paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BSA Optics

Buy BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
11-position click rheostat control knob.
Matte Black Anodized finish.
5 MOA size red dot.
Light-Weight & Compact Size.
Affordable price
Product Availability 
The BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jenius Friday, August 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: It looks totally sweet (tactical), works flawlessly...
Weaknesses: A little tough to see sometimes in sunlight...
Review: If your looking for a red dot for your A-5, the 30mm BSA is AWESOME... for looks or use (without a stock). Its totally cheap and it looks sweet on a a-5 with flatline, stock or whatever.... the only drawback is if you HAVE a stock in the back, you cant use it because with your mask on, you cant get your head over enough to look through it, but id still get it anyway cause it looks cool. =D
Conclusion: Its only 30 bux, and if your looking to upgrade the looks of your gun, this is perfect,,, especially for the a-5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 14th, 2004 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gslstar Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 R/T Flatline
Strengths: Very nicely made, Solid Construction.
Weaknesses: the battery type isn't printed anywhere Type" CR 2032
Review: I found mine for thirty dollars online,just search with your favorite search engine. It really easy to use, You don't have to close one eye to use, You can look ahead and the red dot is right there. Easy to adjust left and right and up and down. Has caps to kep out the dirt. All around nice product .
Conclusion: Recomended!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zephyr_99 Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Adco Hot Shot
Stock paintball gun "open sights"
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
TOC Express Sling
ViewLoader 12V Revolution Hopper
Crossfire 45/4500 HPA
BSA 30mm Red Dot Scope
Strengths: Compact
Accurate
Makes you more stealthy
11 brightness settings
Weaknesses: Can be hard to get used to (see review).
Review: Product being reviewed is the BSA 30mm Red Dot Scope, Model # RD30CP.

If you play woodsball, scenarios or love the MILSIM look, you should look into getting this scope. If you want to join the ranks of those that don't subscribe to the "walking the paint, spray and pray or ropes of paint" crowd, think about getting this scope. It will help you make your shots count, keep your position hidden and save you money on paint.

Although there is no "One shot, One kill" in paintball, this along with a barrel kit properly sized to the paint your using, this will get you close! I installed the BSA 30mm Red Dot on my BT-4 Assault and went out to practice. Using RPS Big Ball and the stock Combat barrel, I was able to put up a grouping of ten shots inside of a 6" by 6" square at approx. 50 feet. To put that into prospective, that's the size of a Music CD, or the average person is roughly 10 to 12 inches wide. Which means you should (unless you get a "wild ball") be able to hand out head shots with almost every shot, even at close to 100 feet. With that being said, you must sight it in just like any other scope for it to be accurate.

One of the best features is the 11 position brightness dial. At dusk and low light visibility times the 1 through 3 settings are great and in full sunlight, turned up to 9 through 11 gives you a very easily seen dot. The BSA 30mm Scope uses one 3V CR2032 lithium battery (watch battery) which is commonly carried in many stores.

If you decide to use a Red Dot scope in paintball, you should also look into getting or making an off-set rail to mount your scope on. In paintball we have to wear masks which will keep you from sighting down your paintball marker like you would a normal firearm.
Conclusion: The BSA 30mm Red Dot is a great addition to any MILSIM or scenario paintball marker.
If you play speedball, this is not so much for you, but could improve your game as well.

I paid $29.95 for mine and know I will save much more than that in paint, well worth the money! Solid product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballkidB Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, BSA 30mm Red Dot sight
Strengths: Very affordable, easy to use, durable
Weaknesses: Eats up battery life, no zoom
Review: I bought this for my Tac-5 and until the gun broke down it worked great. I even hit one of my friends from way more than 50 feet away. It is sooo accurate. Then I put it on my Xtra and it still worked great. I already said there was no zoom but you don't really need it.
Conclusion: Improve your accuracy, GET THIS SIGHT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Baumy Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None except the regular sights on my Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
PMI Razor 14" Barrel
Polished Internals
Collaspible Stock
Should strap
Strengths: Adjustable Brightness
Strong
Sturdy
Fits on 3/8 and 7/8
Weaknesses: Might break with direct hit to lens
Review: The second I picked this sight up, I knew that it was sturdy and strong. It fits on a 3/8 and a 7/8 rail. The red dot is easily seen in any time of day because it has an adjustable brightness dot. The only weakness I can think of but hasn't happened is that it could break the lens if hit directly with a paintball.
Conclusion: Buy it. It is a good investment for a sight and is sturdy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tasco 30mm -- Only fit Weaver.
Adco Sureshot -- Too small to use with my stock.
Marker Setup: -- Tippmann 98 Custom

-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- BT Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- Shocktech Medium Drop Forward
-- 3 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tanks
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: I used Tasco 30mm on the rail on my 98 Custom, but then I got a stock and a raised-rail and it wouldn't fit. So I bought this from Special Ops Paintball and it's primarily the same thing - but it fits the 3/8' rail.

#############################

Rating System (Seen In Conclusion)
--------------------------------------------------
Each " * " is one point added to the rating.
Each " ^ " is one point subtracted from the rating.

The ratings for certain aspects ARE NOT out of any specific number, it's just dictates how much quality is in that area. Adding the " * "'s up then subtract the amount of " ^ "'s from the total amount is how I come to the rating. The less attributes, the more " * "'s are used, just a different ratio. Confused yet?

########

Strengths
--------------
+ Decent price (about $45.00 Canadian).
+ Looks sleek.
+ Good quality.
+ 11 Brightness settings.
+ Decent battery life.
+ With the 30mm lense you can keep both eyes open so you won't get tunnel-vision as easily.

###########

Weaknesses
-------------------
- Unless you have an offset rail the dot may be partially on the hopper.
- Can be difficult to sight it if you dont have a dime or something (not a big deal.. I've used a flat rock before lol).

######

Overall
----------
This red-dot is a good quality, at an affordable price. I think it looks pretty cool, better than some of the other red-dots. The brightness settings on it are nice, but you don't need them all. If it's really dark out, you can get away with this set at about 2, and if it's a bright sunny day, 8 will work fine. But it is good to have the other ones. I've had this particular brand for nearly a month now and the battery hasn't died yet. It's also nice that you can keep both eyes open, because you don't need to dedicate as much effort in keeping one eye closed and trying to see the dot and a target. The 30mm lense also allows for easy snap shooting.

I do find, however, that the dot is kind of scraping the bottom of my hopper, so your hopper may block some of your view. Sighting it isn't too much of a problem, but unless you have a flat screwdriver, some change, or something thin and solid to twist it with you might have a problem. Still - best red-dot I've used, go buy it.
Conclusion: Accuracy -- **
Design -- **
Functionality --**
Looks -- **
Price -- **
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas Catlin Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy Electronic Sight - Bad internal wiring, but it was cheap and old so...
Crossman Red Dot - Good all around site, but dim red dot needs to be enlarged.
Adco Imp - Waste of $16. What a cheap piece of crap! Won't secure on mounting rail.
Marker Setup: Powerfeed Automag w/ raised 3/8" dovetail mount
Strengths: Strong Aluminum Construction
Adjustable Red Dot Brightness
Large FOV
Relatively Cheap
Somewhat Waterproof
Weaknesses: Too dim
Doesn't fit standard 3/8" dovetail mount
Review: The BSA 30mm is a good solid aluminum sight that's built like a tank. It's made for shotguns, so it's almost sure to survive any paintball impact. You can also wash it with water without the internals getting wet. The anodized matte black is to my liking. Nice looking item. $30 at walmart.

The only downsides are that the red dot kinda dim on a sunny day... even at the highest brightness setting. It still works well enough, but if I had designed it, I would have made the red dot just a tad brighter.

But more importantly, this sight is only made for a 7/8" weaver rail. It will not mount on a 3/8" dovetail, which is what all paint markers use. To ratify this, you need to buy an adapter which will likely cost you another $20 or more. Screw that. I'm just gonna fabricate my own adapter out of a small piece of aluminum sheet metal and bolt it onto the side of my dovetail mount.
Conclusion: I wish it would fit my friggin gun properly. This is a well designed accessory, but I recommend that you find out what size your mounting rail is before buying this product. They do have 3/8" sized sights available online somewhere, but walmart only has the 7/8".
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 8:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wildfire1234 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
scope on a bb gun
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c tapco ts buttstock progresive 14" barrel bsa red dot veiw loader 200rd hopper ultimate arms tri rail weaver air shot lazer sight homemade tactical maglight
Strengths: Improves acuracy and looks realy cool
Weaknesses: Um i cant think of any
Review: I got this thing from wal-mart for 30 bucks right when i got home i took this thing out of its case this thing is awsome i put this thing on my gun and it looked cool i finaly got to shoot this with this thing it help acuracy alot i could hit things from 200 feet away with about 3 shots.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good sight get this one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GuitarSlave Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline barrel, BSA red-dot sight 30mm
Strengths: Accurate, easy to use, cheap, looks scary
Weaknesses: None really
Review: i got mine for $30 at dunams. wasn't sure how it would feel in combat but it works awesome and it makes the A-5 look downright mean. it so easy to use. you can even sight targets while on a full-out sprint. i've seen it said that it doesn't work in bright light but i've had absolutely NO issues with that.

NOTE: if you plan on putting this on an A-5 you will NEED an offest mount, it's tottally worth it though. without the offset mount your mask will get in the way and it will just seem stupid to try to aim through it. i recommend the LAPCO offest rail ($45 plus shipping). you'll also need to get an adapter (3/8 to Weaver) so you can mount it on the diagonal rail of the LAPCO. but the adapter can be easily found and your local gun shop for about $12. i know that seems like alot but trust me, it's worth it. if you need help mounting it on an A-5 just E-mail me (Ripperthrasher@hotmail.com) and i'll walk you through it with pictures and everything.

i only just used it tonight and i was hoping it would get pegged by a ball so i could see if it could handle it but it only got splattered. but hey, for $30 its not a big deal if you bust it
(once it gets hit i'll come back and let you know if it can take it). but i like it so much i'd just go right out and buy another one.

i've seen similar sights for above $170 but there isn't much point this works great as it is

heck i'd pay $30 for the intimidation alone. people got scared when i pulled it out. "can you be on my team?". and thats even after i warned them i had only played twice before
Conclusion: I highly recomend this to anyone who wants a quick/easy/cheap sight or anyone who just wants to scare the crap out of noobs. (yes, i am aware that i'm also a noob)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 10th, 2005 at 9:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spr Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Aiming down the barrel, iron sights
Marker Setup: A-5 With: Tapco Saw Stock, expansion chamber, 14' Werks barrel, JCS offset sight rail, and BSA 30mm red dot scope with flip open lens covers.
Strengths: Great for quick target acquisition and general overall accuracy.
Weaknesses: Size of the sight causes the hopper to get in the field of view.
Review: I love the ability to get kills in one shot and this really helps with doing just that. I have only got it sighted in in my back yard so it is a little difficult, for me, to hit things farther away, (because I only have sighted in in the back yard). Would be great if I had a better barrel and HPA. I have the one with the 7/8ths Weaver style base so I had to get an adapter, but you need an offset sight rail anyway to keep the hopper from interfering with your field of view. That is, in my opinion, the only weakness I have found so far.
Conclusion: Great for wanabe "snipers" cause it gives you that ability to hit your target in one shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media