paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America Armageddon Air System / Air America Armageddon Air System / Air America Armageddon Air System

Air America Armageddon Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America Armageddon Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America Armageddon Air System
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
They are double regulated, lightweight, have large easy
to read guages, and can screw on and off so that they
are easy to clean. They come 114ci, 88ci, and 68ci.
These have not been in production since 2002
Product Availability 
The Air America Armageddon Air System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
kgbbonecrusher Monday, September 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI pure energy-nice
PBN2- not that great
Marker Setup: tricked bushy
Strengths: light tank
nice flow
easy to maintain
looks hot
has a rail
Weaknesses: little pricey
you may not need it
that's about it
Review: I bought this tank thinking I would need an adjustable tank for my bushy. I was wrong. However, I'm glad I ended up getting this tank. I stole it for about 300 bucks. They go for about 400 or so now.

carbon fiber tank
This tank is really light. It keeps a good balance to the tank. Downside is you have to hydro it every 3 years, rather than 5 liek some other tanks.

Dove rail
This rail is really nice. Rather than unscrewing your tank, you loosen some screws, then slide off your tank. I know some people who shoot left handed end up unscrewing thier tanks on themselves, and this tank will not do that to you.

Adjustability
This tank is really easy to adjust. You simply need a 3/32 allen key, slide it in the front of the reg, and lefty loosy, righty tighty. You simply set it to where you want and let it go.

maintenence
I've really only had to take care of this thing 3 times or so in my 3 years of owning it. All you have to do is take the tank off the reg, gut the reg (a lot easier than it may sound) take out the piston, and lube 2 o rings with regular oil. I literally never did this until about.. 6 months ago, when it got a leak. It really does not need much maintenence, unlike the max flow, for example.

However, I would reccomend a cheaper tank to someone who is just starting out. Unless you have more than one gun, and you need different input pressures for those guns, IE an impulse and a 98, then i would suggest a simple preset tank. Armageddons will run you a pretty penny, but they ARE nice. It may not be worth it to you, however. I would strongly consider buying a preset tank, such as the PMI pure energy over this if you are tight on a budget, or want a simple tank for your gun. But, if you have your eyes set on this tank, you won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: very nice tank, easy to maintain. sexy lookin, easy to mount, an all aroudn good tank. If yo uare tight on cash, however, consider a cheaper preset tank. If you really want this, get it, you won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mmckinley Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AA Raptor
Marker Setup: Emag
Strengths: Reliable
Dovetail mounts
Output gauge built in
Cool lookin
Weaknesses: Kinda big
Air America is kaput
Not "airline friendly" like some other regs
Review: This system used to be the hot ticket in CA systems and still performs with the best of'em. I don't know how old my geddon is but I bought it used 2 years ago and have yet to have a problem with it. AA had one of the best customer service reputations in the industry but now they aren't around anymore so if you buy one of these used make sure it works. The good news is these regs can be serviced/ rebuilt pretty easily and parts can still be had. It's nice to be able to adjust output pressure. This reg doesn't seem that much heavier than anything else I've tried, maybe a few ounces. Also it's made of aluminum, not stainless steel like some tard said.
Conclusion: I'd say if you can find a cheap one of these used it would be worth your while. Wouls give 10/10 if it was smaller and airline-transportable
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jd2631 Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just C02
Marker Setup: a-5
egrip
flatline
j&j performace full tilt ceramic 14"
68/4500 air america armegeddon
double trigger
Strengths: Adjustable pressure
Its n2
Consistent
Weaknesses: It was a little hard to mount on my gun
Review: I love this tank, it was a little ahrd to mount on my gun when i first got it. But i had never had a nitrogen tank before so i realy didn't know what to do, luckily the guys at my local paintball field did. After you get it on you gun it is very consistent, i dont have a secondary regulator and it is consistent as it is. One of the cool features is: when you are done for the day, you can turn the pressure off to the gun and shoot the air out left in your gun then you can unscrew the tank from the regulator!! makes it easy to cary around, since its adjustable you cant just unscrew it from an asa, so with this feature you can leave the regulator on the gun but take the bottle off.
Conclusion: I recommend this tank to anyone who wants n2 and can afford this tank, I got mine used for $150 and its not even a year old yet. This is a great tank and regulator!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajbstonewall62 Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 70/4500
Marker Setup: Angel 4 with the Armageddon, & 14 inch Freak,
Strengths: It is very, very consistent.
Weaknesses: None, whatsoever.
Review: This is the best tank out there, if it wasn't for all of the already happy owners of the Armageddon then I wouldn't have bought it. Everybody I've always asked said that it was the best, and after i got it i knew they weren't lying. It is awesomely consistent. The most variation I had from high to low, was around 6 fps. The looks of the tank are awesome, also. it's just an all around great product. If it were an option, I'd give this tank an 11 out of 10.
Conclusion: I would buy it again, if I didn't already have it. Hey I might buy another one for my AutoCocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike VC Friday, May 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing else comes close.
Marker Setup: Well I sold my #39 Ice Adrenalin Angel cuz I put way too much damned paint through it so now I shoot:

Dye Ultralite w/ 12 in ultralite ano'ed to match (it's dark blue)
Air America Armageddon 68ci
Air America Messiah Reg
12v w/x board
is the rest of the gun really that important?? (drops, tails, bottle covers etc?)
Strengths: Extremely high flow regulator. Very light weight. Reg is anodizable to match the rest of your gun. Honestly, I have used just about every air system out there and this one is by far my favorite.
Weaknesses: The only thing I could possible thing of doing to an Armageddon is putting an on/off valve on it like the Smart Parts Max-Flow. Even so, I would buy an Armageddon over a Max-Flow due to the better seals. Max-Flows leak a lot.
Conclusion: The most outstanding air system on the market. I would refuse to run anything else on my guns. Many people complain about the price but if you want the best, pay for it. I get mine cheaper anyway.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Saturday, April 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Screw in Pure Energy tanks, Nitroduck X-Stream
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, everything on it.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: I like that you can unscrew it from the reg. You can move the reg a few inches back or forward on the rail. It's adjustible. It's 4500 psi fiber wrapped. It comes with two good gauges. The thing is very solid and seems really reliable. The pressure adjustment is easy, but tournament legal. Fairly easy to move from one marker to another if you use a rail.

You need an Armageddon rail to mount it. It's more of a pain than a CA screw in tank. Many accessories will not work with a 1/8 NPT mounting like this. Very expensive. It could REALLY use one more output hole, it only has one.

UPDATE
This is a good tank for back in the day, but it's starting to lose steam now. It's true that more and more drops and frames come with dovetail mounts, making this tank more useable, but there are also more double regged and high flow systems out there to compete against now. I've got to a Nitro Duck X-Stream now, simply because it's a screw-in tank that's adjustible.

I've got multiple markers, and the only way to use this tank on multiple markers is to shell out for more reg bodies, and that's pricey. If you can do it, that works great because of the screw-in bottle though.
Conclusion: Well it's yesterday's top of the line and has some great features, but there's still room for improvement.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 3rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Raptor 3000psi. First used a 114ci tank remote, then when it was time to hydro test the tank, switched it to 68ci tank. Simple design, tough ss construction. Had to use an aftermarket cradle when I switched to on-gun.

Marker Setup: SFL with AA Messiah @ 300psi input. AA Armageddon 68ci 4500psi, no drop forward, set at 800psi.
Palmer Cocker same, except AA Vigilante @ 340psi input.

Lapco barrels (AS or BS depending on paint size). 12V Revies.
Strengths: Lighter than the old, all stainless steel Apocalypse system, esp. with the new carbon bottles. Yet it's still really sturdy and well made, even with the aluminum body (internals are still ss). Leak free design.

Far easier to access for cleaning and lubing than that old system too (no tools needed to get into the main body, only one nut to disassemble with an allen key to get into the arm section).

Easy to adjust output pressure with an allen key, yet the nut is recessed so a tournament cap is unnecessary.

Comes with its own mounting rail (Apocalypse dovetail). Gauges are big and easy to read (more on the bottle gauge below).

First-rate flow and recovery characteristics. I'm a firm believer in double regulation for best performance (I always use this system in conjunction with an AA Messiah or Vigilante). But the Armageddon is a very fine single regulation system (the Armageddon is not double regulated).

Current version now has an on/off valve.

Bottle can be removed or installed even under full pressure.

Air America the company - will completely support its customers. For example, I stripped the thread on the regulator output. Totally my fault, wasn't paying attention to what I was doing. I admitted this to Air America when I asked to buy a replacement part. They didn't even ask for the part I damaged back - they simply sent out a replacement part, plus a whole box of spare o-rings and grenade pins, free of charge and NO QUESTIONS ASKED. I can't emphasize enough that Air America is a company that really supports the player.
Weaknesses: More expensive than most, but remember, you get what you pay for. The system is not made of brass. Instead, all the critical parts are constructed of stainless steel. This is top quality manufacturing so it will cost.

Like every fiber wrap bottle, the butt end (shoulder stock area) can be slippery. Use a neoprene cover with a textured rubber pad, like a Redz, to avoid the bottle slipping on your shoulder.

I don't like to use a drop forward, as I use the bottle as a shoulder stock. I like the reg to be centred directly beneath the grip frame. In order to do this and to be able to unthread the bottle, I had to switch to a smaller gauge on the bottle (larger, OEM gauge would be blocked by the grip frame). Not a big deal (switching gauges was easy and inexpensive), but something to note. If you use a drop forward (CPP and Benchmark are recommended) then this is not a problem.
Conclusion: The best high end system today. Current version is even better, with its on/off valve and lighter carbon bottle.

If you can repair a Mag, you can repair this system. It's that simple. Great performance. Light weight. Air America stands behind its products.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

demonhunter_86 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel AIR system, but that system is so pickey that you will go crazy. You cannot fill it if you already have air in the tank or else it blows a disc, then you have to replace it. Plus the AIR system is not as consistent.
Marker Setup: Dye Reflex
-Air America Armageddon Air System
-long drop foward
-Messiah
Strengths: Totally reliable as far as consistency of pressure goes.
Weaknesses: If you think it has a weakness you havn't used this system
Review: Basically for those of you who have either gone mad using other air systems or are looking for a reliable air system this is the ultimate deal. Sure, it is a little more expensive than other systems but their new retail price (I discovered it at a local retailer) will make it totally affordable at about $230!!! Quite the bargain! Anyways, this system can be fine tuned to your gun to only vary 1-2 degress. When I tested mine the cronograph would only bounce from 299-300-301 fps. So no matter what your reliability is great. Plus the regulator on it is great!!! Plus the tank is reletively light compared to some systems!!! If the valvue seal leaks all you have to do is take a quarter, unscrew the plate, and flip the piece over and WHAM, it's fixed!!!
Conclusion: Jumpin Gehosophat Gehad. (don't ask) basically, I am never going to consider buying another air system, ever.

Last words:This is the best air system, period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thugginit Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Throtte, Crossfire, etc...
Marker Setup: Aim 18+ Cocker, Throttle, Revy, and my beloved E2
Strengths: Superior consistency, Amazing regulator, Quality Air America product
Weaknesses: Very heavy, the reg is solid steel. Read body.
Review: This is a super awesome tank. You can shoot as fast as you want all day long and this tank will keep up, i cant describe how wonderful the reg works and how consistent the tank is. It is not perfect, the tank is heavy, so it would recoment it for all you back players. Another problem i have had is that the reg only accepts the threads for the tank. ITs not a standard tread, so you can only use your own tank :(-NO biggie.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this over most tanks, for its purpose. THe throttle is lighter, but no reg. This tank is superb for back men, and for people who demand consistency. I would give it a 9.5, but i cant and since that rounds up, id go for 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joe C Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Screw in (sucked) The reg on it blew half way out of the bootle while I was using it, dont know what caused it, it was the second time i used it and i was just standing there so it is not like i hit it on anything
Marker Setup: 2001 Dark Angel and 2002 Free Flow Autococker, i have an Air America Armageddon Air System on bot
Strengths: It has not broken or gone done yet
Weaknesses: Dont think there is any
Review: I love these tanks, they are extremely consistant and reliable. I haved had mine for a year now and i will never use anything else. Ever since i got then and messiahs to go along with them, my velocity jump only 1 to 3 fps. I never once got shoot down with these either. A bunch of my team members also use them and have not had one problem with them yet. I really think this is a great product and I recomend it to everyone.
Conclusion: I strongly recomend it because like I said above the tank is great. Not only is it consistant but it never goes down which i think is a really good thing too. You never hav to worry about it, it will always work.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media