paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, August 19th, 2001
Strengths: This is the dopest mask. My whole team owns these, and we have never had a problem. I think only fogs up in high humidity areas. I live in sunny California, and it never fogs up. I play in 90+ degrees, and it never has fogged up. I played in 70- degrees, and its never fogged up. I think it's just the humidity on the east coast.
Weaknesses: The price, and if you get shot in the front of the mask, its right in your mouth. trust me and anyone thats ever tasted a paintball knows it doesn't taste 2 good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone in low humdity areas. I got mine mask 4 $39 bucks, so my price was good. But thats alot 2 pay for it over 50 bucks. I think it's a really good, well designed mask, good style, looks, and the shock it takes. I've been shot close range with these and I never had a problem. Don't have 2 worry about them breaking, unless someone's shooting hot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 15th, 2001
Strengths: Review of Raven Nuvis 2.0 in green:
It comes in the best colors ive seen.
Field of View is very good.
Its super light.
Balls will deflect off it, its halfway between flex 7 and spectra plastic in hardness.
Optically correct lens clear as glass.
Can be used 9 out of 12 months of the year in PA right out of the box.
With a visor and photopurple lenses, glare is not a problem ever.
I can take it on and off with one hand.
Weaknesses: The mask does indeed have its problems like the gentlemen below me stated. He definetly has worn this mask in games, unlike some of the other reviews here which are stores just trying to pump this mask.

Is it worth its cost? Probably not, as it does indeed fog during the months of June, July and August in Pennsylvania. Under 50%% humidity conditions and a temp of around 80, it WILL fog. The Thermal replacement lens is another 20.95 plus shipping, so overrall your looking in the 100 to 125 dollar range for this mask. At that range it should perform better then it does Raven, shame on you. Ventilation on the mask is very good however so i must conclude that the reason it fogs is because the foam is so tight to your face that the lens cant use any of it.

There are also sharp edged plastic parts that can be a pain in the ass(or i guess your head, although some peoples are interchangeable:) and the strap even at full adjustment is too big for an average size man let alone a female player.
Conclusion: Overall i give this mask a 8 for effort. It is a very good attempt on a new style of mask, and i will continue to wear mine simply because i believe after you fix its problems its the best mask out there, including the proteus.

Fix 1: Order a replacement strap with ravens exchange program. Do this immediatly if it doesnt fit right, no sense in losing your eyes.

Fix 2: if your playing in humidity, order the thermal lens. Youll be glad you did, change out when playing conditions permit the photopurple.

Fix 3: Use a neckguard to overcome the vulnerability of neck hits. Personally i like it, because i can move my head through its naturally range of motion without feeling the mask.

Fix 4: Take a small file and file down all the sharp edges inside and around the mask. this makes its AMAZINGLY more comfortable to wear and only took me about 20 mins with a modelling file.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 14th, 2001
Strengths: Ok this mask is not perfect it has a few flaws yet some good stuff too. (I am rating the 2.0 I have heard the 1.0 is preety bad the 2.0 is not)
The lense is clear as glass
Never fogged up once yet I do play point so i dont move too much (if you r having fogging probs raven offers a new no fog lense which i have heard is good.
Slim profile. I dont know what it is about this mask the balls seem to just fly off it. One day I got hit in the head 12 times none broke. I dont know I think I also like the higher chin as I wear a neck protector any ways this eliminates some of those pesky hits that I was taking when I had my ghost as it has a really wide profile and almost everything breaks on it.
Weaknesses: The pain retention system on your ears and temple really hurts. the ear piece is split so the strap can slip in and out of the sides this makes no sense to me cause now you have two hard pointy plastc things digging into your ears or temple. To cure this problem I used a lacrosse ball stop cut it in half and put it over the two ear pieces. What were they thinking? Sticky foam is kinda gross. I dont know how this huge strap fits anyone thank god they offer a smaller replacement.
Conclusion: The vision is really good you can see almost everything although the nose section is rather high hindering proper vision slightly there.
Does not fog.
If you wear a bandanaa or hat and put some foam over the ear pieces the mask is quite comfortable if not ouchie.
Does not stay on well as the original strap does not come close to being able to adjust small enough. I hope my replacement strap comes soon.
Um for the vision system And the slim profile i think its worth the 80 bucks yet it suits how i play. Im not an intense player who is running around all day so fog is not much of an issue, I wear a bandana and neck guard if you diddn't you might be in pain from the sharp ear pieces and neck shots as it is rather high. This is probably not suited for a lot of players.
I think it has the best profile of all the masks it is slim and in most cases the paint doesent break when it nicks the side of the visor or sides of the cheek sections etc...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: This mask kicks ass. hardly ever fogs even in harsh conditions. the way the lenes change color is cool too. and the foam is very comfortable and helps keep the sweat out of your eyes. thats helpful if you sweat a lot like me.
Weaknesses: it a bit uncomfortable a round the ears but that noticable.
Conclusion: this mask is great. hardly ever fogs. comfrotable and defentaly worth the money. i recomend it to any body looking for a new mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: Photochromatic lens and advertising (which suckered me in to buy this piece of junk).
Weaknesses: Fogs up very badly. I had a 32 degree head case and that worked even better than this high price, crappy mask. Very uncomfortable around the ears. Learn from me and avoid at all costs (literally). Just buy a JT mask.
Conclusion: - Vision is alright, but fogs like a MF.
- Very uncomfortable around the ears.
- Definitely not worth the cost....should be around $20.
- Would not recommend to anyone. Mask totally blows.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: Great peripheral vision, that's if the lense doesn't fog. Photochormatic lense came in handy when the sun is beating down. Hed-lok is a cool feature.
Weaknesses: Fogs way too much, especially when playing in the woods. Too expensive for the poor performance. Manufacturer suggested not to use anti-fog solution because it may destroy the lense, which sucks because I really could of used it.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this mask to anyone because of its price and the way it fogs. I may be wrong but I thought that this mask claimed to be fog-resistant. I pretty much got this mask because I wanted a good field of view, which I get. But like I said, what good is it if the mask fogs....
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 9th, 2001
Strengths: the good news is that most good players dont use these.
Weaknesses: the bad news is, well the few people who had the displeasure of useing these including myself, have found major fog issues,bad padding or none in the right places, a dumb sun visor on photoadjusting lenes?????? the lens is so cheap you cant even use fog spray on them without damaging them. and of course the price, well, somtimes you dont get what you pay for.
Conclusion: our team found these to be among the worst ever. we expected more but got less. I wonder if the good reviews here were written by somone under the influence or just confused. in conclusion the "RATPACK" does not recomend these at all.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 9th, 2001
Strengths: The lens changes to light conditions and it looks cool.
Weaknesses: Small fitt for an adult and the ear gaurd was sticking in my temple. I had moderate fog on a 70 dg day and I dont sweat that easy from mild running. I didnt use fog spray because the instruction dont recomend it. It was also an expensive mask and it wasnt even made that well from the looks of it. The visor is useless if you have darkening lenses. go figure. I also never used the buckel in the back but you really dont need one anyway.
Conclusion: I will not use this mask in the summer when fog is going to build up. I also heard of the back buckel comming undone during a game, so safety is my concern. overall I give it a one for a noble try but poor performance at an outrages cost.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 2nd, 2001
Strengths: NOTHING!!
Weaknesses: FOG FOG and more FOG! not to mention cheap padding that started to peel out after a few games. The head strap is a dumb idea the way its set up too. It has rubber like pins that secure the head strap, so if they come undone you have to buy a replacment. with other mask its a simple strap through that is secure and practicle. These were also fitting low on my face which made it more uncomfortable. I cauld go but thats the skinny on this junk.
Conclusion: I cant believe I spent this much money on GARBAGE. The store I got them from doesnt carry them anymore so I cant even get a refund. Overall these are less than zero!!!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 26th, 2001
Strengths: The lenses are the best I've ever looked through. Forget that JT crap. You need optically enhanced lenses like these. It's looking through nothing.
The tinting works, and it works damn well.
The clip on the back is awesome. Makes it so much easier, and makes clipless masks look primitive.
Disassembly. This mask is awesome. I bet it takes me about a minute to get it completely apart.
Weaknesses: The visor. Mine's warped. Don't care though, cuz I always wear a hat under my mask, so instead of wearing my hat backwords, I wear it forwards.
The tiny screws holding the lenses in. Very easy to lose if you're at the field.
Conclusion: This is the best mask that money can buy. I'm convinced that you can't buy a better mask with your money.
I mean, the Proteus doesn't even come close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media