paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope / BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BSA Optics

Buy BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
11-position click rheostat control knob.
Matte Black Anodized finish.
5 MOA size red dot.
Light-Weight & Compact Size.
Affordable price
Product Availability 
The BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Ghostcom Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy Red DOT scope (poor product for PB)
Marker Setup: 2004 Viper M-1 Military with 30mm BSA Red DOT Scope14 inch barrel and tactical sling
2004 Black DELTA .68 with Holster
Strengths: Easy of Use
Black Hawk Down look
Quick aiming
Water-proof
Brightness of Red dot
Weaknesses: Price of Batteries
Can move on rails
Review: Although there is much debate about the usefuless of a scope in PB, the BSA 30mm scope is a worthy product. The Red DOT appears with no effort on the player and the 30mm opening is easy to see through a mask and with both eyes open for rapid assault and quick fire. The BSA works well for this, running and shooting. The ony issue is will your paintballs follow suit?

The Good:
The BSA scope looks pretty Blackhawk Down on my Viper M1
The Red DOT is easy to see through mask
Water-proof
Quick aim with both eyes open

The Bad:
The price of the coin-sized batteries, about $3.99!

The Ugly:
I have had issues with my BSA scope moving on my 3/8 rails

Field Test:
I have used the BSA scope for about three months, which is about four games with no problems expect it moving on my rails, which was fixed with plumbers tape. The scope as withstood direct hits and a good hard rain during a late May game.....worked in the rain with no fog or issue (more than I can say about my mask!). I have sighted in spdballers and woods players and laid paint on to them with good results. Normally, if the red dot says it will go there, it does. The scope looks great on military-style markers, especially the SIM and WG and Viper markers. I bought mine also to round out my Blackhawk Down DELTA operator kit look.

I original bought the BSA 30mm Red DOT scope for about $30 from Academy Sports to add to my Viper M1 military marker. In November, the marker was stolen. So when I replaced the Viper M1 with another Viper M1, I rebought the BSA Red DOT scope. That is how much I liked this product.
Conclusion: If you have looked at a Red DOT scope and do not have the $ for the Aimpoint scope, than this is the scope for you. Buy for the look, the fear factor and for the effectiveness.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chrisbugsiam Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Iron sights, but usually spray and pray
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with aci 6 stage expantion and aci zero gravity
Strengths: It's unreal, it's a must if your gun will work with it on.
Weaknesses: I had to file down the front screw, this scope will break with a hit.
Review: This thing is out of this world, i have used iron sights, but this thing is deadly....you can shoot 2 eyes open(i highly reccomend that so you know where everyone is, no need for tunnel vision. i got it at walmart for 29.99... out of the box i could not account for the arc in paintball ( i had the elevation maxxed out)....to fix this i filed down the front screw(you'll see what i mean when you get one).....and put a washer to shim the back up......also on my A-5 when you look through the scope you see the front iron sights.....i was so impressed with this scope that i cut them right off the gun....you can see part of the hopper but it's a very small part and not distracting....i dont believe i have the 3/8 like the other reviews, but it still works.....maybe you have no filing with the 3/8...i dunno
Conclusion: I very highly reccomend this, i have boght tons of stuff for my A-5 and this is the best $30 i have ever spent on it....i'm scared that everyone in my area is gonna pick one of these up....so i'm keeping it quiet unless asked about it.....i would not get this product if you cannot shoot balls consistintly straight.....but if you have a good pattern, it will be the best $30 you ever spent.....AS I HAVE FOUND OUT A DIRECT PAINTBALL HIT WILL RUIN THIS ITEM......BUT I LIKED IT SO MUCH I GOT A NEW ONE....)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 21st, 2004 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

direavenger Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom
Smart Parts Teardrop
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Lapco D/F
Lapco direct feed
BSA 30mm red dot sight
Ben Tippmann folding stock
Q-Loader system
Strengths: -The dot is easy to see
-Adjustable for distance
Weaknesses: -Easy to lose the dot in direct sunlight
Review: Player Type: This is a great product for the woodsballer. When shooting at distances of over 50 feet, it can't be beat. You can see shot after shot through the large 30mm lens, making corrections accordingly. Keep in mind that this works great for distance shots, but for the short ones it isn't really necessary. It has very little benefit at short range over stock sight rails, so speedballers need not apply.

Performance: In most conditions, this sight performs well. In the woods is where it excels. The dot will move when the gun is tilted in any direction, just put it on your target and fire. Targets in direct sunlight are its only weakness. It is easy to lose the dot when it is bright outside and the sun is shining on the target. Battery life is extremely long, I've been going regularly for 6 months with it and its still going strong.

Price: at 30 bucks its worth a look
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any woodsballer who can shoot accurately from a distance. Target aquisition is quick and coupled with the right gun, you can be deadly accurate out to 100+ feet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teh Fool Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scopes, on conventional firearms. Less FOV and not suited for paintball.
Marker Setup: Blazer BZ834
Nickel vented barrel
Nickel highlights
45 Benchmark frame
Custom Cocobolo wood grips
BSA 30mm red dot sight
Strengths: Cheap
Good FOV
Helps your accuracy
Nice finish (shadow black)
Weaknesses: electronic (requires batteries)
perhaps durability
doesn't fit well
Review: First of all, get this sight online from sportsmansguide.com. It's only $27 dollars, and I doubt you will even find it in a store. If you go to walmart, etc. you will only find these with Weaver mounts. These are 7/8" mounts, and it will not fit on the 3/8" dovetail that your paintball gun probably has. Believe me, I spent a whole day looking for the correct in a conventional retailer, and nobody had them. I even went to a store that only sells gun sights!

Oh BTW sportsman's guide even has a cheaper one, a BEC brand sight, which is only $18! I had never heard of this brand though so I went with the BSA.

OK now on to the review of this sight.

First of all, this did not totally fit on my gun. The sight mounts onto your gun with 2 screws. Part of the rear mounting device hangs off the back of the gun. The 45 degree power feed gets in the way and prevents me from putting the sight farther forward. However the sight still feels really sturdy on the gun, so this is more of a cosmetics issue.

Also, if you are using a power feed, the sight kind of got in the way of getting an elbow on there. There is very little clearance between the feed tube and the sight. I had to sand down one side of the elbow a little.

I am worried about what would happen to this sight if it takes a direct hit to the lens. If it takes a side hit I believe it would survive. The plastic lens caps that come with the sight also don't fit really well.

The last weakness of this sight is the fact that it is electronic. Unfortunately to get a nice Tritium mil-spec reflex sight that doesn't require batteries, you would have to dish out several hundered dollars.

Now, so far I like this sight and think it is worth the money I paid for it. It makes it a lot easier to aim quickly. No more walking paintballs on to the target, with the red dot sight I am on target with the first shot. If I had more skill this might not be an issue, but I find it much easier to aim with the sight.

The "Shadow Black" finish is also really nice.
Conclusion: If you have an accurate marker and find it difficult to aim down the barrel, get this sight.

I give it a 9 because it could fit better and because it isn't as good as a reflex sight, but for an inexpensive red dot sight this is excellent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deformography Saturday, December 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap BE brands and the hordes of imitations
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; 14" progressive barrel;BSA Optical Sight; JCS RVA Combat stock; Ronin 4+1 pack w/20 oz remote
PGP 2001 w/ronin tactical holster
Strengths: Its great
Weaknesses: Probably hard to fit on most markers
Review: I got this from wal-mart for 50 dollars. The one i got was fitted for a larger rail than the 3/8" but the a-5 has a second rail underneath the first, as do the model 98s without flatlines. I had to put it all the way back and it still touched the hopper, i doubt the 50mm version would fit at all. It works perfect, i took it out in the rain one day and got it soaked and it still worked. The adjustable brightness is incredibly useful, and the battery effeciency is good as well. It's durable, it's taken more than a few hits and has never been affected,although none were to the lens.
Conclusion: If you want an optical sight this is exactly what you want, not a single flaw at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wahoofan627 Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy Max View point sight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Tippmann GTA Double Trigger Kit
Strengths: Very solid
Accurate
Weaknesses: Hard to calibrate
Review: I just got this off of eBay for 20 bucks including shipping so if you look around you can do much better than the retail of 60. I like it much better than the iron sights but by no mean is this a scope so if that's what your looking for this isn't it. It is hard to calibrate for shorter range markers because it is made for shotguns and rifles but if you take the time to do it right it is really worth it. Not recommended for speed ball or anywhere that there is a lot of paint flying 'cause it can break pretty easily and it is hard to clean if it gets splattered on. I always take it off in between games if i know i might get hit on the marker.
Conclusion: Recommended to anyone wanting to squeeze a little more accuracy out of their gun, but definitely not for speedballers cause it takes a while to aim. I give it a 7 because its only helpful in some circumstances.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FightingFalcon Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy air rifle scope 3x
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Tapco six position stock
9v Viewloader revolution loader
Flatline Barrel system
Rocker Cock II
32 Degrees drop Forward
Custom Sling
Strengths: Easy to adjust
Looks good
Cheap-- $30 at walmart
wide angle-30mm
Weaknesses: Doesnt fit flatline shroud,
Review: All in all, i think that this product is an excellent addition for a player who likes to take the long shot, If you have a flatline,like i do, i would recommend getting a red dot scope, but not neccesarily the bsa, because it comes with a weaver mount rather than a 3/8" standard rail mount.
Conclusion: Good buy, increases accuract, looks good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media