paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Crocodile Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak System -- Katana
Marker Setup: A-5 with Palmer Stabilizer & folding stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good round paint
Strengths: ACCURACY, ACCURACY, and of course, ACCURACY
Weaknesses: More than a bit pricey. Front with three rear fins will cost around $240.00
Review: Great barrel. I believe this to be the most accurate paintball barrel available at any price. If you do have a chopped ball, a minimal treatment (one pass of a swab or squeegee) will have you back shooting with top accuracy. It is very quite out in front because of the rearward porting of the barrel.
Conclusion: If you're after the best accuracy money can buy, you can't go wrong with a hammerhead barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

91cocker Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J, Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: '03 Outkast with shocktech supafly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer
Strengths: Looks, weight and accuracy
Weaknesses: none!!!!!
Review: This new barrel from Hammerhead is unreal. These barrels even have "rifling twist" to make that shot on a dime. Man, these things are great. If you can't match the paint to the barrel, then you can purchase the "Fin" kit to adjust the barrel to the paint. AKA field paint only games. This thing shoots darts. I play back and only use a 12 inch Hammerhead barrel. Get one today!!!!
Conclusion: These barrels are more expensive, but well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A pb Guy_456 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none, what can be better than this?
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils work great for me.
Strengths: I have found it to be very accurate,consistent,and quiet.
Weaknesses: no glaring weaknesses, but the price could be cheaper.
Review: I first heard about this barrel in an old "What Paintball Gear?" magazine. It explained how the internal rifling and porting contributed to it being accurate, quite and efficient. I wanted so bad to try it that I ordered it the instant I finished reading the article. It arrived very quickly a few days later. The next day I went out to try my new barrel at the field. Everyone was pretty confused because they never have seen or heard of this barrel before. While I was playing, they noticed how consistent my shots were. Later that day they asked me a lot of questions about it.
Conclusion: If I had the chance to, I'd buy this barrel all over again. It was the best barrel I have ever heard about.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballPLZ Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I use the second best barrel there is and thats the ANS 2 pc. it ranks just as high if not higher than any Boom or Freak.
Marker Setup: ANS GX-E with a 12 inch Hammerhead Barrel and 3 pc. mini fin kit.
Tippmann A-5 RT ,Streamline and ANS drop forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: C'mon this thing is the new wave for barrels period.
Weaknesses: The Finish!!F#@*& this is one uglyF *&@!# finish!.
Review: Bought it online paid to much for it to look this ugly so I pollished it to perfection and this thing is a fine JEWEL now .
This doohicky right heyeha could give lessons to Mr. Accuracy himself nuff said.
I may be new to this but my co-workers all sport Dark Angels and Bob Long's and such so I have shot many a High end machine Marker.
Conclusion: I would have paid Fifty bukcs more for a polished option you non hangs over ther at hammerhead. 10 out of 10 cause this aint no fashion show no how.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jthmdude2000 Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Antoher barrel i borrowed from someone
Marker Setup: 2004 VF Autococker-Red
Stiffi Bolt
Hammerhead Barrel Kit
Empire Reloader
47/3000 HPA Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything with the kit
Strengths: On target. Cleans well. Looks Killer . Nice case
Weaknesses: None that i have been able to see.
Is being too good a weakness?
Review: It shoots where i want. I got the .686, .688, and .693 fins for the kit. I was a little skeptical because i had only tried it once at a 15 foot shooting range but it was well worth it.

Some people claim problems but i have yet ti see one. My froends like it and everywhere at the feild i go to these are popping up
Conclusion: This is my barrel. Saywhat you want about rifled barrels and about how they dont work but THIS WILL ROCK YOU.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxsutter Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
evil pipe, stiffi switch kit,
Marker Setup: 2 ions lucky stage 5 - evolve reg, black hearts - pimped out. Too pimped out.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS paint - this company is an extension of a pharmeutical company that makes pills. So they know what they are doing. PMI pink, Evil, Marbs
Strengths: Adds a spin to the ball makes it more accurate
Weaknesses: If you chop it gets squirelly and eventually cleans itself out.
Review: I have ued the evil and stiffi kits. No comparison - hands down with a propelry tuned gun
these barrells add a spin to the ball and increase accuracy. If you chop it takes quite a few balls to clean it out however as I have the 10 inch barrell it is easier to push out the paint. There is no difference with a longer barrell length. I have had the moneyt o spend on upgrades and I tell you this barrell is night and day - all any other kit will do is size paint this barrell when used in conjunction with RPS paint as they make the tightest fills. - The brittle paint and tight fill helps with any barrell -

When I chopped it gets real aquirelly so you know there is an impact on the ball as far as a spin. This is being interefered with as the liquid from the break inhibits this process - it does not clean out as easily as they say.

I dont get chops as I use decnet paint and my gun is fine tuned.

also he may have sized the paint incorrectly - I find in the key ring the first hole it drops then I select the next one.

you have no idea how this barrel helps. The accuracy increase is very dramatic.

I am getting a macdev cyborg 06 and this is going to my next kit - unless I can find a barrel adaptor that will work
Conclusion: no one compares. I think empire is trying to copy their barrells now. Buy it - you only really need 3 backs. but for a little extra you get 5 - you will shoot all kinds of paint

I am not sure what this previous post is all about but I am sure his gun is not fine tuned and chops are coming from his gun not having constant velocity and the bolt is chopping the paint not the barrel. if the paint is squishy I have seen it chop paint on the porting holes but most barrells have some sort of venting.

get the 10 inch as it makes no difference with the size -

the 10 inch is as light as my stiffi. the locking neck sleeves are superb - the evil had a noticeable grove - and the stiffi did as well - the backs are so short that when you screw int he barrell you see no groove at ALL. I have not yet seen a barrel without some sort of groove and this is where gelatin builds up and your choppies happen.

if you chop you balls are all over the place but I never chop- and it does clena it self out to an extent but that is what battle swabs are for.

you cant use those on a stiffi - It is all about the grooves the spin it adds to the ball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jablei2 Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" Tippmann Werks
14" PMI RAZZOR
14" Smartparts Progressive
Tippmann Flateline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom – Silver
BT Double Trigger W/Guard
Zap Mach 404 Hopper
Pure Energy 20 oz Co2
Lapco 98C Thread Adapter Old/New
Custom Camo Job
Conquest Gladiator Mask – Black/Amber Lens

Tippmann 98 Custom – Black
DOP Double Trigger W/Guard
GTA Response Trigger W/ Custom mill work done
14” Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
14” Hammerhead Clamshell 8pc. Barrel System
Smartparts Freak Back W/ 4 Stainless inserts
Lapco Rocketcock II
Viewloader Evolution II Hopper
Evolution II Z-Board
JCS/Blackpoint 98C Thread Adapter Old/New
JCS/Blackpoint 3” Sight-rail Offset
Hotshot 30mm Red Dot Scope
Rufus Dawg Delrin “Wicked” Bolt
DOP Pro-Seal Power Tube
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
32 Degrees Coiled Remote W/QD
Pure Energy 20 oz Co2
Custom Camo Job on all exterior
Conquest Gladiator Mask - Camo/Smoke Lens
Rage 2 Tube Pouch

Tippmann A-5 – Black
GTA A-5 E-Grip
Ricochet R5 Sniper Hopper
Tippmann Flatline
14” Tippmann Werks Barrel
Smartparts Freak Back W/ 4 Stainless inserts Different than the 98's to have full kit
Lapco Grip Adapter Block
32 Degrees Coiled Remote W/QD,SC
2 – Pure Energy 24 oz Co2 tanks
Modified Rage 6+1 to 6+2 or 6+3 Harness W/ Suspenders
Home Made 3 in to one out Air Selection W/ Shut Off Valves
JT nVader Mask W/ JT Vortex II Fan – Camo
Custom Camo Job
Recommended
Paintballs:
Before conversion Best you can buy
After what ever you'll buy the majority of the time
Strengths: The rifiling that spins the ball
Weaknesses: The fins, they're too short

.
Review: I agree with most of your statements that it is too expensive and the accuracy sucks on it, well at least when I first tested it out. Then just for kicks I bought one and started tweaking and tweaking and even more tweaking. In my front the rifling doesn’t get any smaller than a .6933 cal that doesn't even begin to squeeze any of the paint I buy. And I found the major problem not to be the Front but the fins. The main problem with the fins are the length there is at maximum a 1/4" band that actually gets the barrel to the right size. So you'll get a crappy compression of the gas behind the ball before it even enters the barrel. Then there is the main problem of pressure. this dilemma is what takes patience or a few extra bucks to overcome. The pressure of the CO2 or what have you has to be as consistent as possible for best performance. Even a remote wouldn't suffice for the demanding consistency. To resolve most of these problems I've spent less than 100 bucks. First to solve the fin problems I bought a freak back that conveniently has the same threads as a hammerhead but required a little modification the standard freak inserts are on average .230” too long to accept the hammerhead so you’ll need to shave that off by using a metal lathe, a Bridgeport, a drill press with a bit larger than insert with a device to securely hold it in place, or if you have skill and/or luck with a hacksaw, are you can do the easy way out and send it to a machining company that will do it for about 20-40 bucks for 6 inserts depending if they’re the aluminum or S. Steal. If you do go this route don’t forget to put the chamfer on the interior of the insert. Now that you got your compression problem solved you’ll need a consistent air supply. TO get optimum results use a very large expansion chamber or two smaller ones. Or you could do what I did and buy one with a inline port and just add a quick disconnect fitting and there you go it can attach to any remote manufactured in the US. Then last but not least more tweaking to get it just right. I spent a full day testing a tweaking and comparing it to my other barrels and this what I’ve found ; in terms of distance the flatline was the overall winner but had a very poor grouping (what else would you expect, the 14”Smartparts progressive and 14” Tippmann Werks Barrels both performed similarly with great accuracy at short to medium range, the freak hammer combo filled the gap between the progressive and the flatline with a incredibly straight shot for 70 yards (conditions ideal, level ground, no wind and 79 degrees: for all tests) only two balls broke (Core Recreational 29.99 for 2000) But as rate of fire increases chances of ball breaks increase as well as accuracy. This barrel set up atleast I my mind is made for a sniper type of player because after all “necessary” modifications it is a little more than 17” long. But the choice is yours to make if you don’t want to by one, okay it isn’t the best barrel for the money a I agree with everyone else in saying so. But if you do hopefully this post has described what it will take on your part to get it to be a barrel you could come to like. In the end if I did everything right the whole package would only have set me back about 240 dollars (barrel-100, freak(back/insert) kit – 80, expansion/remote- 60, machining- Free)
Conclusion: Unless you have a few hundred extra and a little patience . Go buy one and have at it. If not get used to other people with hammerheads saying,"Are those my balls on your face?"
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 17th, 2005 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Tuesday, November 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J edge, freak, SP progressive, various stock barrels
Marker Setup: upped impy, nitro eggy, bla bla bla
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that fits the bore and is good quality
Strengths: Accurate as heck, cleans super easy
Weaknesses: Breaks balls.
Review: My freind picked this up for his EVO for 60 bucks. this is the best 60 dollar barrle ive ever seen besides a CP. i guess the results vary by the gun because many people have tried this and had bad results and others gave it a 10. it seems as if the cockers gave it good reviews where as the open bolts gave it bad reviews. but anyways on my freinds EVO he was getting accuracy almost as good as my upgraded impy with a J&J edge kit. this barrel also cleans very very easly. i think because when paint breaks the paint goes in the grooves, and the ball sits on top of the groove completely separated from the paint. i guess the rifling works, cause it is acurate. the barrle didnt seem very quiet, but ppl say that it is very quiet down range. i would know cause my freind is shooting at my for very long before he is walking off the feild. i would recommend anybody to try this barrle before buying it because of the mixed reviews.

update

after using this product for a while my freind and i have noticed that it breaks way to many balls. we tohugh it was paint to barrel match but we have used many paintballs and it does break. i never did like rifled barrels.

my freind is still brraking balls. this barrel kinda suck and now he did go buy a J&J EDGE. its a waste, but a barrel kit.
Conclusion: on my freinds EVO it was a great barrel. i think if you want to spend 60-80 bucks, just spend 115 and get a J&J edge kit. kits are way better. it does breaks balls. go with a nother barel kit.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 7th, 2005 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

okole808 Friday, April 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels
Marker Setup: Pirahna EXT 2004
Boss bolt
Boss trigger
EVo 2
47cu 3000psi
Hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
None cause this barrel sucks
Strengths: Nice look
Company put alot of craftmanship into the barrel
Looks good on any gun
Weaknesses: Not accurate
Super heavy 1.2 pounds
Chops paint
Doesn't clean itself
Review: I bought this barrel because i saw it on t.v. I thought it will help me shoot better but it didn't. Infact it shoots like crap. This is how i knew it shot like crap. When i first got the barrel i putted it on top my gun and gased it up. I put about 120 balls inside my hopper and shot at a target 5 feet away and i noticed after my fifth shot i would chop balls. so out of 120balls only 32 balls hit the target.------------------------either this barrel sucks or I had a hard time shooting
Conclusion: Don't buy......it's up to u
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

SatansAssassin Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
ultralite
freak
Marker Setup: Tricked out GX5-E(Belsales LPR and 44 Ram, CP reg, MQ valve)
Halo- can outshoot it with ease
Hammerhead kit
Samauri trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Oil free paint, can shoot some nasty paint
Strengths: ACCURATE
Quiet
Fins
Rifled
Self-cleaning
Weaknesses: Fins can tend to stick together and on the gun
Review: When i first shot with hammerhead i was very impressed. Shoots very well at 40 yards out. Shoots straight beams of paint. Have never shot any barrel like it. Is definately the best barrel i have ever come close to shooting. Does great when shooting with a lot of wind, doesnt seem to carry balls off as much. Doesnt have dropoff until 30 to 35 yrds out when shooting at 260 FPS.
Conclusion: I would get this barrel if you have an autococker. Shot it with many cockers and they all shoot really good. If you like shooting tight patterns this is the barrel for you. Good for shooting long distances and lanes. Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media