paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BSA Optics

Buy BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
11-position click rheostat control knob.
Matte Black Anodized finish.
5 MOA size red dot.
Light-Weight & Compact Size.
Affordable price
Product Availability 
The BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ebegoli Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month38 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle
Various military scopes and sights, including red dots
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco BigShot 8"
BSA Red Dot 30 38
Strengths: Robust, LARGE field of view, brightness dial, Look and feel match for A-5
Weaknesses: Barely fits on Tippmann A-5
Review: Wow, wow, wow! I can not believe this thing. It took me a while to calibrate it for my A-5 for 90ft distance, but once I did it I could not miss with it any more.

Let me tell you couple of things about this product:

- It is a really good value for the money. I got BSA Red Dot 30mm, 3/8 mount from sportsman guide for 37 (includes shipping). This seems to be the best price anywhere around. Also, this seems to be the only place to sell BSA with 3/8 mount (you got to the get 3/8). Also, since this is a multipurpose red dot you can sell it tomorrow to a hunter, and get some money back.

- People say you can not aim in paintball. That is bull. Of course you can. Better you aim, more chances you have. But you need to be able to acquire, aim and shot fast - and that is where Red Dot will help you. If you had any Close Quarters experience you will know how to appreciate this device. If you just like to shoot strings of paint than you may not need to bother... (See web dog radio for what can be done with red dot)

-This red dot has a very large field of view (30 mm) for the price. It will let you keep the both eyes open, move slightly and still acquire and shoot the target. You got to practice how to keep your marker in front of your eyes all the time. As soon as you get that - you'll be lethal.

-Finally, BSA and A-5 look scary good together. It barely fits on the A-5, but once it is there it looks terrific. (I would not recommend buying this thing just for looks)
Conclusion: Buy it if:

Know (or plan to learn) how to acquire, aim and shoot fast.

Want to play one shot, one kill at up to 100 ft distances. I did not try it for longer distances, I do not have a marker set up for that, and I am not really a camper but if your marker can accurately shoot beyond 100 ft this thing will help you get them. I would be curious to try A-5 flatline with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 17th, 2003 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

MscPaint-Sniper Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
There are none like it.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus (powerfeed), 32 Degrees 14" Whisper barrel, 20 oz. Pure Energy Co2 Tank (plus butt plate), VL 200 Hopper, BSA Red Dot Scope, and PMI X-Ray Mask.
Strengths: This make your gun 10x more accurate than looking down the barrel
Weaknesses: None
Review: I will guarantee that if you get this sight, you will not regret it, because when in tournaments while all your oppents are looking down there barrels, having 99% chance of missing you on their first shots, you just have to put the litle red dot on them and 90% of the time you will hit them. I would have to say that with this tool 95% of the time you will be able to hit them before they can hit you.
Conclusion: This is an awsome upgrade, for both close and farther combat, and I highly suggest getting this for your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silvering Clay Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, spray and pray, looking down the barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2k 2in1 Java Ed. w/: CMI 4 stage expansion chamber, CMI Thunder Pig 16" and 21" Rifled Barrels, BSA 30mm Red Dot Sight, PMI Gas Through Stock, 32° Venturi Bolt and Spring kit, ACI 3k PSI Remote, and 20 oz. CO2
Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: I have only used this with my 16" barrel, but the results were staggering none the less.

I would not recomend this unless you have some sort of joy for taking people out from a distance.
It took me about 5 minutes to get it calibrated, one turn of the elevation dial, after that I could hit something the size of a baseball or smaller onthe first shot up to about 50 feet, give or take. After that depending on how far you are away you can normally hit what you want on the second round fired. The first round will be maybe 2" off and all you have to do is ajust depending on drop and wind and dead on accurate again. Makes shooting through thick bushes very easy because you can just put the dot between 2 sticks and you will make it through every time (or maybe 2 shots later). Makes any gun more accurate garunteed. Get this Sight.

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/ You can get this sight for a 3/8" dovetail mount for WAY below retail.

Strengths:

Not too heavy
11 different intensity settings
Very Accurate
Looks good
Does not throw ballance of your gun off
Very easy to calibrate
Can be cheep if you go to the right place (see review)

Weaknesses:

Lense caps can be loose (can fix with a little tape on the inside of cap)
nothing elce
Conclusion: Get the 3/8" version and you will not regret it.
Also dont bother if you have a vertical feed. (You would get a great view of your feed tube.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Robotech Friday, July 9th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Laseraim Illusion
Marker Setup: Warsensor WS66 Elite
Strengths: Price
Optic size
Easy to mount
Durable
Weaknesses: Absolutely useless in bright sunlight
Review: I got the BSA at my local Walmart for $30. For the price it is pretty decent. I tried it and it seemed to work fairly well. It was easy to sight in and mounted to the weaver rails well. In low light conditions, the unit functioned well and the 30mm optic made it pretty easy to pick up when you could see the dot.

Then I used it during the day. Once you were in bright sunlight, the dot was washed out. You had to really look hard and be looking at a dark background to pick it up. Once you did, you had to focus on the dot to keep it in your vision when trying to put it on target. It was horrble. Even with a new battery it was no better. If you sighted at a wooden bunker you lost it completly.

I picked up a Laseraim Illusion the other day. These are discontinued but you can find used ones on the net. When I compared it to the BSA, the Illusion was by far the superior optic. Smaller in diameter than the BSA (it mounts using standard 1" weaver scope rings) the Illusion has far brighter dot. In bright sunlight I compared the two and with both units turned up all the way (11 adjustments on the BSA and 7 on the Illusion), the BSA washed out against a mint green wall...the Illusion was very easy to pick up...almost the same brightness as a laser at dusk. With the Illusion set at 2 it was just a bit brighter than the BSA set at 11. Best of all, you can find these sights for $70 on the web. Well worth the extra $40.
Conclusion: Even though the BSA looks good and is very cheap, you are getting what you pay for. If you really plan on using a red dot, don't spend your money on the BSA. Go to your local gun shop and look at what they have to offer. Chances are while you may pay more, you'll get a sight that works in all lighting conditions. If you have to have a red dot though and all you have around you is a WalMart (or only play in the woods where the light is not so bright because of the canopy) then the BSA may work for you. The only reason I gave this sight anything other than a 1 is because of price, optic size, and the fact that in low light conditions, it will work.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts progressive, JCS trigger/Egrip, tapco SAW stock, BSA Red dot mounted on Lapco Offset sight rail, Scepter grenade launcher, Opsgear SIG magazine, Allen paintball remote, Flurry Vest. Female Palmers Stab....

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: Mounts easily to my A-5, will make the first shot count.
Weaknesses: Difficult to keep clean
Review: The BSA mounted quickly and easily to my A-5 and and took only minutes to get calibrated. This has proven to be a very nice addition to my woodsball setup, being both functional and durable as well. Once setup, you will find that the horizontal accuracy is quite impressive in low/no wind situations. Contrary to what some have said you can "aim" a paintball. I have found this useful when the first shot needs to count. For example, when set up in a concealed location (ambush) the BSA makes it quite east to mark your targer on the first shot. I realize that if you are shooting 14 billion balls per second this is of no concern to you, but those of us that do not "spray and prey" have to actually aim! Once into a firefight I personally do not use the sight much as it is difficult to use while running,diving, ect... but for the times when you need that extra edge in accuracy you will find the Red Dot very useful. A-5 owners should note that you sill either need an offset sight rail or an offset hopper as Inow use or about 1/3 of the sights field of vision will be obscured. Also, be aware that this is a sight and not a scope as it does not magnify objects in view.

The only difficulties I have encountered are that is it hard to keep clean. A toothbrush orsimilar will be required to completely clean all the paint/dirt from the BSA.

Battery life and durability have been excellent. My BSA has been through the toughest scenario games and has held up perfectly. It is very easy on batteries as I have only changed the battery twice in 2 years.

Overall I have been quite pleased witht he performance of the BSA. It's a nice sight that is also easy on the pocketbook.
Conclusion: Woodsball players looking to add another tool to your arsenal, get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I ges the iron sights...
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
200 ball hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
BSA RD30CP red dot scope
Strengths: Go to review body
Weaknesses: Go to review body
Review: STRENGTHS
big scope for wide veiw on the field
u can adjust the britness
i got it for a good deal (MRSP 70$....walmart 30$)
its black
easy to put on a tippmann 98c
easy to take off when cleaning
looks great on the gun

WEAKNESSES
its hard to put it on a rail because your hooper will always be in the way
your original iron sights are in the way if you dont have the rail ( i sugest get rid of the plastic part for easyer aiming)
basicly no matter what you will have a problem with one of those 2 things



ok well, i come from quebec and there isnt to much in the way of hunting scopes so when i went to new york for a camping trip, we stoped off at the local wal-mart to see what the had. and let me tell u, its alot more then canada has . i took this scope cause it was cheap and looked ok.as soon as i got back from camping, i rushed to my room to put it on and i was more happy then i expected! it looked good and it worked well in the daytime. the only problem is it isnt a real gun....so you have to spend some time adjusting the scope to work acuratly at 50-120 feet.
Conclusion: I was expecting a good scope but i got somethign better then i hoped. the only things that were bad about it were things you can live with. so i ges this scope is almost perfect in everyway. i dont think it deserves a 9..but i think 10 is to high so ill put ten cause it just looks so cool and its easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR_DR_PEP Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy Point Site?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline / 14" werks barrel
x-chamber
Tactical Saw Stock
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Out of the box, it fits on my a-5 perfect... everyone say's that it doesn't mount on the 3/8" dovetail, and their right; however, it does fit around the body of the a-5 mount. I was a little upset at first that I couldn't mount it, but then I opened the screws all the way and it mounts perfect around the sight rail (outside part). People should experiment before coming to conclusions... :)

I took off the a-5 rotator site on the back and slide the site all the way to the rear of the gun and the hopper just misses front lense. This allows me to take the hopper off properly if need be.

The only weakness I see with the site is the laser adjustment. I wanted to adjust it for farther distances and it is a precison adjustment for rifles.
Conclusion: I like it! I give it a 9 because of the adjustment
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Monday, December 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy point sight
Mark IV
Standard Scope
Marker Setup: MR1 with a j&j ceramic
Still running CO2 as of this date
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Adjustments
Review: First, I would like to preface this by saying that most everyone knows that markers have a finite range and that the markers also do not have the accuracy of a true fire arm. While I am sure that some markers are more accurate/consistent than others I am in no way judging this sighting device by the limitations of my marker or paint. I also find that in a lot of situations I will abandon using the scope and more or less "fire for effect". It does, however, give the marker that extra look that woodballers are into.

Key Strengths:

This baby is tough. I have taken some(I now have at least 3 direct hits to the front lens) direct hits to the front primary lens and have had no ill effects. The Scope is easy to use with brightness intensity from 0 to 11. I like the fact that you can go directly from 0 to 11. The dial is multi directional. The mounting screw are easy to use. A straight slot screw driver is all you need to tighten them down.

The price was right for this scope. I think that I paid about $30.00 for it at walmart.

Windage and elevation screws, as well as the battery compartment, are encased by metal caps and have O-rings to help keep moisture and paint out of the scope.

The 30mm rectacle is just about the perfect size. It is easy to keep both eyes open and let the red dot become part of your natural vision while firing the marker.

Key Weaknesses:

One of the only real weaknesses that I have found with this scope is that when I was adjusting the windage and elevation I had to turn the screws almost all the way out. I appeared to me that they had a small ball dent so when I turned them it make the "click, click, click" sounds. I had to turn the screws so far out that the ball dents were not hitting the "locks" that keep them from moving over time. This may have been just my scope. I have not looked at other scopes to check my theory. It kind of made me scared to adjust the scope any more than absolutely necessary. As it stands now the scope aims a little high and to the right (@50 feet it is about 6" in both directions). Other than this unique flaw I have found no other problems.... Unless you forget to turn it off ;) But that would be user error :)





Conclusion: I feel that this scope gives your marker that cool tactical look all the while giving you good form and function. It is well built and very sturdy. Other than my adjustment issues I have had no problems and it works great. I am going to give it an 8 just because of the issues that I have had...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 11th, 2008 at 1:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wildfire788 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Tippmann 98 Sights
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
BSA Red Dot Scope
20oz CO2
Strengths: Allows you to quickly/accurately aim at your target
Goes right on the 98 Custom
Weaknesses: If you take a hit and clean it off it could get scratched
Review: This red dot sight/scope is great. The dot is bright, and it makes your gun look more intimidating. It effectively allows me to quickly and accurately aim at my target. once you get it all set up to whatever range your going to want to use it at, this thing will be right on target. This is a great upgrade for your tactical marker. If you play scenarios or have a large hyperball field, this is a great addition to a 98 custom, A-5, Armotech, or anything you can mount a scope on. Plus, theres no way this thing will get shot off. On a downside if it takes a hit and you quickly try to wipe it off you might scratch it, but the advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.
Conclusion: If you have a Tippmann or Armotech WG gun, or play scenarios, this upgrade is sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Roddefig Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VSC Black Phantom, BSA Red Dot 30mm, T Stock.
Strengths: Easy to sight, adjust, better than looking down the barrel
Weaknesses: None.
Review: A really nice red dot sight for your gun, it was definitely worth the money I spent on it. Since you can adjust it, you can sight it in for many different ranges instead of having the fixed iron sights on your gun. The brightness adjustment is nice and the 30mm width keeps the target bright.

Revised: I got a comment that it doesn't get damaged with a direct hit. Since I've started using the sight, I've never had any problems with it. You can wipe it off during the game and it won't smear or scratch the lens. You can also hose off the sight after a game and it won't be damaged at all. While I haven't ever taken a hit to the lense I've gotten hit on the sides w/o any damage.
Conclusion: It's a really nice sight and you can easily adjust it to help you sight your gun in. It's also a lot easier to aim with and it looks really cool on your gun. It beats the hell out of other paintball sights, just because of the wide aperture and it's amazing durability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media