paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, May 7th, 2001
Strengths: YOU CAN SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY SOMTHING ELSE
Weaknesses: These things remind me of the old UVEX goggles that were deemed unsafe. I had FOG, FOG and more FOG. The cheap head strap came out of the anchor socket. This mask was also the most uncomfortable I ever worn. Like the UVEX the head strap was weak and unsecure due to a cheap plasic clip that serves no real purpose because most people just slide their mask on. I also found the lens could not accept anti fog spray either do to its poor tolerance to chemicals,unlike SCOTT or JT that can hadle the fog spay even though I never needed it with them. These things also dug into my temples and were abrasive to wear.
Conclusion: RAVEN IS JUNK!!! Asolutly the worst ever in so called safety equipment. I hope no one gets injured wearing these !
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Omega6_Virus Friday, May 4th, 2001
Strengths: -This is wonderful mask. I got mine for x-mas and I sold my gun in January I wish I wouldn't have cause this mask rocks for the few days I used it before I sold my gun.

-The foam in the front is very comfortable. AND LOTS OF IT!!(foam that is)

-The field of view is extremely large. The only place you may not be able to see is by the nose(only a centimeter) and looking down(but its very small as well)

- I am writting this review while wearing my mask and there is no fog at all. I ran up and down my stairs and I haven't fogged it up at all.

- Lots of protection by the ears(read bad comments about this)
Weaknesses: -The only bad thing may be the price. 100. But I've seen it for 75

-Their is a lot of protection around the ears. The only bad thing is that the plastic covers that protects the ear can be a little sharp. But I have a shaved head. It helps to have long hair or to ear a hat or some kind of winter hat.

-The other thing is that there are no visors at any stores I've seen. But in my APG magazine I've seen the add with them so they are out there some where.

-If you've seen one up close you see the buckle is kinda thin.(should this be in the Good colum?) Be assured that it heavy duty.
Conclusion: Posibly the best mask out there. The price can be high but it is a wonderful mask for everyone. If you are a newbie I don't suggest this mask unless you are going to play lots of paintball cause if you quit you will have a piece of gear you can't afford to throw away. One of the most comfortable masks I've every worn. LOTS OF FOAM PADDING. They look really cool too. Not the standard look of JT masks which are very nice too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Roggers Friday, May 4th, 2001
Strengths: Well i have had this mask for at least 1month now and i am just so amazed.
i have never in my life felt so nice in this mask, unlike the nasty jt masks.
Oh yea NO FOG.
Weaknesses: It might be a little small BUT it is still good enough for any pro.
Conclusion: The vision is the best i have ever experienced. I never had it fog up on me yet since i bought it. It is very comfortable to wear. Well i have a big head, and it fits perfect, now don't get me wrong it fits all heads, just my heads fit into the Raven perfect. IT IS WORTH THE COST BELIEVE ME. No mask i think can stand up to this baby. Just get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 28th, 2001
Strengths: I waited until I had taken my Raven out in a wide variety of weather conditions so that this review could actually be worth something. Quite simply, my Flex-7s are now my back up mask, and unless someone steals my Ravens they are going to stay that way. The difference between the Raven and the Flex is as great as the difference between the Flex and a rental.
-The lens is crystal clear. It is hard to adequately describe the difference optically correct lenses make. If you want to see for yourself, put on a pair of $5 convenience store sunglasses, then put on a pair of $200 designer sunglasses.
-The mask is extremely light and comfortable. I frequently leave mine on because it is easy to forget that you are wearing them. They are very light, and well secured so when you move your head around you still don't feel them.
-The purple tint on the photochromatic lenses is great. I had a tinted lens for my Flex, and while it blocked the sun it gave that muddy impression universal with sunglasses. The purple tint, while nowhere near as dark, makes the world appear more crisp, not less.
-Very cool. The airflow in these things is great. I have actually felt the breeze move over my whole face. The lenses themselves are well ventilated without sacrificing safety in any way.
-Extremely good field of view. Better than anything else, and I have tried Flex, BE, and those new Shields.
-Look good. Only my opinion, but at least they are different.
-Does NOT FOG. I don't know where the contrary opinions are coming from. I played in the rain/sleet on a 38 degree day (miserable day I might add) and didn't get one hint of fog. I played in extreme humidity (92 degrees, 100%% humidity, it was so humid you could see the vapor rising off the ground), also, the sun was out and evaporating the standing puddles from the previous night's rain. I've run, sweat, been rained on, played in heat and cold (I live in Nebraska, we get some pretty extreme weather around here, both hot and cold) and I have yet to see one hint of fogging. I wonder if people are putting their lenses in backwards or if they got some early defect. By the way, my lenses are the very new version, shipped with a visor in the box.
Weaknesses: There are some serious issues to keep in mind with the Raven mask. Consider them before you buy.
-It is a small mask. It has as much coverage as a Flex, since while smaller it is a rigid mask (I have been hit by those edge-of-the-flex paintballs that deflect into my throat while wearing my Flex-7s too often). The noticable exception is your back jaw, just below and in front of your ear, and your forehead. The Raven mask curves here, and I have taken a paintful hit (only one so far) right there. This mask is not for someone who is worried about full coverage. Don't loan them to your sister on her first day out, if you know what I mean.
-Not terribly common yet, so replacement lenses will need to be ordered in. If you get gogged up close, you'll need to already have a spare lens or will be forced to play with a different mask for the week or so it takes for the replacement lenses to be shipped out to you.
Conclusion: These are GREAT goggles. I couldn't recommend them any more highly. The only gripe I have, and the reason they don't score a 10, is the poor coverage of the back/lower jaw and forehead. As far as fogging, order a new set and I cannot believe that it will happen. It doesn't get any worse than sunshine after a thunderstorm on a 92 degree day with standing water and steam rising from the ground. I played in those exact conditions and had NOTHING.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 18th, 2001
Strengths: This mask is really something else.I dont buy all the negative stuff people wrote about them.I haev had mine for a month now and feel it is the best piece of equipment i have purchased recently,next to HPA of course.The lense is phenominal,it is so clear you wont believe it and the photochromic tint is so sweet.The foam used to line the seal around your face is supposed to be cool max which in my experience is first rate material.As far as fogging up goes , i couldnt fog this mask if i tried, and i have!!
Weaknesses: No visor,not that i really care a whole lot but it would be nice to have as an accesory.The forehead and neck area are pretty exposed but again not a real concern of mine.I wouldnt really consider what i mentioned as bad just not perfect....
Conclusion: I think this mask rocks,i got mine for 70 dollars and feel it is worth every penny.I had a small problem with getting paint inside the lense but called the customer service line and got great response.I wont say these masks are perfect but i think their on the right track.Its a nice alternative to the same JT masks that everybody and their grandmother wears.I bought this mask because no one else had them and they look sharp as hell,after buying it i am more than satisfied.Got shot 3 times in the face the first day wearing it and it didnt skip a beat,wiped right off and looked good as new.The problem witht the paint inside the lense was handled in a snap,one phone call and a new lense was on the way.This mask may not float evry ones boat but is far better than a lot of the products offered,oh yeah if you buy one dont but the java edition,they dont come with the high tech lenses,its worth the extra 25 bucks.Lets face it , Raven products are pretty cool looking and in my experience perform well ,im a average 9 to 5 er who enjoys his paintball on the weekends and i can honestly say that i recommend this mask,no i dont work for Raven, I wish I did!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
Strengths: i've owned two JT flex 7s, so they're all i have to really compare my nuvis with. all i have to say is that this goggle is so made what it is by the lenses. they're perfectly clear and optically correct, tricked out with the transition lenses that tint with the sunlight WHICH I LOVE!!!! (no need to switch out colored lenses), you can practically bend them in two without cracking. and i have yet to fog them, including a couple of trips snowboarding...for kicks.

from everything i read and heard before, the earlier models of this goggle were junk, but the 2.0 pretty much rocks. feels secure, stays snug on my head, comfortable face foam, and lightweight.
Weaknesses: i've taken some paint in my mouth from the larger-than-they-need-to-be vents over the mouth.

i wish they had more forhead protection. the visor looks cool, but doesn't do much more than that cause you don't really need them to shield from the sun.

clips and nuts to remove lenses can be a pain, but still easier to change lenses than my spectras.

i'd like to see some different colors.
Conclusion: i pretty much love them. if you want to really know what it's like to see in all directions without feeling like you're looking through a tunnel or a bubble, then these are winners. the lens rocks!

for me it is all about vision and these babies deliver. protection is good enough for me, but not as much forhead protection as other brands. wear a cap if you are concerned about getting popped in the forhead.

i've seen the 2.0 as cheap as $75 online, well below the raven msrp.

i recommend!

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 10th, 2001
Strengths: I was very pleased with the dark smoke color of the mask, it just looked cool. I also found the
lens to be very clear, but the good news stops there.
Weaknesses: Last week was my first game this season so the weather wasnt too hot. I noticed these Ravens were fogging up. The owners books says not to use fog spray so I kind got stuck using feild rental goggles for the day with no problem. I was also unhappy with the inner padding, it felt uncomfortable and it didnt seem very well made. being that safety is a big factor in paintball I was also unhappy with the poor temple and ear protection,it just seemed
too skimpy. Also the price am going to see if I can return mine and get my $79 back and get somthing worth the money I pay.
Conclusion: I wish I cauld say this was a good mask with good safety features but that would be false. If you can live without a RAVEN I recomend you do and look at some of the other goggles out there. I rate this a 1 because of the safety hazard of FOG "people tend to try to clean there mask in a game when it foggs" poor overall protection and the price.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulseGUY Sunday, April 8th, 2001
Strengths: Absolutely no fog! Not once the entire day! After about 30minnutes of play, i noticed that the lens had turned a dark purple shade due to the sunlight. When i put it on i couldnt notice purpleness but everything was a nice, clear light level. The 280 degree perhipial vision is outstanding. IT fits perfectly on my head and looks awesome as well. BUY THIS MASK!
Weaknesses: NOTHING, accecpt it took 3 months for them to send my visor. ( Which looks completely awesome too)
Conclusion: This mask is the second ive bought. before buying a mask i made sure that i researched all jt, scott, and other leading headgear producers products before buying from raven. When the mask came in the mail, i was worried if i had made a mistake over the flex-7 or diablo shield. BUT I WAS WRONG. THIS WAS THE BEST MASK I HAVE EVER SEEN, OWNED AND EVER LIVED! Then, reassuring my judgement, i went to a local shop and tried on the flex seven which did not fit well and was not nearly as nice. FOR PEOPLE WHO DONT like the strap, there is an offer for a smaller, one with more silicon beeding.(free) I swear my my nuvis!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 7th, 2001
Strengths: It doesn't fog up easily. Perhaps you got the version 1 or the Java edition - which aren't very well made. But if you do get this mask, get the Version 2. It comes with thermal photochromic lenses, very cool. Mine turned a shade of smoke/purple-ish look. Eye/lense position and design is very well made too - because the lense and foam rests comfortably over your nose - which also blocks the hot air from rising. Thus it reduces the fogging up on the lenses. My friends and I even tried blowing hot air on the lenses, NO FOG - well, at least not much. You just see some tint, but it quickly dissipates.

You can also take the ear pieces off - if you feel they get in your way.
Weaknesses: Not much. It doesn't come with a visor, but there's a redemption card that allows you to send in to receive your free visor. Also, some people complain the lack of foam in the ear pieces, that's true. But it won't affect you unless you have a BIG head. The Raven, unfortunately, wasn't created with people with larger head sizes. Though the adjustable strap will allow you to fit, the lack of foam padding on the side may produce uncomfort.
Conclusion: Overall, this mask was very well designed. Though it's a bit on the pricy side, but it's worth the cost. It doesn't fog up much at all and it's a comfortable fit, as long as you don't have too big a head. Also, the way you can take apart the mask easily, makes everything much more convenient to customize.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joej13joe Friday, April 6th, 2001
Strengths: THIS MASK ROCKS GET IT!!! I got mine for 35$$$!!! used in perfect condition. You may not get that lucky but i would have payed 125$ is i had to. There is NO FOG ever!!! keep your lens clean and they work fine.I can't even feel this mask on my face. get regular version java dosn't have visor, clip strap, and some other missing features. o yah don't get that black and red one! the pictures make it look kool but up close it looks StUpId!!! I got clear green.
Weaknesses: not much coverage but who cares were a neck guard and a hat backwards.(problem solved) lens attract some dust not too bad though. The only other bad thing is that it is like 80$. But still worth it!!! Worst of all is i can't rate higher than a 10 i give it a 100!!!
Conclusion: GET IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media