paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BSA Optics

Buy BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
11-position click rheostat control knob.
Matte Black Anodized finish.
5 MOA size red dot.
Light-Weight & Compact Size.
Affordable price
Product Availability 
The BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Barph Friday, March 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A5
Lapco Bigshot w/ Apex
CAR Stock
BSA 30mm RGB sight
Lapco Offset Rail attachment
BT Fixed Rail attachment
Strengths: Easy to set up and use
Works as described
Weaknesses: Fragile
Can't see with stock on without the use of attachments
Review: First and foremost: When I decided to buy this, I went to www.sportsmansguide.com like some other people have suggested. That is clearly where the best buy is and shipping was great. Do know that I believe that this model has been updated. It is now a RGB (red, green, blue) sight with 3 brightness settings for each color. I could not find the sight described above with just a red dot with 11 brightness settings. Other than that it's the exact same product. Is this a problem? No. Personally I couldn't care less about the other colors.

The good:
It's really cool looking! Attaching it to my A5 took about 10 minutes once I figured out how to do it. Sighting it in was very simple and fun. Personally, I think it helps my accuracy a lot, but I think it's mostly because I always liked to aim down the barrel. Not much else to say here... just a cool product.

The bad:
If you have a stock on your marker, BE WARNED! Unless your eyeballs are in your mouth, you wont be able to see this thing at all! To make a long story short, this is what I finally had to do: I purchased a BT fixed rail AND a Lapco offset rail. I mounted the BT rail first and then put the Lapco on top of it (you could do it the other way around to). Only after this point was I able to see the red dot with my CAR stock on while wearing a mask. After I had both of those accessories on, I just had to readjust the sight and it worked like a champ.

I couldn't help but worry about the lens and getting the sight shot and having to throw the thing away. Lets face it: this thing is going to be right in front of my face most of the time and has a pretty good chance of getting nailed! The manufacturers don't really take this into consideration either when they make these. These sights are made for firearms, not paintball. So I added a little bit of insurance to the rig just in case it took a direct hit.

I found an old cheap flashlight and removed the plastic lens. I filed down the lens to meet the size of the sight and mounted it to the front of the sight with some electrical tape. Unless you are 2 feet away, you cant even tell it's there. I'm also happy to report that looking through the sight is just as clear as before I mounted the lens to it. I would much rather go to Walmart and buy another $2 flashlight than have to replace the whole sight!
Conclusion: Helpful product to those who like some assistance with aiming. Adds a lot of style to your marker and some functionality but make sure you take some measurements and do your research before you just go out and get one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tsiphon Sunday, July 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Maybe just looking down the barrel.
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra w/ 14 inch CP classic, 16 oz Co2 w/ PMI remote line, in yo face offset sight rail w/ BSA 30 mm Red dot sight, q-loader on its way, CiP Sweet Spot Trigger, some cool squeegee leg holder, and a Spectra Flex-7 Olive Goggle system w/ new lens
Strengths: Durablility, looks, power of intensity 11, protective dial covers.
Weaknesses: Calibrating, vert. feed so I needed offset 3/8 to 3/8 sight rail,
Review: This is a well build sight. Have taken a few hits to the side but other than that it doesn't stick out or show that much, and I have a offset sight rail with this. Calibrating can be a pain, but you just have to get used to it. The protective coverings make it hard to just compensate for a sudden change in wind that persists. Defenatly for woodball, and i haven't tried in hyper or speed ball. Has a nice protective covering on the front to withstand a dead-on lens hit. For paintball at hunting websites have it for good price (3/8" rail, protective lens, durable).
Conclusion: If you want a nice looking red dot sight that won't fail on you due to damage, get the BSA Red Dot Sight. Its a nice addition and defenatly works in woodsball. If you have a consistant paint/barrel match then your paint *should* get to the dot every time, if not, learn to calibrate!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DŁµµŁN Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eagle fiberoptic sight
Marker Setup: Trracer
14" CMI Tru-Flight barrel
7Oz Co2
BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
Strengths: Great looking, great quality & great price
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Great looking, great working, easy to calibrate! Big vision 30mm lens. Brightness is fully adjustable in 11 settings on the red dot. Great looking durable "rubberised" coating. There's nothing to complain about! BUY ONE!!! You will not regret it! It's well worth the $45.00 I spent on it
Conclusion: This is the best red-dot sight for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 14th, 2003 at 8:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

royalblood Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: i use a victor, tippmann a-5 double finger trigger and a winchester.
Strengths: very very accurate
looks super cool!
Weaknesses: it might not work for all markers because it gets blocked by the hopper.
Review: I used to have this red dot on my delta air gun but now i figured out that it would fit on my winchester marker, this made my cheap marker way more expensive and more accurate.
I basically made a monster out of my cheap marker. You can make any gun greater more expensive and very cool looking by adding this BSA red dot. Now my gun does not
look empty it looks so clean. You can scare pros with this thing!
Conclusion: its very cofusing and frustrating to adjust it
its a greatcustamisation for your marker or air gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crosman - cheaper, lighter, not as good
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
-DF with 90 degree elbow and 25 round stickfeed
-BSA 30mm
-Rear ASA dropout changer, L-stock, m-16 grips

Sheridan PGP pre-2k1
- Polished with aluminum grips and pump

PMI Trracer Tagmaster
-Crosman red dot
- 18 round stick feed
-Phantom co2 quickchange

Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Brightness levels
Batteries required
Review: The BSA 30mm red dot sight is great. It lets me put paintballs right where I want them, and you don't need to readjust once you have it dialed in. The knobs are protected under metal caps.

It's really heavy compared to other sights, and puts alot of weight farther down on my arm when I use a stock.

The brightness levels are pretty weak until you hit 9-10-11. I think this is so you can dial it low for night use.

Conclusion: Easy to mount, easy to use, relatively cheap. If you don't mind a heavy sight that takes batteries, get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

floatch Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Iron sights!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with egrip, solid stock, palmer's stab, MP5 mag kit on palmer's, ACI remote, red-dot sight, etc.
Strengths: This thing is cheap and bright.
Weaknesses: No crash replacement policy.
Review: This thing was a pain to install and sight-in, but it was all completely worth it. I bought a JCS offset rail set to make it fit on my A5, but once it was on, it's rock solid. This sight rules. I love using it, and people get freaked out every time they see it.
Conclusion: I dig it, and if it ever breaks, I'll probably buy another one. I might buy one of the other brands that have a replacement policy though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

123cct Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye izon red dot
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 w/flatline ,collapsible stock, remote,and bsa 30mm red dot sight,e-grip, cnc machined front bolt, ez sling, palmer stablizer, and 14" pro team fx barrel with muzzle break ,hand guards, and m-16 front sight,20 oz. tank, double triggers for e grip and stock grip,barrel shroud for flatline, asr-1, dye izor red dot,14" lapco bigshot
Strengths: -high visibility dot
-you can shoot with both eyes open
-seems pretty rugged
Weaknesses: -battery
Review: I have used this sight to get several head shots form about 30 yards away, it can be sighted in if you have an accurate barrel. The best thing to do is to practice drawing up your weapon with a mask on as you would be doing in a game, but find the position where you can put your face into position with both eyes open and see the dot projected in front of you. This will help you with fast target acquisition for snap shooting, and leading a moving target, but also protect your front lense. Because if you get used to shooting like this you will not need to look through the scope therefore when you play you can leave the front lense cover on. This will protect the lense from direct hits and getting covered in paint splatter. Also if you are using this sight on a tippmann a-5 you can use the hopper to pin the lense cover in place so it won't fall off during movement. If you are like me I have spent a lot of money on my gun and any little thing that I can do to protect my investment i will. Try it first , If you don't to take my advice on the lense cover then you can still use the quick drawing aquisition tip that I have left. This tip might not be for everyone just try it and see if you like it. The best way to teach yourself the muscle memory of how to do this is colse one eye and once you have acquired the red dot open the other eye, keep doint this until you feel comfortable that you can do this with both eyes open on the run, in a game when the pressure is on,good luck.
Conclusion: get it this an awesome sight, don't forget to have some spare batteries with you in case you leave it on.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inferno2 Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing Compares
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with loads of goodies
Strengths: Nice Rubberized coating, 11 adjustable settings, nice and compact.
Weaknesses: none
Review: This Sight Rocks there really nothing to say other than that i mean if you get this sight you wont regret it because it rocks,but get it with the 3/8" sight rail for $30.00.Trust me this thing is great. blah blah blah had to do that to pass the minimum
Conclusion: The thing is great and for $30.00 you cant go wrong and it works great for woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 25th, 2004 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sniperthx Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My uncles model 98 (not custom) with a 4 power scope.
Marker Setup: Model 98c
10" DYE Excel
Collapsible Stock
20oz Anti-siphon tank
BSA 30mm red dot sight 5-MOA
Strengths: Easy to sight, quick accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: With the 30mm you can easily point and shoot. It works the same way a shotgun bead does. You put the dot on your target and fire. This thing can be bought in 42mm and 30mm objective lenses and can be bought for the 7/8" Weaver and the 3/8" Dovetial mounts. The 3/8" Dovetail is on any paintball gun with a standard sight rail. The Weaver is on the Flatline.
Conclusion: If you want to be able to aim at people easier, get this. It does not replace skill, and does not actually make your gun more accurate. But it is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robopez Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
uhh, i tested a scope at Walmart but i didn't like it
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, collapsible stock, remote
Strengths: works very well, less expensive than other dot sights in its class
Weaknesses: 'Weaver' style mounts (7/8"), not 'Dovetail' (3/8"), which all paintball guns have
Review: Okay, yes, the weakness is, you can't put this baby directly on your gun. The 7/8" weaver style mounts are too big for the 3/8" dovetail sight rail on your paintball gun, so you need to either buy an adapter at your local sporting goods store (Probably going to run you $10-$12), or you just need to get an ADCO Red Dot Sight instead. ANYWAY, once you get it mounted on your gun, this thing is wonderful. I paid only $30 for this at Walmart (the ADCO goes for atleast $50, although it will mount directly on your gun), but the dot is clear as day even in the brightest sunlight conditions. The red dot is much easier to see than a laser dot, and it is much easier to use than iron sights (or 'eyeballin' it, too). You don't have to line any two points up (as with iron sights), if you see a red dot on your target, you fire. It even works if the sights view is obstructed by your hopper, because you use your other eye to view the target, your sight eye to see the red dot, and your brain mixes the two images for you.
Conclusion: If you can get a good price on the ADCO, just get that one since it is compatable with your paintball gun right out of the box. If you dont mind getting a $10 accessory for a $30 sight, then the BSA Red Dot will do you just fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media