paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
dghvd Tuesday, June 26th, 2001
Strengths: Zero fog and high comfort. The first the I noticed when I got out on the field for my first time in these was the lense was turning darker, kind of purplish. The chromatic lense is really great and I have a huge field of vision in these.
Weaknesses: The ear part is a tiny bit uncomfortable, but you barely notice it when you are actually playing. Price is a little high, and it is a little small...
Conclusion: I love this mask. It fits very well and has a great field of vision. No fog and cool looks to boot!! I would give it a 9.5, but I'll have to round to 10 ; )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Habib7386 Saturday, June 23rd, 2001
Strengths: This mask is the best I've used so far. After numerous brass eagle, JT, and Scot masks, I finally pickedu p one of these. It's low profile, has optically correct lenses, tints in direct light, and wow is it comfy! Mine canme with a visor, but I odn't use it, so I couldn't tell ya anything about that...
Weaknesses: There are exactly 2 bad things about this roduct. THe first is that it offers little or no neck protection. Oh well, buy a neck guard, it's not a big deal. The second is that, in staying small, it also provides no forehead protection, without the visor anyway. Personally, I don't worry about this, I wear a Starter hat basckwards under my mask and that is all the forehead protection I need.
Conclusion: This is definetly worth it. I absolutely love playing with it, woods or speedbal, and as a side not, it looks cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mel Wednesday, June 20th, 2001
Strengths: First off is sight, if you want to see, then these are the goggles for you, especially if you ware glasses, this is the main reason I went with these in the first place, you have plenty of room on the inside of the foam, to move the mask up and down, that’s With your glasses on. The view is fantastic you can see everything crystal clear, and with the photochromatic lenses that are awesome in there own right, hey when they tint it adds to the clarity and enhances your view even further, no other mask on the market can even come close to toughing that. Secondly is the mask it self, its small and light weight, giving the effect of not having a mask on while your playing, it gives you plenty of freedom to move you head around that none of the other masks offer, with the JT flex I always hear and “personally” see guys getting split lips from the flexible part of the mask, all the other masks have a tank like helmet effect that weighs you down and constricts your movement and I still see them getting hurt. Not with the Raven its small compact design gives the best field of vision, best field of movement, and none of us on our team has ever been hurt by the mask flexing, our whole team has them there’s seven of us and to prove I am not talking a bunch of smack like some of the other guys here, I'll back up what I am saying, you can see for yourself, here’s the link to our team HavocSpawns web site http://www.mellowe.com/havocspawns.htm as you can see we all have the Raven mask so I know what I am talking about, and let me also say that none of them has ever fogged not once ever.
Weaknesses: Nothing, this is the best mask money can buy, and you can find it for as low as 69 bucks, just ordered another onel for our newest team member, Yeah he had the JT flex on last time we went out and guess what? Yep a split lip, we let him try the Raven’s and as always after they play one game the first thing they say when getting back to base is “WOW I cant believe how good you can see outta these things” well that makes two JT’s and one Scott mask, we have for loaners, I actually feel sorry for our guests cause that’s what their stuck with to watch us or the occasional tag along.
Conclusion: The best field of vision, and the clearest vision on top of that. The tinting action is great, plenty of room, even for the person wearing glasses. No fogging at all period, dose not hinder your movements like other masks do. Actually helps your game play on account of the vision and the way the mask was designed, and lets not forget about that buckling strap in the back ‘man o man’ I thank god every time I take them on and off, that strap makes it so nice, instead of trying to pull it on over your gear or glasses. Extremely comfortable, cant tell you even have them on, and it stays in place none of us has ever needed to adjust the mask while playing, I would definitely recommend this mask to anyone that’s not only serious about playing paintball, but just want to have fun as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, June 11th, 2001
Strengths: excellent peripheral vision-- better than my JT s, crisp clear view thru the lenses (best of any goggles I've used), got the cool photochromatic feature, light weight, great fit around my head (I have a smaller head), the ratchet in the strap makes it easy to remove (beats fiddling around w/ the strap).....and yes mine did come with a visor, and no mine has NOT fogged up, even after playing in humid 85 deg. weather (although your mileage may vary)
Weaknesses: got these huge gaping holes in the mouth area, allowing a lot of splatter to enter your mouth (not good if you get shot there), not a whole lot of protection in the head area either, very expensive
Conclusion: at first I was leery about buying these, especially after all the negative reviews I read about them prone to fogging, but after playing another game with my
JT's (which are also good masks), and not being able to look out the corner of my eye or turn my head due to the restriction of the large mask, I figured I needed something better, so I went out and got these. the first thing I did after opening it up was to breathe on the lenses. I noticed that they fogged up on the OUTSIDE but no fog at all on the inside. The difference was dramatic. A visor was also present in the box! So far I've used this on a couple of occasions, sweating like a pig in warm to hot weather and have had no problems. I clean them thoroughly, making sure to get any paint smudges. this is probably the only mask that I actually prefer to keep ON as when the lens is clean, i actually see better. ( Its like having a good pair of shades). Overall my opinion this is an excellent product. And no I have no affiliation with Raven/Kingman
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianFett Sunday, June 10th, 2001
Strengths: Don't listen to the bad stuff others have said. This mask is great.
Air flow is good. It was easily 80 degrees today, and I didn't have a problem with fogging at all.
Definitly the clip on the goggle strap. Why hasn't any other companies clued in? This is the way to go.
The self tinting lense is a great feature, but it could tint a bit darker.
It's so lightweight, don't even know it's on.
No problems with it falling off. Whoever said that prolly had a defective clip. Mine fits nice and snug
So easy to disassemble, don't have to be afriad like I was with my Spectra.
Weaknesses: Price is a bit high, but at least it's cheaper than the Proteus, which is waaaay worse than a Nuvis.
Lenses could tint a little bit more.
Conclusion: So what if everyone else is wearing JT. Go against the flow. Go with the better goggle system. Go with a Raven Nuvis.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 27th, 2001
Strengths: It is lots more comfortable that my old mask. The clip in the back is a neat addition because i can get it off that much faster. It looks cool and there are lots of different colors that it comes in. The photocromic lens is cool. There is a very good range of vision, a big plus. It is well vented, maybe a little too well.
Weaknesses: A big surprise i got was when i got shot on the chin part of the mask, almost all of the paint and shell came through the vent holes and straight into my mouth! I was surprised and was left with a VERY sore mouth. Raven is full of crap when they say it doesnt fog! The strap it came with did not fit my small head when it was tightened all the way. That means i have to wear a hat or beanie, HOTTER (i sweat).
Conclusion: Its a pretty good mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 24th, 2001
Strengths: Obviously the photochromatic lense is cool. So you don't have to go through the pain in the ass task of switching lenses for other masks. I have never had a fog problem with them and i sweat like a hog when i play. I've used the mask in tournament just this past sunday and not a single problem with fogging. The peripheal vision is outstanding. Much better than the JT masks. Makes a difference when you're the back player and have to call out player movement. i like the clip on the band so i don't have to take off my hat or bandana when i take off the mask.
Weaknesses: you have to mail in this card to ge the visor. pain in the butt. been two weeks and still haven't gotten it. so a bandana or some type of head gear is a must since my forehead is exposed and chix don't dig a bruised forhead. It could cover more chin and jaw. and yes the ears are a little uncomfortable.
Conclusion: overall, good mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kcbshaw Tuesday, May 15th, 2001
Strengths: The mask is a great mask if you learn to take care of it. Most people are saying it fogs up. Well the first time I used mine it did so I went home and cleaned it and it hasnt fogged up since. Really comfortable and light. Fits great with a beanie.
Weaknesses: The clip strap is a little hard to get used to but other than that its great.
Conclusion: It has great vision and if you take the time to clean it then it will never fog for you. I would recomend this mask to anyone playing paintball because its comfy and really light and not that expensive considering what you get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 14th, 2001
Strengths: The only good thing about this mask is the lens, although, I did have a lot of fogging. Otherwise the transitioning of the polychromatic lens is nice in varying light conditions. It also has an excellent field of view. The buckle on the strap is a nice touch.
Weaknesses: Well, it is very small, the plastic is too hard, it's uncomfortable around the ears, the visor is just plain weird, it fogs (although, others don't seem to have a fogging problem), the holes are too big and let paint through, the strap is too big.
Conclusion: If this mask were under $50.00 it would be worth it, especially for younger players with smaller heads. I'm really surprised Raven still couldn't get it right even on this 2.0 version of this mask. I never tried the first one, but if this one is supposed to be better???
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Roggers Friday, May 11th, 2001
Strengths: this mask is very comfy and its neat when the lens turns purple and the vents are the best than any other mask.
Weaknesses: It is small but its ok
Conclusion: Now i see that other people are saying that the raven nuvus-1 version 2.0 is bad and fogs up and stuff. Well it is if you get the Java edition because the Jave edition does not come with that pattend lens that the other masks come with so if you don't want to have your raven fog up on you get the Black one.

I have the black one and my friend has the Java one..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media