lit up, and the polarisation completely disapered, then the mask was useless, and since i didnt want to pay 15 $$$ for a replacement mask i just bought a n-fire. The padding around the lens was very stiff, and it took aobut 5 hours of 85 degree weather in full army camo and this mask(which doesnt have very good ventilation but still doesnt fog up) to soften.
Conclusion: I would recomend not getting this mask unless it is a replacement, i would recomend this mask if you are NOT playing outdoor paintball, indoor is fine.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

silentmercenary Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
older jt masks and jt headshield(rental)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c,remote line,20oz co2,Dye Boomstick,Response trigger,Double trigger,ADCO Sure Shot sight,
Strengths: -Doesn't fog
-Lightwieght
-Comfortable
-Looks good
Weaknesses: -Plastic is hard
-Lens is hard to remove\install
Review: I thought this mask was great. I bought mine at i&i sports 4 $40.00. I have used this mask quite a few times and has never failed me.The looks are good,very comfortable,doesnt fog,and very lightwieght. Overall i thought this mask was KICKA**. This mask is very "SEXY". HAHAHA
Conclusion: I think that if you are looking for a quality mask for a great price buy this one.I give this a nine because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tdawgsd Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals and my vforce kit mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98
14 in J&J ceramic barrel
Empire Reloader
Strengths: fits well
WIDE field of view
cant feel when you get hit
chin strap
Weaknesses: Have to be a rocket scientist to take lens out!!!
could see myself in lens
Review: This mask protects very well and the 260 degree view is very nice. Doesn't shift when you run or look around corners. Isnt that hot and it fits nice the pads are comfortable.
The only real big complaint i think from anyone that owns this mask is the trying to remove the lens,its a pain in the you know what.I think this is JT's only downfall. Oh and the fact i could see my own face on the inside of the lens,but once you start playin the adrenaline kicks in and you don't even notice. No fogging issues
Conclusion: You know this is a very good mask for the price 30-35 bucks cant go wrong overall performance is good didn't even know i was wearin it sometimes. I suggest if your on a budget and want a good mask you clicked on the right one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 8:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arcticwalrus008 Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVADER
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ Empire Electric Hopper
Strengths: light, flawless anti-fog, comfortable
Weaknesses: if you're freaked out about getting nailed, it doesn't cover that much
Review: My gun doesn't have a lot of range, so i do a LOT of running. My main problem with the nVADER was that it kept slipping and distorting my vision. The ProShield has a really snug fit while still being quite comfortable. It also has a really wide field of view. It's a great mask and i intend to use it until it breaks or just completely wears out.
Conclusion: You don't need anything better. Great mask that won't ever let you down. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jered McGrath Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT has no competition!
Marker Setup: MAG// 68 Nitro duck - remote and or drop forward w/gauges set up for both//16" armson stealth & 10" taso ss//expan chamber // Micro Lines// quick disconect // Halo TSA hopper//JT spec ani-fog lense w/fan//. Set up for nitro or co2 if needed.
Strengths: Anti fog, accessories, interchangable
Weaknesses: The best always comes at a price.
Review: Great mask that will never fog if you treat it with care. use a little lens cleaner, and you are set. They come at a price since they are the best, but look on ebay to find a good deal. I have used Jt's in the past and never had a problem with them, nor has anyone I know. I would say the you mask is the single most important thing to invest in in paintball. If you cant see then your 1500 dollar gun is pretty worthless.
Conclusion: I would recommend anyone and every one to spend the money to buy a JT. If you have glasses definitely get a JT with a fan, and you will love paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skumhalf Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Masks (PMI X-Ray I think they were)
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder E-99
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Wide field of vision
-Doesn't fog
Weaknesses: -Could be smaller, but it still doesn't have a huge profile
Review: This mask has everything I'm looking for in a mask, the foam around the lens is very soft, so it's very comfortable, it has a very wide field of vision, so you can see everything, and it doesn't fog at all, so you don't need to worry about not being able to see during a game. The profile is a little bit bigger than I was expecting, but it is not huge, plus I'm not a tourney player, so I don't need the smallest mask out there, just one to protect me.
Conclusion: Great mask, comfortable, good field of vision, no fogging, and good protection, it has everything you need in a mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media