paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix

Generation-E Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Generation-E

Buy Generation-E Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Generation-E Matrix
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CONSTRUCTION FEATURES: - Electronic Triggered, with multi-mode dipswitch adjustment. - Fully Pneumatic operation. (No hammer, no sear, no main spring) - Performance Centerfeed. - Interchangeable forebreech: Standard forebreech - AutoCocker threads. Optional Forebreech - Angel, Right Feed, Spyder, Model 98, etc. - Double trigger with Custom MATRIX rubber grips. - Uses one common 9V battery, available anywhere. No recharger needed. ACCURACY FEATURES: - LOW Pressure operation for phenomenal accuracy and performance, enabling use of highest performance brittle-shelled paints. - Dual ball-detent for maximum ball-centering accuracy. - Fires during closed-mode of bolt's travel for superior accuracy. - (Statistically, the most accurate marker ever made in the History of Paintball). PERFORMANCE FEATURES: Gas consumption: Approximately 1250 shots per 88 c.i. tank
Product Availability 
The Generation-E Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
RingMaster4321 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, GZ Timmy, Storm Timmy, 2k2 Timmy, Classic Timmy, Viking, Excalibur
Marker Setup: 2K1 Gen E Matrix
Free Flow Bolt
Gen E Bolt Kit
Aardvark Trinity
Aardvark Ultra Low Halo Rise
New Designs Trinity Knob
TMC 15* ASA
Palmer Stabilizer
JSP Spacer
Leethal Mod
Dye Low Pressure Gauge
CP Flame Drop
Pure Energy THOR Reg
91/45 Bulldog
Halo B
Empire Barrel Set
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity, Aardvark/Gen E Bolt Kit, Free Flow Bolt, Leethal Mod, JSP/Oracle Spacer, Torpedo/Sidewinder/Centerflag/Palmer Stabilizer, Halo B
Strengths: Very Fast. Very Accurate. Range Of A Cocker. Extremly Quiet.
Weaknesses: Air Hog, but only if you have it stock. Otherwise, its pretty efficient.
Review: From stock, its a pretty big air hog. But once you upgrade it alot, its easily one of the most efficient guns out there today. Its accuracy and range and speed make hthis one of the best tounament guns out there. They can be used by backers, mids, tapers, forwards, flag runners, anyone. If there is anything wrong with your matrix, send it to Aardvark or Generation E and they will fix it for you, sometimes for free if you have a warranty. This gun has great customer service.
Conclusion: Overall, I recommend this gun to anyone. Whether its a ardcore tourney player, or a rec baller just coming in to the game. It has all the necessities for anyone. I still can see no one that wouldn't like this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ACtournyguy Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker, flash, tippy
Marker Setup: 2003 Matrix LED, LCD body, 12 New Style CP Barrel, AA Raptor Rex 68ci 4500psi, Kapp Drop Zone 3, Black PBC Reg, Top Hat Mod, Halo B and 2 Shorty Black AK Volumizers
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing but a lpr
Strengths: Accuracy, distance, quite shots, sweet all around gun
Weaknesses: effiecntcy but thats easy fixed.
Review: This gun is buy far the best i have ever played with, i fell in love with it s soon as i got it out of the box.. It is accuracy quite and has great distance. The efficentcy is a problem but with a piece of hose you can get about 1100 shots from 68ci 4500psi tanks.
Conclusion: Its a perfect gun, i love it its quite accurate and speed is amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Dye MaTrix LCD
Custom Products 14" .689 Barrel
Custom Products Grip Regulator
Custom Products Razor Drop
Custom Products ASA Adapter
Custom Products Bearing Trigger
Custom Products Snatch Grip
PBC Low Pressure Regulator
Crossfire 68/4500 Blue
Halo B with Rip Drive
Chipley Machine No Rise Clamp
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Halo B, trigger (CP), CCM clamp, regulator, drop, on/off
Strengths: Pro:
BPS
Accuracy
Rate of Fire
Eye
LCD
Easy to work on
Weaknesses: Con:
Weight
Price
Review: This gun by far is the best gun I've ever own...this guns rips it all...the eye keeps it from chopping, and you must at least have a Halo to keep up...the low pressure keep the balls from chopping...dual ball detent insure the ball is align and center...LCD with all the goodies...Autococker treads with interchangable breech for others like Angel, Spyders...It does weight a tad bit on the heavy side with a 68/4500, Halo with 6 batteries and a full hopper...but it is not big deal and if you complain about the weight you need to hit the gym. Before the adjustment and removal of my trigger spring and a CP trigger I shot about 14 bps...after that the local shop got it up to 22 bps...
Conclusion: Get this gun...It is worth it...you can get if for like 800-1000 depending on used or new...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

optimus_ Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-E LCD Matrix, Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: 2k2 Generation-E LED Matrix stock CP barrel, bottomline ASA, stock reg, stock bolt, 47in^3/3000psi nitro/HPA, 12 chip (argh)
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR, fast hopper (eVLution II or HALO-B), new bolt or the biggest nitro tank you can get your hands on, barrel(?), TRIGGER JOB
Strengths: read review body
Weaknesses: read review body
Review: streangths -

- extremely fast gun, even faster with 20chip
- very accurate
- very upgradeable
- small
- fully pneumatic - adjustable bolt settings


weaknesses -

- extremely poor gas efficiency (about 300 shots with my 47/3000 tank! [bolt setting is 35f/35b] can be solved with a new bolt kit, or a really large nitro tank (68/5000)
- a tad on the weighty side
- NEEDS a trigger job (stock trigger is horrible)
- looks (I personally don't mind not having the flashyest gun... don't like it? pay an extra $400 for a toxic)
- chops a bit... setup your timing for the hopper, or get a LPR for the bolt, and this problem is solved.
- speed... you will run out of paint before you even notice!


I got my trix used for $250. it came completely stock with an outdated chip (Which I still haven't upgraded), but this gun preforms beautifully. I can take easy snapshots with it, in which I shoot a 10 round burst in less than a second and go back into cover. the small dimentions of the gun, combined with a small barrel and drop forward may allow for a tiny marker that shoots extremely fast for frontmen, or used with a bottomline ASA and a longer barrel for a backman. the one major disadvantage I have noticed with this marker, is the gas efficiency. it eats gas like nothing I have ever seen before. 300 shots and the tank is empty. I hear this problem can be solved with a new bolt kit.
all-in-all, a great gun. may require some upgrading, but once completed, this gun is superior to it's competition.
Conclusion: although this gun may require some initial upgrades to get it to a more practical level, once it has those upgrades this gun is an absolute dream. unmatched speed, accuracy, consistancy, and versitility. I would give this gun a 9.4, because of it's wild gas usage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pcoco Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
***Toxic Matrix
***2003 Shocker
E-Blade Autococker
Excalibur
Marker Setup: 2003 Smart Parts Red Shocker:
Stainless Steel Freak Back (Red Insert .684)
Red All American 14" Front
Smart Parts Stickies
NDZ Chrome Detents
Freeflow Bolt Kit
88/45 Max Flo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt Kit (I used the Evolve Bolt Kit for my LED, and Image Bolt Kit for my Toxic Matrix)
Low Pressure Regulator (I recommend PBC or Trinity, Both work basically the similar)

Definately recommend a new Hopper such as a Halo B or Evolution II
Strengths: Rate or Fire
Accuracy
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Partially cost (But well worth the money)
Review: Efficiency:

The Efficiency was spectacular. Got 800+ shots on a 47/3000, however I was using Evolve Bolt Kit. I rate the efficiency a "10"
----------------------------------------------
Accuracy:

The accuracy was not bad. It was definately more accurate than any other closed bolt like an autococker or Excalibur. I would rate its accuracy a "9"
-----------------------------------------------
Rate of fire:

Rate of fire...Perfect. Nothing I wouldn't of underestimated. It was fast, I just wish I had a faster hopper. I rate the rate of fire a unbelievable "10"
Conclusion: Definately worth the money. Just dissapointing that they won't make anymore.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dai ca victor Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intiminator Losoya, 2k2, gz, Generation E basic Matrix
Marker Setup: dye taitanium barrel, red bolt kit, kapp lpr, Volumlizers, dye mini drop, dye sir port and a low rise feed for a halo.
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR-prevents from chopping balls unless ur not a fast trigger
Bolt Kit- kelps turn the pressure down
barrel-stock one is good but if u get a better one better acc
Strengths: FAST-Accurcy Good as hell-balanced well light weight
Weaknesses: U need a lpr and a red bolt kit
Review: I had this gun not that long but i have intiminators because i play in tourny and i had been tring to see wat a matrix is like so i bought one and its fast but the timmys are faster because the timmy are well done but the matrix its nice too but i say that the timmies are better because there acc (accurcy) is better and all u need is a airport and a tank and ur done but the matrix u have to buy 2 things to make ur gun perfect a LPR (low pressure reg) and a red bolt kit
Conclusion: i realy recommend this gun to kids that play best in the west tourny because there reliable and fast and good acc and but they have to be take cared of realy good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heftylefty Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel LCD, imps, electro cockers, other matrix, timmys, shockers, vikings, mags, and many other markers.
Marker Setup: 2k2 LED, JT 2 piece, trinity, sidewinder, halo b, aardy bolt kit, mini drop, LP crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt kit, FAST hopper, trinity, new reg, and a nice trigger job.
Strengths: amazing marker. accurate, consistant, all around great marker.
Weaknesses: AIR HOG. this is the one part of the gun that i hate the most.
Review: Overall, its one amazing marker. very consistant at the chrono, i mean +/- 2 fps. with all the new mods comi out for the matrix, i wouldnt be surprised if you can get a good case off a full 4500 fill(i know people who can get that now actually). around where i live, they are not that common and little kids come up to me wondering what kind of marker it is. one kid even told me it was an impulse. anyways, back to the marker. i just got the sidewinder and trinity and it makes the marker much more consistant, and makes it look much more better than when it was stock. the LPR is what i like the most in the matrix. you can adjust it so it will stop on paint no matter what kind of brand you use. when you get the marker, the trigger is really stiff and you cant really walk it, unless you have strong fingers. i cut my spring so there is about 2.5 coils showing and it is sooo light and you can easily walk it to get high bps.
Conclusion: i HIGHLY recommend this marker to anyone who wants a solid marker that works very well. i gave it a 9 because there are some efficiency problems and vital upgrades that can get a little costly. but overall, it is on excellent marker. Get it, and you wont regret it! Hey that rhymes, well...kinda.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bubbaspicier55 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k4 impulse, 12 in. freak, voodooo bolt, tapeworm, lo rise, front cap, nitro
E-class Orracle w/ nitro
Marker Setup: 2k2 LED matrix (#20011)
Twister feed Lo-rise
EVO 2 hopper
14 in. KANER medium bore
Macro Line, set to 4 inches
98 custom generic ASA
PBC LPR
Black image bolt kit
Gun 20 chip
Massive trigger job, about 1 oz./1.5 mm at bottom of trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
1). nitro!!! Solid Co2 will get in ur spool valve, expand and blow your solenoid!
2).LPR, with PBC i can fire at 16 bps with midnights and outshoot my EVO 2, and the bolt will bounce right off at 250 feet per second.
3). Low Rise... look at the stock high rise, its ugly and big.
4). Gun 20 chip, set it DDDU, it shoot 18 bps, and works great.
5). Bolt kit improves consistency, and lowers the noise a little bit.
6). KaNER BARREL MAKES IT QUIETER
7). nEW REG LIKE rdb HELPS CONSISTENCY.
Strengths: 1). Speed
2). NO chops w/ LPR
3).Accuracy
4).Noise Level
5). Kick
Weaknesses: 1). Efficiency... sux
Review: This gun kicks butt with the right upgrades. I just shot 30 paintballs at full speed, about 16 bps. I outshot my evlution 2 6 times, but it didn't chop, it just made a strange noise. I was shooting Midnight Paintballs. I was targeting a 1 foot wide tree 95 feet away. I began walking my trigger, and 26 painballs out of the 30 hit the tree. The range was 16 inches vertical, and 12 inches horizontal. I was very impressed.

With an LPR and nitro this gun is sweet. I'd buy it.

If your gun will shoot fine, but increased velocity after being idle, you need a new inline reg. I would reccomend the RDB.
Conclusion: I'd buy it. Its more accurate and chops less than an impulse, its faster than a cocker, and much quieter. Its Very similar to an angel, but is less complicated. It has a better trigger, and chops less than a timmy. GO buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Godfre34 Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
my timmy(which i love), my friends IR3, my systemx vengence pro 2.0(completely tricked out with worr-blade)(i love her too), and my 01 black magic
Marker Setup: Gater trigger
WGP on/off drop forward
slam valve bolt
boomstick
68ci crossfire
halo
eyes were installed
Recommended
Upgrades:
a very fast hopper
Strengths: fast
accurate
Weaknesses: bad milling(i dislike the looks)
my friend says it eats up air like crazy
Review: Its a very fast and very accurate gun. But the looks a re a huge downfall as I am fasion concious about my guns. But my friend loves this gun and he says he can outshoot my timmy with it(I dissagre...but it's close) and it is the best he owns(he just bought an IR3 3 months ago)
Conclusion: if you have the money and dont care about looks buy this gun. It is as accurate as a cocker and as fast as an angel. i realy give it an 8.9, as i said im fasion concious.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 30th, 2003 at 4:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 - lighter & slightly better stock.
Marker Setup: Matrix LCD
Freak Jr kit
TMC/Trauma Eyes
Tadao 1.1
Sidewinder
Aardvark Tenticle
SP Q-Lock
CP Rail
CP 2k5 on/off
Z-Boarded Egg
Crossfire 68/45k
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes
New inline reg
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
LCD
CP barrel stock
Weaknesses: Weight (if you're a sissy)
No eyes stock
Review: Finally got to play a day with my Matrix LCD (has a Tadao 1.1 now, so no LCD anymore).

First of all, i never tried it without eyes. My cousin had it before me & he had chopping problems. So we sent it out to TMC for their eye/board install. While it was out there, me & my cousin worked out a trade so that i would just keep the Matrix LCD once it came back, since he bought a used DM5.

**Quick note about the TMC eye install, the manual they provide on their site for the eyes is useless. You need the Tadao 1.1 manual off Tadao Technologies site - just make sure TMC did indeed put the Tadao board in there for you.**

Stock inline reg (the "beehive") gave me problems right away. Probably just needs a rebuild kit but i just replaced it with the Sidewinder i already had. Also noticed the stock LPR may need a new piston seat (red thing), since i was getting some first-shot-drop-off & had to reset it a couple times during the day. Also ordered a huge o-ring kit from MarkerKits.com, which i recommend.

Overall, it shoots nice and is very gentle on paint. My eyes got blocked a bit from the lube on the bolt - it seams the holes TMC drilled in the breach are gunk magnets. So the eyes were constantly reading something, acting as if the eyes were off, essentially, and i still didn't chop. Of course, i may not have been shooting very fast but still, impressive.

Efficiency-wise, i was pretty surprised. I was under the impression, from reading all the stickies in the Matrix forum here & on PBN, that i'd only be getting 700 shots per fill (field barely fills to 3k). Went through nearly a whole case (minus about 2 pods) and only filled up twice - that comes to about 870 shots per fill. All i've done was the easiest of bolt mods (vinyl tubing on the top hat). Not bad at all (velocity was about 260 fps, though).
Conclusion: Well, these aren't in production anymore and most people wouldn't consider checking around for used ones but the older Matrixes are solid markers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media