paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, October 16th, 2001
Strengths: Excellent field of vision. Very light. Self tinting lens. Good ventilation. Doesn't fog at all. Fits perfectly. Looks very cool.
Weaknesses: Contrary to others posting here, I have had no problems with this product.
Conclusion: It seems reviews of this mask range from 1-10. Some people have alot of trouble with it while others, like me, have had none. I looked into it and here's why: The mask originally had several problems with sizing and ventilation. This made it slip on one's head and fog in humid climates. The company was made aware of this and altered the design components of the headband and goggle foam. Ya have to give these guys props for actually listening to payers and fixing the problems. It now works beautifully and conforms to company claims. I love this mask and would reccomend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 10th, 2001
Strengths: the good

first off is comfort, this is the most comfortable mask ive had, and the first 50+ one, i tried my friends ize and anothers proteus and they really werent too comfortable, they didnt seem to hold it to your head as much as mush it against it so it couldnt move, which really affected my breathing. this thing grabs onto the side of your head (comfortably might i add) and keeps it there without hugging your face too hard

the clip strap is a great idea, why dont the other companies have somehting like that? is that really so hard?

the vision is remarkable, the lense stretches back all the way past where you can actually see so the only restriction is above when the visor is on

its incredibly light because of how it attaches to your face, you wouldnt believe it

it never fogs, i live in miami, and your mask fogs, this one doesnt at all.

its really really cool looking

and since the lense changes tint its just that much cooler

u can actually wear glasses under it with little problem

it doesnt restrict your breathing, your breath doesnt come back and hit you, it can escape quite easily.

Weaknesses: well i can understand why people said that this mask was bad, there are two masks, the nuvis 1 1.0 and the nuvis1 2.0 .

the nuvis 1 1.0 was the first model and it really did suck, the foam was too thin making it sit right against your face and kinda dig into your eyes and it fogged like nobodies business.

but unlike most other companies nuvis (raven (kingmann)) actually listened to the complaints and fixed the problems, they added 4x more foam on the face so its the most comfortable youve ever had on your face, they addressed it so that it cannot fog even if you breathe on it (well, if you do it a lot for a while it will, but the fog is really small and will disappear in a few seconds)

the only bad thing that is on the 2.0 mask right now i would have to say is that if you breath with your mouth open you might get hit on the chin, but thats not too likely, and its one of the reasons why its so comfortable. the forehead protection is minimal, but with the visor on its all there, oh and another thing with the visor, you might wanna clip off the tails on both sides, they kinda dig into your head, but thats the only bad thing/
Conclusion: if your gonna get this mask its quite important that you make sure you get the 2.0 or else youll be wasting your money. the only place that i know that sells the 2.0 which is really great, they do have the lowest prices. DONT GET THE RAVEN NUVIS, its the cheaper one, but it fogs up and it doesnt have that lens dimming thing.

overall the vision area is the best ive ever seen, it never fogs, its perhaps the most comfortable mask ive ever had on my face (and ive worn a few), it stays put (the clip in the back helps you put it on and take it off real fast) its worth at least 100 bux, even though they sell it for 75 on xpaintball, i would definetely reccomend it to you, the other people that are complaining are complaining about a different mask, the 1.0, they are quite different even if they dont look like it. i cant really compare it to another mask cause its so different and unique, youll never find a mask that has this kinda design, i put on my old jt flex and i gotta say, i can never go back. i dont give out a 10 all the time, i only give it out when the thing actually improves my game substantially, is worth a lot more than it costs, and when it makes the other thing it replaced obsolete. this i can say meets all of those.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 8th, 2001
Strengths: i cant believe the rating this mask got. it is the best i have ever owned. i have owned a ize, spectra, and a proteus and none are as good as this one. it is smaller, lighter, and more comfy than all of them.it a little prcy yes but it wont fog.........ever, i have tried it. you cant fog it even by blowing on it. the strap is awesome regardless of what everyone is saying. mine changes three different colors in the sunlight!the leses tint in sunlight and i love that. it also has a ton of vision! buy this mask!you wont regret it.
Weaknesses: nothing. kinda pricey though
Conclusion: buy this mask. it rocks! go raven!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thextreme1 Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
Strengths: I really really like this product. I was concerned about it cause of the mix of reviews. The day i wore it i had no problems. It was comfortable and didn't fog for the most part.(explain later) I also like the small profile. The tinting lens is also a really cool feature.
Weaknesses: It fogged a little bit at the end of the day. I was looking into the sun and was sweating pretty bad. Plus my mask was covered in spray. The ear pieces were a little uncomfortable at first but i got used to them quickly. Also the strap was not that adjustable. It was a little loose but i wear a stocking cap that made up for the slack. Smaller straps are available though.
Conclusion: I really liked this mask. I like everything about it. Good vision, comfortable, diffent looks, so far not too bad on fogging. Yes it is a little expensive but you can find it cheap at other sites. I definately am recommending this mask to others.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 29th, 2001
Strengths: This is one of the best masks I've owned. It has only fogged once on me and that was during 98 degree weather in real fog after a hard rain. It fits perfectly, it doesn't make you look like a dinosaur (Scott-BadAss), it has a large sight area, and is very easy to take on and off.
Weaknesses: the only thing thats bad is the strap is a little big.
Conclusion: Like I said its one of the better masks I have owned. I refuse to buy any brass eagle product so I wont buy JT anymore and Scott masks are too frickin huge. The mask is kindof expensive so if you are cheap just get a flex 7 or somethin.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, September 24th, 2001
Strengths: The field of vision kicks ass! The photochromic lens is really nice- changes with UV radiation, not brightness, so stays clear under well-lit night games. Tint helps, but is still subtle. The weight is really low, and it fits like a glove. I forgot I had it on a couple times, and was wandering around the setup area still wearing it!
Weaknesses: The visor has a tendency to come off at odd moments. You can yank on the thing, but if a ball hits it just right you'll have one side get loose (WTFO?) I have had no problems, but it may not cover enough lower chin/face area for some. Where the strap fits in is a little sharp on bare heads, but I wear a beanie so it's not really an issue with me.
Conclusion: I love it! Got it for $60 online, but I think it's worth more. Everyone is AMAZED at the amount of peripheral vision you get with it. The CoolMax in the foam wicks really well. I had it fog up ONCE as I was coming off the field, and after I wiped it out I have never had it fog again. Try one out if you can, because they won't fit everyone perfectly. I'd give it a perfect score if the visor stayed put better, but everything else is top notch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sidey Tuesday, September 4th, 2001
Strengths: This review is really for the Nuvis1-2.0 version. Ive had this mask for about 2 months now and i like it alot.

-Gives you awesome vision
-Tints to the sunlight (light purple) and really helps
-Protect for face, temples, ears and chin
-Very comfortable (doesnt drag down on your face)
-Doesnt move around when running.
-Looks Sweet

Weaknesses: Only problem ive had with it so far is that the strap is to big for my head. The Hed-Lok scratched my head on the right side because i tightend it to much so it could fit my head. dont get me wrong i like the Hed-Lok system but the strap dont fit me. To fix this just order the free shorter strap from manual u get with it or wear a hat with the mask(which i do alot). The Price is alot on the offical Raven website but i got it somewear else heheh
Conclusion: It stands right up to my brothers Jt Proteus, the only difference is that mine has better chin protection. Look no further and get this mask now!

Well you will look further with this mask on :)

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 22nd, 2001
Strengths: The range of vision is really good. the shape of the goggles provides you with ample room for periferal vision. Looks different than all other masks..looks very cool.
Weaknesses: The original strap is too big even for an adult male head. The lens fogs very fast and frequently..Raven claims that it does not. They should really be honest about this. I ordered the replacement strap and that solved the problem of fitting loosely, however the replacement strap does not fit as comfortably into the headlok system. During an actual game the strap came right out of its socket and I had to leave the game..quiet dangerous if you ask me. Not worth the price. Those who have given this mask a positive review probably have not used it in actual paly.
Conclusion: Poor vision due to fogging, Safety issue due to strap coming off, and High cost earn this mask a below average rating. I do not reccommend it. Buy wisely..I am going back to JT masks..I want to enjoy my games instead of constantly cleaning fog off this lens.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 20th, 2001
Strengths: I love the way how the hedlok system works. Easy to put on and off. I also love the way how the lens tints. Really cool!
Weaknesses: Hmmm....after spending so much money on this mask, I hate to share such negative opinions on it (because they are mostly bad). But I will so here goes. The biggest problem I had with it was fogging. It's no fun trying to find a clear spot on the lens while getting shot at. The only way to reduce some of the fogging was to pour water from a bottle on the lens (while during a game I may add), but now all I see are water droplets. Anti-fog spray didn't work on the inside of the lens. I didn't have such a big problem with the ear area, but it was uncomfortable.
Conclusion: Don't even try to contact their customer support because it will take them forever to return your email. I think they wasted their time on their website (as cool as it may be) instead of using their resources on making their goggles better.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bslinde Monday, August 20th, 2001
Strengths: not much
Weaknesses: I previously posted that I had purchased the Raven based on the 100%% no fog guarantee and it fogged like hell. Well, I called Raven and they sent me a thermal lens to compensate for their false product claims. The thermal lense is not optically correct and does not tint but I was going to be happy if it didn't fog. The mask I had previously owned was thermal (JT) and fogged sometimes when I did some serious moving or during a long game. I thought this raven was going to be the end all mask of all time based on the product advertising and that was why I bought it. THE RAVEN THERMAL LENS EVEN FOGGED!! I could not believe it. The lens fogged between the two panes. I assume this means the panes where not sealed and that humidity got between them, but this was the worst I have ever seen a "thermal" lens fog. Raven makes the poorest quality paintball masks and lenses I have ever had the dipleasure of using. RAVEN SUCKS!!!
Conclusion: To find out if a Raven mask is right for you do the following:

1) Go to local hardware store, purchase white ten gallon mixing bucket.

2) Set fire to $70 of your own money, watch it burn

2) Place bucket on head and try to play paintball

3) If you enjoy not beeing able to see anything and do not regret having burned your money, then you should go buy a Raven, they are looking for people like you to buy and promote their product. If you didn't enjoy your experience then don't waste your money or your game.

PS. I wanted to rate the product lower but negative numbers where not possible.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media