paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
PBPete Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: A-5 With E-grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work
Strengths: Accurate, light, quiet, looks good, bore sizers, well made
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: I am going to start by saying that I am not in any way employed by or sponsored by Hammerhead Paintball.

I have been playing paintball for about eleven years now and have shot a lot of different markers and a lot of different barrels. This barrel is by far the best one that I have ever shot. You can tell by your look at the thing, it looks and feels like a real gun barrel and not a piece of aluminum tubing a few holes and some threads tapped into one end. The whole thing was milled on a CNC machine. It doesn't feel like other paintball barrels.

This thing shoots straighter and farther than any other barrel I have ever used. I went out with a friend right after I got the barrel. We were both shooting identical markers except for the barrels. He was using a Pro-lite barrel. The patterns on the targets were about the same only I was about thirty feet behind where he was shooting. The first time that I played a game with it I stood next to a friend with a Freak barrel and the Hammerhead shot the balls straighter and farther(my velocity screw was turned down almost all of the way).

The ads say that the shooter may experience more noise because of the backwards porting. It is a lot more quiet than the stock barrel that I used to have.

It is a little difficult to get perfectly clean if you break a ball(which doesn't happen very often). This isn't a problem because it will still shoot straight even with a broken ball, it just doesn't look very nice.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel that your money can buy. It is expensive but it is worth every penny. I bought the barrel with the fin kit and had some doubts about shelling out $250 for a barrel kit that only has three bore sizers. After using it I plan on buying another kit so I can have all the bore sizers and another length barrel. It really is that good. It has convinced a few of my friends to get them for their markers.

I have one last thing to say to the people that wrote the reviews that trashed this barrel. The reason that the balls were curving randomly is your velocity was set too high. My marker does it as well. All you have to do is turn your marker down and you start shooting straight as an arrow. The balls do not break on the rifling in the barrel. They are a couple of tenths of a millimeter deep, it isn't like the balls are being forced through 1/4 inch deep razor sharp grooves. As far as quoting reseach about how putting spin on a paintball doesn't help accruacy. I can't say if it does or doesn't but this barrel is extremly accurate. One person said that the Armson barrel was rifled and it didn't work so anyother rifled barrel wouldn't either. I have shot Armson barrels and they do suck. This barrel is NOT an Armson. Finally giving this particular barrel such a low rating makes me wonder if those people are either paid by or sponsored by Smartparts, Dye, or some other barrel manufacturer
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

pbplayer09 Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel system but this is better
Marker Setup: black matte works with 45 ,3000 nitro tank 12v hopper hammerhead 14" barrel
Strengths: quite,great acc,quite,quite hmm.... QUITE
Weaknesses: its alittle loud to you but not to them
Review: get it its the best barrel more acc then a freak quiter then the freak and dye but together at 50 yards the other team cant hear any thing but this ssssssw sound its alsome they dont know where the hell you are at you really dont need to buy the fins just buy the barrel for a little over a 100 it make my works deadly
Conclusion: its a great barrel for a great price buy it now be for it get popular and the price goes up lol it will be hard to find a least
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xforcefalconx Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c, Hammerhead Barrel, ADCO Sure Shot Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big Ball
Strengths: Accurate ( to a degree )
Self cleans fairly well
easy to install
Weaknesses: Inconsistent
Kind of pricey $120
Hard to find
Review: I recently purchased this barrel during the winter. When spring rolled around I was excited to use it. After I shot about 20 paintballs I noticed some were curving and some were straight. This is the main problem with this barrel, INCONSISTENCY!
While some of your shots will shoot straight on a line, others will curve off into some direction where they aren't suppossed to. The better the paint you use the more straight shots you will get, but you will still always get recent occurings of curving so that does not make enough of a difference for me to reccomend it.
The good news is that it does self clean fairly well ( takes about 5-8 shots ) and does not break that many balls. Also if you don't fire too fast your shots wont curve as much either, but when your in a close firefight you don't want to be shooting slowly.
Conclusion: If I could do it again I would not have bought this barrel because I know there are better products out there and advise you to look for them. I will now spend my time looking to sell this barrel so i can get something more consistent. Look harder, this isn't that great of a barrel so find something better. 6.5 out of 10
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leifolson Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Two piece, Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: 2003 Outkast Autococker with Eclipse Eblade trigger frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that fit the backs you have
Strengths: Accuracy, accuracy, and once again accuracy!...oh yeah it's also lite as a feather!
Weaknesses: A tad on the expensive side.
Review: This barrel is awesome!

I have been using it for about a month now and I will never go back to my boomstick again. I didn't think that it could get more accurate than a boomstick so I had to try this barrel for myself to see if all the hype was true and it was.

I have not had one problem with this barrel. It shoots on target every time without fail. I have heard some people say that it curves alot in a cross wind but I have not experienced this so far even in some fairly heavy winds. Besides most balls do curve in a good strength wind.

You can put ball on top of ball at 30 and 50yrds. I have let my tournament team buddies play with this barrel and they are all hooked and plan on getting one asap.

Be careful...if you get this barrel there are no excuses for not shooting someone out.
Conclusion: Even though it is expensive it is definately worth every penny. It gives you the advantage on your opponent and if your serious about paintball then you know every advantage is critical! Buy it and you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

notbob Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerlyte, Excel, Freak
Marker Setup: Emag, Warp Feed, Egg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything RPS or PMI
Strengths: Very Quiet, Accurate.
Weaknesses: Requires battleswab for good cleaning
Review: I have been playing for over 15 years. I have played with alot of different types of guns and barrels, all the way from a splatmaster, to my Emag with several variations of barrels.
I use a warp feed with my Egg and can send mad amounts of paint through the barrel.
The grouping is tight from a variety of distances and it is quiet down field.
I generally use PMI or RPS paint and have never had a problem with it.

For those that complain that it busts paint and is hard to clean, blah blah, I recommend using quality paint and carrying a battle swab. It only takes a second to clean and is well worth the second of cleaning to have one of the best barrels on the market.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to all levels of players because it is quiet, accurate and a sweet barrel!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AggieMXS Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak System, Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: E-Mag with Tac-1 body
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium or Marbalizer
Strengths: Extremely accurate and reliable, new models are very light.
Weaknesses: Older models are a little heavy.
Review: I have been playing for about 12 years now, and this product is far and away the best barrel system I have ever used. I went back and forth through several types until I found this one. I haven't even considered getting another system since I started playing with Hammerhead. They are bar none the most superior product on the market, and the people at Hammerhead are among the nicest and most professional people you'll ever meet.
Conclusion: I whole-heartedly endorse this product. Buy this one, and you'll never want another barrel system as long as you're playing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SAAwes@aol.com Tuesday, December 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle 7 Gloss Black, Preaditor Board Halo B, Empire Mini Rail, Empire Adjustable N2 68/4.5k, 3 Full Length Stiffis, NOX Board, Redz Feed Neck, AKA 2 Liter Reg, STD Industries LPR, CP Roller Trigger

Phsyco Ballistics Lightning Autococker, Empire Reloader, WGP Stock Reg, WGP Stock On/Off Combo 20oz anti siphon CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Rifling, and high quality
Weaknesses: Rifling, and porting
Review: okay in miy quest for the most accurate barrel, i bought the best i could... i purchased 3 brand new stiffi's in .687, .689, and .691.. and the hammer head barrel kit w/ 5 fins for side by side comparison, and was planning on returning the lesser of the two.
First off, when i opend the box it was very professional. the case is hard plastic with custom cut foam and the barrel is very high quality. the inside finish is like no other, and after talking to the president, I found out that the company that rifles remington's barrels makes them... that is why they are soo high quality. the finish is dust black, and seems very very durable.
Shooting. when you thread the fins onto the barrel... erk... u must use the lube that's provided to lube the threads, because i experainced extream squeeking, and rough friction grinding fit betewen the barrel and fin.. but when lubed, it was smooth as butter.
Now the barrel comes with a note (i bought mine direct from Hammerhead, as did the Stiffi's From S!te MFG.) saying to shoot it at 280-285fps for the best preformance. i called the president again, and he gave me a bunch of RPM numbers saying that is because the velocity determines the rpm.. let it be KNOWN THAT all RIFLED BARREL HATERS MAKE SURE U KNOW WHAT UR TALKING ABOUT>>> THESE BARRELS WERE DESIGNED WITH THE LIQUID FILL IN MIND. and in some review say's 13,000 rpm... well the president said that is bull, and the barrels never spin the ball more than 3,400rpm or the ball will start to drift, and not stay straight.
Anywho, now to the shooting. at 285fps with 1fps variation on my freestyle :) it was spot on, tested with old rental paint, black shelled crappy paint. and Draxxus, the barrel shot very well, i broke one ball while shoving them down the barrel on pourpose... and it cleaned the thinnner shelled paints very very welll within 4 shots. almost to the point where i couldn't tell that i broke, just as the STIFFI DID. (they both were the same in this catagory) but at 300fps the barrel was a tad less accurate, at longer ranges the stiffi pulled ahead, and the president said to turn it down, i refused and returned it because i want to shoot right on 299 in tournaments to ensure that i have the least ammount of ball bounces. the barrel is lighter than the freak (according to the charts) and on the website the "ours v.s. theirs) they are using the Freak Barrel, but don't want to start a fued with company's so they let it remain anonymouse. If u doubt me, call the president.
the hammer head thought is a very good customer service, and he talked to me for 2 hours explaining everything i'm just lazy and don't want to type it all
Now the squeege is true, you do need a battle swab, and side by side the stiffi was quieter. the velocity acutally dropped from the stiffi to hammerhead which confused me, with all paints.

also sound... the hammer head is loud to the shooter and quiet to those recieving shots, just as advertised.. however my stiffi was quiet to both... when i say loud i mean noticiably louder upon switching barrles.
Conclusion: In conclusion if the barrel wasn't so picky on velocity i'd end up keeping it, but the stiffi won by about 2 points on my rating of 100 during my tests... So this barrel goes back to hammer head, and i keep my 3 stiffis'
I give it a 9.87
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 6th, 2005 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dp rocks Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
progressive, j&j edge, cp one piece, flatline
Marker Setup: black sp ion with ricochet apache, progressive barrel, flame drop, and twister feed, qev, macdev 05 legion air

spyder rodeo with ricochet ak and hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Non dimpled ones
Strengths: Looks cool, mostly accurate
Weaknesses: Price
Review: When i bought this barrel i Thought that it was great it was very accurate and the rufling looked really cool. When i put it on my spyder it was very accurate, but when i chopped it did not self clean. Overall i think that this is a great barrel it is a little over priced but not that bad.
Conclusion: Very accurate and an overall good barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

papichulo1 Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest would be the freak system but I have always shot a dye boom until the hammerhead came into picture.
Marker Setup: 02 cocker, black magic regulator, AKA bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Love to use Blaze with it but I think it can shoot most anything.
Strengths: Increase in accuracy and distance.
Weaknesses: Really can't think of one
Review: I really like the barrell. I have a dye boom so I was satisfied with the accuracy I was getting. My buddies have hammerheads on their guns and love it to death. So I went up to the paintball shop and tested one out. I was very impressed. Even more impressed when the fin was put on. The paint shot out like it was on fire!!!!!!! The distance was unbelievable. I the barrel was shorter then my dye boom but went much further. The fin kit makes the biggest difference. When you get the hammerhead you must get the fint kit to get the very,,,,,, very best results. For you tournment players this would be an awesome upgrade.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel!! If you play tournments, you must get this barrel. It will undoubtly change your game for the better. It's well worth the money. If you have the money get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mobat555 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak System, All-American , Progressive Barrel , Dye Boomstick, J&J Ceramic, CP Barrel, Infinity Barrel
Marker Setup: 2k1 CnC Silver Angel LCD
88 ci 4500 psi
12v Revy w/ Intelli-feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accuracy and Range
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This barrel shot very well.

The 3 peice mini-fin kit comes with the general sizes. I have not found a paint that dosnt function well.

Over the stock angel infinity barrel I found it gave me 20-30 ft extra distence.

The accuracy was so dramatic I found myself using 2/3 the paint I usualy do.

If the price (i got it in a trade) was more level with other barrel systems it would bea hit.
Conclusion: I am confident in the abilitys of this product. If you have the money and want the best preforming barrel I have used. This is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media