paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
berettaindy_37 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cp two piece set
Bob long assassins barrel
Stock
Marker Setup: Smart Part ion w/
NDZ AC threaded breech
NDZ firing can
Shocktech Skeleton bolt
Virtue Qez
Shocktech bolt out back body
Ape Rampage board
Shocktech asa on/off brop forward 1"
Recommended
Paintballs:
Combat 68
Dxs Silver
Strengths: Accurate when clean.
Right size paint.
2 foot group at 35 yards @300 fps.
Weaknesses: Must shoot .686 to .688 paint to be accurate.
If it breaks give up.
Review: I got this Barrel set about three and a half months ago off ebay. It was a pretty good deal and that is why I bought it. I have taken it to the field and fired it at different velocities. the higher velocities are more accurate. 295-315 is the optimum accuracy but most places don't let you play that hot. I used it for woods ball and it did fine. It is more accurate than any barrel set I have when it is clean. CLEAN is the key word. I had problems keeping clean after I broke one and the field I was at didn't have running water. I ended up swithching to my cp barrel and used that the rest of the day. I found out after that first experince that you have to use a specific sized paint for it to work. The barrel only shoots .686-.688 sized paint accurately.
Conclusion: If you buy it and you get a set only buy the .688 fin and saze yourself the time and money. In my opinion they should create different barrel sizes and experiment with barrel coatings to help accuracy and reduce ball breaks. For the price I paid it was great but the price they want if you buy it buy the .688 fin and the barrel end. The only reason that the rating is a five is because it does shot a narrow window of paint very accurately.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

james_gang Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 14"
Smart Parts All American 16"
Marker Setup: stock cocker body, freeflow internals. ans front block. ans gen-x vert reg. wgp hinge. hammerhead barrel. hyperflow 201 68/45 nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing has been good through it
Strengths: most accurarte i've ever shot
Weaknesses: gets kinda expensive
Review: I have never said anything was the best, but this barrel has made me say that its the best barrel i have ever shot. The drawback is that the barrel is a little expensive and w/ the fin kit it gets a little more expensive. This barrel can outshoot in distance and accuracy my all american and my boomstick, then tryed it against my friends freak, it shot farther and was more accurate than it. There is no sleevs to worry about loosing or falling on the ground, just screw a new back on it and your ready to go. And i want to thank Robert at Offcial Paintball in Garland Texas for talking me into it.
Conclusion: i know its expensive, but its worth all of it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 29th, 2003 at 9:56 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

vikinggod Wednesday, June 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel system
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator GZ w/ Mac-Dev Conquest 4500psi,68ci air system, Hammerhead barrel w/fin kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, All-Star, Marballizer,Hellfire
Strengths: Accurate,quiet, light

Weaknesses: The barrel with the fin kit is not cheap.
Review: I had a chance to shoot prototypes of the barrel. As soon as it was available for sale I bought the fin kit w/10 in. barrel. It came with 3 sizer's (.683, .686,.690) with an option to buy a 4th. The smallest sizer in my opinion is useless, since I've never used paintball's that small.
This is the most accurate barrel I've used. Where it really beat's the Freak system, is at longer distance's, the grouping's are much tighter. It is quiet and very light. The only time I've broken balls in the barrel was on a very cold morning, and at a field that had cheap field only paint. It cleaned out decently after 3 or 4 shot's.
The barrel screws into the sizer, no messing with inserts, and the sizer is less than half the length of any kit that has sizer's or insert's that I have seen.
I also seem to get more shot's from a tank of air since using the hammerhead.
Conclusion: Buy it. They have added more sizer's since I bought the barrel. At the field I played at and the barrel was first marketed, many player's switched from the freak system and all were happy. A few people had problem's with the threading on the some of the sizer's and problem was quickly dealt with. The fit and finish is excellant. I plan on adding a longer barrel and getting a couple more sizer's.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bafrank@att.net Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann 98 C barrel=poor
Stone Cold II, 17 inch=much better than the stock barrel
Flatline=accuracy on par to better than the SC II barrel. flat trajectory is spectacular, but not as consistent as the Hammerhead rifled and ported barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Using both Flatline and Stone Cold Barrels and now the Hammerhead. CO2, custom spring kit, Stainless screw kit (removed the soft Lapco screw kit), BSA Red Dot sight, Shocktech Delrin bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far the most dramatic performance has been with Diablo Heat. OK with GAP
Strengths: Absolute consistency from one shot to the next.
Weaknesses: Price!
Review: I read all the other reviews and am blown away at the wide range of personal experience with this barrel. Seem to be a number of people who are convinced that this rifled barrel design cannot work. So for them it doesn't. Most interesting is the opinion that a liquid filled ball cannot be spun to gain stability. Well, if a liquid filled "hard" shell ball cannot be spun to gain stability, and thus consistency, then obviously the Tippmann Flatline barrel cannot work either.

I have shot the Flatline for about 6-8 months now and loved it for its flat trajectory (or maybe that was an optical illusion) but hated it appetite for expensive paint (Marballizer and, best in my marker, All Star). I saw the article in "Action Pursuit Games" magazine about the in-depth research in its development of the Hammerhead rifled barrel which gave me a lot to ponder. Let me say that I have been a competitive NRA pistol and rifle shooter for almost 30 years. My experience with the Flatline barrel let me know that spinning a paintball to gain stability was possible so further research on the Hammerhead barrel was initiated.

When I started paintballing a little over a year ago I was very disappointed in the general lack of accuracy. Games seem to be won by shooter being able to lay ropes of paint in the oppositions direction. The Flatline barrel got me up on the plane and aware that technology could help.

After looking long and hard I knew I wanted a Hammerhead. I lucked into a NIB kit on EBay for less than half price. First time out I was shooting a lot of old paint. Some as old as 6 months. Resulting in a lot of broken paint. Lot of paint that flew spectacular spiral paths and mixed brands of different sizes none of which shot to the same point of aim.

Half way through the match I sprang for a case of GAP at exorbitant field prices ($65) and after checking size and installing the matching fin I began to see some interesting results. But still not any better than the Flatline.

Last week we hit the fair grounds with a new case of Diablo Heat. We were running late so I just joined in with the barrel as set up from the week before. Accuracy was OK but no better than the Stone Cold II had performed on my marker. Half way through I stopped to check the paint size and install the matching fin. Walked back on the field and while waiting I fired a string of 6 shots across the field...a distance of about 100 feet. ALL 6 SPLATS TOUCHED EACH OTHER and formed a group no larger than my hand. Now that had to be a fluke! Particularly when just firing off hand like that. The game started and I took out 3 people on a four man team. I have NEVER done that well.

Over the next hour and a half I "killed" more opponents than my total number of kills since I started playing a year ago. At least one kill in every speedball game (against 3 to 7 players per team) and usually 2 or more. I had to keep reminding myself to close my mouth as it kept dropping open in amazement.

Though this barrel requires a little bit of elevation to reach across the field there were absolutely no fliers like with my Flatline. And, firing over 1200 rounds of paint, I had not one single break! This is my barrel for life!!!

Update 5/7/05---

We went to our favorite speedball field, Santa Clara Paintball in San Jose, CA today, using 1/2 price discount coupons we'd received the week before, to play a full day. Using Diablo Heat we started out on a very crowded intermediate field with 4 and 5 people behind each bunker (17 to 20 on a side on a field that works best with about 7 people per side). Too crowded to evaluate the barrel. Some games I was being shot out without firing my own marker.

The staff finished cleaning another airball field and we moved to it. First game there my side was down to 3 people with six still standing on the other. At this point the barrel began to shine. Shooting targets is OK but field play tells the story. Our side went from being down 3 players against six to winning the match. I took out 5 of the other teams players from the back line with the hammerhead. Subsequent games followed the same pattern with the barrel allowing me to take out 2 to 4 players most all from the back line.

We later moved to a newly assembled field with castles, walls, turrets and towers (all at ground level) The bunkers resembles medieval castles with small arched windows and doorways through which players could shoot. The windows were about 12" wide by 15" high, a small target from just about any position on the field. The hammerhead made shots through the windows to mark the hiding player a piece of cake. I have never had the fun playing that I had today...and I used almost 1/3 less paint than usual because of a very high number of one and two shot "kills." Met another player who used a Hammerhead and loved it. He was on the field doing a test on a new upscale marker and was really missing his Hammerhead. He, as I, has moved from the Flatline to the Hammerhead.

Oh, BTW, at my son's urging I removed the sights from the gun and have begun to shoot more instinctively...just sighting along the top and sides of the receiver. I am getting better at snap shots but have a way to go...come to think of it, maybe not. I seem to be shooting pretty well with this "no sight" set up.


Conclusion: I'd give this barrel kit (12' barrel, ball sizer and 5 fins) a 12 on the scale of 10. I am now a believer. This is not somebody else's rifled barrel, it's a Hammerhead...by far the most accurate barrel I have EVER used on my marker. Better than any other marker with some rather exotic barrels I have tried. And, no, I do not work for Hammerhead. Price is way out there, but they show up on EBay every so often. If you take the time to check the paint and use the proper fin it does not get any better than this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 9th, 2005 at 10:54 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

TeK NeaK Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing else is similar!
Marker Setup: 2005 WDP Angel G7 -Blue
Halo B w/ RIP Drive and Victory Board (v.35)
14 Hammerhead
68ci 4500psi LP Crossfire

Naughty Dogs FS-7
14" Hammerhead

Dye DM6
14" Hammerhead
Recommended
Paintballs:
It comes with different bore sizes, so any paintball will work.
Strengths: Rifled, reverse porting, weight.
Weaknesses: I realy haven't found one yet and I have used this barrel for months.
Review: Hammerhead Barrels were developed by the government to get the best accuracy possible out of a barrel. These barrels have Internal rifling and angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. These barrels are amazing, I personally own 3 of these for all 3 of my markers. I can vouch for these personally! Think about it, every barrel on the market is the exact same. For instance a Dye Ultralite will shoot just about the same as an Empire or Evil barrel. Why? Because only the porting is different, the inside (the only part that counts) it the same! All high end barrels are made from the same Air craft aluminum alloy as all are.

This has something different! First let me get to the rifling, all other barrels are slick inside, right? Highly polished internal shaft. Well what happens to the ball when it is fired? It comes out like a knuckle ball. What do knuckle ball's do, go any given direction it see's fit. Well with rifling you can more less control the trajectory of the ball in it's effective range. Which means when the ball wanders off in a given direction. These barrels put just enough spin on the ball so it stays straighter longer, a.k.a. it's effective range. With normal barrels the ball will taper off up, or down, or side to side prematurely, as this barrel causes it to stay on it's effective path for a greater distance and there fore you get a much greater chance of hitting your target with fewer shots. Also, rifled barrels are less sensitive to poor or brittle paint quality than traditional barrels.

Now for the porting and muzzle break. This barrel has reverse angled porting that allows air behind the ball to escape so the flight path of the ball isn't affected and also so the sound from your marker is directed towards the shooter, not towards the target. In other words to everyone on the field, your marker's sound is significantly reduced down-field! I am talking greatly reduced, the reverse porting takes the sound and projects it towards you, so less sound is generated down field! Woods baller, you know how important this is for you to remain concealed, and I am an AVID SPEED BALLER and it works great there too. Trust me, when you are trying to snap shoot at someone, and they can't see you, what gives you away? The sound of your marker does. So they cannot fire back until they know where you are, although it is a smaller field, speed ball is all about getting lost in the bunkers, trust me.

Rapid fire. Ok, for all who say, ok, it is good for one balling, but what about shooting 20+ bps? Well, let me tell you something. The markers I use with this barrel are an Angel G7 w/ Tadao MT Board, Naughty Dogs Freestyle FS7 and a DM6 w/ Virtue Board. They all can shoot 30bps and I hardly ever chop or break balls! I also DO NOT WORK FOR, NOR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH HAMMERHEAD PAINTBALL. So don't think I am biased or getting paid to make this review! I first got one of these barrels and just tried it out trying to see if there was any truth to the rifled paintball barrel. Every since then I have never used another type of barrel.

Bottom line these barrels work and out perform the competition in my most honest opinion. You will not regret making this purchase! These barrels are Light, Well Anodized, Reduce Noise Transmission, Increase Accuracy and it is Self-Cleaning with a few shots. You will love this barrel!

Here is a side note for anyone who thinks I am a sales representative, I work for Rock Hill Coca Cola Company as an area sales merchandiser. Do not accuse me of this just because of my detailed review. I only hope other people read this and at least go try one for their selves!
Conclusion: Great barrel, does exactly what it suppose to! I never looked back after i bought one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbvince998 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: wgp autococker halo tsa hammerhead
Recommended
Paintballs:
kick'n and worr
Strengths: the riffling reverse porting
Weaknesses: to light makes my gun back heavy but i dont mind
Review: IMO i think this is one of the best barrels ive ever seen when you break a ball the paint goes into the porting so the broken ball wont change your accuracy if you ever break a ball i can go out to the field and be able to see a persons pod or arm or even sometimes a barrel and be able to get them out.
Conclusion: in conclusion i think this barrel is well worth the $125 i paid for it i have absolutely no problems with it and i would recommend it to someone who wants a nice barrel without all the inserts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

unknownmosquito Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrel -- ive also used spyders and seen plenty of freaks
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann Model 98 Custom with my one-piece 12" Hammerhead barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nothing lop-sided. Old paintballs will swerve toward the ground
Strengths: Immense accuracy. Grouping like you wouldnt believe. Clears itself of broken paint in one shot
Weaknesses: if you shoot too fast condensation occurs easily
when condensation sometimes causes ball breaks
expensive
Review: This thing is awesome. It took some getting used to, so i have been doing a lot of target practice, but have used it every game since. I love it even more every time I use it. I had no occurances of broken paint during the game, although my friend did. I have had it break paint in testing. It is a .69 caliber barrel, and it is recommended to use large bore paint, and I have used medium bore, so it should be even better with bigger paint. I asked my friend (who uses a Tippmann Pro Shop 14" normally) what he thought, and he said one word "mine".
Anyway, get a swab for getting condensation out after games if you dont want ur bag wet, but other than that, no problems. And, it was worth every nickel. And trust me, these are my nickels. Not my parents'.
Conclusion: Excellent. If you want a great upgrade for your gun, buy this. And if you're still not sure go to their website and watch the IAO promo video, and read the review in the download section. Then you will be sure
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2003 at 9:44 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan0220 Monday, September 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Tear Drop, Flat Line
Marker Setup: I used to have a Tippman 98 Custom. Now i use only a Tippmann A-5 with a collapsible stock, Tru-Glo Halo Red Dot sight, M-16 for arm, and a Tippmann X7 Hopper on the A-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Anarchy is the most reliable and Accurate paintball EVER Made Its Perfect for this.
or second best is DraXxuS Recsport.
Strengths: Accuracy
Accuracy
Accuracy
Intimidation
LOUD!!!
Weaknesses: None, except if you like quite barrels then this is not for you.
Review: OK... Im going to review a more specific product of Hammerhead for all you Tippmann users out there... The TIPPMANN Straightline Barrel is Great! I can not express this enough. Its made by Hammer Head. The riffling in the barrel makes the ball spin to increase accuracy which leads to tighter groupings. At 60 yards i can honestly say i can constantly hit a paper plate EVERY TIME. Also with the barrel being riffled it puts such a spin on the ball it flies faster through the air which will allow you to be able to turn your CO2 velocity down to save air. I shoot 16oz CO2 tanks with my velocity turned a little above 1/4 of the way up but well below 1/2 way and at 50 yards the paint balls are not dropping a bit and on top of that i leave a welt through two t-shirts. Again that's at 60 yards YA IT HITS HARD!!. ( Just think of it as a pitcher throwing with the same amount of energy and power, a fastball compared to a knuckle ball... enough said ). using Nelson Anarchy paint I have had only 1 ball break in the barrel out of 7000 shots and believe it or not the barrel is very easy to clean. i recommend a squeegee with one of those fuzzy cloths on the end to get between the riffling grooves in the field. After you are done playing for the day all you have to do is run your barrel in some scolding hot water. ( NO SOAP ) (All barrels even paintball ones self dry themselves so you dont have to worry about corrosion or water deposits.) The best part tho is the Straightline is LOUD!!! in the direction you are shooting. some people don't like that but i do. Because when your sitting around with your buddies before the game and shooting around they will see how accurate it is and how hard it makes the balls hit it puts kind of a little a fear factor into the game when you start shooting at somebody. I Was on top a hill in the woods over looking the playing field when i shot at my friend during a game his entire team heard that A-5 go off and they all jumped into cover. I started laughing when they all started to fall back and try to work there way around my left side out of range. But all in all this is a GREAT barrel i like it better then all the others i have had including the Flat Line.
Conclusion: Buy It .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VonOrt Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much any barrel you can name. Freak, J&J edge, Kaner, Bizerk, Dye Ultralight, J&J ceramic one peice, CP one peice, Matchsticks any others you can think of.
Marker Setup: 2k3 Vert Feed Auto Cocker. Shocktech Pneumatics and Bolt. Palmer Male Stabelizer. Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything. It has different ball sizers so you should be able to find the right size for your paint
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Accuracy
Weaknesses: A little Pricey (but not really in comparison for what you get)
Review: I have been playing Paintball since 1986. I have shot about every type of barrel and marker that has been out. I can honestly say that this is the BEST barrel I have ever used. There will be a lot of people that tell you this barrel is hype. There are only 2 reasons that they would say this. 1. They have never shot the barrel. 2. They are afraid to admit that their old barrel is not as good. Robert (the owner) is a super nice guy. I met him at a Scenario recently at his booth. All he asked for was a drivers license, and off to the feild I was with a brand new barrel to use for the day. It only took me about 1 hour of use when I realized the Beauty of this barrel. I had to have it. I came off the feild, stopped at my truck and got the cash out. I have never been this impressed with a product in Paintball. Would just like to say Thank you to Robert for making a barrel that is finally worth while having and spending money on.

Initially the price seems high. But for this barrel it is worth it. And if you can catch the guys from Hammerhead at an event a lot of times they have them for a reduced price. Also they told me they expect a price break soon since the sales are starting to pick up.
Conclusion: Overall the best barrel I have ever shot. I will not put any other barrel on my marker from now on. This thing is Accurate, Accurate, Accurate, Only barrel I would ever give a 10 too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f18delta1 Monday, July 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak system, Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: 2K3 Black Magic
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accurate. Quiet down range
Weaknesses: A little loud to the shooter. Only 3 backs in the fin kit. Expensive.
Review: This barrel was great to shoot any play with. Shoots a broad range of paint very well. From the cheap stuff to the expensive stuff. I was ablet to put 3 shots in to about a 2 inch group from about 35 feet, and a 4 inch group at 50 feet. To me that is pretty good, and the 12" shot better than the 14".

Update 4/28/04

The more I play with this barrel the more I like it. I play a lot of Scenario games and have found this barrel to be a great fit for my style of play as well as my marker setup. If I happend to chop a ball, after about 6 or 7 it is shooting pretty darn good again.

The only draw back other than price that I have found is that if you play in the rain paintballs will be all over the place once the rain gets inside the porting of the barrel. The easiest way to correct this that I have found is to just cover the ports with duct tape while it is raining and it works fine. Other than that I still love this barrel.
Conclusion: Go out and get this barrel. It is a little expensive, but it is worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 28th, 2004 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media