paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal

Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dead On Paintball has improved on the stock Tippmann power tube and front bolt. It's very smooth because of a precision Teflon insert running on a precision CNC machined billet power tube. This upgrade will improve air efficiency and should increase cycle rate. It comes with the Response Trigger boss plugged via loctited set screw.

This is compatable with the Tippmann Response Trigger system.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
motopsycho650 Friday, February 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Powertube, various replacement front bolts.
Marker Setup: 1 - '02 98 Custom, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Palmer's Stabilizer, 12" Lapco Accushot 3 Piece Barrel Kit, Dead On Pro Seal Powertube & Front Bolt, Response Trigger, Double Trigger, Cyclone Feed (w/ Vortex Kit, Squishee Paddles, Lightning Rod, and X-7 Vented Piston Housing) R/T Cyclone Adapter Kit, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock, AK-47 Front Grip.

2 - '99 Model 98, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, 11" Custom Pro Barrel, AK-47 Front Grip, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock.

3- '99 Pro/Carbine, Bone Stock except a 16" All American Stainless Steel Barrel and a Custom-made Tactical Sling.
Strengths: Perfect fit in the receiver. Rear bolt O-ring fits perfectly in this powertube.
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I got the newer version of this powertube & front bolt. The new version comes with a plastic "Delrin" front bolt.

My old 98 Custom was having issues re-cocking once in awhile. After a few attempts trying different things, I finally realized that the rear bolt was getting slightly hung up because the stock powertube was tight. Even with a new o-ring on the rear bolt, still having problems.

I decided on the Dead On Pro Seal because it is Billet Aluminum, and I had heard good things. I got the kit, installed it and WOW, it is a perfect fit. The powertube fit perfectly in the receiver. The valve & rear bolt o-rings fit smoothly & snugly inside the tube. And lastly, the Delrin Bolt it came with fit perfectly around the powertube.

Looking at the old powertube, once it was removed, I noticed that after years of use it was slightly warped and swollen. The oil I had been using had actually soaked into, and softened the plastic of the stock powertube. Even a week after being removed, the plastic still feels soft & tacky.

When I actually went out and tested it, I was just as impressed. My velocity went up about 25 FPS over the stock powertube, which allowed me to reduce the pressure setting on my Palmer's Stabilizer a little. This should save a little air through the day. My chrono was +/- 3 FPS over 10 balls, however that's more the Stabilizer than the powertube.

I thought my 98C shot very smoothly. In fact, it has never shot that smoothly. My old original M98 always shot pretty smooth, but back in 1998, Tippmann actually sold the M98 with a metal powertube for a short while.
Conclusion: Overall, I think this was an excellent part. Don't think of it as a "performance upgrade." It's really more of a reliability part. Once installed, your 98C should be a bit more consistant, and should function much smoother than with the stock powertube.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Breaking_Balls Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
plastic powertube/bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Dead on pro seal power tube/front bolt
expansion chamber
armson stealth barrel
Magnetic mods
Strengths: 1) faster rof(rate of fire)

2)smoothness

3) sturdy then the plastic powertube

SHINY
Weaknesses: Need an electric hopper/loader for max effect
Price



Review: After receiving this product it was easy to install it correctly but it was another thing to make it work with the vertical adapter of mine.I think its my threads problem not the product's, i had to save some thread on the vertical adapter to make it fit and use loctite to make it air tight.

Well its going to be harder to break this one then the plastic powertube that cracked after just srewing it in.
My Rate of Fire increase, sometimes i got 2 shots per pull with the double trigger. So if you getting this you better have an electric hopper because the metal front bolt is unforgiving. It moves smoother resulting in the quicker rof.

Conclusion: Great product just needs an electro hopper!
a little pricy but if you have money for another upgrade for your tippmann this is what you should get next.

8/10 because it cost ,unforgiving front bolt, and if you wish to take the value out the metal powertube your going to be in a pickle
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannfreak17 Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock 98 power tude
Marker Setup: 98 custom
DOP power tude and bolt
DOP dropforward
palmers stabilizer female reg.
pmi 45ci 3000psi n2 tank
j&j 14&16 inch barrels
tapco stock
opsgear G36C hand guard and rail
opsgear smg mag kit
Strengths: Increase cycle rate
Improve air efficiency
Weaknesses: Likes to break hammer o-rings
Adds a little weight 2-5oz's
Review: Over all this is a great power tube, helped with air efficiency, and cycle rate. easy to install, i thought. adds alittle more weight to your gun maybe 2-5oz's, so nothing to big.
it likes to break hammer o-rings i went throw about 1 every 2 games i played but tippmann now makes a new o-ring which is alot harder to break ,it is a red o-ring so get one of those. but overall i would buy this product again.
Conclusion: If you got the money buy this power tube! its great!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Loweredshadw Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
TIppmann 98 Expansion Chamber
Tippmann Response Trigger
CMI Drop Forward with gauge
Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Bolt & Power Tube
J&J Ceramic 16" Barrel
J&J Cermaic 12" Barrel
BT Double Trigger
Ricochet Apache LED Loader
Strengths: Not made of plastic like the stock one.
Weaknesses: Could be expensive for some people
Review: The reason I got this was because I was just getting into paintball and I wanted a durable gun and I was installing an RT and an expansion chamber on my 98 and didn't like the stock plastic one. I got this one so I wouldn't worry as much about breaking anything. It worked just like I thought it would and didn't have any problems with installation.
Conclusion: Great alternative to the stock plastic piece that comes with the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duave Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
only stock power tube and psychoballistics starfire bolt
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Response trigger, Palmers Stablilizer (High Pressure), 12 inch dye boomstick, DOP drop forward with on/off, and a Halo TSA Backman LCD (very nice hopper, I really like it), 98 custom pro-seal
Strengths: Smooth operation, increased cycle rate
Weaknesses: Makes a metallic "ringing" sound when you fire.
Review: I got this product because of everyone's reviews. That's right. I decided to test you guys and see if this product would live up to what everyone had said about it. And the results are exactly what everyone says. This product is great. It fires very smoothly, and seems to up the cycle rate. The only downside is it makes a metallic ringing sound when you fire, but it's not that bad. I really like it and can't wait to test it in combat!

EDIT:(3/26/06)
Just played with it, and the results are great! When I chronoed, I shot 321, up from around 295. Also, I am running my stabilizer at 610 psi, and have now lowered it to about 590 (approximately). It shot great all day, and I did not chop a single ball. And the velocity screw on the gun was set to all the way down. Yes, that is correct. I might even try a lower spring for the striker spring.
Conclusion: Nothing is perfect, but this is very good 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 9:47 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock power tube
Marker Setup: 98 custom,CMI 16" QB Tru-Flite,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System,Psycho ballistics star fire bolt,Dye Stickies 3,DOP aluminum power tube,Cyclone feed
Strengths: Stout and powerful,better durabilty,great qualty,GREAT AND KNOWLAGIBLE STAFF
Weaknesses: Price??????
Review: This thing is a god send,Imean in no way am I an easy person to impress but DOP has done it.Now with that out of the way on with the review.
first thing I noticed was the quality of this product.It was well machined and the crosshatch on it was intense(very high quality).Installment was so simple took less than 5 minutes.You don't have to be a genious to install this into your paintball gun.On the down side I had to change out my red Maddman spring for the green(less tension) because it turned my paintball gun into a paintball shotgun......LMAO.I went to pick this baby up so I could install my Cylone Feed on my 98C and it works beuatiful.Gives alot of umph to your marker and with the quality of the machining it appears to be Very rigid and solid and take the abuse I will be giving it.The only con I see is the price but now I have one i really don't see that as a weakness i would have easily paid up to 50 bux for it (IMO)this is a well worth it upgrade,so treat yourself to the best and get this product.
Conclusion: A+++++,Great product,great customer service,great upgrade in the firepower department,gun works so much smoother now,Thanks DOP
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eyesbleedclear Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube
Marker Setup: 98c
expansion chamber
responce trigger
double trigger
stock
scope
cmi 21" qb barrel
flatline
titanium teflon powertube
Strengths: More durable easy to assemble
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i installed my expansion chamber i cracked my powertube and striped out the responce trigger insert but wheni got this it all came together and made is alot easier to install and now i can feel the extra speed that comes with it and my marker sounds great so smooth i just wish they had a titanium teflon coated starfire bolt version
Conclusion: Great alternative to the stock power tube
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dregan Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98c
Polished Internals
Double Trigger, Trigger Stop
10" Dye Boomstick
12" Lapco Bigshot
Smart Parts Drop Forwad
Dead on Pro Seal Power Tube & Front Bolt
Female Palmer Stabilizer
Pic Here http://www.flametongue.com/dregan/marker.htm
Strengths: Its not plastic
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well Everything good about this product has been said, so just for my 2cents its works great here also, iv had no problems what so ever out of this product, other then i had really high veloctiy when i got it, 400fps, got me a palmer reg and lowered the pressure of my gun and everything is good now
Conclusion: I recomend this product if u break your old tube, or just dont like plastic in your gun like i dont, i only had my tippman for 2 weeks before i put this in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cheesemaster Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippmann 98C, responce trigger, flatline, 32 deg. night stikk, double trigger, star fire venturi bolt, tippmann exp. chamber, aluminum pro seal, coil remote
Strengths: quiet
accurate
strong
light
quiet
works with and without responce
better velocity adjuster
quiet
Weaknesses: nothing
nothing at all
Review: this pro seal is so much better than the a5 pro seal, just look at the ratings and you'll see. this actually makes your gun quieter A LOT QUIETER, unlike the a5 pro seal. it is much stronger than the stock tube, i broke my stock one getting the valve out. that is why i bought this and i am so happy i broke the old one because this is such a good product.
Conclusion: i rated this a 10 because it is a great product. i am glad i got it and u will be to if u get it. it is really worth a 15/10. get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 24th, 2003 at 5:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Earlan357 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 w/ RT, Teardrop barrel, 2x trigger, vertical adapter, AIM 68 regulator, dead-on pro drop forward, RVA, Madmann green drive spring, and grips from my Kimber .45. Home mods include adjustable trigger stops, polished internals, reworked valve and valve spring, lightened hammer, ported elbow, and ZERO hopper shake(yay).

2002 Vert Autococker (my backup gun believe it or not) with All American barrel, Mac Dev Gladiator reg, Kapp Clippard ram, Shocktech parts: (FGP reg, cocking rod, bomb 3-way, supafly bolt, RAT 3:16 valve, drop forward, asa adapter), nelson springs, Eclipse swing frame, and dye sticky grips.

Both guns use 12v X-board and a Pure energy 68 4500.
Strengths: Smooooth
Slight increase in efficiency
Weaknesses: Slight increase in weight
Review: I accidentally stripped the gas port for the RT on my stock tube so I ordered this one.

The good:
After installation, the first thing I noticed was that it took less force to push the hammer into the new power tube. At the range my average velocity increased from 285 to 310 fps. I left my operating pressure at 400 psi and backed down the RVA with a green madmann spring to drop my velocity back to the 290 range. As an added bonus, the lighter drive spring pressure doesn't chop balls anymore. Now it just pinches a ball and I simply recock the marker instead of having to squeegee my barrel. Also, I get a lot more trigger return pressure from the RT. I think there is a better seal where the RT gas fitting taps into the power tube.

The neutral:
Consistency and accuracy are about the same. I didn't notice any change in blowback either.

The not so bad:
The aluminum tube and bolt add noticeable weight to the gun. It's not excessive though, and shouldn't bother anyone.
Conclusion: If your stock power tube breaks, or you just want to get a little more out of your beloved 98, get this. A good upgrade for 30 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 29th, 2004 at 1:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media