paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Unregistered User Sunday, March 4th, 2001
Strengths: This mask has some very good featured to it. the field of vision is amazing and you can see everything (when its not fogged up). The photochromatic lenses are very cool to see them change, and it greatly enhances your vision. also it is very light
Weaknesses: I have had some very major problems with this mask. I have used it twice and thats all I ever wanted to use it again. In both of the games that I played in my mask fogged up so that I couldn't see anything and ended up not being able to play in any of the games. it was really frustrating having of spent all of that money on a mask and not even being able to play with it.
Conclusion: overall, I think that this mask has potential. they have some very good designs in this mask but need to implement a thermal lense so that it wont fog up. At this point I would not reccomend this mask to people just because of the problems that I have had with it, and would reccomend to them a JT flex 7 with a thermal lense so that they wont fog up and have the same problems that I did.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 16th, 2001
Strengths: This is the best mask that I have ever used. The lens is awsome and will darken during daylight play and lighten during low light condition. The quality of the optics is amazing, I can't believe how clear it was and it also has a enhancing ability to highlight cammo clothing.
Weaknesses: Very pricy, but well worth the money
Conclusion: The best mask made so far! If money is not a issue, get this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 4th, 2001
Strengths: Despite what anyone else may say, vision is the most important thing in Paintball. If you can't see what's coming after you, you can't defend yourself. If you're periphreal vision i blocked, you're limited in making important decisions.

Raven's Nuvis 1 V2.0 is perhaps the breakthrough a lot of players have been waiting for. First, it boosts a 285-degree field of view, larger than any other mask on the market. The lens, made of Polyeurathene, is crystal clear, and according to Raven, it's 40 percent stronger than regular polycarbonate or lexan lenses. The lens is also photochromatic, it tints slightly in bright sunlight.

I've used the Nuvis for three weeks. First, the mask fits very securely around the face. The added foam in the V2.0 version of the mask makes it a very comfortable fit. The mask comes standard with a Quick Release clip, sort of like on a fannie pack, only thinner, and the strap has a non-slip rubberized material on it so that is doesn't come loose during play. As an added measure, Raven added a Temple Lock inside the ear protectors to keep the strap even more secure.

During play, it's hard to tell you have the Nuvis on. It's extremely light and well ventilated. I've played in dry cold conditions and humid cold conditions and the mask has not even attempted to fog up. (Well, there was one time when I had a hat covering the vents on top of the lens, but I'll go into that later).

I've taken several hits on the lens, but no paint infiltrated the mask, or got between the lens and the mask. Paint cleaned off easily with Plexus spray.
Weaknesses: There are a couple of downsides to the Nuvis. One, limited protection to the neck, throat and forehead. I wear a neck protector and a head wrap that loops around the throat, so I'm not too concerned. As for the forehead, Raven announced last week on PaintballCity.com that they will begin shipping visors out very soon, within the next week or so. When you buy the Nuvis V2.0 it comes with a card you can send to Raven to recieve a free visor.

Also, currently there are no replacement lenses available in stores. Raven has also said that this will be corrected in the very near future. Both problems are a direct result of Raven's acquisition by Kingman. Raven admits that the merger caused some problems in their Customer Service department. Hopefully that has ended.

I've also hear reports that some V2.0 versions of the mask were shipped with some defects such as poorly aligned retention screws (the screws that hold the lens in place) and foam peeling away from the inside of the mask. (For reference, the earlier version of the mask had a single layer of foam inside the mask. Raven added a layer of more absorbant foam over the first layer when it introduced the V2.0)
Conclusion: I've worn JT masks before getting the Nuvis. I'm very pleased with it and wouldn't consider getting another mask.

The only thing that could possibly change my mind is if Raven/Kingman begin to back pedal on their promises of better customer service, or further delay shipping the visors and replacement lenses. Still, as far as performance, vision and protection go, I'm giving the Nuvis high marks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 3rd, 2001
Strengths: This mask is the most comfortable mask I have used and liked.The vision is great and clear.I play here in Texas and have not fogged the lenses yet.I was once ambushed by two people in the woods and nailed in the mask.The mask did not even move.
Weaknesses: I wish the vents on the front of the mask (mouth area)would have an back side cup to prevent paint from coming into the mouth area when getting ambushed!
Conclusion: I payed $75.00 for my mask.This mask is more comfortable than my JT Spectra.I have yet to fog the lense.The mask stays on very well when running and climbing in the trees.Did I mention the great vision and the photochromatic lenses that adjust to the different light situations.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 26th, 2001
Strengths: This mask freaking rulz. I just got this mask and I am amazed at its quality. When I put it on I hardly notice it.
The headlok feature is sweet the mask hardly moves at all.
The peripheral vision is amazing i can look as far to each corner as posible and not see any parts of the mask. Oh and this thing is freaking beautiful.
Weaknesses: well when i first got it i noticed a lil mis cut on the foam around the nose but when i put it on and tightened the strap it was comfortable and no paint could get through so i guess it just looks like a problem.
Conclusion: Like i said before the best peripheral vision. NO FOG!! Extremly comfortable. Doesn't move around on your head. DEFFINATLY WORTH THE 80 BUCKS! THIS MASK BLOWS ALL OTHERS OUT OF THE WATER. I TOTALY RECOMEND IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Recondo! Sunday, January 21st, 2001
Strengths: This review is for the Raven Nuvis-1 version 2.

Very comfortable. It feels like a second skin.

Great field of vision. I believe Raven advertises 285 degrees (5 degrees more than the BE Extreme Vision)

Anit-Fog works very well. I played indoor speedball and didn't see a hint of fog.

Great lens. The lens is so optically fine, it is like looking through a glass window. Can't even tell the lens is there.

The version 2 is standard with a visor.
Weaknesses: The photochromic lens is supposed to quickly transition from clear to dark based on light. I think I set my sights to high and expected Oakley shades. The tint does lower the glare but don't expect it to kill the light of a sunny day. Keep in mind, I think I was let down by the photochromic because my expectations were too great. I am not lowering the product rating because of this...

What bothers me about the mask is that the Raven website and all the vendors label the Version 2 has 100%% guaranteed no fog performance. Fair enough. The mask has yet to fog on me. But...when you read through the owner's guide, the first warning in the book says "Under certain conditions some fogging can occur." That just doesn't seem right. I just don't get it...

Conclusion: Despite the slight false advertising, I would recommend the mask.
The vision is good.
It did not fog up.
It is very comfortable.
The clip and adjustable strap keep the mask in one place.
I feel the mask is worth more than similar JTs or the BE mask. I have never worn Scotts so I can't compare.

As for the price...yes it is an expensive mask. I believe it is the most expensive mask at 80-100 dollars. But before you wonder if it's worth it, consider how much you've spent on your marker. A good marker will help eliminate players. A good mask will help you from being eliminated.

The Raven Nuvis is worth the money. I do recommend it.

If it wasn't for the advertising blunder, I'd rate the mask a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
Strengths: The lens are hard to scrach.
The lens are photochromic meaning they change colors in the sun.
the lens are very hard to fog up.
the mask fits tightly so when you get knock in the head with a paint ball your mask won't come off
And it's very comforable
Weaknesses: The lens Attract dust like crazy.
Conclusion: Buy it, the best mask possible
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 24th, 2000
Strengths: I have always sworn by JT masks until Raven put NUVIS-1 on the market. The NUVIS-1 is an exceptional mask, little expensive but well worth the money you pay for it. The NUVIS-1 retails at around $100. ( I gave $80 for mine at retail.) Raven has utilized some awsome technology that was developed by the military for the NUVIS-1 lenses. The new polyeurathane lenses are 40%% stronger than the tradidional lenses, and are also photochromic. When you stand in the sun light the lenses turn dark like sunglasses, and when you step back in the shade your lenses turn clear again. Photocromic lenses also enhance greens and sharpens images, not to mention they are very hard to fog up. when I play I swet like pig and the mask still hasen't fogged up yet.
The mask is light weight and durable, also compact not bulky. The mask fits good and snugg and stays put. In fact I was in a game not to long ago ware I was LIT-up buy an Angel lcd. I took 7 shots to the mask and the mask did not move.
Are you concerened about line of sight? Don't be! This mask has the best peripheral and panasonic vision you can find, your vision isn't blocked in any direction you look. The NUVIS-1 feels natural when your wearing it. I rate the NUVIS-1 AT 9 BECAUSE I DONT BELIVE ANY THING IS PERFECT. EVERY THING CAN BE IMPROVED. I recommend you try one.
Weaknesses: -----NONE-----
Conclusion: Honestly, Try the NUVIS-1. you won't be disapionted, I garuntee it. We all work hard for are money but this is money well spent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media